W Boston

  • 100 Stuart Street
  • Boston,
  • Massachusetts
  • 02116
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older, with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 356 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by not up to par After staying at the W Boston it is clear the chain gets all the superficial little cutesy cool touches right but falls short on meaningful customer service and safety measures. Our first night, my party was jarred from a sound sleep by an emergency alarm. The system warned us about an emergency situation in the hotel with a conditional evacuation order. If we heard a further alarm, we were to exit the hotel. Some guests exited, others did not as no further info was provided. My four phone calls to the lobby went unanswered! Nobody it seems was manning the phones. The elevators were disabled and we could hear firetrucks. I vacillated between leaving my kids alone in the room to investigate or getting us all out. Just as we were about to leave, a hotel guest who went to investigate advised us everything was ok. Mind you, this was never officially conifrmed by anyone on staff. Had this been a real emergency there is no doubt in my mind the result could have been catastrophe. As a New Yorker who lives in the city and lived through 911 and two storms requiring evacuation, I know of what I speak. I later found out there was some problem with the hotel's communication systems. So what. The hotel should have had staff dispersed throughout to knock on doors and advise us what was going on....unacceptable. Nobody at the hotel apologized or explained until I called to complain that the room hadn't been made up the next day...also unacceptable. When I also mentioned how unsettling the prior night was, I got a call back, not from the manager, but some other person who acknowledged that emergency protocols were insufficient and under review. He wanted ME to figure out how the hotel should "make it up me." I found this crass and did not appreciate it. I guess they figured they owed no gesture whatsoever because they did absolutely nothing. The hotel provides a free car and driver for short stints which is a very nice touch except their driver isn't well-versed in Boston despite a nav system. The two times we used the service we got lost. The water pressure and temperature in the shower is terrible and there isn't enough light when you close the curtain so you are taking a cool shower in the dark. Oh, and don't arrive one minute after 10:30 am for breakfast because they will turn you away without so much as a recommendation for another place to go. March 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by unacceptable This is an Aloft masquerading as a W... the rooms are the same as the Aloft brand...the closet is similar with a door...they put dial soap REALLY in my bathroom till I asked them for normal bliss soap...there was no bath gel or body butter till we asked, they use robes that are typical to the Aloft not the W, the water glasses were not replaced the second day neither was the bath mat...or the wash cloths, you can here the doors open and close on the floor as well as people speaking loudly in the hallway... I stay at all different Starwood properties and I am a Platinum member for the last two years...I have neverhad this experience in all my stays ...EVER...they should charge aloft prices for this property... December 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too Noisy We stayed on a Saturday night and everything about the room was great. The staff was very nice, her name was Lilia and she was very gracious. Like I said the room was fantastic until the lights went out. The room had paper thin walls and we had a group of people in the next room that were cheering for a sporting event on TV or playing a game, whatever about every 10 minutes a cheer would be heard from them and it felt like they were in the same room with us. Ok they finished what they were doing and a group of ladies came thru the hall with the trashiest language and they preceded to scream at one another for a fair amount of time. Once they quieted down the alarm went off and we needed to get to the airport. October 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by An Absolute Disappointment I thought I would splurge a bit and try one one of Starwood's luxury brands, and after a lot of looking around I had decided that the W would be an interesting try. I can't say that's a choice I'll ever repeat. I arrived late at night, exhausted from a car drive in from upstate New York, and went to check-in. My card was rejected. Immediately I felt a great deal of duress that something had gone awry with my bank account, and was unsure of what to do. The front desk representative was neither helpful or empathetic, which made an already stressful situation even more frustrating, not to mention how embarrassing it was to look like this in front of the friends I was traveling with. With no progress made, I dragged my bags away from the counter and called my personal banker to see what the problem was. He said that everything was perfectly in order for the transaction, but the account had frozen most likely because the card wasn't swiped correctly. At this point I was ready to boil over due to the fact that a luxury-brand hotel couldn't properly process a credit card, but I calmly returned to the desk to check-in, now being assisted by a different representative. None of the employees seemed to wear name tags, which I find odd. Regardless, the transaction continued as normal. As we were wrapping up, I noticed he didn't make any mention of incidentals, which came off as extremely shady, this would only be the second hotel in my entire life where I had to ask. $50 a night is no small sum. I damn well shouldn't have to inquire about the status of my own money. I don't recall any mention of my SPG status either. Even for the rest of my trip, I felt quite uncomfortable going to front desk being as the representatives all seemed not so much as rude, but just very detached, hardly welcoming or hospitable. The doormen were extremely rude. The housemaids however, were all extremely friendly and accommodating, so bravo to their commendable service. The room was wonderful, modern, and very comfortable. However, the noise from the clubs and traffic below was worse than I had anticipated. Even from the very top floor (a request which they DID help accommodate) it was still practically impossible to fall asleep before 2-3AM, a flaw which makes this property even less desirable. The gym amenities seemed pretty up to standards, although I was rather peeved to find the fruit provided in gym was not so "fresh", developing a thin, sticky, rot which made me highly question the thoroughness of the hotel's upkeep if they missed something so simple as fruit. Ultimately, I left Boston very grey with such a poor experience. I don't think I'll be giving W Hotels my business ever again, and certainly, will be giving even second thoughts to reserving with other Starwood brands as well. December 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great property... Underwhelming staff The property was really nice and in a great location. I was only there for 1 night, so I didn't have much interaction with the staff, but what I did was sub par. When I arrived at the hotel, it was about 9:30pm. There was only one person at the front desk. There was another guest there that was having some problems with their bill. The guest was simply going over all of her charges. While i understand the need to attend to every guests needs, when you have a line of people waiting to check in, having a woman at the front counter just reading her bill could have been handled differently. The biggest problem was that the front desk agent did not even acknowledge me or the other guests waiting in line. After waiting nearly 15 minutes, I finally asked if there was someone else there that could check me in. For the first time, she acknowledged I was there and said that she was the only one working but it would just be a few minutes and she apologized. After another 5 minutes and the 2 other guest in back of me saying something, she finally asked the woman who was reviewing her bill to step aside so she could assist other guests. The woman basically refused, so then the agent had to move to a different podium to check me in. Maybe it was because she was flustered, but after I checked in, and went to my room, the keys didn't work. Had to come back downstairs to get re-keyed. Then when I did get into my room, there was a gift and a letter waiting... For another guest. Somehow, I was assigned a room that was for another Starwood platinum member. I brought the letter down to show her and she again apologized and said that my room must have been switched, but they were the same suite types so it didn't really matter. Housekeeping could have done a better job. While everything was more or less ok, save for the long, dark hairs in the bathtub, the room looked like it had been turned over quickly. For example, the sheets on the bed were not covering the mattress entirely. It looked like someone made the bed in an extreme rush. I had asked for a late checkout when I checked in. Of course the next day I was disturbed by housekeeping wanting to know when I would be checking out, and after I was out for lunch and returned to the hotel, my keys did not work yet again. When I did check out, the line was too long to bother waiting, so I simply told one of the agents my room number and that I was leaving. So, while I didn't have much interaction with the staff, what I did really wasn't deserving of any awards. That aside, it was a really nice property. December 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 An upgrade that upgraded everyone's mood! We were just staying overnight after a round of graduation parties all day. When we got to the hotel we were bushed. But the energy of the place and the staff started revving us up. When the extremely nice check in woman (don't have name, darn, but it was about 11:00 PM on Sat PM June 23, 2012),, said she was going to upgrade us I thought, Great, how sweet. But we plotzed when we got to the suite she had put us in. Definitely a rock star/player kind of place on the 14th floor. Our stay was way to short, but I have to say I am always amazed by the superior awards program, Starwood Gold Preferred, I think. I have always been treated special and never have not been able to get an award room when I need one. You guys are terrific. June 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dirty If you like a hotel where the bathroom has no door and you can shower for all to see -- this is the place for you. If not, don't stay here. TV picture quality was TERRIBLE. Constantly fritzing out. The room could have been cleaner. The robe hanging in the bathroom had some brown stuff (goodness knows what it was) on the hem and sleeves. Gross. The furniture in the living area was stained and probably should be switched out. When I checked in, around midnight, there was nobody outside to help me with my bags from the curb to the front desk. September 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular romantic choice! The W Boston really delivered a romantic night for me and my wife! I let the staff know we'd be coming for a romantic evening, and asked for help setting us up. They did a great job; the room was gorgeous when we arrived, with rose petals sprinkled out (thanks!). While we were at our show, the hotel delivered a bottle of bubbly and some chocolate covered fruit. An amazing touch. If you're coming to the W Boston for a romantic getaway, be sure to let them know and ask for help. I'm sure you'll be happy. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Boston SPG Property I've stayed at almost all of the SPG properties in and around Boston and the W consistently bests a largely high-quality group. Every time I visit the staff is really welcoming and accommodating and the property is well maintained. Parking is expensive but it is a downtown hotel and to be expected. The restaurant staff are incredible and have always treated us really, really well. I've always tried to tack on an extra day to business trips in order to get the most out of my visits. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Boston This is a perfect hotel for going to a show in Boston. It is an easy walk to all the Theaters and some great restaurants. It has a beautiful lounge on the first floor too. Being a Starwood rewards member I received coupons for 2 free drinks at the bar and a free water in the room. I was upgraded to a corner room on the 14th floor. The view was terrific. From here you can walk to almost anywhere. We walked down to Boylston St. and did some shopping. No worries or complaints. November 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by In town for boston marathon Nice hotel if you don't care about abundant street noise and thin walls between rooms. Because we were in town for the race, sleep was paramount and certainly wasn't going to happen w/ us facing Stuart St. and the numerous rooms w/ parties going into all hours of the night. I will say however, the staff was very accommodating when we asked for a new room and were put on the alley side of the hotel where we were much happier. If the hotel were to improve the sound-proofing, we would absolutely stay again. Having stayed at the Westin for previous races, we will probably go back there. They have a nice setup, reasonable rooms, good lounge and restaurant and again wonderful staff from the front desk/concierge to the "style" people. These are the reasons we appreciate the starwood company and are happy to be members. April 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply the Best The W Boston front desk and W Insiders once again went out of their way to deliver a superior experience. Joining the act this past stay was the W Lounge. When I decided to dine in the W Lounge, I asked if there was a quieter location since the Lounge was rockin' with excitement on a Thursday night. The W Lounge staff immediately offered me the option to dine in the closed breakfast restaurant. I accepted their offer and enjoyed a WOWderful lobster mac & cheese dinner. March 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, great bar We try to stay here whenever we have reason to sleep over in Boston. We are always greeted in a professional, but welcoming manner. The rooms are great and the staff accommodating. We had one minor issue this stay. The light for the magnifying mirror in the bathroom was out, we called down and reported this and were told engineering would be "right up to fix it". Never happened! Have to say, though, that this is unusual for this hotel. We will stil definitely be back. July 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Needs Some Freshening Up I love the W hotel: the amenities are great and it is very comfortable,but clearly lots of other people love it too because it is showing some wear and tear. In public spaces the walls and furniture surfaces are worn and chipped; my room was in better condition but the bathrobe was so frayed it should have been retired long ago and a welcome/info card left on the bed was stained by a coffee cup ring on it. I would love to see a revamping of the interior. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy with the customer service-great staff I work in an industry that focuses on customer service and I know how difficult it can be working with the public. The staff at this hotel was pleasant & knowledgable. I inadvertantly left my camera behind and didn't realize it until I arrived home. I called the hotel, the young lady was very helpful, was able to locate it and took my information so it could be sent to me. I received it in 2 days and just want to say thank you-what a great experience! March 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Don't expect a view. The Boston W is well-located and has comfortable rooms, but lacks the style of other hotels in the chain. The small lobby is nothing more than a bar -- brightly sunlit during the day, and packed to the gills on weekend nights. It can be nice to have a popular bar in a hotel, but not when you need to deal with a bouncer to get to your room. Our room itself was clean and comfortable, but faced the backside of an ugly brick hotel. The building is around 30-stories tall, but only the first 15 floors are hotel rooms with most of the views blocked by unattractive neighboring buildings. I know W does a profitable condo business, but devoting the entire top half of the building to them seems a lot like the tail wagging the dog. Finally, there is no pool, roof, or other amenities (except for a gym). This is a bare-bones hotel with the W name. May 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little disappointed I was a little disappointed with the check in service at the hotel. Check-in is clearly stated to be at 3:00PM we arrived at 3:15 and was told that our room was not yet ready (not surprising, this happens quite often) however, we were directed to wait at the bar and we would be called on our cell when the room was ready. We didn't get that call until 4:25! It wasn't until after I showed disappoinment to the manager when we finally were able to get the key to our room that we were offered a free breakfast for our wait. I don't mean to sound ungreatful for the eggs but being an hour and a half late to check in made us miss our dinner before the show we were seeing. November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT HOTEL & STAFF - highly recommend The accommodations this hotel provided went well beyond my expectations. Not only was the facility beautiful and clean, the staff was incredible. After a very rough day, Brian & Jenny at the front desk stopped at nothing to make my experience a fabulous one. They truly cared and turned was probably one of the worst into one of my better days. People like this should be recognized and what weill keep me coming back and referring friends & family. August 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Impressive Stay After a horrible stay at a W hotel in Chicago -- I will say that this hotel won me back. An impressive stay that started with an easy check in, very friendly staff, beautiful room that had everything right. If your looking for a good night of sleep this mattress provide you with that and more, In addition, this hotel is close to everything walking wise or a short cab ride. You will be getting my business again & again. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 34th Birthday Celebration Received an email from W insider the day before my arrival. Very impressed with their welcome! Check in was a breeze. Staff were accommodating and although no upgrade was given they seemed to say if there was a room they'd be more than happy to upgrade. Accura service wasn't working but they provided cab vouchers (we didn't use it). Yet it speaks to their pro-active customer service in providing an alternative. Gym facilities are minimal. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular Inaugral Visit Being the first time to the W Hotel Boston, I was not surprised but still very thrilled by the great personal treatment I was provided by the hotel manager and concierge. I later learned that the concierge from a sister W Hotel called in advance to ensure I received the same high quality service that is always provided to me by W Hotels. I am now really looking forward to my upcoming stays at the W Hotel Boston during early February. December 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE This was by far one of the best hotel stays I have ever had. The staff was incredibly personable and went out of their way to make my stay comfortable and special. They upgraded my room since it was available to a gorgeous corner suite, and also left a bottle of wine and cheesecake since I was celebrating a birthday. The location is also great to get around the city. I would reccomment this to anyone, and will definitely be back. February 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad W Experience Two days at the hotel as a Starwood Platinum guest. Tub drain does not work tub fills with water during shower. Ok it happens. Left for meeting, called hotel told front desk. Came back late went to bed. Next morning pulled back curtain and tub is still full of water. Got the rare experience of standing in day old cold dirty water to shower. No idea why hotel couldnt' fix drain when I was gone from the room for 14 hours. June 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best St. Patrick's Day Weekend thanks to W! The W Boston is an amazing place to visit if you are in the Boston area. I had an incredible visit during St. Patrick's Day weekend. The staff of the hotel goes far above and beyond expectations. They anticipate everything you will need and the deliver even more than that. The team here knows how to wow their guests and they do it consistently. I can't wait to return and I recommend everyone give this property try. March 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Hotel poor room location We loved the location of the hotel and the over all facility was very nice the and staff excellent. I was disappointed that the front desk did not warn us of the street noise level especially were our room was facing the front and even though the room was on the eighth floor the noise level kept us awake in the middle of the night an ruined what what was to be a wonderful stay December 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by bad aftertaste I'm a fan of the W hotels, but not this one. First of all, I had hoped to check in a bit early, being visibly sick and suffering from cold. No way, no how - a room could only be ready one minute to 3. But the real disappointment came afterwards when the hotel kept applying charges to my account that I clearly had not racked up... April 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel was loud at night. we stayed at WBoston and found the rooms to be very noisy, on Saturday night the night club in the hotel had LOUD music playing way into the morning; not allowing those at the hotel to get sleep. I was not the only person complaining - I heard several patrons on the elevator ride with the same complaint. The night previously, there was a loud alarm that continue to go off from 3:00 - 4:00 a.m., several calls were made to the hotel management, but it took them more than an hour to reslove. We were compensated with a $100 credit and breakfast which was nice, but it was too little too late. November 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location! I was pleasantly surprised by the attentiveness of the staff at the W in Boston. Doors were always held open, always smiling. The room I had was great. It was spacious, great setup and amazing bath. I wish the Marvelous suites had a soaking tub as well but hardly a deal breaker. I would definitely stay there again! January 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful experience staying at this hotel! It was my first trip to Boston and my boyfriend and I stayed here and couldn't have been happier. Staff was absolutely amazing, W staff is always helpful but they also blend into the background so you feel almost like you have an apartment in the city. I love that about these hotels. We used points for our stay and were upgraded to a corner room on the top floor even through the weekend. It was gorgeous and had floor to ceiling windows and a view of Boston Common. We were there to see a show and Wang's Theatre was right around the corner which made it very convenient, we also were walking distance to some really great restaurants. We had cocktails at the bar downstairs, but they were outrageously expensive and it was packed. It would be nice if there was a separate bar for SPG members or at least SPG gold to avoid the crowds after events get out. Great staff though and we would love to stay here again (unless we stay at the Liberty Hotel next time in the Luxury Collection) October 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff extremely helpful and knowledgeable The staff here definitely made the difference for us in having a memorable experience. The concierge was friendly and knowledgeable. The "W insider" contacted us by email in advance to offer assistance with our specific needs and went over the top in providing service that made our weekend a wonderful memory! December 14, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>