W Chicago - Lakeshore

  • 644 North Lake Shore Drive
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611-3017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 497 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disastisfied with Room Service The Whatever Staff were accommodating and comp-ed the charges but the experience itself was extremely dissatisfying. The afternoon I arrived I placed a Room Service Order for lunch upon my arrival to the hotel. One of the standard menu items - Tomato Soup with Grilled Cheese on Gluten Free Bread. I was told it would arrive in 30 mins. 45 mins later I called back and was told they could not find the original order and would rush the order for me and comp it. After waiting so long for the meal to arrive and it's arrival at about 5:30 an hour before my dinner reservation with a colleague, I didn't feel like reaching back out yet again when the order was incorrect but ate it anyway as I was starving since breakfast had been at 5:00am EST when I left on the trip (4:00am in Chicago where I was staying that night). What arrived at my room was Grilled Cheese and some Italian "Country Soup" of some sort with vegetables, beans, ham or bacon, and greens. I am also not sure that the bread was Gluten Free as I was sick the next day. July 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by First time guest I stayed here for a birthday weekend & fireworks. The room was very modern, clean, & spacious. When we went downstairs to grab some food I was very disappointed, for the amount of money we paid I don't believe we got our money's worth. Also it took quite some time for someone to wait on us and the area didn't seem that busy. I tried to rent a movie around 10pm and it said their was an issue which seems weird since they put a large dollar amount hold on my credit card. I travel a lot of business & I never had a hotel want to hold such a dollar amount, it was more than my hotel stay cost. When we called for help they said an engineer could be up there in 20-50mins. Wasn't worth that kind of wait. I was really looking forward to my stay here for over a month and honestly I was not impressed at all & wouldn't recommend it to someone who wanted a hotel downtown. July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by All Flash, Little Substance Great location. Beautiful lobby. Overpriced drinks. Incompetent staff, and only two elevators working on a Saturday night. Our first evening, I realized that my room didn't have a room service menu, so I called the "Whatever, Whenever" and was told one would be sent up straight away. 30 minutes later, nothing. So I called back thinking I didn't give them my room number. They acknowledged they had everything they needed and it would be up shortly. After another 10-15 minutes (by now it was past 9PM), I went down to the front desk. The woman there left to find a menu. About 10 minutes later, she came back saying she had to get her manager involved. (For a menu, people). Another 10-15 minutes later, I finally asked if I should just borrow one from the room next door, and was told they were actually finally having to get a menu from another room. Ridiculous. When I finally got it, I was given a half-sincere apology and that was it. By then, it was too late to eat (my kids had snacked instead), so I never ordered anything and was incredibly disappointed from the very beginning. July 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overrated My husband and I just stayed at the W Chicago (Lakeshore) for two nights for a wedding I stood up in. Positives: The hotel lobby/rooms were recently remodeled and beautiful. Bliss Spa was amazing! Views are great on the lakeside. :) Negatives: - Our TV could only get 2 channels and beds weren't all that comfortable. - The bridesmaids ordered champaigne which took over 1.5 hours to be delivered and multiple calls. - Make sure to leave where ever you are going a good 10 min earlier. The elevators take quite awhile. - As a bridesmaid I have to simpathize with the bride. She was told construction was to wrap up over a month ago. When she arrived from California, she found out that day there was a large crane on the deck where she was to be married. The hotel did put up a white box around it (which helped a little). Just a bit disappointing for the expensive cost of the wedding. She wasn't able to have the seating or entrance she really wanted. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by check-in a disaster but i'm sure you're already aware of what happened. so we're cool! July 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unprepared for guests One of a hotel's primary jobs is to be ready when guests arrive. We waited 2 hours for our room to be cleaned, in a purgatory-like bar packed with other guests waiting for their rooms, and random fans of the W's version of hip chic. We live in Chicago, and the fact that would could have just stayed home and had a more pleasant time was not lost on us. We just wanted a nice night away for a birthday at a nice Chicago hotel. We choose the wrong hotel. The staff used the phrase "unfortunately" about a million times while saying no, and we were unfortunately stuck staying there. We called a couple other hotels while waiting, and almost left the W, but were told our room was nearly ready, and then waited 30 more minutes. The room was fine. The food was decent. The pool was small and crowded and appeared worn down and old. Lots of cracks and chips in the tile around the edge of the pool. This place feels like they are overwhelmed by their own purpose. They were not prepared for people, which is what they are supposed to do. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is fantastic Great renovation!!! Staff is so friendly July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by SAtisfied You can't beat the location, it's just perfect July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice hotel after remodel The modern style interior is love or hate to most people, targeted more to business travlers or event participants. Everything is execellant except the pricey parking and often crowded lobby. July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A mess Arrived at 3pm, 45 minutes q to check in, no room available until 530pm. Q for elevarots! Breakfast very poor, no buffet etc July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved It Thanks for an awesome Lake Shore Drive experience. See you next year! July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Incorrect Billing This hotel has serious issues. Lacks quality in comparison with the W City Center although it has the same GM. Billing issues and service issues. I asked for Advil (it took 30-45min); front desk lines are long; I never get upgraded even though I'm Platinum; front desk staff are unprofessional and lack training; accounting department doesn't return calls; room decor doesn't meet W standards; and the list goes on and on... May 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun experience! Great downtown Chicago hotel, close to Navy Pier, fun environment! July 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Thanks for the upgrade, but no thanks i was given an upgraded room, however the new room was right behind the elevators which i heard all the time. You can hear every loud car on Lakeshore. I would have rather had the city view room i booked instead of the Lake view. The elevator noise is a big problem and i'm 100% sure i'm not the only one who's complained about this so by putting me in that room, when the hotel likely knew it was an issue, didn't make we feel good. Gym was missing free weights, there was a total of about 6, the rack should have been full with at least 20. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Much improved Great property right by Lake Michigan. The recent renovation is outstanding. Hotel is great shape. Only improvement I'd recommend is better customer service. I was charged for internet in my room which is free for SPG platinum. I'm still waiting for a response after contacting the operations manager via email. July 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by So close to Navy Pier Very busy week at the hotel, and the room key didn't work several times. There was not coffee in the rooms, but they did have it in the lobby (wish I knew it was in the Lobby the first day - I missed out). Pillows were really uncomfortable, but the bed and room was fine. It was busy and loud pretty late in the evening. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome W I loved my room. Big and comfy. Straff was friendly and location is pretty good. July 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not for me I haven't stayed in a W for a few of years and realize I may have outgrown the brand. While the hotel was finishing up its renovations, it felt like it and the brand needed updating. It, the experience, was tired and a bit worn out....or maybe I am just getting older and appreciate a different experience when traveling. Either way, I will probably stick with the other Starwood brands that don't feel like a nigh club during breakfast. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous hotel! Very nicely renovated hotel in the perfect Chicago location. I would highly recommend! July 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the best day for the W My stay was not up to par for the W. The room cleanliness was lacking , the front desk and the valet...seemed to forget about customer service. I have had good stays before, but this one was not. July 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs help with the details Reception is so rude. No one looks up to give direction to guests. We had lunch in the restaurant. It was empty, with a full staff and painfully slow. Room service took over an hour for a coffee and smoothe. When I called I was told 30 minutes, when I called 45 minutes later, I felt like the kid on the phone was trying to prove me wrong, until he came back on the phone and said that the kitchen was just backed up and it would be another 20 minutes. Seriously, get it together. Hallways are dark and musty smelling. There were 2 cribs outside our room for almost an entire day. There is just no attention to detail. May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than expected After reading many negative reviews I was nervous about my stay. Renovations are complete, the lobby is beautiful, and staff at front desk went above and beyond. I'll be back. May 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little disappointed. It was disappointing that the hotel does not offer free wifi, considering the cost of a room. There were also many issues with key card access on the elevators. I had my room keys remade 3 times and still had issues accessing the elevator. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W on Lake Shore Drive Great location for events near Navy Pier, the beaches, lake boat trips, Northwestern Hospital and not far from Michigan Avenue shopping. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Lovely hotel in a great location. Renovated room was amazing. Hallways are a little different with the purple lighting. Would definitely stay here again. July 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed By the way I NEVER write reviews but have to send this one - I have stayed here many times in the past and now might not come back. The new renovations are nice but I was shocked my the missteps in my room. First, no clock which was remedied when I complained. Second, the tub/shower looked like it had been through a war zone! Chips and gouges that looked like they had been touched up with white paint. I even showed the pictures to the front desk at checkout and she was surprised too. Finally, the coffee in the lobby was gone on both mornings and when I complained they did bring out fresh coffee shuttles but it was hard to believe that many of us had to wait so long. May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel The hotel is in a beautiful location and conveniently located near shops, restaurants, museums, etc. The food in the hotel was excellent as well. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. I definitely will stay here when I am back in Chicago. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hip and dog friendly We had a great stay at this hotel, and the staff catered well to our tow little dogs. There was construction going on during our stay, but we didn't hear any noise. Room service was excellent, with gluten free options, and tasty eats. The only issue we had was a toilet that was hesitant to flush, but hopefully they will upgrade the commode before we return. June 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay away Good location, everything else is subpar. This hotel should not be flagged a W. Low popcorn ceilings, tired decor, very dusty rooms, horrible bathrooms. Far and away the worst W I have ever stayed in and I would caution anyone who is looking for a "nice" hotel to steer well clear. Staff was good, but they can't make up for the property. May 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the best "W" in the system If you're staying in Chicago, stay at the City Center location. It's more money, but much nicer. Also, the renovations that are happening here are very unsightly and really ruin the experience, especially when you factor that you're still paying full rate. Lastly, I don't know why this is happening but the past few time I've been there they no longer gave the face wash. One thing I love about the W is the Bliss shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer and face wash but it seems that you guys are skimping out the past few times with this and it's really annoying. These little things are what make a frequent business traveler switch allegiances. May 9, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>