W New Orleans

  • 333 Poydras Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 366 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel was dirty and run down Our room was dirty, dingy and rusty. There were stains on the shower curtain and the carpet. The toilet made an awful high pitched screeching noise for 30 seconds every time it was flushed. Our TV remote didn't work and we had to ask 3 times for it to be fixed. The bed sheets were too small and didn't sufficiently cover the mattress so we awoke in the middle of the night lying directly on the mattress. I paid for internet on my laptop and when I called to connect with my iPad I was told I would need to pay again. Overall if was a terrible experience and I will never recommend this hotel to anyone. I have asked multiple times for compensation with no response. October 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another Good Stay An ok stay. A overhaul of this Hotel is under way. Looking forward to that. This W hotel has been around for a while. It does needs a change. November 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff and Hotel do not live up to the W standards Just returned from a business trip with clients and had the worst experiance with the W hotel or any hotel ever. The Managers Kenya and Segan did nothing to accomidate our group after finding out the travel agent book everyone in King rooms instead of two twins. Segan has informed us that the hotel accross the strret could take care of us but they too were full and after asking him for my help he simply disappeared and we never saw him again. So we ended up having half the group in one hotel and the other half in this hotel andI would say the facility and rooms are not up to the normal W standard you get in other citys I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone. September 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst experience with a hotel in staff I have ever had Something is deeply wrong with this hotel. Amazing difficulty dealing with the staff. My room was dirty on arrival. Overall highly recommend avoiding this place. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Apparently the wrong night to stay here When I checked in the lady greeted me and was nice and explained all amenities including 24 hour room service. Later after shift change, I went to the front desk to ask for change and she told me to go get change at the bar on the 2nd floor. I went up there and was told that the front desk would have to give me change. I left the hotel for a few hours and asked a different lady at the front desk what was available to eat besides the 24 hour room service and she told me that not only was there nothing open there, but apparently there isn't even room service available tonight. This hotel sucks! They told me I could order food from a 3rd party - gee frickin thanks! Oh, and the toilet in my room runs all of the time. July 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This is not a typical W hotel. I chose this hotel because it's a W hotel but I'm very disappointed. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not ideal for me The lobby and entrance of the W is very nice and tranquil. The front desk and gentleman who helped with our luggage...wonderful. But...we ordered towels twice...never received. Our coffee maker did not work which we informed the hotel of, it was never replaced. The walls are extremely thin...you feel like you are sharing your room with every guest on the floor. You heard other guests phones ringing and any guest that was loud and still wanting to party in the late night hours you had to put up with. The hotel is undergoing remodeling, so hopefully they will improve on the sound barriers between the rooms. That was the worst part, that you heard everything going on. It was the worst 3 nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel. June 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Upgraded Room wasn't much of an upgrade I travel frequently, often times 15+ hotel stays a month lately I've been trying to stick to SPG hotels. This was my first stay at this particular W, and I must say I was pretty disappointed. I've been to the hotel for various events etc, so I expected better. Usually I'm offered room/suite upgrades, I had to specifically ask this time, and they were reluctant to do so it seems, which is odd seeing that I have 40 stays with them in the last 60 days. Yet on top of the "upgraded" room (higher floor, corner room)I received the furniture was dirty, the walls in the bath room were dirty, the fixtures and furniture throughout the bathroom were rusty and the darn toilet has a problem because every 5 minutes it runs. If this is how they treat frequent loyal customers or if this is the best(or anywhere near) they have to offer I don't think I'll be staying here again. Definitely Disappointed. August 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unknown Construction!! I recently stayed at the W New Orleans on Poydras, and had a few things bother me while on my stay. I was trying to complete some work in my room in between meeting clients and there was extremely disruptive construction going on above my floor. It seemed as if they were jackhammering right above my room. I was supposed to hop on a conference call, but could not due to the amount of noise. I went down to the front desk who told me I should have been made aware of the construction from an email within a week of my stay, and someone should have told me when I checked in. I did not receive an email and nobody informed of the construction. The front desk offered me a free drink for my troubles. The free drink was to a bar upstairs that had no bartender at it when I went up there at 8 PM, so that was basically useless. The hotel itself was alright, but not worth all of the noise and disturbance that was not relayed to me. June 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by not worth it The room was clean. That is my only compliment. I paid extra for corner room, which meant that I was sandwiched between two other rooms. It was so loud I could hear the next room snoring. It says there is extra square footage, but I think it was in the hallway. The day we checked out, someone knocked on our door at 09:00 to see if we checked out already. We didn't need to leave until 12:00. What was the point? Don't they have computers for that? To top it off, when I got home and saw the email of my receipt, there was a charge for the mini bar that we never used. September 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a real W My room was not very clean and there appeared to be blood on the chaise in the room. Hairs could be seen on the floor and my sheets had a hole in them One of my towels had dark spots on it and did not smell fresh. When I checked in I agreed to forgo cleaning for the first 2 days of my stay, but I was there 5 nights and my room was never cleaned I requested an early wake up call the morning of my departure and it never came. Thankfully it was a backup or I would have missed my flight. I have stayed at many W hotels and typically the are on the higher end side. This one was not even close. I love spg and want you guys to do well. Sorry to be so harsh. A positive was that my check in was very efficient and the room service was pretty good. March 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by WoW...not the good kind Ever since it opened, the W Hotel on Poydras has been our HQ when we visit the Big Easy. We enjoyed the style, service and vibe of the property. But what a difference 2 years can make. Still on the ball; the valet and bell service…and well that is about it. I’ve never written a negative review and regret doing so, but hopefully other Starwood Preferred members will appreciate the blunt honesty. At check-in the desk agent was barely audible over the enlivened guests at the bar. I’m usually the one in the group that says, “hey, did you hear that?” to replies of “hear what?”, so I know it’s not my hearing. After asking the young lady to repeat herself 3 times, and then specifically asking her to speak up, she refused to do so. I’ve never been required to work that hard to check in to a hotel, even in foreign countries where I didn’t speak the language. As we checked in, our 5 pound Maltese was proudly displayed on my mate’s shoulder in his sporty, soft side, travel crate. Nothing was said about him, a pet deposit or fee. A few hours later a Pet Waiver mysteriously showed up under our room door after we’d unpacked and enjoyed a glass of wine at the bar. Uncomfortable with the late notice and what we considered to be an exorbitant fee, we immediately went to the front desk to register our concerns. My mate had a pleasant discussion with the desk agent (a different one) where she told the agent we’d be happy to pay for any damages done by our 5 pound monster (joke, he never made a peep) and was not interested in paying the $100 fee and asked that it not be charged. To which the agent replied that under the circumstances, she didn’t see a problem with the fee being waived. At that time, it was made VERY clear, that if there was going to be a problem with waiving the fee, that we were to be contacted IMMEDIATELY. This was about 5:00 pm. It wasn’t until we were checking out of the hotel the next morning at 3:45 am-ish that upon reviewing our portfolio that we found the $100 pet fee. We relayed to the desk agent that the fee had been waived, but she insisted that it be paid. We declined, citing the other agent's waiving the fee and lack of contact to the contrary and proceeded to make our way to the airport. That morning, as well as the night before we had no hot water in either the shower or the tub. Is it too much to ask the basis bases be covered; hot water, clean towels, sheets etc.? A request was made when we checked in for a few items; 2nd luggage stand, some Equal, etc., nothing exotic or excessive. We only received ½ of the items requested with no follow up on what wasn’t received. After getting back home I received an email from the hotel’s Welcome Office Talent Coach personally apologizing for the confusion and confirming the waiver of the disputed pet fee. Unfortunately, the following day the credit card used for the room was checked on line to find not 1, not 2, but 3 separate $100 charges. Upon contacting the Welcome Office manager by phone, he said that they’d basically changed their minds and were charging us a pet fee. He was very indifferent about the failings of his staff, 2 of whom waived the fee (once in writing) and indignant about his position. The bottom line is at this Starwood W Hotel, Whatever/Whenever means that they will try to charge you Whatever they want, Whenever they want. Without warning they feel free to put $100 hold or charges on your card and renege on their promises to the detriment of Starwood Preferred Guests. But don’t just take my word for it. Look at the reviews on Trip Advisor and the W’s own website: http://www.starwoodhotels.com/whotels/property/reviews/index.html?propertyID=2030&language=en_US&localeCode=en_US . Only 59% of reviewers recommend this property! Some of the other 1 star reviews from as recent as September of this year sum up some of what I too experienced but haven’t mentioned with titles like: HOT AND FALLING APART, SAD EXCUSE FOR A STARWOOD PROPERTY and STAFF AND HOTEL DO NOT LIVE UP TO THE W STANDARDS. And just to show that they weren’t just having a bad month, check out other reviews entitled The Worst W Hotel EVER, a BIG Disappointment, Terrible and Disappointed. The list continues; Horrible Stay, Guest Rooms Need to be Cleaned and Dirty Room, Thin Walls. Granted, these reviews are all 1 star, but based on years of experience at this specific property, this W has way too many 1, 2 and 3 star reviews based on its potential. SO DON’T CRY AND SAY YOU WEREN’T WARNED: IF YOU STAY HERE YOU WILL BE SORRY! There are other Starwood properties to choose from in New Orleans. Hopefully their management values SPGs and they take pride in their property’s condition and the real WoW service that W has built their reputation on. Anyone reading this review please feel free to contact me to confirm the validity of this review. I am easy going and level headed, but can only take so much abuse. November 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, but hotel needs some work We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights for a cheer competition. The location was convenient for the venue, and also wasn't a bad walk to the French Quarter. However, the hotel itself could really use an overhaul. The beds were not comfortable, the room was small and awkwardly laid out with the door opening right into an angled wall that contained the closet. Additionally, we had staff vacuuming outside our room at 7:20 am, with absolutely no apology. The last night of our stay the bar was closed for a private event, and guests were not notified at all. Housekeeping never arrived the last day of our stay until after 6:00 pm - who wants their room cleaned then? February 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs to freshen up Hotel needs to stop trying to be so New York! It's too dark in the lobby areas - maybe not New York, but vampires?. I know you could not even read a newspaper if you had to. Black furniture and charcoal walls in rooms is just too much. But maybe the darkness is trying to hide some of the shabbiness of the furniture. Room could have been cleaned more thoroughly before arrival. Get rid of the velvet chairs and chaises! These are downright gross. And, the cloying air deodorizer in the elevator area was sickening and too strong. Again, what are you trying to hide. Staff was very nice. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WAY better than reviews said it would be I was extremely nervous about this stay. As Platinum Ambassador status, I travel and hit SPG properties a ton. Best in the world is still the Sheraton Downtown Atlanta. But overall my expectations are generally high for SPG. This hotel had some horrible reviews. I actually pondered cancelling via airplane wifi and rebooking another close property...glad I did not. Staff welcomed me graciously, no hands out for tips. Check-in was quick. Recognition for SPG status was good, got a nice suite upgrade. Overall, staff was very friendly, efficient, and all hotel was what you want from a W - trendy, clean, and comfortable. Well done. August 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I had a bad experience The hotel lobby and outdoor area are very lovely. My room, however, was a bit outdated. There was rust on both the door hinges and shower head and rod; along with any of the areas made of metal. On top of this, there was construction every morning during my stay that prevented me from sleeping past 9am. When I complained to the concierge, they were very nice, but unfortunately they were unable to move me because they were booked. Additionally, the housekeeping service did not clean the tub until I noticed stains were still there after they supposedly cleaned it. It was not until I complained (and had to complain every other day) that someone actually scrubbed the total to remove the stains. May 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing experience at eh "W." If I had known the hotel was under renovation, I wouldn't have stayed there. The staff said the water would be shut off between 10am and 4pm. The water was still shut off at 10pm. The mattresses sunk in the middle. We had loud drunks next to us. There was a barking dog on our floor and all of these things contributed to very little sleep. From 4pm to 8pm we could hear the thumping base playing from the stereo equipment at the pool. All in all, it was not a pleasant or restful stay at the "W." June 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient location This hotel is very close to the French Quarter. Initially, I confused this hotel with W French Quarter and was worried about the location, but it was only 5-mins walk to the Quarter. When I watched a Preservation Hall performance it was 11 PM but there was no problem coming back to hotel. One thing that was not very satisfactory was that it was hard to find a supermarket nearby, and the hotel did not have a market where I can buy snacks, beverages and the essentials. It would have been nicer if there was something like that. Otherwise, the staff could inform us affordable options in the neighborhood. Room and bed was comfortable, and staff was May 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This is really a W? The W New Orleans has a great location, quiet but still closet to all of the attractions. The lobby of the property is very nice -- what you have come to expect with the W brand. However, the rooms are a disaster. The beds are old and in lousy shape (not very heavenly). The room is an odd shape with no room for a chair or sitting area. There were things missing from the room each day (glasses, coffee maker, towels -- it varied by day) Overall, it was hard to believe that I was staying in a W brand hotel. April 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst W Hotel Ive stayed at a lot of W hotels (LA, SF, NYC, HK, etc). I love the W hotel and I always try to stay there when I have the chance. However, this is by far the worst stay at a W hotel i have ever had. The hotel rooms looked run down. I went for a workout Thursday morning and when I came back to shower the water was off. I called the front desk and asked about this and was informed there would be no water till 4pm. I had a meeting at 2pm, so i had to clean up with a bottle of water, I received no notice of this,. NOT when I check in the night before NOR was there a note under my door. They were doing construction in the hotel and from my room there was a LOUD drilling sound from 11am - 6pm everyday. Made it impossible to take a nap before my dinner meeting. I dont recommend this W hotel. I wish I would of stayed at the W in the french quarter. June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly staff Thanks to the amazing recommendations by Chief Concierge, Danny Alford, I experienced amazing food and music at local establishments I'd have never found on my own. Also, the bartender, Brittany, was very friendly and helpful in getting just the right refreshment after a long day of community service. October 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not W Standard I have stayed in a number of W Hotels, and this was my 2nd stay in this one in the last 3 mo. I thought the first stay experience was a fluke, but this one was no better. Both times I had a malfunctioning lamp in the room that was never fixed. This time it was a main floor lamp. Mentioning it to the front desk never worked either time. This time I had to also catch the housekeeper to tell her, and they simply removed the lamp entirely, so half my room was dark for my entire stay. The SPG perk of bottled water NEVER happened. Four days of forgetting? One day my room was not cleaned until after 6 :30 pm. and even then, it was obviously not vacuumed. During both stays here I could not get the safe open because it was locked with an unknown code. Despite SEVERAL requests to have it opened, the hotel ignored them and never sent anyone to assist, so I had no safe to use. Both times! At other hotels, there is usually a concierge present in the lobby. After 2 stays (total 8 days) here, I only saw a Whatever/Whenever concierge at that station once. The desk was empty every time I passed it. The one time he was present, however, the concierges was helpful and suggested a wonderful place for brunch. A friend of mine will be going to New Orleans in a few months and asked if he should stay at the W. I was disappointed to have to say no, but I suggested to him another nearby one instead. All the other W Hotels I have stayed at were good, and the best was Taipei's. This one falls short of what was expected and did not even meet their own standards for an SPG guest. What is most disappointing is the multiple requests that went unanswered on both visits. I will not return to this hotel next time. February 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice hotel but...... The location of the hotel is great. The service in the hotel was great and the room was nice and clean, albeit a bit small. My main gripe with the hotel is how much they charge you for parking ($43/nt), food (~$40 for a burger) and internet (~$17/3 hrs). Ridiculous! May 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not good I always loved this hotel. I was told there was nothing they could do about this hotel and the noise it was clean in the bathroom. I asked if we could change rooms and was told no. The noise was terrible. They offered ear plugs!,,,, would not even comp one nights parking!, June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great workout facility Hotel had great workout facility July 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unimpressed The Westin is usually my preferred of the Starwood properties. I would say that the Courtyard is two levels higher than this hotel. This property is really beyond showing signs of ware. The filth on the air vents and mold visibly showing through the paint was a tremendous turnoff. All rooms have air vents facing the bed so be prepared to get sick, wake with a soar throat, or sweat during the night because air needs to be turned off. Overall cleanliness of the room was extremely sub par compared to what I've seen at other Starwood properties. Certain electronics items were non-functional (i.e. Phone, iPod docking station and radio). Bathrooms were smaller than bathrooms I've experienced in Europe. Sheets and towels both had holes and were dirty. The one redeeming quality was the staff. Staff is very friendly. Relatives of ours stayed in the hotel had to switch rooms immediately upon arrival due to carpet being soaked with urine in one area of the bedroom, not bathroom. Hotel was a rip off and not up to other W standards I've stayed in before. I will not recommend this hotel. May 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Had to move rooms at 1am I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions. This last time was the worst. We were woken up on several occasions by hotel staff checking on a water problem across the hall after midnight. After the 3rd time opening the door and asking them to quiet down, the front desk called our room and offered us to move. We ended up having to move rooms at 1am. Nothing was comped and I was told I would receive only 8,000 start points for my inconvenience that I have not yet received. I was very disappointed!!!! April 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by not up to my expectations The lobby was uninviting, the bathroom had faulty fixtures, walls had stains. It is a good location for New Orleans, staff was friendly and helpful. I have stayed at other W hotels, Las Vegas, and was expecting a similar experience, but it was not to be compared. I know that New Orleans has a tough time since Katrina but that should not, at this time since then, be used as a reason for what I see April 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointed Just got in, and unfortunately the room is terrible. poorly furnished, does not look like it was properly cleaned. Looks dingy. Have stayed in other W hotels and have been happy in the past. Don't know if I got a real bad room or if the whole hotel is this way. May 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Oops, we screwed up! Very unclean, staff marginally helpful, room not acceptable. Upon checking into the hotel, a used condom was found on the side of the bath tub. Discusting!! Then the towels left for us to use revealed one bloody towel poorly washed. The air conditioning didn't work and a person was sent for a "temporary fix" until the maintanence crew came back to work on Monday. The front desk offered a free drink, 2000 spg points[may have been 3000 points] but no room change or upgrade. Lousy experience. April 21, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>