W Fort Lauderdale

  • 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard
  • Fort Lauderdale,
  • Florida
  • 33304
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 764 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by SPG Gold Member. W FLL very unsatisfactory First I want to start off by saying we got to the hotel and was advised that there is only valet parking. The W does not advise you of this. Then when we get to the checkin floor the lines where long. We waited about 2-3 hrs before we got a room when we advised the W what was our arrival time. We were promised that we would be given one of the best rooms in the hotel, come to find out that was not the case and we were advised of this by the manager. I was not given any additional benefits being a SPG gold member and I have travelled to many properties with the SPG network and this by far was the worst. I wrote a review when they sent an email and all i got was a computer generated email saying they are sorry. How sad a big property like that would not do anything for Gold member let alone any customer. The room was dirty when you slide the door for the toilet there was hair and black dust stock on the floor that looked very disgusting. The shower had an awful smell and there was long hair inside the shower. The room was very dismal and just plane and no color to it. It was definitely a bad experience. Many times we went to the west pool and there were no towels that we had to go to the other end to get towels. The room was not what we expected and the view could have been better. We saw not but construction and demolition going on across the street. The room was also not cleaned as it was suppose to be. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great setting for weekend "staycation" !! We recently reserved two, 2-bedroom suites for a family and friends "staycation". The resort was perfect for us, both in terms of service and overall fun/activities. The tone was set at check-in, when Michelle went out of her way at making us feel welcome, and continued throught our stay. The WET area at the pool was both fun and relaxing, and great service extended by John and Cara(spelling?). Will certainly return and recommend to others! August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staycation The staff was amazing!!! The hotel facilities and room were excellent. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by above and beyond very impressive, extremely friendly staff. I was in town for the loss of my best friend, so not a vacation for me. The friendly staff and impressive hotels made things a little easier for myself dealing with this hard time. Many serenity places there to just sit and think. Job well done ! August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by View was amazing The room we had was a corner room on the ocean and was wonderful. August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Coolest propery on the beach Loved the pool, the bars, reception. My only complaint was that you didn't get much food for the price at the pool. $9 for ONE little summer roll. On the other hand, Steak 954 made me forget all about it. Well done! August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best time ever! As soon as you walk into the hotel the staff is attentive and greets you with a smile. I stayed for 4 nights and 5 days. Our room exceeded our expectations, and room service did a great job maintaining it everyday. I even did boot camp every morning, which is complimentary, they provide waters and towels for you so all you have to do is show up. The hotel is in front of the beach so it is very convenient, and with a beautiful view. Their pool is also amazing my daughters loved it. Next time I'm in Ft.Lauderdale I will be staying at the W again!!! August 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best business trip ever Fantastic hotel! Service was warm, friendly, and helpful. The complimentary beach workout was terrific - a great instructor, fun to get outside, a tough workout. The room was beautiful, and well appointed. The jelly fish tank in the restaurant is amazing. Wonderful! August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by mattress running my way to spg platinum at the beach I just completed my third stay at the W in Fort Lauderdale and already have two more trips planned to return! I’m currently working on finishing up a mattress run to catapult myself to Starwood platinum, and as I still have another ten stays to complete by year end, I’m only doing one night stays at each property to make sure I reach platinum. As such, I am able to compare the W to the other Starwood properties in Fort Lauderdale because I have done one night stays at both the Sheraton and the Westin. The W is by far the nicest of the Starwood properties in Fort Lauderdale with two swimming pools, a nightclub, hair salon, steak house and another bar in the lobby, the hotel is certainly quite rich in features. The property is comprised of two towers: tower one is closer to the beach and offers standard and premium rooms; tower two has a majority of the residential suites with intercostal views. The property is adorned with stone alligators that can be used as seating and provides a very functional decorative touch outside and on the decks. This property is very good at recognizing loyal guests and guests with Gold and Platinum status; of the three stays I’ve made at the property all of which we book at the least expensive SPG Hot Escapes prepaid rate around an average of ~$200, one time I received an upgrade to an enhanced oceanfront room with a terrace, and twice I was upgraded to the property’s residential suites, which have three rooms: a full kitchen with a dining table and six chairs along with a seating area, a master bedroom/bathroom with a king sized bed Jacuzzi and washer/dryer and either a second bedroom or den area with another full bathroom; the entire three room suite is lined with a large and fully furnished terrace. Like all of the W Hotels, the W Fort Lauderdale bathrooms features Bliss products, including body butter, which is really needed with all the Florida heat. One nice touch that the rooms have is a plush alligator on each of the beds from a company called Wishpets, the alligator is all white except for the eyes and very soft—I liked it so much I bought one for myself on Amazon. I really, really appreciate that the hotel was so generous with the suite upgrades—it really made my experience stand out even more. As I mentioned, the property has two pools; the main pool has a staircase coming up from the lobby that takes you right through a glass enclosure cut out of the pool; it’s a really modern and chic feature. The pool area has a full bar that also serves food and pretty scantily clad women will gladly bring you food or drinks right to your chaise lounge (the pool is lined with them), private cabana or right to you in the pool. The CVS down the street sells large inflatable tubes for $8, I bought one each time and enjoyed cocktails as I floated around in the pool. If the Florida heat just isn’t enough for you, there is also a hot tub. The W ordered custom branded beach balls that can be seen being tossed around in the pool. The hotel hosts a big party on the pool deck every Sunday, which is open to all hotel guests free of charge and to non-guests for $10. They have a live DJ and it really makes going to the pool a very fun experience, unfortunately, it can also make it hard to find an open chaise lounge. Of note, the pool area (and other parts of the property) offer free fruit infused water and apples, which is a nice touch. The other pool is primarily occupied by kids, so is a less attractive option, but good later in the day when the pool is mostly shaded by the hotel, it too features a hot tub, and a limited number of chaise lounges and cabanas. While there is also a bar at this pool, it wasn’t open on any of my three visits. I ordered food and drinks at the bar in addition to room service a few times, everything was very expensive but fresh and high in quality. The tuna tacos are to die for; while I was poolside I ordered a few hard strawberry lemonades, and while I felt that they could have come in bigger cups with more vodka, they were quite delicious. While, I think that the W Fort Lauderdale not only represents the best of the Starwood properties in Fort Lauderdale (both the Sheraton and the Westin feel very outdated) and is one of the better hotels I’ve stayed at globally, I do think that there is always room for improvement at any hotel: The hotel rack rate is substantially higher than that of other Fort Lauderdale properties, and while I think that it’s probably worth an extra $50 or so over the Sheraton or Westin, remember that you can always stay at another property and pay $10 to use the pool on a Sunday. Keep in mind that in the off-season, this hotel frequently appears on SPG Hot Escapes and can be book at a bit of a discount. Other things of note are that the hotel offers iPhone docking connectors aside each bed, but unfortunately, the connectors are the quite outdated 30-pin connectors, so you’re out of luck if you want to listen to music on the included Tivoli radio from your Android device or newer iPhone. The W offers free yoga classes for guests, which is great! Unfortunately, they’re all offered very early in the morning, 8-9, which is far earlier than I would ever wake up on vacation. Welcome desk check ins can take longer than I would like; on each of the three occasions that I’ve visited the hotel I’ve waited to talk to a welcome desk agent to check in, while one or two concierge whenever/whatever representatives sat at their desks doing nothing—they really should have moved over to the welcome desk to check me in and not keep me waiting. Also, on one of my stays, they failed to properly magnetize my keys for late checkout, which the hotel only offers as a courtesy—I only got 4 PM late checkout once, late checkout is very important to me; to be fair, they did offer 2PM and 3Pm late check out on the other stays. Also the hotel does offer all day keys to enjoy the pool on your day of check-out, which is nice. One last thing that I really wanted to mention, is that one time I had a non-refundable reservation and my flight from New York was canceled due to weather problems; I called Sabrina at the Welcome desk and she was able to move my reservation to another date for me—again, this was huge for me, and showed me that the hotel is really focused on delivering a great customer experience. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was amazing!!! My first time to stay here and it was the Best in service, cleanliness and staff friendly. I will be back and will request room 1821. The best view I have ever had. I loved being recognized as a SPG owner. Thank you for a fabulous stay!!!!! July 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful accommodations Hospitality poor I booked this room in advance for my friends bachelorette party. I was clear when I made the reservation that I would not be present for the party. At NO time was I asked to give a credit authorization prior to the stay. I even inquired about it and was told "all the guest will need to do is show a card for incidentals." Then, the day of the party when the bride arrived to begin what was supposed to be her night of celebration, she was left standing in the front lobby for almost one hour and was told, "there was no credit auth and so we cannot accommodate you right now" I called immediately from out of town and a manager finally helped me. My friend, Julie Weglewski, was not apologized to and the bottle of champagne I ordered never came as well! I stay quite frequently at the W and was seriously disappointed with the events surrounding my friends party. I told her it would be amazing and bought the suite for the night as a gift for her. Im embarrassed now. Thank you for your time July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great spot on the beach but pool staff and service staff were very accommodating and very professional. problem was with checkout. had an early flight. asked the front desk in person for a 5;30 wakeup call. he wrote the info on the back of a document he had in his hand. I said to my travel companion who there was no way this guy is going to remember our wakeup call. sure enough I happened to wake up at 6:00 by chance by looking at my phone. clock radio was not functioning properly. went to check out bc there was no bill under the door. was told by the same guy who was supposed to wake us up that he could not print a bill and would have to email me. he could not even accept a cash payment. this is what separates a great hotel from a good hotel. I guess that whenever, wherever slogan is just for show. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Customer Service From check-in to check-out it is very clear that the W Hotel is serious about their customer service. Everyone is pleasant and goes above and beyond. Bianca was excellent at receiving me and handling my check-in seamlessly. Alex (pool attendant) was pleasant, attentive, and an all around hard worker. I think the pool cushions and other outdoor furniture cushions could use a refreshing/replacing but was not a deterrent in enjoying the spaces. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff and great condition of hotel Staff is very attentive and seem to Genuinely care about the guests. Great check in experience. Even though the guest in front of me was taking a while, the desk agent took the time to make eye contact and give me a nod that he would be with me shortly. Room service order was lost and had to reorder, but the recoverly was so good....it was no longer an issue. My group had a absolutely great meeting there! July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern, Clean & Comfortable Rooms are modern and very clean July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by the whole family had a great time we all enjoyed our time at the hotel and wish we would have been able to stay longer. Will definitely be back July 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beach in Fort Lauderdale Great location for those that like be in front o the beaches. July 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING FUNNNNNNN!!! The W Ft Lauderdale is the place to be for fun and sun!! The hotel staff are happy, friendly , with miles of smiles!! You can't help but feel good here!! The views are spectacular!! Steak 954 is second to NONE. Food is FABULOUS and decor is sensational as is the rest of the hotel. The pool is AMAZING!! Again the staff at the pool are all friendly, happy and could not do enough to make sure we were happy and having a good time!! EXCELLENT!! Can't wait to return!! July 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the Place!!! Outstanding hotel... great service... wonderful staff. If you are coming to Ft. Lauderdale this is the only place to stay. You can tell this hotel is run well. July 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay, personal service The W Fort Lauderdale went above and beyond to satisfy me! I must recognize several employees specifically Marylouise, Gerardo, Jody, and Nikki. The personal service they provided for us made our time here extra special. Also, I must personally thank Brian (W Insider) for his time and effort as he ensured that my stay was flawless. The customer service at this hotel is topnotch (keep in mind I have visited category 7 properties.) July 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay....Staff is Amazing... Would definitely recommend Harvey in the SPA - very detailed and explained everything which I greatly appreciated. Hotel & Banquet staff were also amazing. Crowd is more on the adult getaway fun side...not the best for kids. July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service and Amenities I stayed at The W Ft. Lauderdale for 3 days. It is one of the best hotels I've ever been. The room was clean, comfortable and perfect for a short stay. The service was impeccable. The restaurant staff was very accommodating to my requests and the pool service was very responsive. The ladies at the shop were very friendly and sold me a beautiful necklace! I'd love to go back, next time for a longer stay. July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel had outstanding service and features My stay was absolutely OUTSTANDING. The customer service, the room, food, hospitality was simply AMAZING. My husband and I felt like we were a priority and that is was truly important that we enjoyed our stay at the Ft. Lauderdale W. My commendation to the staff,..JOB WELL DONE!! Everytime we are in the Ft.Lauderdale area we will be staying at the Ft. Lauderdale W. A special recognition to Jennifer(from Arizona) whom ensured our room was phenomenal. Thank you all and keep up the GREAT WORK!!! July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great restaurants 954 was awesome steaks and service was fantastic July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic high quality hotel in great location Beautiful contemporary hotel and great service. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Getaway Whether it is the beach or the pool we had fun in the sun. Top notch personel at all positions. A friendly smile and a " good morning" to get you where you were going..... See you soon. July 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Lauderdale problems If the comfort of your guests is really your goal, here are ways to improve: 1) Include a larger selection of snacks and beverages in your gift shop. It's ludicrous that a guest cannot go down to the lobby and purchase a Coke and a bag of chips for a reasonable price; 2) Print the restaurant menus in the "Everything you need to know book." Clearly, it does not meet the requirements of the title if you cannot find detailed information about your restaurants and their menus in the guide. 3) Have information in the room in magazine or brochure format about area sights of interest and things to do. You have a tremendous amount of information available for your spa, well, I know that is a moneymaker for you, but seriously, how often does the average male business traveller use a spa? Best, Mark July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel and Location This was my first stay at the W in Ft Lauderdale. I received an outstanding upgrade to a full suite making it the nicest hotel room of any hotel room in which I've stayed. It also had a wonderful view of the ocean. Service is consistently good at all Starwood Hotels. Between the SPG program, typical quality of their hotels and courteous service, I always try to stay in a Starwood property. I've also stayed at the Westin in Ft Lauderdale but the W is much nicer. My only objection to this hotel was that there were no easily accessible restaurants within walking distance except for hotel restaurants which tend to be pricey for expense account meals. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Time at the Beach I stayed at the W Fort Lauderdale winding down form a busy week in Miami. The hotel facility, hotel staff, restaurant and restaurant staff did not disappoint. I really did not need to leave the hotel which was exactly what I was looking for. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Hotel was interesting The hotel was gorgeous but after 3 days of consistent elevator issues it was old. One elevator was broken the whole time we were there and the remaining ones took an excessive amount of time to get to our floor. July 21, 2014
  • 2015-08-28T11:16:09.372-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_764, tr_764
  • loc_en_US, sid_1522, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 27 next>>