W Retreat & Spa - Maldives

  • Fesdu Island
  • North Ari Atoll,
  • 09110
  • Maldives
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 129 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs a LOT of mangement work *Bathroom floor glass does not even see through to the ocean so its useless. *Why ask me at the seaport how i want to be address during my stay only to find that only 30% of the staff knew of this or my name at all? *Food was overpriced in comparison to other resorts I have stayed in Maldives and quality was below average for that kind of price you charged, *one particular staff that delivered food was extremely lazy and didnt even want to clean stuff before setting food on our table. *since most staff there are on a 3 month rotational basis they almost act as if THEY are on vacation more than working. *Your outdoor activities were way over priced and you guys need to do some marketing *The wood on the deck of the room and around the room was all falling apart due to the humidity and the debris was found at the plunge pool on a daily basis without anyone cleaning it up. It was also dangerous because my wife caught a huge splinter on her hand during our stay. * Your so called valentines day/private beach/in retreat special dinning set up charge without the food is RIDICULOUS! * How can the above share the EXACT same menu and only thing different is the location? I think this is just plain stupid whoever thought of this. * Spa who was ran by some people from Bali was very poorly trained. I believe thats the worst massage i have ever had at a 5 star hotel in my life. * Spa hygiene was disgusting. The baskets to leave our clothes in was molding. The 2 blue tubs where i am supposed to bath my feet before the massage had black inner mold rims because they were made of plastic. * Spa staff was working as if she was in a hurry to go back to Bali and used different pressure levels throughout the entire massage. * Spa staff was literally resting her OTHER arm on the pillow of my head while massaging my wife and I causing our head to tilt down non stop, she also rubbed a lot of her oils all over my face and head while she rested herself. * Food at fire to be put on the grill basically tasted like charcoal with no seasoning or skill whatsoever, it felt like I was eating at a primitive cave. For US$110 per person I expect a lot more. * The hole in the room so you can look at fish was basically pointless, at other hotels at least they put some corals there so fishes will stay around that area but yours was basically a hole on the floor. * Staff answered the phone pretty slow but i can understand this since it was peak season and you guys were busy. * Staff should tell anyone that was speaking as if they were trying to announce a global message to quiet down as a courtesy to other guests at the hotel. We dont pay all this money to be on a deserted island to hear them talk. This goes for all nationalities. * The pesticide car/boat that goes around the island to mist down the bugs should be notified to guests when this will be done because I was literally having a cocktail and eating snacks with my wife when I was basically inhaling that stuff in my lungs at the same time. * Your price list was updated in your own system but was not updated for all the menus inside the room, this is very poor because I basically got charged for different pricing for items on the menu several times. If I wasn't a careful spender, i wouldn't have noticed and instead probably think you guys are trying to rob me. * The lagoon area wave was very very heavy, this could have been just because the current weather we were there but since the person cant even stand on the sea bed wouldn't you guys think adding some more sand in that area would benefit your guests so they don't have to swim against the current constantly but instead enjoy that area to its full potential? * All outdoor areas including restaurants were closed if there is large wind/ potential rain weather, shouldn't you guys think of a plan where you can still have guests enjoy your restaurants but still be ok with some sort of shelter above them and the outdoor air? * All your bread/nuts basically tasted like soft wet stale goods. I think you need better storage compartments because humidity is not something that only happens on that part of the world and yet we still get some pretty damn fresh snacks everywhere else. * Your cocktails basically all tasted they poured sugar water in all of them and the way how they made them differed everyDAY, everyTIME and every bar. For US$20 a cocktail comeon, at least try a little harder cuz W is meant to be famous for their drinks too. * You shouldnt get staff to call your guests about the return of their rental gear the day before their departure for a before 2pm return because if you havent noticed, if they can afford to stay at the W, the chances of them stealing or not paying for the gear is pretty minimal I think and even if you dont find it in the room after they leave, you can always charge their credit card no? * Not all staff smiled and greeted. I can go on for days but then that would be a waste of my time to continue. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Best-in-Class It was a very special vacation for me and my wife: the last one before our child was born (and probably the last one for some year ahead). And I selected W Maldives since it was my "dream" since I enjoyed SPG in 2007. It means: I had high expectations from the hotel! From the moment our plane arrived in Male until we left the same airport one week later, I didn't have to worry about anything - W staff was there, extremely well prepared with information, to take care of us. Some examples of how we felt special there: - At least 90% of the time we were called by our names, - Ku (W Insider) and all the Talents were extremely friendly and warm with us: everybody was aware of my wife's pregnancy and offered help, services, fresh juices and other amenities, - The room was perfect! Always clean, supplied with fresh towels, great furniture; - SPG Gold status recognition: all managers were aware of this fact from the 1st contact in Male airport until our departure, including the local amenities (sweets, special bottle of water, upgrades); - Food: exquisite! Special the lobster on Fish, Noodles on Kitchen and the barbecue (we cooked in our terrace... it was a great experience and there is a lot of food! Highly recommended!) - Great external area, specially the pool (suggestion: get a drink and stay looking for the ocean inside the pool) - My favorite: go to Fish restaurant (on lounge area) at 5:30PM. Get another drink and see the sunset. The sun ends directly in Indian Ocean 50 minutes after you have seated. Take a lot of pictures and get one of them as your laptop's screen protector. We are really thankful for W Maldives staff! I really recommend this resort for everybody! Even here in Brazil (with our great beaches and 14,000 km far from there) because it is a once-in-a-life experience enjoy this paradise! February 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr. Khaled all was excellent and perfect. February 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenomenal Resort This resort did an amazing job of making our December 2012 honeymoon the trip of a lifetime. We stayed two nights in a Beach Oasis and two nights in a Seascape Escape (the best Platinum upgrade we've ever had!) Ku was incredible as our W Insider- she managed to find and mail back my wife's favorite jacket that was left in a closet The only negative thing we experienced was the lounge at the seaplane terminal: the seating was really, really uncomfortable and the fumes from the seaplanes seemed to drift in. Of course, these are minor issues in light of the amazing service and exceptional experience we had at this resort. February 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The resort and the island is amazing Beautiful Clean Beach, and nice coral reefs close to the villas. The food in the restaurant was also great. The resort is pricy but we got the value for it. February 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel and Staff but... it started with very good welcome tour. The staff was told us bout everything that we need. The room was big and modern. We love the sound system for the whole room indoor and outdoor. House keeping staff name Ibrahim was clean our room very clean and neat, even on our last night he made a special arrangement for flower in bed. Surprising us soo much. The food and restaurant was good. The kitchen staff name Fajar is soo helpfull and told us about W even more. At the second night we stayed she deliver chocolate to our room. Overall everything bout this hotel is best. Only one thing that we find it annoyed. in the package we should get welcome champagne and spa gift box. Apparenty, for the champagne we have to ask them for several time before they delivered to our room later at night. The spa gift box also the same, was delivered to us on breakfast time one day before we left. Even worse they delivered after Ibrahim (Housekeeping) told the staff bout the package that we should get. So...u decide...whats wrong... January 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by exellent shortly everthing was perfect, ı thought ı was in haven... January 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great customer service Except for a few individual staff, the overall experience was commendable. January 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great experience from the beginning to the end. W is really a WOW resort, quality is outstanding in all respects I and my loved one visited for our 2nd year anniversary on July 2012. The first word from both of us when we step out from the sea plan to the jetty is WOW. Is W and is really a WOW. Really a paradise place on earth. We stayed at the Ocean Oasis (Ocean View). We enjoyed very much the snorkeling excursions straight from your Ocean Oasis Retreat. From arrival at Male airport to our departure the service was outstanding and well as the professionalism and the friendliness of the Maldivian staff. The staffs there are very friendly, helpful and the most important thing is they carry a great smiles with them all the times which give a very good comfort level to the guest. Keep it up! Services was excellent and food is good. We ate at both Fish and Fire which were both excellent. The breakfast buffet was very well done. A great experience from the beginning to the end. We will be back again :) January 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Maldives Experience to Date Location was breathtaking with an amazing house reef outside the door. The hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and eager to please. We were pleasantly pleased with the quality, taste and selection of the food on offer. Our New Year's Eve was amazing and something we will always cherish. We will definitely be back again in the not too distant future!!!!! January 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Fabulous! Excellant Staff & Resort This was hands-down the most fabulous stay. The rooms, resort, spa, and service was just perfect. Rooms: Huge and beautifully designed allowing you to really enjoy the natural beauty of the Maldives. Location: The W has a great location with the best snorkeling and diving on the small island. No need to go anywhere else. We saw sharks, rays, and turtles snorkeling around the resort island. Staff: The attentiveness and kindness of the staff is really what made this resort amazing. Everything was above and beyond and the whatever whenever came true for us on several occasions. Ku really made our stay and checked in with us during our stay and really made us feel special! Food & Activities: We were a bit worried that there wouldn't be enough to do on a small island but we were wrong! So many amazing activities and restaurants to enjoy - all 5 star! We were scuba certified and enjoyed every type of cuisine from Sushi to Maldivian food. Highly Highly recommend! This is hands-down the best resort in the Maldives (and the SPG points make this even better). December 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sea Plane the only bad part of my trip is the seam palne trip it is overpriced and timing is not what you want its what they want,two many stops before you reach the reseort and the same on the way back to airport December 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay in W Retreat & Resort First of all i thank your Team specially Operation Manager , F&B Associate Noor & All Team Members Your Team make my stay sucessful i enjoyed staying such a place were i forget my home. Its like my another House. I will be choosing your Hotel as best Hotel i visited in my life. I always want to choose your hotel for staying. Great Really Appericiate. December 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel with good coral reef views Overall we had a good time in W Maldives - we stayed in ocean oasis which was located far from the sea plane pick up point, so that avoided a lot of the noises. They have a nice sweet spots with lots of ice cream and soft drinks, which very much fueled us all along. The corals are very beautiful near the beach oasis area and every day we went snorkeling. The staff were overall very friendly - we went night snorkeling with one guy (forgot his name) and he was very attentive. The shanghainese girl was also very helpful in answering our questions. However, we were not pleased with the way the hotel handled the full board service - we paid for the full price for full board prior to arriving Maldives and we did that because we wanted to avoid hassles and not to limit ourselves on what food to be eaten. When we first arrived W, the receptionist told us we could eat whatever we want from the a la carte at Kitchen and enjoy buffet at Fire. For some reason, on the second day of our stay, we were told to only be restricted to 3 dishes per meal only -- and the a la carte shows soup, appetizer, main course and dessert, so what the staff said about 3 dishes per person already means I cannot eat whatever I want from the menu, this is different than what the receptionist told us when we checked in. The staff at kitchen, once they remember we are on full board, on the 4th and 5th days, keep forgetting about parts of our meal orders eg some sliders. I don't think this is professional enough. We went night fishing and caught a fish that could be eaten at a restaurant. They told us if we wanted to eat it at Fire they would still charge us full buffet price, which to me is completely nonsense given we already paid for full board price, and there is totally no point for us to pay the full buffet price just to have Fire BBQ our fish! Anyway then another staff told us since we are on full board, there would be no additional charge for the grilled fish. You can see why the staff deliver different messages and confusing at times. The staff were also very hard selling with drinks. We did not know it didn't come with full board. I also didnt known fish is not included in the full board but only come with a discount. I think it would be much more helpful to list out what is and is not included in the W maldives website about the full board half board details, otherwise we feel that it is entirely up to the staff to restrict the guests. Lastly, we found that ordering from a la carte is actually a lot cheaper than the full board if you are going to restrict number of dishes to be ordered so it would be helpful if you could insert some guidance for people on the website about a la carte prices, before people paying for full board prior to hotel arrival. The hotel offered buggy service to the guests, but some staff just did not seem very willing to be picking us up in the morning to breakfast...... The good thing about this hotel is there are that many villas here so it is never too crowded. November 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent amenities and great staff. My wife and me enjoyed every single day, starting with the nice and beautiful room, followed with the great restaurants and the amazing beaches. November 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Amazing Location As a travel agent I go away quite frequently, this one my favourite hotels! The location is amazing with great snorkelling every day. The food was the only thing I would suggest needed work, a lot of the menu options were very heavy with a lot of flavour at once. November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best place for honeymoon !! I had wonderful time in Maldive W retreat & spa for 4 nights. [04/22/2012 - 04/26/2012] It was my honeymoon. Thanks to the nice people and the best service, we had such great time and experience. Especially the fruit executive chef [paruk ?] and the manager [Vanus?] was very gentle and impressive. If I have enough time to go Maldives once more, I will definitely choose W retreat & Spa again !! November 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful place with a personal touch We had an Ocean Oasis (ocean view). Great snorkelling direct from our room. Room was well appointed and attractive in a more low-key than, say, W Seminyak but still with wow appeal. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We loved every meal but particularly recommend "Fish". One highlight was a private dinner held in the Welcome hut (moved from a coral terrace due to rain). Another highlight for us was the beach. Too many tropical resorts have a great reef but W has beautiful beaches that can be just swum from. Note that we have stayed at other resorts in the Maldives and other snorkelling destinations such as Fiji. November 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel staff are not as friendly as I thought Overal hotel staff in this hotel are not as friendly as what I expected before my stay. They do greet hotel guest everytime but it seems they are all fake smiles instead of natural smile. They seemed like they are forced to communicate with the hotel guests and they seemed to be indifferent towards all the things you told them such as your activities plan. Front desk employee doesnt pick up my calls within 3rings and sometimes they only pick up when you make a 2nd call. I do not like the service for breakfast in KITCHEN & buffet dinner in FIRE. Besides that, the island and the pool in W are small. The positive side of the hotel is the spa. They have friendly spa manager as well as friendly gym instructor. On the other hand, My experience in W wasnt happy but experienced & friendly diving instructor made my stay wonderful. July 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE My husband & I visited for our 25th wedding annaversary and the experience from start to finish was outstanding. The staff was wonderful and very nice. From arrival at Male airport to our departure the service was outstanding. I would rate at 6 stars! The room was unbelievable - very comfortable and outstanding view. The property overall is excellent, you feel like you are on your own island even though the resort was fully booked. We ate at Fish and Fire which were both excellent. Room service was outstanding. The breakfast buffet was very well done. The snorkling around the resort is excellent. As experienced divers, this was an outstanding area - we only snorkeled and saw all we needed to - it was the highest population of fishes we have ever seen (and we have dived all over the world). Enjoyed the fact that it is adult only - very relaxing. Can't wait to go back - very relaxing and worth the trip and money. April 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just perfect My wife and are very demanding guests (too much at times!) but I have to say that W Maldives met and at times exceeded all our expectations. The resort management is impeccable and the quality is outstanding in all respects, I just would like to mention in particular the professionalism and the friendliness of the Maldivian staff ... again way over the average of other 5* resorts we have visited here. A great experience from the beginning to the end.. will come back. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I expected a lot, but hotel expected me too :) Though definitely I had a package of expectations (as much as I try to avoid that when I travel), I could throw them all out pretty much on my first day, as it wasn't fair to use them for anything :) Starting with my arrival to passing the security gate on my departure, hotel staff, including the awesome GM, was extremely helpful and welcoming, and I could relax at pretty much every moment without having a single negative thought. It was a bit hilarious when we were taken around the island in a cart though, it looked much bigger that way, than on foot. We stayed in lagoon-facing Ocean Oasis, the suite itself had enough of space in it even if you didn't want to go out to the terrace or other parts of the island. Bath facilities were great too, both outside pool/shower, and roomy internal one with huge bathtub and spacey shower. Romance stuff (candles et al) were provided as well ;-) Living room had a good enough sound system, WiFi was of much higher quality than Starwood-standard, and could easily drive Spotify connected to in-room Bose sound system, albeit outside speakers were a bit silent, for sake of neighbors... The ocean can be a bit loud, depending on weather, especially at night - though I loved it, for someone who doesn't stand nocturnal noises probably beach villas are better choice. I didn't try SPA facilities, but my spouse did and was extremely satisfied by them. I chose instead to take out the catamaran - lots of warm wind and not too choppy waves make it one of best activities you can do, if you are not into windsurfing (there's also kite-surfing, kayaking, and seabob for the lazy). We did snorkel a lot (house reef is quite amazing), though lagoon-facing room did not have that easy access to the reef - had to cross the lagoon, and I "lost" in a dead-end once, when trying to figure out the safe passage. I took a introduction to scuba-diving that was easy way to go a bit deeper. I went with a group that had one panicking person, so I guess I got way more freedom than usually... Though probably it isn't the best spot for die hard scuba divers - for a casual dive there're plenty of opportunities. I should definitely highlight an expedition with island's marine biologist - while we were heading towards more interesting reef we had great conversation - he sure qualifies for a biologist position. We got to see a shark, a turtle and a ray circled us few times within a very short period of time. Plenty of excitement :-) As for food - breakfast was truly superb, and dinner options were great too. Sushi cooking lesson was a decent introduction to their Fish restaurant, which definitely has better chefs than me - a truly delicious fresh seafood is what you should expect at premium Maldives property. Fire grill was rather unexpected experience - all you can eat meat was really tasty and plenty. An easy way to get into meat coma though - there're just way too many grill choices (and styles) to taste, and all of them are great. There was one tiny moment where waiters suggested waiting for order at the table and forgot to deliver, though (thats the only negative moment I decided to lie about at the introduction of this review). Bars served great drinks, and a complimentary drink here and there was always nice. I truly failed at going to their nightclub (decided to go there on Friday, which is probably bad idea in a Muslim country). Last but not the least, the vibe at this hotel was exactly what I wanted for my vacation - nothing too posh, all the luxury was in the simplicity and understanding needs of a young traveler. Music, design, etc - definitely reminded of bustling W lifestyle in large cities, yet it was properly adjusted for a holiday destination. I didn't feel just welcome, I felt expected, so I could simply relax and escape. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wooow - Probably the Best Honymoon destination on Earth ! It is hard to say in words what an amazing experience we got at the 4 days what we spent an Ocean Oasis. Unbelievable atmosphere, beautiful private apartman with own pool and with great Hi-FI and "signature" Music ! All of the Staff are just Great, and the Activities are awesome. Specially the seabob:) Breakfast and Dinner also excellent. However quite expensive, but It is worth every dollars. We arrived with great expectations, but that 4 days were better what we hoped! :) THANK YOU FOR THE 1000% HONEYMOON HIGHLIGHT ! I Hope we can come again Next Year! February 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Will definitely be back! A bulleted list of pros and cons Pros: - can spend the whole vacation not seeing any other guests. Veryyyy private villa setups. - breakfast buffet is awesome. - Believe it or not we actually loved our beach villa more than our over-water villa. Stunning accommodations, GREAT bathrooms and resort music - saw turtles and reef sharks while snorkeling right off our deck - gorgeous grounds, great service staff Cons - We are a young couple, and attribute this to the reason the manager greeted all other guests and dinner every evening and snubbed us. If we are spending large sums of $ at your resort we deserve respect as well. A simple "good evening" would do - beverages and breakfast amazing..... Dinner was so-so. January 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing the best Starwood property visited (after 1000 nights around the world) ! January 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best starwood anywhere like the title states...doesn't get better. January 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 unforgettable honeymoon I think it is the very best place for HONEYMOON. Splendid pool and beach. Friendly staff, My heart went pit-a-pat with up-tempo music on W's CD. I'm the very happiest people. it is because my first day with my lover was started in W Retreat & Spa - Maldives. December 9, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by You Had Me at "W". I was very excited to visit the W Maldives as I had seen architectural and interior design renderings of the resort before it opened. A trip to the Maldives 2 years ago finally provided my fiance and I an opportunity to visit, so we jumped on it. The W experience started from the seaplane terminal, where we were welcomed by very friendly and warm staff. Just the waiting room looked alot fancier than the waiting rooms of the other resorts (first score!). Arriving at the property was such a sight, as staff lined up at the pier to welcome us (they were all dressed in white, which made it look quite cool). We spent a few nights at the ocean villas and a few nights at the beach villas, which gave us a good idea of the difference in both. The ocean villas are simply wonderful - alot of privacy as you cannot see your neighbours (and vice versa) from your outdoor deck (great for romance and dipping in the plunge pool!), the outdoor deck is great for chilling out, and the best part must be having the ocean literally at our door step. We could snorkel easily to the housereef, and there were baby sharks, lots of fish, stingrays etc. The villa had a very modern design, with some cool features (like IPod docking stations, entertainment on the TV etc). The island is a little small (you can walk around the island in 30 mins), so it was important to have good facilities and a great villa to entertain ourselves. The Maldives is known as a romantic destination, but my fiance and I didn't really want to spend all our time gazing into each other's eyes and holing ourselves in the villa, so we spent alot of time at the bar and restaurants, chatting with the staff. The staff was very endearing (Maldivians and Sri Lankans are very charming people), very knowledgeable about their food and drinks, the Maldives etc. And we had the impression that nothing was impossible at the resort and we could have anything and everything we wanted. We spent one afternoon diving on board their private dive ship and that was tremendously enjoyable. The diving was great, and the dive team was fantastic. We had Lavazza coffee on board, the equipment was very well maintained - all in all, a fabulous day out. We also spent time in the spa, which was very very lovely (especially the open air outdoor deck, i felt one with the world.) The fiance's favourite part of the resort was the Vodka wall in the underground club! We've been trying to replicate the same thing at home, but it's been hard collecting the exotic vodkas!!! November 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dieses Hotel hält was es verspricht ! Lage, Ausstattung und Service waren perfekt! Wir werden dieses Hotel wieder buchen. April 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Entspannung Sehr schöne Anlage mit tollem House Reef, sehr gut zum Schnorcheln. Viel Erholung, da beschränkte Anzahl an Zimmer auf der Insel. April 4, 2014
  • 2015-06-30T13:06:50.655-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_129, tr_129
  • loc_en_US, sid_1585, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>