W Chicago - Lakeshore

  • 644 North Lake Shore Drive
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611-3017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 508 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very unhappy When offered the "green option" at check-in, I asked what it entailed. I was told our sheets wouldn't be changed. That was fine, we were only there for 3 nights. However, we were not told that "green option" actually meant housekeeping would not enter our room at all; trash was not emptied, floors not swept, glasses and towels not refreshed, beds not made. Why would we stay in an expensive hotel for no service at all? Our complaints were met with a free breakfast offer and $75 off, which didn't even cover the city taxes. Skip this hotel, which is all flash and no substance. September 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by March Stay As always the welome was excellent and the new rooms were great. However I need to point out my first ever disappointment at the W Lakeshore. Upon checking into my room and looking in the refrigerator to chill some bottles of water I found leftover salad and food from the last guest that had not been removed by the staff. As well there was still painters tape on the ceiling in the shower. March 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by W scent I'm a long time Starwood guy, but the fact that Westin and W feel the need to enhance the experience with custom scents has gone too far. Recently stayed at W Lakeshore in Chicago, a beautiful hotel with great service and views -- but left sick in part because of sensitivity to whatever perfume type product was fed into my room, despite the fact I had to change rooms in the middle of the night.. I realize most people don't react the way I do, but even my colleagues have commented on how they are "so over" the aroma every time they walk into one of those properties. October 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel will probably look amazing when the renovations are done I've stayed here years ago and I am glad that the property is being upgraded. It needs it. For now, and while the renovations are taking place, it is not the best hotel option. There were also some big misses that have nothing to do with the construction. For instance my room did not have a bathrobe, slippers or body lotion. I would expect these amenities from a W. March 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by What is with the elevators? I lost a lot of time to the elevators at this hotel. You have to key in choose your floor and you had to enter and remove your key card just right for it to recognize it and let you pick your room. I know it wasn't just me since I tried both key cards and watched many other people share the same frustration. 3 times I had to ride to floors above mine since it wouldn't accept my key card in time to choose my floor. The bathrooms had an open window to the room which was odd. The ceilings had "popcorn" not something you'd expect from newer, chic hotel. The lobby smelled like a cheap Vegas casino and the door men were all pretty apathetic to the existence of customers. The girls at the check-in desk were friendly and nice. April 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Chicago Awesome Room! Awesome Hotel! Awesome Service! April 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst stay I've ever had There were several issues I first didnany 't have working lights in the room upon entry,then the maintenance didn't arrive to put a bulb in the light until 3 calls to the front desk,then my room didn't have a microwave or frig.I requested one and was told that none were available,then AFTER I told the lady at check in I had 230.00worth of take out she never mentioned there wasn't any where to keep the food cool which I also mentioned during reservations via phone call, then after I called for luggage pick up no one ever arrived,we had to carry all our bags down February 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by stayed a few days with my family We enjoyed our stay even during the renovation. There was food in the fridge when we arrived and that was a little disappointing. Despite its trendy nature the hotel really worked out well for us. March 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location Unfortunately this year there were major renovations going on. new chef, big improvement. Guest services are excellent. WIFI definitely a problem. I had a renovated room which was very nice but I didn't care for the very dark hallways. Charges for wifi? didn't work in restaurant or bar? and you charge $15 / day. Who charges for wifi these days??? March 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by they have moved my stuff to another room I've stayed at the W Chicago Lakeshore from 2/20/14-2/22/14. I was shocked after I came back from the meeting on Friday night and found out all my belongings were gone. It turned out they have moved my stuff to another room( without any notice or discussion with me??!!), they brought them back in about an hour and thankfully I didn't lose anything but a cookie. I was supposed to check out on 2/22/14 and I talked to the manager(I called to address the issue of Friday night), he offered to leave the belongings in the room and he would extend the check out time until late afternoon, however, when I came back, the key wasn't working. I had to make another trip to the front desk. the hotel now is also under construction. some construction noise from 9 am till 4 or 5 pm. the lake view from the room was nice though. February 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by over night stay there were a few things missing out of the mini bar area that every other w has always had. the guy at the desk sent us to a restaurant down the st that he said he gos to all the time and it was closed. i told the bar man we were on a tight time table we all ordered food at the bar the other two people in my party got there food and i got something i did not order i asked and he said they were out of what i had ordered so it did not leave me time to eat before our engagement. i love the W but this one is not up to par the spa was great massage was excellent February 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The W Scent I'm a long time Starwood guy, but the fact that the W feels the need to enhance the experience with custom scents has gone too far. Recently stayed at W Lakeshore in Chicago, a beautiful hotel with great service and views -- but left sick in part because of sensitivity to whatever perfume type product was fed into my room, forcing me to change rooms in the middle of the night.. I realize most people don't react the way I do, but even my colleagues have commented on how they are "so over" the aroma every time they walk into one of those properties. October 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff very helpful We were able to check in early, which really helped after we traveled 4+hours with 2 granddaughters in the car , they even upgraded us to a lake & pier view which was beautiful. Everyone was so helpful with directions or suggestions. Every restaurant they suggested was outstanding. The only negative thing I can say is that we were charged for a snack basket & bottle of vodka which we did not use but they did credit my bill, so the negative turned out to be a positive. We would return, & hopefully soon! We loved Chicago! Great stay at the W hotel! July 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mostly Good, but some Bad Room was nicer than I expected and decent sized. Nice views. Decent service. Decent food. Two main issues: Hallway odor: Hallways on several floors (not all) had damp musty smell. Not just a hint, a lot. Get some Fabreeze or carpet powder or something. It was not pleasant. The event space on the 33rd floor had some of the worst climate control issues. One side of room was cold (and I don't get cold). The other side was hot and sticky. Yes, Chicago was hot those days, but there shouldn't be a 10 degree temperature gradient in a span of 30 feet. July 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Under construction Awful restaurant no bathroom on main floor where bar and check-in was located. March 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The fan in the room never turned off. I stay at this hotel with my mom. I realized that the fan never stop at 5 am. They gave us a room that the fan/air condition/heater is not working correctly. So I called the information desk and they let me know how to turn off, but it did not work. So finally an engineer came over to look at and fixed it. So I slept the whole night with the noisy sound from fan. And in the morning, I told a person at the front desk about this, and she said " i apologized " without smiling. So It was my horrible experience with "W" that I never expected. May 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unfortunate Visit When I booked my stay there was no mention of the hotel being remodeled and under construction. The entry to the hotel reception was very unappealing. The restaurant we were eager to use, was now in a basement with no view. The bar looked like it was in someone's basement, which it was and also was unappealing. My room was next to the elevator shaft so I heard noise all night. The shades on my window were broken and the light in the makeup mirror was also broken. February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent My husband and I recently celebrated our one year anniversary in Chicago and stayed at the W Lakeshore and we had an incredible experience. We cant say enough wonderful things about the W's staff, amenities and the overall hotel. The entire hotel smelled so fresh and it was so nice to notice the importance of details at the hotel. We travel all over the country and by far, our stay at the W in Chicago was the most wonderful vacation we have taken, mostly because of the treatment we received by the W staff and all of the hotels services. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. I wish I could remember names to recognize the individuals. We can't stop gushing to our friends and family what an amazing experience we had. We hope to be back soon!!! May 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Decent Property / Terrible Lost and Found Stayed here on Dec 9th. I left a sweater in the room, took me 9 nine days of leaving messages every other day to finally get someone from security on the phone to tell me if they had my sweater, which they said they did not. I was only in that hotel, then a meeting, then the airport. The only the possible place I could have left it was the room. As I wore it the night of check-in, and I didn't wear it the next day.Lot's of properties in Chicago that are Starwood, from here on out I willl choose somewhere else. December 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as Perfect as Usual This is my favorite hotel in Chicago but everything seemed out of sorts this time. I was asked to pay an extra $50 to get a lakeview room when I always have had one in the past and it is the primary reason I stay there. I declined. I had to have room service come back twice because they forgot elements of my breakfast and in the end I did not have a spoon for the yogurt. The coffee in the lobby is really a nice touch and much appreciated and once I had my jog on the Lakefront I was happy I stayed there but normally I am extatic. September 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pros and cons Pros: Food was excellent, had two breakfasts and the coffee in the lobby was much appreciated. Great location and view Cons: AC kept room at 70.5 regardless of setting on thermostat. I know this since my travel clock has a thermometer. Did not like the lack of privacy afforded by the louvered "window" in bathroom and the louvered sliding door that had no seal or sound proofing. Safe failed to work twice requiring the engineer to come up and open it for us. The "couch" took up much valuable room and was not at all comfortable. October 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by WORST W Stay EVER! The hotel is "under a refresh"" via website is an understatement. It is confusing, & unstaffed. The winding confusing hallway takes you to a desk in the bar area as the "lobby". The room is worn, smoke smelled. The bathroom has a mildew odor and shower curtain has a strong odor. I will NEVER stay in a W again.....a pity as I have and loved my past W experiences, but I feel they've downgraded to a 1-2 star motel now. February 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by W Chicago Lakeshore Hotel cleaning staff was very unprofessional. Never refilled my coffee station, never placed a new bottle of water, never placed a new bar of soap and one lady once dared to give me the coffee pads and cups from another room's trash that was placed out in the hall. The hotel was under heavy renovation during my stay, which wasn't announced ahead of time. When I requested a room the following morning in a more quieter section of the hotel I got placed a few floors down but the noise was as bad as before. Moving to another room after that was no more an option because they were "basically full" but there were still rooms available online. The only good thing that happened during my stay at this hotel was the response I got from the Operations Manager after emailing my complaints. She was very professional in her response. However this stay is not one I'd want to experience again. February 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The hotel is not at W level The hotel is old, does not have any of the glamour that the W brand is trying to build. It is under staffed (concierge was NEVER available), with very poor room features. As a Platinum member with more than 60 nights spent in 2013 in your hotels, I felt extremely under served. I will not give SPG the same business in 2014. The hotel management should be fired on the spot. Your web site should disclose that the hotel is under renovation: extremely poor customer care and terrible attitude. Shame on SPG. December 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel was my worst SPG stay The W hotels have a great reputation and I love staying at the W! I have spent so much time at the W in Bangkok - which is awesome! But regarding this one - I wasn't told of the renovation work. Being a light sleeper, I couldn't sleep through my night because of the early morning construction. The room had no water when I came and the March 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a place to relax The hotel lighting and atmosphere from the minute you walk in feels like a nightclub. I am all for a good time but this is not a place to go if you are looking for an opportunity to relax while on business or need open space as a positive atmosphere. The power in my room went out for about 15 minutes my first morning there, which made me late for my first day of my conference. All that was done by the front desk, was free internet for the inconvenience. When asked if I could receive more points for this inconvenience, I was told I already received free internet, which I didn't really need. I would not recommened this hotel for someone looking for a relaxing and calm environment. The fitness center also had several broken down machines and bare on cardio equipment. March 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for a Getaway Weekend I have a great time here! The staff was very accommodating and genuine. There was renovation going on in the hotel, yet you did not feel as though there was an interruption in the flow of the hotel. The new rooms that they have changed are great! and I cant wait for the hotel to be complete and visit again. March 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible Lost and Found Staff This review is for the Lost and Found Staff only. Left a pair of men's boots at the hotel. Called the hotel and they said they found it. Paid for shipping to ship the shoes and realize they sent the wrong shoes. Called hotel back to check for my shoes and they do not have it. Was told that they would send me a prepaid label so i can ship the shoes back to the hotel and was also told i would be compensated for my inconvenience of SPG points. To this day, nothing was done. No points, no follow up, and no fedex label. October 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff was Great, Room was not Although I stayed in a lower tiered room and I tried to temper my expectations, it was in pretty poor shape: multiple burn holes in settee, no in-room safe (room 917),musty smell , scuff marks all over walls and poor shower pressure. On the plus side, the room was 'clean', all staff were extremely helpful and friendly, in-room dining was good and the bed was very comfortable. I expected more from a W hotel and may try the W City Center or another hotel. Chicago is full of wonderful hotel options. December 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great views and expected W comfort This is a nice hotel with excellent access to the River North and North Bridge areas. The hotel is right off Lakeshore Drives and offers spectacular views of the water. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and comfortable. As a shorter person, the tall bed and sink require a little extra work to get around, but nothing that was too distracting from a nice stay. The location offers easy access to shopping in the area and to Mag Mile, but is a bit farther from other famous attractions (the Loop with museums, Willis (aka Sears) Tower. The closes train station is Grand Station on the red line, and is a good 20 minutes walk away. I took the trains quite a bit, and while I would have liked something a little closer to a train station, it wasn't a big problem. September 13, 2012
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 18 next>>