W Minneapolis - The Foshay

  • 821 Marquette Avenue
  • Minneapolis,
  • Minnesota
  • 55402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 292 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel met all my expectations Great hotel in a great location, no complaints! Tip top!! November 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by So Close To Being A Really Nice Hotel For my fellow SPG friends, this hotel breaks the #1 rule, it has no SPG Check-in line. When I arrived about 6-7 people in line to check in. Two people working and the line went fairly quick, but the point of being loyal is get a perk or two, not waiting in line to check in is suppose to one of those perks. Rooms are nice, like most W but had one really amazing issue. No power outlets at the desk nor on the side of the bed. Really? Even low end hotels have power on the bedside tables. Cell phones, Laptops they are here to stay, lets get some power outlets near the bed. Overall a nice hotel, solve these two issues and I would give it 4 or 5 star rating! February 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Service sub-par I would not recommend this hotel. I stayed here on June 7th 2012 on the 21st floor. During my stay, I attempted to take a shower, the water was ice cold and wouldn't get warm. I then proceeded to talk to a member of the hotel staff to tell them my dilemma and they said they would check into it. The next morning I attempted to shower again, It was still cold. I have never received such bad service, on top of that I was supposed to get a free breakfast from Manning's Steakhouse and was not granted that offer as well. The woman at the desk offered me a measly $25 credit for my bad experience. A hotel is supposed to offer two guaranteed amenities, 1 a place to sleep and 2 a place to clean your self. I was only granted one of them. June 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cleanliness was an issue When we arrived there were glasses out in the hallway in front of our door. They were never picked up. They were still out in the hallway when we checked out. Also, the top blanket on the bed and one of the throw pillows had crumbs on them. Definitely not clean. Lastly, when we received our bill we had extra charges from the mini-bar. They did remove them but I find it very annoying still. It was a little bit of a let down considering the price of the room. February 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historic Building If you're not from Minneapolis, please know that this hotel is a conversion. Use to be the historic Foshay building (I think it was an office building before they converted it) and now it's a W Hotel. Since this wasn't a W hotel built from the ground up, don't expect everything to be 100% W. The rooms are nice, but since the plumbing is old, the water pressure is low and sometimes draining is slow. Decoration and the staff is great. It's conveniently located in downtown and within walking distance to shopping and dinning destinations. Manny's Steakhouse downstairs is great as is the Key's. The hotel seems to get busier and busier since it opened in '08; it's booked quite often and my room was not ready yet at 2:00pm. Platinum used to get upgraded to suites pretty easily, but in the last 3 times I've stayed at this property, all the suites were full. May 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointing stay My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying at the W on many occasions, generally this occurs when we have some event in or near downtown. We love the central location, the staff has always been courteous and the accommodations are at or above what I would expect and have experienced at other W locations throughout the US. Unfortunately this Saturdays stay, 10/4/2014 was not to the standards that I would expect and was not only disappointing but somewhat unsettling due to the events that unfolded. While we do realize you cannot control nor should you fully restrict the individuals who frequent the facilities for their late night activities, we have noticed over the last 2 years that the club downstairs and to a lesser extent Prohibition have become more confrontational and have also correspondingly noticed your awareness of this in the form of increased security present throughout. While we now tend to avoid any activity at either location on Fridays or Saturdays we, as stated above, like the amenities and location for events as was the case Saturday when we attended Rumble on the Runway at the Depot. We had no idea that in returning to the W that we would be exposed to the turmoil and chaos of the evening. As guests at your facility we need to have a feeling of security and comfort and this was not the case Saturday. I hope that you are diligently reviewing your policies to prevent further disturbances of this nature but on the interim and until we see substantial changes we will be taking advantage of the other SPG facilities downtown as will our clients as we cannot afford to expose ourselves or our business associates to Saturdays environment. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay As always, our stay was wonderful. Comfortable beds, quiet rooms, great atmosphere. Very helpful and responsive staff, including valet and town car service! Thank You! July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good W, amazing historic building My first stay at this W and was upgraded to a massive amazing suite on one of the top floors (thanks SPG Platinum). This W, like all of them, is nice. - Room was clean, top quality linens, and of course my most loved Bliss products - Hotel gym had no windows (and was always empty -- which was fine by me) - Service average - nothing to write home about - Cool museum on the top floor showing history of Foshay Tower (free for guests, great views) The bar on the top floor is a bit stuffy and the two times I walked in had an older (40s, 50s) crowd -- seemingly biz folks. Wasn't WOWed here like I have been at other Ws -- but I'd stay here again (assuming price is right). March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb All-Around Hotel Housed in an Icon Excellent hotel in all respects: super friendly staff (in the "nicest city in America"), terrific rooms (especially the suites), good location in the heart of the city and very inviting public spaces (both the Prohibition bar on the 27th floor and the Living Room Lounge, as well as Manny's Steakhouse Restaurant attached to the hotel). To top it all off, the hotel is housed in the iconic Foshay Tower, which has been beautifully restored to its the 1920's art deco grandeur. Make sure you check out the Foshay Tower Museum and Observatory on the 30th floor (admission is free with your room key). July 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wouldn't come back Arrived late on Sunday and at first was very pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to Fantastic Suite on 28th Floor. That was until I got there. There were some party decorations on the bathroom ceiling. Called whatever/whenever and was told it must have been overlooked. If you overlook big plastic pieces hanging from the ceiling it makes me wonder what else is overlooked during cleaning. Went out for dinner and the decorations were gone. No word of apology. Decided to soak in the tub but noticed there was no bubble bath product which I did have at my previous stay. Also the scale wasn't working. Called whatever/whenever, they said someone would bring a scale and bath products right away. Took about 20 minutes, and received just shampoo and conditioner, so no bubble bath for me. The featherbed wasn't attached to the mattress, so I ended up doing the bed myself before sleep. In the morning I was going to use the Platinum breakfast. What a disappointment for a hotel like W. It is a choice of two stale muffins, two cups of cereal and some juice served on a dirty bar at Manny's. There was no staff there to give the ticket to. The ticket said there should be yogurt too but that was nowhere to be seen. This was by far the worse breakfast experience I have ever had at a Starwood property world wide. The W Foshay Minneapolis wins the biggest Platinum breakfast flop. I went back and turned my ticket in to the front desk for the points amenity rather than the insult of a breakfast they serve. Given the issues with the suite I would have preferred to just receive the room I booked as long as I don't have to spend half hour cleaning the place I paid for. I am a platinum member and I can say that I will not be back at this property. As to other platinums I'd suggest you stay at some of the other Starwood properties in town as you will get a lot better treatment than this want to be luxurious hotel with a shameful breakfast and sloppy housekeeping. September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always my first choice. My significant other and I have been coming here for our anniversary since Feb of 2011. As usual, check-in is quick and convenient, and the staff makes sure that you are properly taken care of. The rooms are clean and inviting, we have usually booked what is now referred to as the "Cool Corner Room" which once went by a different name, and at one point had included a bath tub. The change is the only slight complaint that I have, and would prefer it were still available only due to the fact that a suite is very unnecessary for only 2 people. Other than that, the feel is modern and lavishing. I definitely recommend it for a perfect romantic weekend, the view and the lights are STUNNING at dusk. Also, Manny's is a MUST HAVE experience. It's where we go for dinner every time, and it's never let us down. The food is prepared to perfection! That, and I absolutely ADORE the staff. Please be sure to mention if you're celebrating a special occasion, only because they treat you to a lovely dessert. As always, see you guys in February! October 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Kind of let down I frequently stay at the Foshay. The last few times I've stayed there I've been disappointed. On this stay I upgraded to a fantastic suite. Upon check in the hostess advised us the room was not ready and she would have our room cleaned asap. This was okay, we stopped over at Manny's to have a drink. About 45 min later we were allowed to check in. At first the room seemed great, however upon closer inspection it was anything but clean. Handprints all over the windows, headboard of the bed, mini-fridge, and leather sofa. It would be literally impossible for this to go un-noticed to a trained cleaning staff. My complaints were not addressed. This would be the third time I wonder why I pay so much to stay at this hotel. June 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Quite Disappointing We stayed from July 2nd to July 5th 2014. The hotel appears to cater to the 20 something crowd. It is dark in the lobby and in the hallways. Parking with in and out privileges is only available through the valet at $35/day is quite steep for Minneapolis. No coffee maker or tea maker in the room. We had to call the front desk to get it. I stay at SPG hotels quite often and I always liked the hotels, Dallas Meridian, Taipei Meridian, Westin Singapore, ... but The W Foshay is not one I will be coming back to. Regards, Hichem July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great example of a W done right 1) Great service from arrival at curb through stay to the great car service they had immediately available when we departed 2) The hotel itself is an old cool building made better by W. All the W's aren't like this. You've seen some old Days Inn's spray painted black. 3) Room was above W average in the views, furniture, etc. I've stayed at that Aloft in MN as well and that place is fantastic for the money. W does MN well. Next time I want to try Manny's the adjacent restaurant. October 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always a great time! We have used the W at The Foshay a number of times for weekend getaways in Minneapolis. We love having drinks at Prohibition at the top of the property and hanging out in The Living Room lounge near the lobby. Manny's Steakhouse offers a great dinner option and Keys restaurant is our favorite breakfast spot. We look at the property as a hotel, bar and restaurant all wrapped in to one. If you are visiting Minneapolis on a cold winter weekend you won't have to leave the property!. The rooms we've stayed in have been smallish but clean. Bathrooms are spacious. We love the Art Deco vibe of the hotel. The W at The Foshay has always met our needs and expectation although we think it may better serve weekend getaway travelers more than hard core business travelers. February 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Was I really staying at a W? Upon entering, I was quite pleased with the Lounge/Lobby but my displeaure started when entering the Fantastic suite -2801. The carpet was dirty; there were numerous smudges on the side table and couch; the bed looked liked someone was just on it and there were numerous runs/tears on the duvet making it looked so not inviting; the lamp fixture had indentions all over it ; and water pressure from the sink / rain shower were consistently low --turned off during mid shower. May 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Doesn't live up to my previous W experiences. I have stayed in 6 or more W Hotels and this one did not live up to the name. My upgrade was hardly an upgrade. I would have rather saved my upgrades and stayed in a standard room. The room was tired and needs to be refreshed. The floor plan was terrible and in fact I didn't even use half of the room. My room had windows the size of postage stamps. Power outlets were hard to find, even at the desk. The fitness center was not much to speak of with no windows and boring grey walls. It felt like a prison cell. The staff was not too accommodating. In fact the waiter at The Prohibition gave us a piece of his mind when we entered the bar at 5:03pm (opens at 5). The only good experience I had was the room service delivery staff was very friendly as well as the doorman. I hope this is not the direction in which all W Hotels are headed. I will not be staying here again. March 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Englund in town We were warmly greeted by valet upon our arrival and the front desk staff members were highly accommodating to our needs. A generous upgrade was extended so that we would have ample space for a roll away. The room was fresh and clean and exceeded our expectations. Thank you for a great weekend as we were seeing our son off the Army. We will return to the W Hotel the next time we are in Minneapolis. January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Customer Service The rooms at the W Foshay are of course very nice and the beds are the best, but the reason I will continue to return is the service. From the md oment I pulled up at the valet stand, I was treated with respect and courtesy. Each person who was a part of my stay went out of their way to make sure that I had everything I needed to enjoy my stay! I would highly recommend it! August 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice The staff was very nice and the room was clean and comfortable. I was not a fan of the color scheme that they chose. and the lobby was dark. October 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful, clean rooms! My boyfriend and I stayed at the W Hotel in the Foshay Tower for his birthday. It was my first time staying at this hotel. When we arrived, we were in a hurry to make a reservation time, and I was pleased that the valet was immediate and the staff at the front desk was very friendly, and super quick at checking us in. When we got to the room, I was amazed by the cleanliness and overall look of the room. The bathroom was spacious with many complementary, high quality toiletries for our convenience. The modern decor was fun yet comfortable. We were on the 19th floor so we had a breathtaking view of the city at night. We had a fun night out on the town and then returned to the lounge downstairs for some cocktails and dancing! At the end of a fun yet long night, we climbed into the most comfortable bed I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping in. I couldn't have been more pleased with the staff, the room, and the accomodations at the W Hotel. Thank you for a wonderful evening!! February 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by June 4-6, 2014. Breakfast arrived cold ,uncovered, and burnt!! Hotel decor is extremely dark and depressing! This is the same for W-Los Angeles! June 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, lousy Internet service We had a great weekend a the Foshay, great restaurants in the hotel and nearby and a great staff. Now if they could only make the Internet work reliably we would have been able to read some e-mails too. November 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel... Everything was great. Alex at the front desk was very helpful and was a class act! The guys who parked the car was right there to help and didn't have to wait at all. Thank you. matt weisbrod February 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Eh; not impressed for the price To be honest, I will probably not be coming to The Foshay when I travel to Minneapolis in the future. Since I traveled to Minneapolis on business and I traveled with a few colleagues, I didn’t want to raise any issues when I stayed at your hotel as there were a few of us on the trip. My room was close to the elevator and it was so loud that I was awakened multiple times through the night when the elevator was in use and when on back to back nights a few intoxicated folks got off on my floor, it was extremely loud. On the second night, a maintenance guy came to my room around dinner time and told me that he needed to change the lock/handle on my door. So, for a ½ hour I had to sit there while he had my door open, completing the work (why did he not wait until I left for the evening). Also, the heater/AC in my room took an hour (or so it seemed) to begin to work. As for the front desk staff, they were very polite and courteous so there were no issues there. I went away from Starwood properties over the past year as I travel frequently and this stay did not change my impression of the Starwood property chain(s). December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Always impress The W Minneapolis-The Foshay always delivers. I stay here quite often but each time I visit, something new about this place stands out. The Living room bar is a great place to have a drink after a day of work. The bartenders are great, (Ryan and Sam) and both are super attentive and engage in conversation. They are great at recommending restaurants, providing direction or just asking how your day went. Megan the server is great too. She's funny and very helpful with drink suggestions. Concierge is always best of class and room service is fantastic. Best tater tots. In summary, you can't go wrong with this hotel. August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic downtown location Excellent location and very attentive staff. The view from the 30th floor deck is utterly stunning! Wonderful city and great hotel. August 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall great stay We had a "cool corner" room and it was quite spacious and cozy with great views of downtown. The bed was very comfortable to the point that me and my partner almost felt like we had separate beds when we wanted to sleep apart, yet still have comfort when we were close. The shower had one of those great rain heads that felt amazing. Only drawback would be the internet is a bit pricey for one day sitting at $12.95. Definitely understand they need to pay for it but maybe there could be an option to get a free or low price lower speed internet and then still charge that higher price for a high speed internet. Other than that it was a really fun time! March 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Trendy Place The W was very pretty. The decor in the lounge and in the rooms was really nice. However, the sink is not very functional, I had to be extra careful when brushing my teeth not to get splash back. Also, the bathroom windows were really big and housekeeping would open the shade every day when they were cleaning up. Therefore, you had to remember to pull it down when you sleepily enter the bathroom in the morning. The fitness center equipment could have been a little better. The medicine balls were cracked and the touchscreens on the treadmills were not responsive at all. It took almost three minutes to adjust the treadmill to 5 mph. March 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Room, Horrible Service Stayed for my Wife's 30th. Check in was so-so. Front desk seemed disinterested and going through the motions. Headed down to the lobby bar while she got dressed for dinner, was repeatedly passed up for service and ignored. Finally walked out. Wen't upstairs with my wife to the other bar, ordered drinks from a bartender who had a frown on her face. After our first round she disappeared. Came back after 20 minutes with our bill. We paid and left, wen't across the street to the neighborhood bar where we received excellent service. W in Minneapolis, will never stay again. W in New York. Love it! August 18, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>