W Chicago - Lakeshore

  • 644 North Lake Shore Drive
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611-3017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 502 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff was Great, Room was not Although I stayed in a lower tiered room and I tried to temper my expectations, it was in pretty poor shape: multiple burn holes in settee, no in-room safe (room 917),musty smell , scuff marks all over walls and poor shower pressure. On the plus side, the room was 'clean', all staff were extremely helpful and friendly, in-room dining was good and the bed was very comfortable. I expected more from a W hotel and may try the W City Center or another hotel. Chicago is full of wonderful hotel options. December 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and views. Friendly staff. Room decor is very modern and the rooms are rather tight. April 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement This hotel looks good at a glance... But closer inspection... Decor is cheap... And needs improvement. The window in the bathroom is weird!! I stayed with my girlfriend and 17 year old son, need more privacy. The beds were comfortable!! The furniture seemed cheap and repainted to look new... The rooms facing the lake were an upgrade of 50 dollars a night and were ready before the others... Seems oddly coincidental... Rip off. The bar was way over priced... Overall good location out weighed the negative. February 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location Our room a/c was not functioning properly. When the engineer came to our room the temperature was 76 and he explained that the a/c was old and had not been replaced yet. He cleaned the filter which was really dirty, but the temperature stayed at 73-74 which was too warm to sleep well. I mentioned it to the front desk and they, too, explained that the old a/c did not work well. I'm thinking - I am paying $254/night for a room that the a/c is old and not functioning. What is wrong with this picture? September 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by W Lakeshore Not Worth the $$$ It's an amazing location and wonderful views, but the staff seems, well, uninterested in being friendly, helpful, or apologetic. I really like the lobby bar and was happy with the food, but there were a lot of problems elsewhere. Our room had a ratty old bath towel and we had to ask twice to have it cleaned during a 4-day stay. The staff rarely said hello or asked how they could improve our stay. And finally. the valet and cab stand was always a mess with no organization, seemed understaffed. October 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A noisy stay We wre on the 32nd floor and when the night club on the 33rd closed around 2am a bunch of noisy people invaded the hallway and woke us up. Then there was a tremenduous thumping, about 10 of them, that made the building shake, all three nights we were there, at around 2:30 am. Ordered a needle and thread and gave up after waiting 20 minutes. It was in the room when we returned 4 hours later so I can only guess how long it took. Otherwise front desk staff, concierge and outside fellows were great. May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Had a great one-night stay My check-in at the Welcome Desk couldn't have been more pleasant. The location, a few block off North Michigan Avenue and a block from Navy Pier, and with a view of Lake Michigan, is awesome. The room was super cool. I loved the campy retro feel to it. The bed, linens and pillows were all super comfy. The bathroom was cool and the shuttered window between the bathroom and sleeping room is a great way to open things up. The outside HVAC unit is a downer (and the thermostat wasn't very accurate, as you had to set it a few degrees above the desired temperature) and the room had a couple of battle scars including a big area of varnish peeled from the desk and a large nick in the bathtub. My biggest complaint is paying for Internet access. It's 2012 -- that's a utility these days. Get With it W. August 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by stayed a few days with my family We enjoyed our stay even during the renovation. There was food in the fridge when we arrived and that was a little disappointing. Despite its trendy nature the hotel really worked out well for us. March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway! This was my second time at this hotel, and this stay was perfect!! I called ahead to request a certain room type and they delivered, also I left a message for the Acura service and they got right back to me WOW! Checkin was fast and friendly, actually the best I experience in years, she was super nice and helpful, I also requested a late checkout and her answer was "of course" WOW! Not the usual "were full" or "call down in the morning"" Evey one was great at this hotel! Thank You! June 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Chicago Awesome Room! Awesome Hotel! Awesome Service! April 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall experience Front desk was great, concierge was good. Enjoyed the Acura car service. Room cleanliness was not the best. THey duid not do a great jobof replacing things in the bathroom. As a Platinum guest, I usually get free bottled waters, but that was not the case during this stay. I enjoyed the bar in the lobby, however I was in a aprty of two and oredered a bottle of wine and was charged an automatic gratuity. I don't think it is standard to be charges 20% for opening a bottle of wine. September 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by slipping This place is really slipping here. I've stayed here many times and gets a little worse every time. Over an hour to wait for room service and no apology? No one even answers the phone when you call down to ask where it is? Thats just bad service. Bartender making the wrong drinks in the lobby bar when there's no one there, again, no apology. Customer first? Not here Also, place needs some reno's, its showing its age. Peeling wall paper in the halls, missing numbers for rooms on the floor, thats basic maintenance you're not doing. who's watching the ship? And at check in, slow inattentive staff. At least they still clean the rooms well. I get the whole aloof and cool thing, but this is ridiculous. Its also not the 1st time i have had these issues but just finally annoyed enough with it to write about it. September 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top W Everything about this W is great - the location is perfect - beautiful view of lake Michigan, running trails, blocks from great restaurants. I only interacted with the staff on check-in and when looking for a place to watch a game. In both instances they were genuinely helpful (room was not ready at check-in). The fitness center is better than most - good equipment and a decent size. The overall feel is fantastic - allot going on while very relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommend. April 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow Factor I am a full-time student and I also work full-time. So I don't get to travel much. But last year for my Birthday I stayed @ The W Hotel Lakeshore now I'm staying there again for my Best Friend and I joint Celebration this Feb. 3! I'm sure she will love the hotel just as I do. I loved the hotel so mcuh my cousin decided to celebrate her birthday @ the W Hotel Lakeshore this past November with me and two of her friends. What makes the W Hotel such a Wonderful place to stay would have to be the upscale setting with its hip twist! The sky bar was nice and it gave us a chance to mix and mingle, room service was very quick and accurate, and kuddos to the ladies at the spa they where assume!!!! Wait......can't forget we were able to walk to the Magnificent Mile and other great attractions!!!! Best Hotel Ever!!!!!! January 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by My experience I came into Chicago for one day because I had a training for work. I got the to hotel I checked and got my room key . I rushed into the room so I can shower and get ready for my meeting. When I got to the room the room was dirty. There was linens from the previous guest on the floor along with used tissue. The bathroom was filthy there was urine and used toilet paper in the toilet. I was disgusted . Because of that they had to give me another room . This whole process took about an hour between calling the managers him coming to the room and me getting another room . I missed my training. So I wasted my time and money for no reason. They comped the room but there still was lost airfare. This was a wasted trip. And the w hotel staff made me miss my training . And the room they replaced me with was not very clean March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff elevates this hotel from good to excellent The best parts of this hotel are: the friendly attentive staff, the style, the fact that it is popular and ppl are actually around the bar/restaurant/lobby, the gym/pool, the location, and the great view. Yes the rooms are small and in general the hotel could use some renovation/updating, but this is true of most hotels downtown Chicago. With that in mind I would choose to stay here again because the staff more than made up for the actual building. Great experience. September 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Review of my stay 9/22 and 9/23 There was no hot water in the morning of 9/23 for me to shower and had to call which caused me to be late for work. No apologies from staff when I communicated this to her at the front desk. Room is a bit out dated with sink and tub showing rust which is kind of disgusting. No shower cream (not the actual soap!) and had to ask for it which seems cheap for a W hotel. I stay with SPG a lot for work and its hard to always stay if you are going to let quality slide. September 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Medicrity I have stayed at this W several times over the last several years and really felt like things are getting very middle of the road and especially for a Platinum member. Concierge took 2 days to return an email, check in "upgraded" me to a Lake view, but the room had two beds instead of a king, it has been many visits since I actually received a suite, and it is $10.00 for a coffee delivered to your room with breakfast. I like this hotel, but just seems ho hum anymore. November 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The W Lakeshore is the best! We had the best time in Chicago at the W Lakeshore. From the minute we checked in to the time we left, the staff here could not have been better. Ali in Concierge Services arranged great meals out for us every evening; all in different areas and unique venues to make our weekend perfect. Phillip in the dinning area made our breakfast experience perfect and we had lovely late afternoon drinks on the lobby terrace. We would highly recommend the W Lakeshore in Chicago. July 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Under construction Awful restaurant no bathroom on main floor where bar and check-in was located. March 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Under construction but still great. We stayed the night to celebrate my husband's birthday. The hotel is really under construction so we were bummed not to be able to hang out in the front of the hotel overlooking the lake. That said, we still really enjoyed staying at the W. The remodeled room is wonderful! The staff was great. Can't wait to come back when the remodel is finished. February 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for a Getaway Weekend I have a great time here! The staff was very accommodating and genuine. There was renovation going on in the hotel, yet you did not feel as though there was an interruption in the flow of the hotel. The new rooms that they have changed are great! and I cant wait for the hotel to be complete and visit again. March 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Good. I was a little disappointed, more because my own expectations were probably too high. Overall, it is a nice place to stay and if you would like to be close to Navy Pier and the lakefront then it fits the bill. If you would like to enjoy more shopping and theater activities and can't do much walking, it may be a bit too far. I'm nine months pregnant so the walk to some things was a bit of a workout but I made it! Good thing there were plenty of cabs at anytime of day. I didn't use any of the other amenities. There is a very young and vibrant atmosphere, I brought my 19yo daughter for her birthday but I don't think it would be a place that I would go to for romance with the hubby. I think that depends on the couple, we're not over 40 but it wouldn't suit our personalities. I saw plenty of others that seemed to enjoy it though. July 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Feel At Home! We come into Chicago a couple times a month and the W is one of my favorite places to stay. the location is great, especially to Navy Pier and the staff always makes us feel at home. I would recommend this hotel to anybody. However, I have one suggestion. For whatever reason, there are not coffee makers in the rooms. I don't understand this, as I have never stayed in a hotel...even overseas...that doesn't. They don't charge you to use one..however they also don't ask you when you check in if you would like one. Since you probably don't know there is not one in the room...you don't realize it until you get up in the morning to have a cup. I think if they are not going to have them in the room they should at least make a point of asking. Other than that it is absolutely great and adds a little more pleasure to your Chicago visit. May 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service, good facilities As a frequent business traveler, I normally stay away from W hotels. However this hotel is not nearly as loud as most W hotels. My wife and I traveled to Chicago recently and stayed here for the spa. The spa faciities and service were great. But even better was the staff service for my wife. She had a broken foot at the time and needed alot of additional help when I was in meetings. The service was top flight. The room and location were both great as well. February 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by W - What Happened? The room was ok the lobby is nice. The food at the Wave was AWFUL and the bug on the table was not the highlight of our stay. What was the biggest insult was the total charges of over $1,000 to our credit cards when our bill was only $542. What is with your front desk? I don't have time for this. The spa is in serious need of update and the technicians doing our manicures were talking badly about the previous customer. The stay was VERY disappointing. September 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Adequate but not great I recently stayed at the W Hotel, Chicago Lakeshore. The room was clean and comfortable but in need of minor attention i.e. chipped paint, stained bed comforter. The room is generous in size and located well. However, room service is ridiculous. The menu is located only on the television, but you cannot order via television. A cheese quesadilla and small house salad cost $39, which I find outrageous. Also, internet is 14.95 per day and no in room coffee. April 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Staff are above and beyond! As a frequent traveler, I give the W Lakeshore the highest rating. From start to finish the staff went over the top to ensure that I had everything I could possibly need. And seriously... we had some odd requests: our jogging stroller had a flat tire- the Wheels group not only pulled it out of my car, but pumped it up, and brought it to my room, all without me asking.Every single member of the staff were beyond helpful and I will come back frequently! June 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement I stayed at the hotel because of an event there. I found the room werd with the opening in the bathroom, the food at the event was not good - the appetizers were the best of the whole meal. The service at the event was good but the rest of the hotel was not. When checking out, they woud not honor a discount coupon for parking of 22.00. They gave me a $5 discount instead, so in reality I was punished for staying overnight - very poor customer service September 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location. Good service Stay here frequently. Great location overlooking navy pier and Lake Michigan. Good service, nice patio for lunch. Walking distance to Mag. Mile. Best of all, they honor platinum benefits. I've received platinum suite upgrades a couple of times here. Don't get the common "sorry we're at capacity" story that most hotels give you even though you look on reservations site and there are multiple suites available to book. Good service. keep up good work September 12, 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 18 next>>