W Chicago - Lakeshore

  • 644 North Lake Shore Drive
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611-3017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 437 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Chicago experince My stay was awesome. Concierge has so many optionsfor sightseeing. The elevator rugs change with time . I left my headphones home and found comp ones. Just the little things made my stay smith. Alexandra at the wave restrunt was great. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a great experience! I have stayed at the W Lakeshore many times over the past 10 years and I always come back due to the hospitality of the staff, the coolness of the property and location in Chicago. I highly recommend this hotel. May 31, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not impressed Pros: Location? Cons: Small Rooms, Small Beds, Thin walls woken at 3:30am by drunk in next room, Shutter on bathroom?? Not enough elevators hope you're not in a hurry, Over priced parking, Over priced !!!! August 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and beyond wonderful stay for a first time traveler to Chicago. great view of the lake and pier even better location in the mix of downtown. Great staff made the entire stay exceptional August 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Leaves A Lot to be Desired Location is bad; service is ordinary at best; rooms are TIRED looking and badly in need of updating. I felt like I was staying in a hut on Gilligan's Island. August 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by wow My wife and I spent 3 days and enjoyed every minute. Everything was great. Our only complaint, we had to leave and couldn't stay longer. June 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff The best staff at W. kudos to Nancy at the Living Room bar, Carly ar Whiskey Sky and Steven at Whatever Whenever--they're the best of W. June 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst W. This is by far the worst W I have stayed in. Rooms are old and beat up. Services is terrible. Asked to change to another W Hotel and could not. Really unflexible. February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! Overall everything was great! Especially Front Desk. Jackelyn was amazing and helpful every day! A true asset! Thanks. June 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This Hotel Needs Work!! I am used to a certain level of luxury after staying at different W properties around the country. This hotel by far is of lesser quality. I know this property is in the process of renovating, and it certainly needs it. Hallways on the floors were dark and outdated. Room is on the smaller side. The bed is not a Heavenly bed, and was uncomfortable. Also, the bed is made with only a sheet and a heavy comforter. The shower configuration is not functional, and water got all over the bathroom floor. Also, what ever happened to a bar of soap?? On a positive, nice view of the lake! January 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Friendly but in need of a makeover Friendly staff, excellent location but in a real need of a good makeover! March 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great view Great view!!! Nice hotel to stay!! Really comfortable!! March 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by .. Construction at 6am at my window on the 29th floor. Room right next to elevators which were far too loud. Won't be coming back. February 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The standard I compare all other W Hotels to I have been coming to this hotel since 2005, and have only high praise for the entire staff and the complete guest experience here. Some of the highlights: The valets that assist you on arrival (and greet you by name after the first time they hear it), and come find you when your car service arrives outside. Front Desk staff with exceptionally welcoming attitude, demeanor, and helpfulness. +1 for being able and willing to accommodate and change my rooms when I found loud air conditioners or neighbours with barking dogs upon arrival. +1 again for being able and willing to work with me when I needed to cut short my stay due to a hurricane bearing down on my home. A concierge desk that I can happily blame for helping me put on about 10 pounds due to extraordinary restaurants recommended to me during my stays. Most impressive was their willingness to research matters that they didn't know off the top of their heads, and get back to me shortly thereafter. Whatever/Whenever staff that actually respond to orders submitted via the iPhone app (other W Hotels please take note!). I usually "make a green choice", and whenever I've needed things in my room restocked, W/W are very much on top of their game. Great bartenders in the downstairs lounge. I usually only expect my local bar to know what to pour me when I walk in, but after two days, the Living Room had my orders at a glance. Good bar nibbles as well as proper meals on the premises. The high-floor views are unparalleled, but go to Whiskey Sky for the fireworks shows. I've strayed to other hotels in Chicago just to see what's out there, which has only served to remind me to come back "home" to the W Lakeshore. December 4, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad food and drink service We've stayed at this hotel several times but have never eaten in the restaurant or bar. I wouldn't recommend it. We decided to eat here because we were short on time and wanted a nice dinner with delicious food. It took us 20 minutes to get our drinks. When we got our drinks, the server got the order wrong. Another 15 minutes and we finally had our drinks. The appetizer (shrimp) came and they were grossly over- cooked. We told the server who said she would talk to the chef. She didn't take the food away and didn't ask If we wanted something else. Our side dish to go with our main course arrived, but without the main course and we still had no edible appetizer. We had ordered the flank steak as a main... A $35 main course. I expected that it would be cooked rare-medium rare as requested, especially considering the price. It was med-well. At this point the manager ce by to talk you'd stating he had ordered us a new app. I showed him our overlooked steak, and told him we had been editing for drinks for 20 minutes. When the replacement appetizer showed up, the shrimp were still grossly over cooked and unedible. Needless to say , we left the restaurant still hungry after being there for nearly 2.5 hours. We missed part of the fireworks show we were trying to catch because of the slow service. Overall, I'm amazed that a restaurant in such a respected hotel that charges such exorbitant prices can have such terrible food, drinks and service. To the manager's credit, he ended up taking the appetizer off our bill and giving us a discount. However, that didn't seem like enough considering we missed part of the firework show, took 2 hours for dinner and walked away hungry whole still paying $60 after the discount. July 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE W Lakeshore Gosh, it is hard to know where to start. I have stayed here before and enjoyed my time, but who has the time to write a review? This time is different because things went a bit wrong...and then were very swiftly "righted" by a caring team. So, u will walk in and see a crowd at the wave bar at lobby level. the lobby is fun and the energy is high. Your room will be comfy and if u can request a lake view, I highly recommend it as u will see the sun rise over the lake and your room will be sunny all day long. well, i am a weirdo about sun and views and I travel all the time. Upon check in, it was not possible to upgrade, but we made an arrangement to do so the next day. Somehow, that next day, the luggage went missing and I had an outdoor business event to get to. No time to wait. the caring manager took me to the gift shop and got me suited up for my event and told me to enjoy myself and not to worry. Half way through the event, I got a text saying that my luggage was in my new room. When I returned, I was greeted by a personal letter of apology from the manager and a delicious fondue treat platter. So, here is the bottom line. I travel all the time and I have long known that you can judge the character of businesses and people best when the going gets a bit tough...by this measure, the W Lakeshore has all the appreciated guest stay bits like comfy beds and trendy bars and a great crowd and a perfect location that is a very short walk to the Navy Pier and Lakeshore Drive for jogging, biking, etc. The lake views are stunning. The spa is great. The Gym is small but perfect and the views from the treadmills are superb. If, like me, you are a business traveler who wants good energy, great staff and great location...look no further. June 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad experience on 4th of July I never thought I could give such a bad feedback to a W hotel but . . . I guess it can happen. What a way to waste my valuable points!!! I would not recommend staying there with family around major holidays! The place was too busy and too noisy! We arrived with high expectations. We were planning to have a drink relaxing at the rooftop bar, only to find out that only a small part of the top floor had a questionable looking bar, facing away from the water. We traded our valuable points and paid $60 / night parking so we can enjoy the view and the fireworks . . . We checked with the concierge about the logistics and planned to be back at the hotel an hour early ... OOOOPS, the concierge forgot to mention that the roads around the hotel are blocked off at that time . . . we were able to get back an hour after instead. It was really very enjoyable being stuck a block away with NO VIEW for over an hour. Then we arrive and we were offered help with our luggage . . . we have an 18 month old baby and a lot of extra stuff to carry. An hour later, still no luggage, no cooler and no milk or diapers for the baby. After 3 calls and NO response, I went downstairs, found the cart with our luggage and took it to our room. It was obvious that the hotel staff were just too busy delivering ice and towels to the very noisy partying crowds all over the place . . . the place looked and sounded more like a sorority house from a crazy movie!!! Let's talk about the room, now . . . no recycling bin! the furniture are in bad shape (water damaged) and the door safety would not engage because it looked like the door was forced open at some point and damaged. Having a very active little girl, I ended up having to block the door with our luggage. Then, we really appreciated the extra points for not changing the sheets but it would be nice to also let us know ahead of time that it also meant we had to bring our own garbage out every day. . . July 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't go until renovations are completed The hotel is undergoing badly needed renovations, but the disruption to normal hotel services is high - lobby and breakfast is relocated to a meeting room, room service does not operate after 11pm, no minibar service. Those expecting a W Hotels experience will be greatly disappointed. Wait until the current renovation process is complete before staying here. January 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel fabulous BUT very Small rooms The hotel was fabulous as well as the staff, food, etc. upon arrival the reservation desk stated if we didn't have our room cleaned during our stay they would give us 500 pts. So we didn't get the room cleaned. The hotel room for 2 adults and 2 kids were SO SMALL...when .the air conditioner kicked on it sounded like a freight train. It was never checked during our stay. My husband spoke to Julie one of the managers and she said, I will add 500 points to you rewards card. Guess what? The reservation desk stated the same thing. Julie, never called us or accepted our calls after that. If you expect to sleep at night DON'T stay here. July 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Incredibly loud, room under wedding reception I've had good experiences at this hotel in the past. But on my most recent stay, I was booked in a room directly under a wedding. The music was so loud I couldn't sleep even with ear plugs. I was also surrounded by guests who were making a tremendous amount of noise (wedding guests?) until about 3am. I called securtiy but weren't effective in addressing the noise problems. (The better solution would have been for them to just offer me a room on a quieter floor for the rest of the night so that I could actually sleep.) I have a meeting at the hotel next month, so I'll give it one last shot. If it's not great, it will be the last time I stay at this hotel. October 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This is a Catagory 5???? Complete and total disappointment all around. Service, employees and lobby were fine, but this was my first "W" stay and I was expecting a super fancy, upscale, boutique hotel, due to the “Category 5” status given by SPG. What we got was some old, refurbished hotel room missing every basic amenity offered at most ordinary, budget hotels around the country. The only thing that made this hotel "contemporary" was the use of the color black everywhere. Cheap black furniture (covered in dust) filled our room, there was no luggage rack, no proper dresser for clothing, no trash can liners, no ice bucket liners, the bathroom shower design (with black tile everywhere) caused water to seep all over the bathroom floor, and the view of Lake Michigan was hard to appreciate through filthy windows and broken cheap blinds that wouldn’t fully open. Apparently, having your extra role of toilet paper displayed in a silly white bag, having a glass and chrome paper weight on your nightstand, and a fuzzy square black pillow adorn your bed, is what defines this hotel as “modern and contemporary.” What we got were dirty and bent lamp shades, dusty furniture, no internet service (unless you wanted to pay $14.95 per day), no proper dresser, no in-room coffee maker (unless requested), no refrigerator (unless requested and available), no microwave (unless requested and available), no luggage rack, one iddy-bitty bar of soap, a FREEZING cold swimming experience in the run-down pool (advertised as heated), a room that wasn’t cleaned until 5:15 p.m. (9 hours AFTER we left for the day, returning at 4:00) and to top it all off, two inaccurate $25.00 per night up-charges on my bill at the end of my miserable stay. In short, the hotel ROOMS lacked function for a guest who was looking to stay quietly in a posh, high-end hotel room with comfortable amenities and basic functionality. The black and purple décor everywhere, coupled with the sparkly lobby just didn’t make up for the lack of creature comforts inside our actual hotel room. Perhaps the on-site restaurant and nightclub are fancy??? However, we were eager to step out of our hotel, see the city of Chicago, eat deep-dish pizza and retire to a super nice hotel ROOM at the end of the night. After seeing the overall condition of our hotel room and the “heated” pool, we weren’t too inclined to explore other areas of this hotel, or to spend any more of our money patronizing the on-site facilities. We did end up spending $30 on TWO drinks at the “Wave Bar” waiting for our room to be cleaned after a long day of sightseeing in 90° heat. The “Wave Bar” was nothing more than a bar with 15 seats in the middle of the lobby clad in black tile with black grout, selling $12 drinks. Sadly, I guess my expectations of a “Category 5” SPG hotel were really super high, after having a long history of nice stays at lower category SPG hotels in many large US Cities. This was my first “Category 5” stay and I thought it was going to be swanky and posh. In the end, I would have rather stayed at a low budget hotel and enjoyed free wi-fi and a free continental breakfast. August 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful views of Lake Michigan and Navy Pier Hotel is located in an excellent spot overlooking Lake Michigan and the beautiful Navy Pier. Our room faced Lake Shore Drive. We had to run our airconditioning unit and the TV to block the noise at night from the Drive, especially the motorcycles traveling on the drive. We were not told about using your room key to activate the elevators and thought the elevator was not working until another guest explained this. Once you do this, you do see the sign, but would have been helpful if told before. Ate breakfast on first floor restaurant, delicious and service outstanding. The staff at the hotel very courteous and very helpful. Unsure if I would stay here again. August 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous Lake Views My wife's first visit to Chicago and my first stay downtown. Room had incredible view of lake and Navy Pier. This was a great bonus because we were able to watch the fireworks show from our window on Saturday night. The "Wonderful" bed was just that..so comfortable! The property was somewhat of a hike to the center of the action on the Mag Mile, but then again if you were in a hotel on Michigan Ave, you'd miss the lake. The staff from the valet parking to the front desk was very cordial and personable. The spa-style toiletries were a nice touch. The hotel was very busy but our room was nice and quiet for sleeping. Nice hotel! August 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dipicable-Corrected We could not post your review because it contained: •A reference to a hotel other than the one being reviewed – this may include other Starwood-branded hotels locally or globally. We encourage you to review our guidelines and resubmit your review on W Chicago - Lakeshore. Dispicable First let me say that I have stayed at many W hotels, and St. Regis properties all over the county. The rooms at this property are nothing special and frankly outdated and not on the level I have seen by so many other properties. That said this was by far was the worst experience I have ever had. The reservation upon arrival was incorrect. When I tried to explain that it was wrong to the front desk attendant I was treated like I was stupid and that I was below her. She could not have been any more disinterested in the situation simply telling me that they were sold out for the next night and I would need to go somewhere else for the following night. Going so far as to challenge me by producing the reservation information, which I did. I was a bit frustrated at this point not just at the reservation being wrong but more at the flippant attitude this girl had. My girlfriend was at the desk with me and she was surprised at the way we were treated. When I asked to talk to the manager she said that the manager would not be able to say anything different but would get her. In fact, the manager did not say anything different, just that they were sold out and that I would need to find another place to stay but she would have a different manager call me at 9 the next morning to discuss incase something could be changed. This didn't happen and I was then forced to waste my entire day to wait for a call or call the desk which I did several times. The first call I was told that the manager was busy but the person on the line could help me. He then confirmed that the reservation was for 2 nights which is not what the front desk said the night before which caused all the confusion in the first place. Then after 10 minutes he decided that his information was wrong and that I need to talk to the customer service number. I objected and asked to speak with the manager. He said he would get the manager and placed me on hold for 5 minutes. After 5 minutes the phone picked up for a brief second and rang, sending me the the customer service 800 number. I then had to call back to get a manager on the line, she was courteous and tried to be somewhat helpful. For the first time I was treated with a little bit of respect. Of course the results were that the was not a problem staying another night that I should not have been told that they were over sold and that I could stay another night for a charge. I accepted and hung up. After thinking it though and calming down I realized that my entire day was wasted. We came there specifically to partake in a celebration for a few friends that were also staying at the hotel. We had to miss the morning and afternoon portion of that celebration because we had no idea if we were going to have a place to stay. The more I thought about it the more disturbed I became at the way I was treated. The spoke and acted as if they were doing me a favor allowing me to stay at the hotel, that they were above me that I was privileged to stay there. I have not been treated that way at ANY hotel in the past and the girl who assisted us at check-in was the WORST Offender of it. So after careful consideration I called and made a reservation at the ************ at the Water Tower. The service and room were light years ahead of what we had experiences at the W Lake Shore .I was thankful to be in a hotel that appreciated its guests. They absolutely saved our trip from total disaster. We moved all the pre celebrations to the ***** and the rest of our group mentioned the next time they come to town they will be staying at the ******* rather than the W. Shame on you W. You would think that you would treat a SPG member who stays at your hotels often with a little more dignity. Never again will I stay at a W. Thank you September 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by under construction I love the W but was very disappointed with them this visit. I got a very cheap rate..I thought it was because we are in the dead of winter and there isn't much going on. When I got there, I was shocked to see the place torn up...the lobby that I had looked forward to hanging out with a drink and people watching...was gone! I had to follow a hallway to a back conference room to check in. I must have booked my room before they put it on their website that they were under construction. I does irritate me that when they sent the email to reconfirm, there wasn't something iin it to indicate they were under construction. My room was terribly noisy so I asked to be moved to a quietier area of the floor. The employees were very accommodating and I was moved to another room..however it was directly behind the elevator shaft. I didn't want to seem like a problem guest so I just got some earplugs and threw a pillow over my head and slept fine. The phones were out of order in my room and they came to fix them right away...and the mini bar was empty...so if I needed something, I could call and someone would bring it to me...again, the employees went above and beyond...I think my biggest problem was that I was not informed of the construction work and had I known, I would not have visited at the time. I would have paid the higher price and come later. February 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suprising This was my second stay at the W Chicago Lakeshore. I'd like to bring two issues to your attention: 1- the bed I slept in had long blond hairs between the covers and sheets. I don't have long or blond hair. When one sees this, it calls into question the overall cleanliness of the room and the hotel. 2- I called the front desk and spoke with the concierge several times. Every time but one, the person was professional and helpful. The one time I called to ask about the arrival time of the sunrise shuttle to a conference, I was told that there was no such shuttle. When I told the person that I could see there was one on the documentation I had, the person's response was a brusk "I don't have that information." December 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thin Walls I thought this was a great room until I heard the screaming children in the room next to me. The walls were very thin so I could hear the children and the parents. I realize it's hard to control kids so prior to dinner I figured it would end. When I returned to my room at at about 9:30 pm, there was, what sounded like, a tickle-fight happening. It was nearing 10pm and after a day of traveling and another one the following day, i wanted silence and to relax. Due to the very thin walls and door adjoining our rooms, I had to listen to the very loud children and their parents for over it hour. I'm still tired . . . August 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expected more from the W brand I have stayed at many W hotels around the country before and had wonderful experiences so when I booked by stay at the W Chicago Lakeshore Drive I was expecting the same high standards. Sad to say I was thoroughly disappointed. The room I had assigned (#925) was down a dirty corridor which was clearly leading up to rooms that were under renovation. The carpet had boot imprints of construction workers, the doors were dented, chipped and otherwise scratched. My room itself was dated looking, and had an extremely noisy air conditioning system which gave me a very restless sleep. Overall very disappointed with this stay - I expected much better quality control from the W brand. August 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Please Would like to say something positive but I am irritated. Provided my lifetime platinum number at time of booking. No mention of status at check in, lifetime platinum. Check in person said they don't show me as platinum but she will "fix it". Stuck in a crappy little room with a building so close I could touch it. Asked about upgrade and she said they were already "committed". Code for there's a two bedroom suite they won't let go of. Won't stay here again if I can help it. August 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Falling Short Generally I really enjoy W Hotels. This hotel, however, fell short. The staff was accommodating, but the hotel lacked the W flare and exacting experience that I've come to expect from W Hotels. For instance, our room did not have a safe, the plumbing pipes contained air and rattled during every shower, and we heard lot's of elevator noise from our room. We requested to change rooms, but the staff could not make that happen. Unfortunately, this was the first time I brought my wife to a W... and after setting her expectations quite high, I think the experience fell well short. December 3, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 next>>