W Chicago - Lakeshore

  • 644 North Lake Shore Drive
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611-3017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 515 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long Time Guest I've stayed at this W repeatedly over 3 years for business and have been very impressed with the ability of the staff to respond to requests, and constructive criticism. (e.g., the new sign in board for the cardio equipment in the fitness center!) All of the staff is very welcoming, from check-in to valet to housekeeping--I feel like Linda in room service is my guardian angel when I'm there! If the rooms are available, I highly recommend upgrading/requesting a lake view room. Looking out on the water and pier is an unbeatable way to end a stressful day at work, or refresh before the next. January 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointment I was extremely excited to be staying at the world renowned W Hotel. Upon my arrival, I noticed a beautiful and luxurious hotel with not so friendly staff. The biggest disappointment of them all my was my so called "wonderful" room. The lackluster room was not only small but it was designed with cheap furniture. It did not have the cutting edge décor the W Hotel is known for. In addition, the tub in the bathroom was not that clean. Needless to say, my family and I were not pleased with the W Hotel. I do not mind paying for a luxurious stay, but in this case I did not get my moneys worth October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by the w and alinea on a whim, a bunch of friends and i decided to fly up to dine at alinea. the next question then was: where to stay? one of our friends recommended the w (by lakeshore) so we went ahead with that suggestion. when we arrived, we were immediately caught by how well the hotel was situated and the facilities it offered (car service and a nice lobby bar). prior to our alinea dinner, we had the perfect pre-dinner drinks by the lobby bar, which felt insulated by the surrounds of the hotel. a car service then promptly picked us up for alinea; it was the perfect prelude to our dinner sojourn. July 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Stay at the W This was my second stay at the W-Lakeshore. The first time was years ago, and I was pleased to see that the room was just was awesome as the first time. There was some renovations going on which made it difficult to hang out in the lobby, and the service from staff was a bit slow. However, the hotel is still lovely and comfortable. May 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suprising This was my second stay at the W Chicago Lakeshore. I'd like to bring two issues to your attention: 1- the bed I slept in had long blond hairs between the covers and sheets. I don't have long or blond hair. When one sees this, it calls into question the overall cleanliness of the room and the hotel. 2- I called the front desk and spoke with the concierge several times. Every time but one, the person was professional and helpful. The one time I called to ask about the arrival time of the sunrise shuttle to a conference, I was told that there was no such shuttle. When I told the person that I could see there was one on the documentation I had, the person's response was a brusk "I don't have that information." December 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Falling Short Generally I really enjoy W Hotels. This hotel, however, fell short. The staff was accommodating, but the hotel lacked the W flare and exacting experience that I've come to expect from W Hotels. For instance, our room did not have a safe, the plumbing pipes contained air and rattled during every shower, and we heard lot's of elevator noise from our room. We requested to change rooms, but the staff could not make that happen. Unfortunately, this was the first time I brought my wife to a W... and after setting her expectations quite high, I think the experience fell well short. December 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A business trip to the Windy City... Typically well appointed W hotel with a terrific location. View from the bar on the 33rd floor is unreal, but a bit too cold the night I was in it. Rooms are well appointed and staff was extraordinary as always. I was able to get a room with a great view of Lake Michigan and Navy Pier. The ONLY downside was no uprade being a Platinum SPG member. I've stayed at a few others and enjoyed an upgraded suite along with the view. Maybe they were full, but I must admit wanting that upgrade. I would recommend for both business and casual travelers as the location alone is tough to beat. May 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very unhappy When offered the "green option" at check-in, I asked what it entailed. I was told our sheets wouldn't be changed. That was fine, we were only there for 3 nights. However, we were not told that "green option" actually meant housekeeping would not enter our room at all; trash was not emptied, floors not swept, glasses and towels not refreshed, beds not made. Why would we stay in an expensive hotel for no service at all? Our complaints were met with a free breakfast offer and $75 off, which didn't even cover the city taxes. Skip this hotel, which is all flash and no substance. September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Way To Bring In the New Year The NYE package was great! We had a beautiful room with an awesome view of the (frozen) lake. We had a toast at 12 am and enjoyed our breakfast and late check out the next day. January 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by W scent I'm a long time Starwood guy, but the fact that Westin and W feel the need to enhance the experience with custom scents has gone too far. Recently stayed at W Lakeshore in Chicago, a beautiful hotel with great service and views -- but left sick in part because of sensitivity to whatever perfume type product was fed into my room, despite the fact I had to change rooms in the middle of the night.. I realize most people don't react the way I do, but even my colleagues have commented on how they are "so over" the aroma every time they walk into one of those properties. October 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by What is with the elevators? I lost a lot of time to the elevators at this hotel. You have to key in choose your floor and you had to enter and remove your key card just right for it to recognize it and let you pick your room. I know it wasn't just me since I tried both key cards and watched many other people share the same frustration. 3 times I had to ride to floors above mine since it wouldn't accept my key card in time to choose my floor. The bathrooms had an open window to the room which was odd. The ceilings had "popcorn" not something you'd expect from newer, chic hotel. The lobby smelled like a cheap Vegas casino and the door men were all pretty apathetic to the existence of customers. The girls at the check-in desk were friendly and nice. April 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by just a wait now We had a great stay here. However the hotel was under renovations and that we didn't know before arriving. Which left us a little disappointed because we would have liked to enjoy the hotel fully we really wanted to see the view from way up but that was all shut down. Our view from our room was nice but a little obstructed with the buildings around could see some of the city. The staff was amazing and helped us with everything we needed. Big shout out to the welcome desk manager Peter Ramos he helped us a lot. Great guest relations with him. February 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst stay I've ever had There were several issues I first didnany 't have working lights in the room upon entry,then the maintenance didn't arrive to put a bulb in the light until 3 calls to the front desk,then my room didn't have a microwave or frig.I requested one and was told that none were available,then AFTER I told the lady at check in I had 230.00worth of take out she never mentioned there wasn't any where to keep the food cool which I also mentioned during reservations via phone call, then after I called for luggage pick up no one ever arrived,we had to carry all our bags down February 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nicely Surprised I had read a number of negative reviews and was nervous about going to this hotel given the current state of construction. However, even though the entryway and lounge were a bit pieced together, the staff was friendly and helpful, our rooms were clean and quiet. I could see the need for renovation, as things were a little worn, but overall, everything was nice and our stay was enjoyable. The hotel also has an incredible view and is in the perfect location for Chicago travel. I hope to visit again when the hotel is finished! February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recent Stay Hi there - I work for the W brand as well and was in town visiting clients. I just wanted to pass along some small feedback.. First, the guestrooms look great. Amazing job on the renovation. Really like the decor. The dead bolt though was missing from my guestroom when I first checked in. I had to request it from W/W which was quickly assembled by Engineering. Also, one of the outlets by the bed was not properly installed so it was falling behind through the hole. I would have needed to reach my hand through the outlet hole to gain access to the wiring. Second, a few of the bikes in FIT were not working. Almost every employee though was outstanding, especially in W/W. WHEELS was the only department that wasn't quite attentive to our needs. Most of the team was inside the WHEELS office. When I was ready to retrieve my car keys, none of the employees in the hotel entrance offered to get them. I had to go inside the WHEELS office to ask for them. I'm excited to see everything once the renovations are completed. I know it can be a huge pain but you guys are doing great. Best of luck! April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by over night stay there were a few things missing out of the mini bar area that every other w has always had. the guy at the desk sent us to a restaurant down the st that he said he gos to all the time and it was closed. i told the bar man we were on a tight time table we all ordered food at the bar the other two people in my party got there food and i got something i did not order i asked and he said they were out of what i had ordered so it did not leave me time to eat before our engagement. i love the W but this one is not up to par the spa was great massage was excellent February 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service and comfort Really enjoyed my stay. Only slight criticism would be air conditioning was a little loud, but construction is ongoing so possibly related to that. April 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Place The hotel was nice but my experience would have been better if it was easier to navigate. The hotel is under construction. It would have been nice if that had been shared with us prior to arrival. WIFI should be included in the rate. It is a very contemporary hotel. April 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The W Scent I'm a long time Starwood guy, but the fact that the W feels the need to enhance the experience with custom scents has gone too far. Recently stayed at W Lakeshore in Chicago, a beautiful hotel with great service and views -- but left sick in part because of sensitivity to whatever perfume type product was fed into my room, forcing me to change rooms in the middle of the night.. I realize most people don't react the way I do, but even my colleagues have commented on how they are "so over" the aroma every time they walk into one of those properties. October 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff very helpful We were able to check in early, which really helped after we traveled 4+hours with 2 granddaughters in the car , they even upgraded us to a lake & pier view which was beautiful. Everyone was so helpful with directions or suggestions. Every restaurant they suggested was outstanding. The only negative thing I can say is that we were charged for a snack basket & bottle of vodka which we did not use but they did credit my bill, so the negative turned out to be a positive. We would return, & hopefully soon! We loved Chicago! Great stay at the W hotel! July 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mostly Good, but some Bad Room was nicer than I expected and decent sized. Nice views. Decent service. Decent food. Two main issues: Hallway odor: Hallways on several floors (not all) had damp musty smell. Not just a hint, a lot. Get some Fabreeze or carpet powder or something. It was not pleasant. The event space on the 33rd floor had some of the worst climate control issues. One side of room was cold (and I don't get cold). The other side was hot and sticky. Yes, Chicago was hot those days, but there shouldn't be a 10 degree temperature gradient in a span of 30 feet. July 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The fan in the room never turned off. I stay at this hotel with my mom. I realized that the fan never stop at 5 am. They gave us a room that the fan/air condition/heater is not working correctly. So I called the information desk and they let me know how to turn off, but it did not work. So finally an engineer came over to look at and fixed it. So I slept the whole night with the noisy sound from fan. And in the morning, I told a person at the front desk about this, and she said " i apologized " without smiling. So It was my horrible experience with "W" that I never expected. May 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent My husband and I recently celebrated our one year anniversary in Chicago and stayed at the W Lakeshore and we had an incredible experience. We cant say enough wonderful things about the W's staff, amenities and the overall hotel. The entire hotel smelled so fresh and it was so nice to notice the importance of details at the hotel. We travel all over the country and by far, our stay at the W in Chicago was the most wonderful vacation we have taken, mostly because of the treatment we received by the W staff and all of the hotels services. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. I wish I could remember names to recognize the individuals. We can't stop gushing to our friends and family what an amazing experience we had. We hope to be back soon!!! May 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by UNDER CONSTRUCTION Staff tried to overcome challenges of working in temporary areas. Check in process was great on Friday . check out process with questions was painfully slow. Young woman behind check in desk overwhelm with no back up support. People waited in line close to 30 minutes just to check in.On duty management should have been aware of the back up and offered support. April 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close to Navy Pier The hotel is within walking distance of Navy Pier, shopping and nice dining. Read the website closely and call to book reservation as the hotel is under construction and you may get a room that does not match the discription on the Web. This happened to us, but they tried to make it right. April 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as Perfect as Usual This is my favorite hotel in Chicago but everything seemed out of sorts this time. I was asked to pay an extra $50 to get a lakeview room when I always have had one in the past and it is the primary reason I stay there. I declined. I had to have room service come back twice because they forgot elements of my breakfast and in the end I did not have a spoon for the yogurt. The coffee in the lobby is really a nice touch and much appreciated and once I had my jog on the Lakefront I was happy I stayed there but normally I am extatic. September 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pros and cons Pros: Food was excellent, had two breakfasts and the coffee in the lobby was much appreciated. Great location and view Cons: AC kept room at 70.5 regardless of setting on thermostat. I know this since my travel clock has a thermometer. Did not like the lack of privacy afforded by the louvered "window" in bathroom and the louvered sliding door that had no seal or sound proofing. Safe failed to work twice requiring the engineer to come up and open it for us. The "couch" took up much valuable room and was not at all comfortable. October 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid. The hotel itself was under renovation, so physically things were slightly below norm: areas were closed off, and there was scaffolding and construction equipment here and there. But the room was great, very comfortable with a wonderful view of the city. Location is superb, and My 11-year-old really enjoyed the pool. April 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by they have moved my stuff to another room I've stayed at the W Chicago Lakeshore from 2/20/14-2/22/14. I was shocked after I came back from the meeting on Friday night and found out all my belongings were gone. It turned out they have moved my stuff to another room( without any notice or discussion with me??!!), they brought them back in about an hour and thankfully I didn't lose anything but a cookie. I was supposed to check out on 2/22/14 and I talked to the manager(I called to address the issue of Friday night), he offered to leave the belongings in the room and he would extend the check out time until late afternoon, however, when I came back, the key wasn't working. I had to make another trip to the front desk. the hotel now is also under construction. some construction noise from 9 am till 4 or 5 pm. the lake view from the room was nice though. February 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Decent Property / Terrible Lost and Found Stayed here on Dec 9th. I left a sweater in the room, took me 9 nine days of leaving messages every other day to finally get someone from security on the phone to tell me if they had my sweater, which they said they did not. I was only in that hotel, then a meeting, then the airport. The only the possible place I could have left it was the room. As I wore it the night of check-in, and I didn't wear it the next day.Lot's of properties in Chicago that are Starwood, from here on out I willl choose somewhere else. December 19, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 18 next>>