W Minneapolis - The Foshay

  • 821 Marquette Avenue
  • Minneapolis,
  • Minnesota
  • 55402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 312 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good time in Minneapolis We live in an eastern suburb of St Paul and were coming to Minneapolis for dinner and a show. We decided last minute to make it a night. The accomdations at The W were great. It's location to the Orpheum, restaurants and nightlife were perfect. We walked to and from the show and had a very comfortable room. Not one complaint from this satisfied consumer. October 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by QUICK STAY BECAUSE I WAS MISSING THE W. This was a quick "missing the W" stay. It was highly enjoyable as usual. Thank you W and each and every staff member for truly caring for guests. SPGs all over the globe and non-members please choose this SPG Property when in the Twin Cities and you will immensely enjoy here. October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by MY BIRTHDAY STAY! A truly wonderful birthday stay. Got a birthday cake from the staff who are more like family. Was upgraded to a beautiful suite. Ate my birthday dinner at Manny's. Try the fillet mignon its amazing. I would like to thank James, Lisa, DJ and all the other staff at the W for making my stay the best. I would also like to thank the engineering and Housekeeping staff for working very hard and doing a great job. The living room was fabulous and I would like to thank Jasmine for the best service ever. OVERALL: Fabulous Stay as usual. I recommend this hotel without reservation and will ALWAYS come back here for years to come. October 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff needs training My third time at this hotel and not so good as before: we left our room early Sat and when we arrived back at 3pm the room had not been cleaned. No one answered the phone so we gently asked at the front desk if someone would clean our room. The person at the desk was surprised (seemingly at us, for such a request) and churlish. By night, the bed was made and trash emptied, but that was it. A half-way job. We also had pointed out soon after check-in that the mini-bar held empties (!) of drink and food that we did not want to be billed for: these were not removed during our stay (an empty packet of Cracker Jacks is not so enticing). Looks like they need to work on service and friendliness, both. :( October 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tiny, poor gym, no pool It is a W, so the rooms and common areas are typical of all W's and are nice, with their special 'swag'. I was very disappointed that this W had no pool or Bliss spa. Most of all, the gym was incredibly disappointing. It was tiny with no windows. The touch screen on the treadmills barely worked. I was there for a conference and when I went down each morning, most, if not all, of the equipment was taken. May not matter as much if you're staying there for vacation, but when on a business trip, my workouts are essential and this was a huge disappointment. October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features Great facility and staff! October 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful property & Excellent SPG Recognition We were here to celebrate our 5 year anniversary, and the Foshay did not disappoint. I have SPG Gold status and the front desk gave me an upgraded room, which ended up being a huge suite on the 26th floor, complete with a living/dining room, full wet bar, 1.5 bathrooms, and amazing views. The staff was friendly and thoughtful, even leaving us some delicious congratulatory cupcakes which were awaiting us in the suite's foyer. Excellent central location with a well-equipped gym. Would highly recommend this property, particularly those with higher SPG status. September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place for a Meeting Great Facilities, friendly staff and nice options for meetings, eating and drinking. Very friendly safe town to wander in September 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reservation Concerns I had two "confirmed" reservations covering back-to-back nights. This caused considerable confusion with the staff at the desk. When I checked in I went over my reservations at the desk and I was told I would not have to change rooms as both reservations were in order. The next day I had a staff member come to my room to see if I was checking out. I explained that I had the room for two more nights. Later I was asked to come down to the desk to once again go over by reservations. Not sure why this was so confusong to your staff. September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fine Hotel, Great Stay Really enjoyed my stay at The Foshay. Rooms are spectacular. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Meeting room was excellent. Cafe is good food. Manny's food, ambiance, staff are excellent, prices are astronomical. I get that it's a hipster hotel, but in deference to guests that are not hipster aged, but like a well-managed, quality hotel, it would be nice if the common areas, hallways, and elevators were a bit brighter lighted. September 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place Had nice bday here, loved the hotel and would come again one day. Would have been better if breakfast was included and if their was complimentary wifi in your room. Instead you have to walk down to the steak house and use wifi or wifi in cafe. Who wants to go 20 floors down or 27 floors down to do that. Everything you had to buy was very costly, even to park in all ramps. Every time you leave and come back it charges you $5 and $10. The Acura experience would be better if it dropped you off we're you wanted to go and picked you up, but you can only get dropped off one of the desk people told me. Over all it was a good experience. Should of had a pool and jacuzzi also. September 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel was awesome. The beds were very comfortable. Loved the rainforest shower. Close to everything- restaurants, entertainment, food, etc. The view of the city was great. Would definitely stay here again. September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great experience! Everyone from the check-in to check-out, at the hotel, the bars, the restaurants . . . the service was impeccable and friendly all around. Perfect. September 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Service The service was superb. My cousin who was also staying there had left her formal dress clothes (for my wedding) at a hotel in Seattle. Through hard work and determination, James at the Minneapolis W arranged for her clothes to be overnighted so that she would have them in time for the wedding! Staff also stored my leftover wedding cake in their kitchen refrigerator and let my two young nieces up to the observation deck when it was closed. The service went above and beyond. September 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wouldn't come back Arrived late on Sunday and at first was very pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to Fantastic Suite on 28th Floor. That was until I got there. There were some party decorations on the bathroom ceiling. Called whatever/whenever and was told it must have been overlooked. If you overlook big plastic pieces hanging from the ceiling it makes me wonder what else is overlooked during cleaning. Went out for dinner and the decorations were gone. No word of apology. Decided to soak in the tub but noticed there was no bubble bath product which I did have at my previous stay. Also the scale wasn't working. Called whatever/whenever, they said someone would bring a scale and bath products right away. Took about 20 minutes, and received just shampoo and conditioner, so no bubble bath for me. The featherbed wasn't attached to the mattress, so I ended up doing the bed myself before sleep. In the morning I was going to use the Platinum breakfast. What a disappointment for a hotel like W. It is a choice of two stale muffins, two cups of cereal and some juice served on a dirty bar at Manny's. There was no staff there to give the ticket to. The ticket said there should be yogurt too but that was nowhere to be seen. This was by far the worse breakfast experience I have ever had at a Starwood property world wide. The W Foshay Minneapolis wins the biggest Platinum breakfast flop. I went back and turned my ticket in to the front desk for the points amenity rather than the insult of a breakfast they serve. Given the issues with the suite I would have preferred to just receive the room I booked as long as I don't have to spend half hour cleaning the place I paid for. I am a platinum member and I can say that I will not be back at this property. As to other platinums I'd suggest you stay at some of the other Starwood properties in town as you will get a lot better treatment than this want to be luxurious hotel with a shameful breakfast and sloppy housekeeping. September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love it, except for shower heads Great hotel, great location. Always get my cool corner king rooms as a SPG Platinum. But not sure what is the deal with shower heads, they are 1/3rd the size for the bathroom sizes. very awkward. takes 10 minutes to shower. Overall, really nice hotel and historic. August 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic An amazing stay at a W hotel once again. This was a great stay be it short. And a great way to celebrate my birthday. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun and relaxing stay My Saturday night stay at W Minneapolis was simple in that I was just in and out to sleep but even the little service I needed was well taken care of. My car was valeted very promptly, check-in was quick and simple, sleep was quiet and restful and checkout and valet pickup also went seamlessly. August 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent stay Had a stay here recently. A very nice historical building with the great design of a W. As a platinum I was surprised there was no dedicated check-in for elites, and I had to wait for quite a while in line as there was only one person checking folks in. During check-in I was told I was upgraded, but not to a suite. When I asked if I could be upgraded due to being platinum, the front desk person said that all suites were sold. I replied that I just checked online and there are suites available for sale. Magically just like that I was upgraded. (I really dislike being told there are no upgrades available when there are). Stayed on the 24th floor, and the suite was nice. Not too large, but that is given by the type of the building. Very nice bathroom and well stocked minibar. Sadly, the tv in the bedroom seemed on the edge of burn out and all colors are extremely red. The soaking tub is nice, but a tv across from the soaking tub would make it perfect. (Even the spg property at the airport has that in their suites). The upstairs museum is worth a visit and so is the prohibition bar, even just to see it as it is part of Minnesota history. Overall it is a nice average W. I didn't feel overly welcome as others have mentioned, at least no more than in the other SPG properties in Minneapolis. In fact whenever/whatever didn't even address me by my name which I usually experience at luxury hotels, which this W claims to be. Tried the gym, some of the equipment had signs "out of order" and towels weren't stocked and mess everywhere, again not something you expect at luxury hotel. Had a good breakfast at Manny's but for the money you wouldn't expect anything but good. Be ready to get charged a lot for parking, but that goes for downtown Minneapolis so it really isn't something I would blame the hotel for. I will be having another stay this coming up week here, so I wonder if I too will be surprised with the WOW suite at some point, as I was told by front desk that they don't upgrade Platinums there, so not sure how some of the reviewers got that??!! Either way, a good place to stay if you can get a decent rate but I wouldn't spend past two bills as you can get more luxury for that at the suburb SPG place. August 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Starwood Hotel in Minneapolis! My son and I had an incredible stay at the W recently before attending the state fair. The front desk welcomed us like family and Lisa planned an awesome amenity for my son and I. She got my son a Gophers hat, thank you Lisa you are the best! I will be returning soon and am very looking forward to coming back. Thank you W Minneapolis for one of the best stays I have ever had at any SPG Hotel worldwide. P.S. please make sure Lisa gets special recognition for her spectacular service. August 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern! Upon arrival, we were greeted right away by valet. They were very helpful & friendly. He explained to us how to get to the front desk. The front desk employee, Ashley, was amazing. We mentioned we were thinking of moving to the Minneapolis area & she recommended many areas to go see and what is affordable for city living. The room was awesome, clean, modern, & exactly what we were looking for. In the reservation I asked for a higher floor, if possible, We got exactly what we asked for with a great view. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants the modern feel & wants to stay smack in the downtown area. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most Excellent I've been dealing with a flooded loft for the last month, so the W has been one of my go to Starwood properties. The staff here is awesome, and genuinely cares for you. The housekeeping - especially compared to some other Non-SPG properties - is very good, and the valets are very quick. About the only thing that could be a drawback are some 'neighbors' who have a ton of people to their room. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW-WOW-WOW ALL THE WAY. POSITIVES: My most favorite hotel in the Twin Cities and one of the best Ws ever. This is an amazing hotel, absolutely fun and the best service. I was surprised with an upgrade to the WOW SUITE which is truly a beautiful suite. There was a welcome card and a complimentary bottle of wine along with a tasty cupcake waiting for me in the suite. They are the SWEETEST here. NEGATIVES: None STAFF: Are like family, very helpful, super courteous and amazing. I want to thank the ENTIRE STAFF of the W for always taking care of me and making my stay wonderful. CONCIERGE/ MANNY'S RESTAURANT: LISA you are the BEST. You always do the sweetest things ever for me. LISA walked me personally to Manny's Steakhouse and spoke with the manager DAVE to get me a booth. He got me a booth even though I did not have a reservation and they even have a picture of mine hanging on the wall in that booth. I have had a long relationship with Manny's and have dined there a lot. The other manager NICK and hostess SAMANTHA came up to my booth to greet me. My favorite waiter ALAN was there too. Everybody at Manny's are also like family. I had the most beautiful dinner there. THANK YOU LISA AND DAVE. ATMOSPHERE: Classy, fun, dark and play. Rich decor. OVERALL: A high class super perfect hotel. Please try and stay here and you will reach true heights of enjoyment of the elite type. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ALL SPG MEMBERS AS WELL AS NON-MEMBERS. August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Foshay is fun Prohibition lounge is wonderful - great atmosphere, excellent, friendly service. Rooms are beaufiully appointed, luxurious. Great hotel! August 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed experience Excellent room. Manny''s was outstanding for multiple meals and cocktails. Good location. Service was not at top level. Eg *. Upon arrival, multiple doormen were present and none offered to help us w luggage *. Text to valet park worked 2 of 3 times. One was lost * housekeeping was spotty. Housekeeper placed dirty glasses on the carpet just outside of our room that stayed for days. Turndown included new towels but no straightening of the room. * reservation had 3 different room rates. That was fine. But, this generated 3 confirms and 3 checkout emails which confused the front desk and us. Eg. We received 3 surveys via email. Poor coordination across the system. August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbeatable setting for girls' night out! I hosted a bachelorette party at the W Hotel and it was perfect! I was able to come check out a room a week in advance to get an idea of size and space and they let me reserve that same room for the next weekend. The design and decorations are very modern and glamorous...perfect for a girls' night. The lobby and lounge areas are also very fun and stylish. The hotel is within walking distance of lots of fun restaurants and it has two bars and two restaurants inside the hotel itself. I was super impressed with the staff. They were all very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again! The soon-to-be bride loved it! Great first experience with this hotel! August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful experience My 15-year old son and I had a wonderful time in the E-Wow suite on August 8 and 9. My 12-year old son and I look forward to our return stay on August 22 in advance of attending the State Fair. August 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic downtown location Excellent location and very attentive staff. The view from the 30th floor deck is utterly stunning! Wonderful city and great hotel. August 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by service service was slow in the Living Room & Prohibition. August 5, 2013
  • 2015-10-09T05:44:18.970-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_312, tr_312
  • loc_en_US, sid_3019, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 12 next>>