W South Beach

  • 2201 Collins Avenue
  • Miami Beach,
  • Florida
  • 33139
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check into a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 443 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by service not worth the price this is my fifth or sixth stay at the W and things aren´t getting any better. Service and valet are slow, cleanliness is average and staff is below expectations for the price of the hotel. What makes it worse now is the construction site right next to the W wich means the beach time is not relaxed and heavy on noises. You should be thankful for your location. Its what keeps people coming back... August 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Take care with Reception I've been charged more than dealed. The last two nights my daughter, that had left the Hotel, was charged as an extra bed. As I was in a hurry to get my plane I didn't checked it. The Reception was informed about the departure of my daughter and didn't take it in consideration. August 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by If you want to stay at the W then bring ear plugs I have just had a fantastic time in Mexico and was expecting a similar stay at the W at the recommendation of my travel agent . Well he couldn't be more wrong. When we arrived at 430 pm the room still wasn't ready when we finally were allowed in the room it was nice and clean, the terrace however was far from clean and the actual table outside was dirty as were the sunbeds. The next surprise came when at 2 am I could hear this thumping noise that practically vibrated the whole room ... It was the Disco... The next day after finally managing some sleep we got to the pool at 11ish to be told there is a waiting list for the beds ... The final straw after having left the pool as there was no space was whilst sitting on our balcony we were blasted by phenomenal drilling and building works noises from just next door. This went on for the duration of the whole week as did the disco noise. Although our room was cleaned adequately the balcony was not. We often had cigarette ends that had obviously been dropped by other guests land on our balcony. So as I said unless you come with ear plugs and don't mind getting up at 8 to run down to the pool to get a bed then I suggest you stay away from the W. btw it's not that I didn't complain at the time.. Or at the end .. I was given $200 compensation ... No comment needed. It was a real shame I was really looking forward to my time in Miami and it was a complete let down August 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service not up to the standard Our 4 night stay was great because the location is fantastic and the rooms are gorgeous. However, we were very disappointed by the service. We booked 1 oasis suite and one spectacular studio for 4 night to be all on upper floors. At the reservation i specifically asked to be on the same floor. At check in , the oasis suite was on the 6th floor and the spectacular studio on the 15th. We had to battle with the receptionist and eventually with the manager to get our oasis suite on the upper floor.They finally moved us to the 18th floor the 2nd night which was great. Bathroom toiletries getting only 1 small shampoing, 1 small conditioner and 1small bath soap for 2 people is not acceptable. Worst, they didn't give us refill toiletries after making the room. I had to call to have new ones deldelivered to us. . Amenities: charging 100$ a king size mattress at the pool or 130$ at the beach on the front row is outrageous. The first day , we couldn't get mattresses for the 4 of us together at the pool or we needed to pay 100$ for a king size mattress. We ended up going to the beach where we were better accomodated. It is surprising that for the price of an oasis suite, we cannot get more than just 2 free small 1 pt water at night. Everything is "extra" and even the internet access. So while we really enjoyed our stay, we were expecting a much better service. Unfortunately, the services didn't live up to our expectation of a luxury hotel August 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Club is Not Soundproof . Kept Me Up ALL NIGHT Tuesday, July 30, 2013, my stay did not go well at all. I was in room 332 (a fabulous suite). Around 9p or 10p, my bed started vibrating, the sound from the club made the walls trimmer, and I could hear the music. The constant booming and vibrating continued until my departure at 4am the next day. Needless to say, I didn't sleep at all. Upon my checkout, I called twice for my car. No one answered. I arrive at the front desk and the tall man working there couldn't have been ruder. His attitude was "Horrible!" I explained to him about the noise and he asked, "Did you call?" Was he serious? I said, "And what was anyone to do?" He replied, "We could've had them turn down the base." Really? If he knew the base was problematic in the first place, I shouldn't have been disturbed. I requested he comp the night of July 30th. He said I can take $100 dollars off. I told him, "I don't argue with people about where I spend my money. I travel a lot and won't be staying at another Starwood for a while." What a pathetic ending to an otherwise enjoyable stay at the W. August 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Anniversary Stay! My husband & I stayed at the W for an Anniversary staycation. We reserved last minute (as in driving on the way to the hotel). We were greeted by very friendly staff. There were no problems finding our reservation even though it was 10:30pm. The room was beautiful, very spacious, very clean & very trendy! The staff at the pool & on the beach were also great. They were on top of everything we needed. Although we live in Miami we felt like we were on vacation away in a tropical, very trendy resort. Will absolutely come back!!! July 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by W SoBe Needs a Little Work ...........The highlight of my visit to the W SoBe was the beach attendants, because they actually understand what service is and showed it day in and day out. Specifically Michael and Walter, they should both be used as the example of what works at the hotel. Everything else about the stay was not up to par with the W brand I was charged for. It's a pretentious staff who care more for their image than providing service to the guests. It's amazing how a brand specializing in hospitality can get it so wrong in such an important location. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the top in South Beach Staff, especially Leo at the pool and beach, took this hotel from good to excellent. The location is prime and rooms are better than expected--at least the Spectacular Studio is. But, when staff like Leo go out of their way to make sure everything you want is there for you, it adds a lot to the overall experience. Definitely will go back. (Only negative is the construction on the neighboring hotel, so try and face south to avoid construction noise early on weekdays) July 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best! I had an incredible time, this hotel has great features and the staff is so accommodating and helpful. The staff gives you what you need before asking. I will definitely stay here again! July 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT SERVICE staff was great. i was upgraded at no cost. July 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Stay!!! The W Southbeach has to be the best hotel. The rooms are all luxurious, spacious & so comfortable. The staff is outstanding! john Evans goes out of his way to make sure everything is perfect. As well as many other staff members!! Highly recommend!!!! NO doubt the best hotel in South Florida!!!! July 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice Rooms; Bad, Bad Service I booked a suite at this hotel over a weekend in March, 2013. I could excuse the rowdiness of the lobby because of all the 'Spring-breakers', etc... However, on check-in, I was first given a room of a lower grade than I had paid for. When I asked to confirm about the room, they offered for me to wait "a little" in the lobby for my actual room to be ready, while they would help hold my bags. I was told the room was still being cleaned but that it was almost done. The "a little" turned out to be 8 hours of just hanging around the lobby in my suit and shoes after the long flight I had had earlie!. When it was late evening, I decided to go and find another hotel, and after seeing another acceptable hotel around S. Beach I went back to the W to ask for my bags because I had to leave. A manager then came out and tried talking m out of not leaving (apparently he had just been briefed that I had been waiting for a room all day. Suddenly, my suite was ready. I just decided to stay there because I was, at this point, really tired. It iwas very bad service for any kind of hospitality organization, talk less a $1000/night room (as it was priced that weekend)..and holding an SPG Gold membership card made zero difference in anything. July 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful hotel it was a nice clean hotel in a wonderful location. The staff was great. July 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Treatment from the Hotel Management Ok, I stayed at this property in January. Paid over $700 per night to be put in into a handicapped room overlooking bushes and palm trees (so much for the Ocean View!!!). The shower was leaking water all over the bathroom, so I almost fell getting out of the shower. I called the front desk and requested to be transferred to a normal room, not a handicapped one. Was told that everything was sold out (BS, cause website showed plenty of availability!!!), but they could transfer me to a smaller room!!!! Just to remind, I have paid over $700 per night!!! After calling the front desk again in the morning and explaining that I am not gonna stay in the handicapped room I was transferred to another room. So my first night was completely ruined and so was my mood for the whole vacation. I found the front desk people being very unfriendly. They are being nice first but as soon as you complain about anything they become literally hostage. it's almost like they take your request to change the room personally!!?? I was trying to get a hold of the management to express my feelings but had no luck getting a hold of anybody. Got an email that the manager assistant will get back with me but It have never happened. Sent another email to the GM and got the same run around. On top of it, I had two boxes that were sent to the hotel from an online store. Housekeeping must have confused them with garbage cause they threw them away!!!! I had two brand new tank tops in there. Unfortunately I realized it after I came back home. So, the hotel itself is very nice, but is very poorly run. The personnel should realize that they are working there and not you, and treat you like a guest. Cause sometimes it felt like they are doing you a huge favor by doing what they are supposed to do and what they are getting paid for. Hotel needs huge improvement on the managing side. And it is very unprofessional for the managers, especially the GM, to tell you that he will get back with you and never do so. July 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow! Best service we've received. Everything about our stay was wonderful! But the staff was the BEST PART! From Kasey at the front desk sending us champagne for our anniversary, to Christina at the Concierge desk recommending the perfect club for us (we're 50+) and Maria at the pool bar introducing us to our new favorite summer drink. Oh! and Pedro driving us in the Acura MDX as a courtesy - we were so pampered and LOVED our stay. We never passed a member of the staff who didn't engage us politely and professionally. We WILL be back! July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Awesome! W Hotel South Beach A very modern and elegant hotel located at a prime location on South Beach. Top notch staff greeted us with a smile and provided great service to us during our stay. A spotlessly clean and very chic room was waiting for us with a great view of South Beach. A great place for a romantic getaway, a business meeting or a relaxing vacation. I was very impressed with this hotel. Fabulous! July 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Swanky hotel in great location The hotel has a great location, pool and beach. Probably the only thing which could be improved is the quality of the food. Service was friendly and the rooms were impeccable. July 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Chaotic and disappointing service As a Starwood fan for many years, my stay at the W the past weekend was most disappointing. Screams and noises from the entrance below woke me up every night, I found many guests loud and some ladies that did not seem to fit in a Starwood hotel. Furthermore, there were duplicate billings on my folio. Perhaps I was not prepared for the style and ambiance of the hotel, but I found that it totally lacks the grace and elegance I knew four years ago. My family also had a larger suite and their experience was even worse than mine. July 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy bass in the room from the onsite club We stayed at the W Hotel South Beach for four nights during our recent trip to Miami. The room type was the Fabulous Studio with 240 sq.ft balcony on the 5th floor. The first two nights we had no compaint for anything in the room, but we were unable to sleep at the 3rd night of our stay. Although we were on the 5th floor, the onsite club within the W hotel at first level was playing loud music with extremely heavy bass that caused the infant travling with us woke up in shock, and could not go back to sleep due to the continues noise and bass coming from the club until 4am! I called the "Whatever Whenever" line (dialed 0) and spoke with the representative twice, and was told that the manager on duty might be able to do something for us and would return my phone call. I waited until 3:30am and no one called back so I went down to the front desk and found the manager on duty. He wasn't aware of the compaints that I made over the phone twice. He told me that he could open a room far away from the club to allow us to sleep for the night, or we could wait for 10 more minutes until the club stops playing music at 4am in the morning.We ended up waiting until 4am and we lost the entire night of sleep. As a result, it ruined our travel plan for the next day because we basically lost sleep until the sunrise around 5:30am. It was a torture for us as hotel guests that paid $400 for the room (a night) to be disturbed by the music and bass from the onsite club, and also seeing our infant baby suffer through the night without proper sleep. We had a room change from a room with direct ocean view and big balcony to a room on the 8th floor with angled ocean view and tiny balcony for the 4th night of our stay at the hotel. It was disappointing but we were able to catch some more sleep for the lose of sleep we had for the previous night. Facility: The beach access security gate operated by hotel keys by the pool area failed to work when we tried to return to the hotel from the beach. We had to call the hotel phone number three times and waited for more than 30 minutues in order for someone to come and open the gate for us. We were told that the lock works on and off due to the sand from the beach. If this was a known problem, why wasn't the lock replaced or repaired? June 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by What view??? I reserved a Fabulous Studio with an "ocean view". I was escorted to a third floor room that looked into sea oats and palm trees with NO OCEAN VIEW. Upon politely requesting another room we were treated poorly by the front desk staff. Eventually, the bellman went to bat for us and we were put in a Spectacular Studio with a nice view. However, the room was half the size of the first studio. To add insult to injury, we were charged the rate for the larger room. (The published rate of the smaller room was less.) Yes, we were DOWNGRADED and OVERCHARGED! Word to the wise: Call the front desk to make your reservation and make sure what you're getting. June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Noisy We stayed on the 16th floor. The room was a spectacular suite.. The staff on reception on our arrival were brilliant, the room was beyond expectation and all other staff were polite. The BIG downfall to the hotel is the Bose sound systems. To those of us with a brain the system is great. But for a certain portion of guests that have neither a brain or respect for other guests they are a nuisance. We were woken up on two occasions at 5am by two separate idiots that were only thinking of there own good time. One of these people in the room next to us was even bouncing a ball against the wall. When I phoned reception they did send up security and they did stop the noise, but once awakened at that time you are awake! The last occasion was on our last morning so we decided to leave early, as we were that upset about it all. There were people shouting and screaming in the corridors. Everything else about the hotel was faultless, but when on holiday a good nights sleep is essential. The young man on reception on the morning we left 22nd June 2013 seemed very uninterested about my issues. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel Will come back soon. The atmosphere was electric. June 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel, Great Location! location was a great location and the hotel was a very nice luxury hotel. I would recommend the hotel based on the overall cleanliness and appeal of the hotel. However, many companies fail because of poor customer service June 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by disorganized service room was not ready and hospitality suite not offered on arrival.(we were early, then they were late in giving us room access). verizon phone service nil.(aparently this is SOBE not hotel) they put note under door after second day of 4 day stay re check out and cancelled our paid for internet access. asked for small accomodation (coffee pot and mug) and not responsive, forgot newspaper. cleaning staff too chatty and would not leave when we showed up mid day, then showed up early am of our check out day -- disorganized/distupting our stay June 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great party place to be in Miami The staff and hotel was great on the overall. Only the front office on check in gave us a diferent room category to what we booked. Although they mentioned it was an upgrade it was a worse off room. When i asked to them to give me the orignal room we booked after checking into the room given to us, we were informed they can do it but the room would have a problem of sound from the night club. I do appreciate they thinking of that and giving us another room but in this case the alternate room should have been a better and larger room to the orignal booked room. The front office manager said they could do the same but the excess would be charged for. This did not make sense to me, that you can give me a room with a problem or downgrade me without an issue but can not upgrade to a better room although the room has issues and better rooms are available in the hotel. The room did have issues and the nights the night club was open the sound kept us awake. Be carful to check on such rooms. June 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst service of any spg hotel being a loyal spy member I stay at spy hotels over 50 nights each year. this is by far the worst property to stay at. the service is the main issue, the employees are, rude condescending, and really seem not to care. They act like is a privilege for you to stay at their hotel. this was discussed with the manager at the time of the stay and he offered to take care of our lunch at the pool that day and upon checking out, found out he never took the time to take care of it. I have stayed at this property numerous times over the past 4 years and it keeps getting worse. I will never return to this property after my latest experience June 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE LOVE LOVE the W South Beach!! By far, one of the best experiences I've had at a hotel. From the moment I walked in to the time of check out I was greeted with a smile by every staff member. It may seem like the smallest thing but it definitely makes a difference. My room was ready as soon as I arrived. The cleaning staff did an exceptional job with the room. When I enter a hotel room I always look around and inspect to make sure everything is clean and I found absolutely nothing wrong. I met some great people during my stay there. The hotel is close to everything and made my stay so much better. Thanks to everyone at the W SB. I will definitely return in the future. June 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Services need to improve to match price & quality We were there for 3 days/2 nights. Part of our visit was for business. Hotel was having problems with Internet for the entire stay!! We could not get emails, Whats App or send emails. Very poor in a basic service, and specially for paying $487 & $343 for rooms per night. In addition, took my 2 dogs with me. Asked concierge to have housekeeping at 3 pm, so I could be there with the dogs. It was storming outside, so unable to take them out. Do not disturb sign outside door. When I returned, housekeeping had gone in & cleaned the room, despite my phone call & the sign at the door. One of my dogs was very affected & nervous. Meals ordered to the room were lacking silverware. Definitely need to improve service!!! May 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel has style at the sake of function When paying approximately $500 per night, one expects service and to be able to see in your room. Dark wooden closets and alcove for coffee pot without lighting makes it difficult to select your clothing and find the outlet to plug in the coffee pot. We had to be told where the room service menu was kept and the worse experience was trying to use your business office. It is a dark dungeon. A sign on the copier/scanner said "out of order" and please contact the front desk. I did and it took 90 minutes to get a contract printed (which was done two-sided at first), so I could sign, scan and return. The process was indeed frustrating. A note of apology from the front desk manager would have gone a long way...but not a word. I suppose you have a toaster in the room, because the English muffins were almost raw when delivered to our room. May 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big fan of the W – South Beach location tops by far. Excellent service at The Dutch. Was there for my Mom’s birthday and they had balloons, fruits and nuts in the room. Thank you Ivana! May 29, 2013
  • 2015-05-03T18:27:02.932-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_443, tr_443
  • loc_en_US, sid_1599, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 16 next>>