W Chicago - Lakeshore

  • 644 North Lake Shore Drive
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611-3017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 503 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Stay at the W This was my second stay at the W-Lakeshore. The first time was years ago, and I was pleased to see that the room was just was awesome as the first time. There was some renovations going on which made it difficult to hang out in the lobby, and the service from staff was a bit slow. However, the hotel is still lovely and comfortable. May 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thin Walls I thought this was a great room until I heard the screaming children in the room next to me. The walls were very thin so I could hear the children and the parents. I realize it's hard to control kids so prior to dinner I figured it would end. When I returned to my room at at about 9:30 pm, there was, what sounded like, a tickle-fight happening. It was nearing 10pm and after a day of traveling and another one the following day, i wanted silence and to relax. Due to the very thin walls and door adjoining our rooms, I had to listen to the very loud children and their parents for over it hour. I'm still tired . . . August 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expected more from the W brand I have stayed at many W hotels around the country before and had wonderful experiences so when I booked by stay at the W Chicago Lakeshore Drive I was expecting the same high standards. Sad to say I was thoroughly disappointed. The room I had assigned (#925) was down a dirty corridor which was clearly leading up to rooms that were under renovation. The carpet had boot imprints of construction workers, the doors were dented, chipped and otherwise scratched. My room itself was dated looking, and had an extremely noisy air conditioning system which gave me a very restless sleep. Overall very disappointed with this stay - I expected much better quality control from the W brand. August 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Energetic vibe, but seems family friendly Booked to have a get-away for the 4th of July and enjoy the fireworks near Navy Pier. Fantastic location and really comfortable amenities. The lobby was quite active and lively, but not obnoxiously so. We noted families with small children, and the relaxed atmosphere seemed to keep everyone happy, including the toddlers and the hip 20-something guests. Check-in was delayed slightly with the rush at 3 o'clock, but free drinks were quickly dispatched to again ease things. Dinner, drinks, and breakfast room service were excellent. Things are pricey, but within expectations for the setting and caliber of hotel. July 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Please Would like to say something positive but I am irritated. Provided my lifetime platinum number at time of booking. No mention of status at check in, lifetime platinum. Check in person said they don't show me as platinum but she will "fix it". Stuck in a crappy little room with a building so close I could touch it. Asked about upgrade and she said they were already "committed". Code for there's a two bedroom suite they won't let go of. Won't stay here again if I can help it. August 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Remarkably under par The decor is deteriorating and the staffs don't seem to notice it. Next door guests were noisy with loud music and no one seemed to care. The elevator carpets were mingy and the place smells a bit moldy. The gym is old and bar outdated with too many frat guys. Staffs are friendly, but service quality is subpar compared to neighboring hotels. Hippy music does not make up for the lack in quality. This place is worth below $89 a night with its lack of substance. November 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff + Location + Room Comfort = 5 Stars The reason I am writing this review is because of the exceptional service we received from the front desk staff, specifically Shayla. She was so very helpful and pleasant, telling about the Acura complimentary shuttle service and mapping out places we wanted to go. I understand this is what to be expected from hotel staff, but her "above and beyond" service came when my husband and I heard a knock at our room door and a waiter delivered a bottle of chilled champagne (on ice) with 2 flutes with a lovely card wishing us a Happy Anniversary. This we believe is true exceptional service. Thanks again, Shayla. April 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to par for a W I didn't know the hotel was under renovation, But having construction crews in and out and the noise were definitely a major downside. The hotel lacks facilities, no bar or restaurant that you would expect at a W. I ordered a meal on my arrival and there weren't many options. Service was very slow, I ordered soap and was brought a teaspoon (cappuccino size) until they could find a soap spoon. The room was beautiful but the W touch was missing? Why wasn't the frig stocked? Where were the amenities and snacks the W usually has? How about a bottle of water? Don't get me started on the parking situation, $60 to park? Not even in MIAMI. But that's ok if the hotel was providing exceptional service, these guys are rude. February 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recent Stay Hi there - I work for the W brand as well and was in town visiting clients. I just wanted to pass along some small feedback.. First, the guestrooms look great. Amazing job on the renovation. Really like the decor. The dead bolt though was missing from my guestroom when I first checked in. I had to request it from W/W which was quickly assembled by Engineering. Also, one of the outlets by the bed was not properly installed so it was falling behind through the hole. I would have needed to reach my hand through the outlet hole to gain access to the wiring. Second, a few of the bikes in FIT were not working. Almost every employee though was outstanding, especially in W/W. WHEELS was the only department that wasn't quite attentive to our needs. Most of the team was inside the WHEELS office. When I was ready to retrieve my car keys, none of the employees in the hotel entrance offered to get them. I had to go inside the WHEELS office to ask for them. I'm excited to see everything once the renovations are completed. I know it can be a huge pain but you guys are doing great. Best of luck! April 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Wonderful Stay I stayed at this property for a month while in Chicago on business. I absolutely enjoyed my stay. The only hiccup was that I had to call and request my sheets be changed...the room was being cleaned every day but the sheets were not regularly changed. Other than that, I was pleased with the friendliness of the staff, the extensive room service menu, and the great location. I highly recommend this hotel! Oh, valet parking is WICKED expensive and the garage they use is not heated so don't be surprised when your car is freezing if you visit in the winter. You can't blame the hotel for the seasons though. April 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expected more. After checking in, were charged double the room rate on our card. Later told this was a hold for incidentals, which is fine, but we should have been notified of this at check-in, which we were not. TV in room was not working. Wanted to order a movie, but could not receive signal to do so. Unacceptable given the price you pay for these rooms. At check-out, we voiced our concerns and were told a manager would contact us later that day. That was three days ago and we still have not received a call. No point now - we will not return. Too many great Chicago hotels to choose from...this is not one of them. September 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Avoid room 1725 When I checked into the room, I noticed a bad smell. I tried to ignore it as it was late and I didn't want to be a picky guest. The next morning when I woke up and got out of bed, I stepped onto a soaking wet carpet. It seems the air conditioning unit had been leaking for some time, long enough to crate mold/mildew. The staff was pleasant about the room change, but the key they gave me for the new room didn't work. I also came to discover the door on the new room didn't latch. The bolt and the entry lock functioned, but that only secured the room when I was in it. Overall, the staff was nice, but this is the first time I've ever felt compelled to write a negative review for a hotel. June 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will never go to W Chicago Lakeshore again I stayed here on New Year's Eve with my wife and two kids. Boy, what a mistake!! It was completely chaotic, and there was a severe shortage of security personnel. There were fights breaking out everywhere between groups of drunken partiers. I just missed being hit by a glass being thrown at another person in an elevator fight (I was doused by a thrown drink or two however). Not a safe place for anyone, let alone my wife and my kids!! January 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service and comfort Really enjoyed my stay. Only slight criticism would be air conditioning was a little loud, but construction is ongoing so possibly related to that. April 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Maureen went above and beyond to get me my view! I booked this W because of nostalgia-- when I was a student at Northwestern, we had a formal there. I also really wanted a lake view room. When there was a mistake with my booking-- whomever I spoke to booked me a city room even though I had specified lake, and I didn't notice on the email confirmation-- Maureen in reception went above and beyond and figured out a way to get me a lake view with the king bed I had requested. I even had a great view of Navy Pier. Maureen further accommodated me with a late check out so I could work in the quiet of my room until my car came to take me to the airport. September 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Place The hotel was nice but my experience would have been better if it was easier to navigate. The hotel is under construction. It would have been nice if that had been shared with us prior to arrival. WIFI should be included in the rate. It is a very contemporary hotel. April 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Construction My stay at the W Lakeshore was a little disappointing. The hotel was undergoing renovation and there were constant traffic jams right outside the elevator. The rooftop bar was closed down and instead, there was a makeshift bar/restaurant set up in the temporary lobby that got crowded immediately. All in all, my stay wasn't to the standards I have of the W Hotel/Starwood Hotels, in general. My hotel room was recently renovated and was very nice and satisfactory. April 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING W EXPERIENCE Jackie at the front desk was so helpful and warm and friendly as always. Mike is one of your best ambassadors. And the I love the room, clean and comfortable with an amazing view of the lakefront. I only stay at this hotel when I'm in Chicago. I know there are newer, trendier hotels now, but this has the best location and still feels exclusive. I just wish they'd make it more of a hangout spot at night. The beautiful view the bar at the top has does no justice when there's nobody in there. Regardless, it's kind of nice to have it all to yourself. The staff is great and the hotel is beautiful! May 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic place/dream staff I just had a wonderful stay at the W on Lakeshore. It's a wonderful location of course, but really what made the stay fantastic was the extremely friendly and attentive staff, from the concierge and front desk staff, to the restaurant and the cleaning staff. Everybody from beginning to end was just superb. The hotel is a serious bargain, and very comfortable. The spa is of course well known. The only thing I thought needed improving was the sky lounge-the staff there was not very attentive, and it's a small room. Otherwise, this is the place to stay in Chicago, and I can't wait to come back February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long Time Guest I've stayed at this W repeatedly over 3 years for business and have been very impressed with the ability of the staff to respond to requests, and constructive criticism. (e.g., the new sign in board for the cardio equipment in the fitness center!) All of the staff is very welcoming, from check-in to valet to housekeeping--I feel like Linda in room service is my guardian angel when I'm there! If the rooms are available, I highly recommend upgrading/requesting a lake view room. Looking out on the water and pier is an unbeatable way to end a stressful day at work, or refresh before the next. January 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointment I was extremely excited to be staying at the world renowned W Hotel. Upon my arrival, I noticed a beautiful and luxurious hotel with not so friendly staff. The biggest disappointment of them all my was my so called "wonderful" room. The lackluster room was not only small but it was designed with cheap furniture. It did not have the cutting edge décor the W Hotel is known for. In addition, the tub in the bathroom was not that clean. Needless to say, my family and I were not pleased with the W Hotel. I do not mind paying for a luxurious stay, but in this case I did not get my moneys worth October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by the w and alinea on a whim, a bunch of friends and i decided to fly up to dine at alinea. the next question then was: where to stay? one of our friends recommended the w (by lakeshore) so we went ahead with that suggestion. when we arrived, we were immediately caught by how well the hotel was situated and the facilities it offered (car service and a nice lobby bar). prior to our alinea dinner, we had the perfect pre-dinner drinks by the lobby bar, which felt insulated by the surrounds of the hotel. a car service then promptly picked us up for alinea; it was the perfect prelude to our dinner sojourn. July 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suprising This was my second stay at the W Chicago Lakeshore. I'd like to bring two issues to your attention: 1- the bed I slept in had long blond hairs between the covers and sheets. I don't have long or blond hair. When one sees this, it calls into question the overall cleanliness of the room and the hotel. 2- I called the front desk and spoke with the concierge several times. Every time but one, the person was professional and helpful. The one time I called to ask about the arrival time of the sunrise shuttle to a conference, I was told that there was no such shuttle. When I told the person that I could see there was one on the documentation I had, the person's response was a brusk "I don't have that information." December 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Falling Short Generally I really enjoy W Hotels. This hotel, however, fell short. The staff was accommodating, but the hotel lacked the W flare and exacting experience that I've come to expect from W Hotels. For instance, our room did not have a safe, the plumbing pipes contained air and rattled during every shower, and we heard lot's of elevator noise from our room. We requested to change rooms, but the staff could not make that happen. Unfortunately, this was the first time I brought my wife to a W... and after setting her expectations quite high, I think the experience fell well short. December 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Way To Bring In the New Year The NYE package was great! We had a beautiful room with an awesome view of the (frozen) lake. We had a toast at 12 am and enjoyed our breakfast and late check out the next day. January 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A business trip to the Windy City... Typically well appointed W hotel with a terrific location. View from the bar on the 33rd floor is unreal, but a bit too cold the night I was in it. Rooms are well appointed and staff was extraordinary as always. I was able to get a room with a great view of Lake Michigan and Navy Pier. The ONLY downside was no uprade being a Platinum SPG member. I've stayed at a few others and enjoyed an upgraded suite along with the view. Maybe they were full, but I must admit wanting that upgrade. I would recommend for both business and casual travelers as the location alone is tough to beat. May 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close to Navy Pier The hotel is within walking distance of Navy Pier, shopping and nice dining. Read the website closely and call to book reservation as the hotel is under construction and you may get a room that does not match the discription on the Web. This happened to us, but they tried to make it right. April 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very unhappy When offered the "green option" at check-in, I asked what it entailed. I was told our sheets wouldn't be changed. That was fine, we were only there for 3 nights. However, we were not told that "green option" actually meant housekeeping would not enter our room at all; trash was not emptied, floors not swept, glasses and towels not refreshed, beds not made. Why would we stay in an expensive hotel for no service at all? Our complaints were met with a free breakfast offer and $75 off, which didn't even cover the city taxes. Skip this hotel, which is all flash and no substance. September 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by just a wait now We had a great stay here. However the hotel was under renovations and that we didn't know before arriving. Which left us a little disappointed because we would have liked to enjoy the hotel fully we really wanted to see the view from way up but that was all shut down. Our view from our room was nice but a little obstructed with the buildings around could see some of the city. The staff was amazing and helped us with everything we needed. Big shout out to the welcome desk manager Peter Ramos he helped us a lot. Great guest relations with him. February 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by UNDER CONSTRUCTION Staff tried to overcome challenges of working in temporary areas. Check in process was great on Friday . check out process with questions was painfully slow. Young woman behind check in desk overwhelm with no back up support. People waited in line close to 30 minutes just to check in.On duty management should have been aware of the back up and offered support. April 7, 2014
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 18 next>>