W Minneapolis - The Foshay

  • 821 Marquette Avenue
  • Minneapolis,
  • Minnesota
  • 55402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 219 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I wanted. Perfect place to celebrate. The staff goes above and beyond to meet your needs. They are wonderful. Everyone is very professional and friendly. We celebrated our anniversary and got engaged here. The Concierge was very helpful. His assistance really helped make it perfect. Everything I wanted, he arranged to have done. Prohibition on the 27th floor is a very nice bar. I popped the question in their loft, a secluded area above the bar. Our suite was great. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. I am very thankful for the staff’s assistance. It was a memorable weekend and we will definitely be coming back. May 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place but with too much attitude Can't beat the rooms, decor, and the cool ambiance (if you like dark/modern/young). However, the employees forget it is the hotel, not they who are cool. They still need to be about service, like employees of all good hotels. Examples: Guys out front: More interested in talking to each other than helping. When I told them that I wanted to save money and park myself, they implied they knew of no other options. Turns out there was a great , inexpensive place just accros the street. Do you really think they did not know about the place? Front desk: fairly mute "greeting" with minimal information passed along. Seemed like he was doing us a favor by allowing us to stay at his hotel. September 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Platinum Recognition I have stayed at other SPG properties in Minneapolis, but hadn't checked out the Foshay. While I am typically traveling for business, this was for a friends wedding. The front desk was able to confirm a cool corner room for my first night, and offered to upgrade me to a WOW suite for the second night of my stay. This was helpful as it offered us in the wedding party a great space in which to get ready. Everything was perfect. The hotel has the typical trendy vibe. The Acura car service was timely and very helpful. Thank you for helping make my visit for my friend's wedding simple and stress fre. August 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The location of hotel was convenient The service could have been alittle better. It was my birthday and would have loved to been given advice on where to go, restaurants, etc. I did receive a free updgrade which was nice. The price of items in the room were outrageous however, they did leave cupcakes and 2 free bottles of water in the room for my birthday which was nice. I would like to have been made more aware of things to do or see. The parking was horrendous however, there should be parking connected to the hotel besides $30 a night valet!! Lugging your luggage across a busy intersection/street was not ideal.... Overall the stay was decent however, I do not think worth the price. The rooms are definitely over priced. February 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff needs training My third time at this hotel and not so good as before: we left our room early Sat and when we arrived back at 3pm the room had not been cleaned. No one answered the phone so we gently asked at the front desk if someone would clean our room. The person at the desk was surprised (seemingly at us, for such a request) and churlish. By night, the bed was made and trash emptied, but that was it. A half-way job. We also had pointed out soon after check-in that the mini-bar held empties (!) of drink and food that we did not want to be billed for: these were not removed during our stay (an empty packet of Cracker Jacks is not so enticing). Looks like they need to work on service and friendliness, both. :( October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another fantastic W experience It is becoming common place to expect outstanding service at the W Minneapolis - The Foshay. Upon arriving, I was upgraded to my favorite Wow suite. My favorite Keurig coffee was waiting for me along with chocolates and a bottle of wine. Quite simply, I was Wow'd, again. January 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All around great experience My wife and I stayed for a night away from the kids and to celebrate her birthday. Couldn't ask for better service from the staff. Front desk person determined why we were there and let us know of everything going on within the hotel that we would like. i.e. Happy hour on 27th floor, ability to order from Mannings restaurant, musuem tour on the 30th floor and an "ugly sweater" contest and dancing on the main floor during the night hours. Rooms are very modern, love the look, very comfortable. Restaurant - just had a few drinks for happy hour but I know Mannings steakhouse is suppose to be great. Nightclub - looked very fun but was little too crowded for my taste. Location - center of Mpls, walking distance to Nicolet Mall, Target Center, heart of Mpls. Great stay, great experience. Will stay again sometime. December 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by my review Good stay and nice facility. Check in and check out very efficient Problem with shower with getting proper hot water temperature and pressure. Also faucet adjustment to get water temp somewhat tricky January 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Watch your valuables The historical Foshay building is a marvelous setting. Staff at the desk were responsive and courteous. Rooms met well but did not exceed expectations for a W. However, we experienced two big negatives. 1) whether we liked it or not, we were part of the week end party in the lobby. In order to get to the elevators and our room we had to run the gauntlet of drunken 20-somethings, and those looking for drunken 20 somethings, congregating in the lobby bars and waiting on line for the ride to the bar on the 27th floor. Also be prepared for the poorly lit "W" black decor which makes reading elevator and hall signage near impossible; and 2) an iPod worth more than the cost of our stay went missing from our room. While security was courteous, the subtext of the interaction suggested to us that unless the thief turned the iPod in (unlikely), then they would assume we had lost the item elsewhere. We'll be staying at the Minneapolis Westin or Chambers next time. May 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place..... Very welcoming staff and FUN place to stay. January 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekend in Minneapolis Fantastic weekend in Minneapolis. W hotel room was ready for us even though we got in way sooner than we thought. Great distance to walk around the city and enjoy an afternoon. Attended party at Prohibition and our waitress, Jasmine, was outstanding! Only down fall was that the water in the bathroom sink and shower was only minimally hot, making a shower less than enjoyable. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Delighted and impressed I was staying in the hotel that used to be an office building in which I had my offices. The staff accommodated my request and was able to book me into a room that was formally my office! There was a delay in my ability to check in because I had requested this particular room but the hotel and staff were more than gracious in making the wait comfortable for me. The hotel is beautiful and has done a great job of being modern but integrating that modern feel with the classic luxury of the Foshay. It was an outstanding trip all around. Thank you very much to a great staff! January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful property & Excellent SPG Recognition We were here to celebrate our 5 year anniversary, and the Foshay did not disappoint. I have SPG Gold status and the front desk gave me an upgraded room, which ended up being a huge suite on the 26th floor, complete with a living/dining room, full wet bar, 1.5 bathrooms, and amazing views. The staff was friendly and thoughtful, even leaving us some delicious congratulatory cupcakes which were awaiting us in the suite's foyer. Excellent central location with a well-equipped gym. Would highly recommend this property, particularly those with higher SPG status. September 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great property, friendly staff I've stayed at the Foshay several times, and it's always been a good experience, but I recently had a specific interaction worthy calling out. First, though, it's worth noting that not only do you get the service and accommodations commensurate with the W badge at the Foshay, but you have easy access to the Skywalk for those MN winters! Specific to my most recent stay, however, I had a roomservice order that unfortunately was quite different from what I ordered. The server (Alana?) was extremely apologetic and polite, and literally hurried out if the room to get it fixed. The service here has always been great, from the Acura Experience up to the servers at Prohibition, but that extra effort seemed worth calling out. May 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tiny, poor gym, no pool It is a W, so the rooms and common areas are typical of all W's and are nice, with their special 'swag'. I was very disappointed that this W had no pool or Bliss spa. Most of all, the gym was incredibly disappointing. It was tiny with no windows. The touch screen on the treadmills barely worked. I was there for a conference and when I went down each morning, most, if not all, of the equipment was taken. May not matter as much if you're staying there for vacation, but when on a business trip, my workouts are essential and this was a huge disappointment. October 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed w/ weekend getaway I was very pleased with the updated look of the hotel and our room, until I looked closer. The bathroom had dried water drip marks all over the walls, the sheet on the bed had a tear the size of a hand on it, you could hear EVERY noise outside of the room: the elevator going up and down throughout the night, hotel room doors opening and closing, raucous hotel guests and their every drunken word in the middle of the night, etc. The noise level was ridiculous. Unfortunately, based on all of this, we will not stay here again. One thing I look for in a hotel is a relaxing environment and it can not be found here. On a positive note, the Bliss bathroom products are a lovely touch and the location within the city is perfect. February 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dirty Room Frankly, our room was dirty. The bedspread had four unidentified hairs on it when we checked in and was snagged in a number of places. It was so tattered, I wouldn't have it in my home, much less expect it in our $325 a night hotel room. Also, there was a thick layer of dust on the windowsill in the bathroom, the carpet looked less than vacuumed and the tongs for the bar/ice bucket were crusted with whatever food product the people before us used them on. I didn't complain when we checked in because it was me and my husband's first anniversary and I didn't want to ruin the mood by being fussy but it was not acceptable. We have stayed in a number of higher end hotels in Minneapolis and elsewhere and this was not up to par. June 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointing I stayed this last weekend (December 6th) the first room was cold and changed me to a second one wich was not realy warm, the view was bad, There is a night club a the top of the building and instead of having a special lift for their customers they use any lift so if you are a hotel guest you have to wait in line for more than 15 minutes to be able to go to your room...I can continue but the truth doesn´t worth it...First and las time to a W hotel. December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by ONE OF THE BEST Ws! This is a fantastic W in every sense. POSITIVES: 1 Beautiful infrastructure. 2. FABULOUS staff: Thank you JAMES, LISA AND CYRIN. 3. Beautiful living room and service. Thank you JASMIN. 4. Great dining options. Thank you all staff at MANNY'S STEAKHOUSE especially SAMANTHA for getting me a special order of onion rings. NEGATIVES: None OVERALL: Beautiful W with great service. Please check this hotel out and you will enjoy it. December 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very nice hotel EXCEPT the showers The renovated art deco classic building is great and the rooms were actually pretty large compared to many other W Hotels. As always, the bed, linens and towels were great. The showers, however, are horrible. The water pressure from the shower heads are terrible. I called engineering and the gentleman confirmed that the hotel changed out all the shower heads and, yes, they are terrible. As a male, I could barely get the soap out of my hair, Housekeeping should also be stepped up. The first room I was provided was superficially clean, but many things needed real cleaning--there was wine splattered on the wall, the carpets needed some work and the bathroom should have been MUCH cleaner. I was changed to a new room that was much better. July 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service My partner and I had a truly wonderful stay! The staff at this hotel were fantastic - always helpful, friendly, welcoming. They seemed to go out of their way to make our stay really perfect. I could not complain about a thing! The hotel itself is beautiful and fun and we were delighted to find a lot of "extras" available to us that made our stay even more enjoyable, such as being supplied with an umbrella and free drop off service. The food at the restaurant and room service was also excellent. This was probably the best hotel stay I have ever had :) May 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not so good This hotel needs improvement for the business traveler. No coffee makers which seems very strange in this day and age. The first coffee maker i requested did not work then finally received another. Terrible water pressure from the shower head. The hotel markets it as saving the environment / green hotel, although we know this is more of a cost savings attempt. Took me 3 times lonmger to take a shower. December 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too modern, dark for our taste If you like ultra modern, lots of hot pink and dark hallways and rooms, you will love this hotel. If, like us, you prefer a brighter room with a little natural light, I would recommend looking elsewhere. It didn't help that we were on the 3rd floor with each of 3 windows facing out onto a nearby brick wall. From our room, we couldn't even tell if it was cloudy or sunny outside. The bathroom is modern and attractive but not entirely practical- very few hooks for towels, clothes, toiletries. The rainfall showerhead is cool but water pressure is low. July 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reservation Concerns I had two "confirmed" reservations covering back-to-back nights. This caused considerable confusion with the staff at the desk. When I checked in I went over my reservations at the desk and I was told I would not have to change rooms as both reservations were in order. The next day I had a staff member come to my room to see if I was checking out. I explained that I had the room for two more nights. Later I was asked to come down to the desk to once again go over by reservations. Not sure why this was so confusong to your staff. September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cute, location and trendy USED VALET. IT IS $32 AND CHANGE VS. $30 ON WEBSITE AND SPG WEBSITE. VALET WAS SLOW ALL TIMES. ARRIVAL OF ROOM DOOR WAS OPEN. MAKE SURE TO CHECK LATCH UPON IN AND OUT OF ROOM. BOOKED KING WONDERFUL HOWEVER WAS GIVEN ACCESSIBLE KING WHICH WAS FINE HOWEVER WOULD OF BEEN NICE TO HAVE KNOWN UPON CHECK IN. USED ROOM SERVICE, MUNCHIE BOX AND KEYS CAFE. ROOM SERVICE BILL SHOULD SPLIT OUT MUNCHIE BILL SO I KNOW FOR SURE SINCE SOME ITEMS WERE ALREADY MISSING UPON ARTUVAL. PLUS MINE WAS NOT RESTOCKED DURING STAY WHICH CARD SAYS IT WILL BE. September 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Party Atmosphere Hotel has a fun party atmosphere if that's what you are looking for. Personally we were seeking a more serene and romantic experience and were disappointed when the room next to ours was having a loud party. Security did what they could after we called, but it's what shaped our experience. It was a frigid night in Minneapolis when we stayed and the hotels heat had trouble keeping up. December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel Very cool hotel. Immaculately clean. Would definitely stay here again. December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by BLOWN AWAY AGAIN Quick weekend stay. Marvelous suite was truly wonderful. I am very thankful and grateful to Lisa in concierge for always making my stay special. I ate at CRAVE located in downtown and Lisa gave me a special VIP card that entitled me to a free appetizer. It was very kind of her. This is a fabulous SPG hotel and you will enjoy the rich decor and the staff will make your stay wonderful. Food at Manny's Steakhouse is fabulous and the freshly squeezed orange juice from Key's restaurant is heavenly. Stay at this W and you will love it. March 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not very impressed I was a guest for one evening in Room 1110. The bathroom counter was dirty and had ring marks all over it. The bathroom faucet was broken and difficult to turn on. One wall in the bathroom was covered in watermarks. The mini-bar/table had a door that was broken and hanging off it. The bed was not very firm or supportive. Ambiance was trying to be good, but the cleanliness of the room was disgraceful. I would have requested a room change had I not checked in so late and only been staying for 1 night. I would not stay here again. April 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff is the best I've encountered The staff at the Foshay overwhelmingly exceeded my expectations. They were friendly, respectful, and accommodating. They remembered my name and totally catered to all of my needs. Simple features like greeting me at the door and providing directions made me feel comfortable. They made great recommendations for dining and entertainment for a young traveler. When talking to fellow conference attendees that did not stay at the Foshay it was clear to me that this staff made my trip am exception to the boring hotel stay rule! July 25, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>