W Minneapolis - The Foshay

  • 821 Marquette Avenue
  • Minneapolis,
  • Minnesota
  • 55402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 312 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Great location. Great service great experience April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by PUP 19TH NIGHT Another quick stay before an early morning flight to New York. The fantastic suite was FANTASTIC. Complimentary water and truffles were in the room. The staff is very caring and friendly. They always make me feel at home here. Again this is a beautiful hotel with amazing services. This time I ate at BOMBAY BISTRO and it is located opposite the W entrance, you just have to walk across. The food was good but pricey. The Indian manager is friendly. I just wanted to try something different after dining a trillion times at Manny's Steakhouse and Keys (both are excellent choices if you are staying at the W.) TRAVEL/MONEY SAVING TIP FOR SPG GUESTS: When you use your inroom W phone to inquire about the menu prices in the LIVING ROOM or the PROHIBITION BAR then you will be asked if you wanted to be connected to the living room, If you answer yes and are connected then you will be charged about $3 for a local call. Its best to check out the menu personally than pay for a inhouse phone call. The above phone situation transpired during this stay and I was billed for 2 calls and one of them did not even connect. I checked out at 4 am as I had an early morning flight and the front desk manager was very friendly and took the phone charges off. Irrespectively, I suggest that you do not use the in-room phone at all during your stay. If you have to call the living room, Keys or Manny's then just use your cell phone as it will save you some cash. Overall, this is a great W and you will enjoy staying here. If you guys/gals have not stayed here before then you are missing out. April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Housekeeping Housekeeping staff have some difficulty in scheduling their services when guests are not checking out. One day we were out of the room for an extended period between 11:00 and 4:00 pm, but on return to the room we had to go and find the housekeeper and have her make up the room. All in all the stay was exceptional and the facility very nice. April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by MARVELOUS SUITE Booked another stay as I love this W. This time was given a beautiful and spacious MARVELOUS SUITE on the 25th floor. A true beauty. You have to stay here to experience the rich and elite luxury. The room had stunning views of Minneapolis and the most amazing shower. AMAZING SPG PLATINUM RECOGNITION. You have to check this W. out and you will absolutely LOVE it. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by BIRTHDAY STAY Great stay, surprise birthday cake and complimentary wine were in the room. A fantastic suite was allocated but unfortunately two small dogs in the adjacent room were barking very loudly. The barks could be heard in my room. I called the front desk and the staff was extremely friendly and I was moved to another Fantastic suite on a different floor. The staff member at the front desk personally came up to help me move my stuff and he had new keys with him. I am very grateful. In the morning I ordered breakfast from KEYS and it was delicious. Please try the freshly squeezed orange juice. Also do not go to KEYS to dine in the morning as its SUPERCROWDED and you wont even be able to stand. They deliver to your room.This is a beautiful hotel with dedicated staff and service. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great building, location, room, and friendly service A very special building in a great location with the "W" spin. Manny's and the Prohibition Bar finished the day/night off nicely... March 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Foshay 5 star Delight Gorgeous, historic building with the hip-modern "W" vibe. Platinum recognition special delight for my 20th anniversary, even thought hey were fully committed. Cupcakes and bottled water welcome celebration gift with handwritten card was an unexpected little something extra the W staff took care of (thank you Lisa)! Great central walking and shopping location, with excellent restaurants in and around the hotel. Highly recommend! March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consistently A great location, always great rooms, and the staff are always very welcoming! Love the Accura option -- a cool way to go! March 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected for a W The room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. The decor throughout the hotel was trendy and the view was excellent. Bar was well stocked. I was not pleased to spend the night super heated, despite having turned the heat down (and eventually off). Even after I shut the heat off the registers remained hot. The water pressure in the shower was low, and I was limited to either taking a cold shower or a super hot shower. On my way out in the morning, I told the front desk to check the heat in the room. They were responsive, in that they said they would check on it. That's great for the next person--not so great for me. Last, the bartenders and staff were a bit uneducated on certain drinks--popular drinks. Without consideration of the high cost, the drinks should have nonetheless been made properly. This visit did not leave me with a good impression. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by BLOWN AWAY AGAIN Quick weekend stay. Marvelous suite was truly wonderful. I am very thankful and grateful to Lisa in concierge for always making my stay special. I ate at CRAVE located in downtown and Lisa gave me a special VIP card that entitled me to a free appetizer. It was very kind of her. This is a fabulous SPG hotel and you will enjoy the rich decor and the staff will make your stay wonderful. Food at Manny's Steakhouse is fabulous and the freshly squeezed orange juice from Key's restaurant is heavenly. Stay at this W and you will love it. March 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Off the charts! I haven't stayed at a W before because there were always less expensive "4-star" options, but I know now that the W is worth it. The level of service at this hotel surpasses other four-star hotels by such a large margin that there should be another category added just for this hotel. This was by far the best hotel experience my wife and I have ever had. Looking forward to returning! March 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible caddy condescending overpriced and rude! I will not be staying at this hotel chain ever again! From the beginning when booking the room when on the phone they were pushy saying only if I booked immediately would I get a great rate of $149, to finding on your own website a rate of $100, my friend found $80 on your website! Then beside the bell boys who were fantastic I found the people at the front desk rude and condescending! Our room key didn't work, which was a problem our friends had too, as they had a room the same night. In the morning someone entered our room w/o knocking at 8am, again same thing happened w/our friends there's was the maid and they were able to grab the door before they entered but we have no clue who entered our room! When I notified the front desk they questioned me and sent up security who was insolent and presumptious and had the audacity to say "so you THINK someone may have entered your room". Horrible and over priced experience I would highly recommend you stay clear of this hotel!!! March 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Trendy Place The W was very pretty. The decor in the lounge and in the rooms was really nice. However, the sink is not very functional, I had to be extra careful when brushing my teeth not to get splash back. Also, the bathroom windows were really big and housekeeping would open the shade every day when they were cleaning up. Therefore, you had to remember to pull it down when you sleepily enter the bathroom in the morning. The fitness center equipment could have been a little better. The medicine balls were cracked and the touchscreens on the treadmills were not responsive at all. It took almost three minutes to adjust the treadmill to 5 mph. March 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW! Upon check in, I was asked if instead of (3) rooms I had reserved if it would be OK to have 1 standard room, and 2 people share a suite. Although it is less than ideal for 2 businessmen traveling to share a room, I agreed. Not only was the shared room acceptable it was incredible. The Extreme WOW suite at the W Foshay rivals any room I have ever stayed in. The staff at the W Foshay was perfection, and mirrored the quality I have come to expect when staying at the W. We will be sure to stay here when visiting Minneapolis. March 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A must see to believe! My stay was wonderful. Great view and excellent service! World class service and spectacular decor make this hotel one of the best I have ever stayed at. March 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks for a warm and wonderful staff and stay! We stayed at the W to celebrate our anniversary. Ashley at check in made sure that we were very well taken care of "upgrade", and even had a nice suprise for us to make the evening even more special! Thank you W! March 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by So romantic! I feel I have to give a special mention to James, at reception. Although ALL the staff was amazing, James was exceptional. The hotel is beautiful, romantic and is a perfect place for a special celebration. My ONLY complaint would be the bathroom...not enough lighting to do make-up in the mirror (need an illuminated shaving mirror, maybe?) and only one bar of soap..really needed three.. one for sink, for shower and for tub. March 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff I will compliment you on your wonderful staff who give terrific "first impressions" - to last impressions. This was our second vist and both times we had James greet us. He is both professionally and personable- a great asset to the hotel. We met hsk staff in the elevator who were equally as engaging. Very nice experience. March 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekend Stay Nice weekend stay at the W Minneapolis, but this is more of a social location than a place you'd stay for relaxation. The location was decorated nice, the staff was great and attentive to our requests, but we did hear partying guests even through our door throughout the weekend. March 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice place I had two stays here recently. Both times received suite upgrade without asking. That's what I like to see when I arrive at a property. Great steaks downstairs. Nightlife on weekends led to new friends. I was disappointed with the platinum breakfast benefit. A grab bag with a pastry,a banana, yogurt and a bottle of juice. Maybe the worst platinum breakfast I've had anywhere. I will return and will just pick the points. March 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stunning Hotel Stunning Hotel, very centrally located, with a lot of the early Glamours of the 1900s but with all the comforts of Today. Rooms were very comfortable and everything was organized very conviniently. Loved having cocktails in the Living Room by the fire. Had breakfast and lunch at Keys Restaurant which serves breakfast all day. Dinner at Manny's steakhouse was delicious and unforgettable. Spectacular views of the city from the Observatory. W Forshay is a must!!! February 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The location of hotel was convenient The service could have been alittle better. It was my birthday and would have loved to been given advice on where to go, restaurants, etc. I did receive a free updgrade which was nice. The price of items in the room were outrageous however, they did leave cupcakes and 2 free bottles of water in the room for my birthday which was nice. I would like to have been made more aware of things to do or see. The parking was horrendous however, there should be parking connected to the hotel besides $30 a night valet!! Lugging your luggage across a busy intersection/street was not ideal.... Overall the stay was decent however, I do not think worth the price. The rooms are definitely over priced. February 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Valentine's Day Getaway The Foshay is a perfect place to spend a romantic weekend with someone special in your life. The room we had was quiet, spacious, clean, and quite comfortable. The hotel is located within walking distance of dozens of excellent restaurants, theaters, coffee shops, and a mere four blocks to light rail system providing easy transit to and from MSP airport. The concierge arranged for a massage table to be brought to our room for a nominal fee. I'm a laid back traveler but my sweetheart is not. Both of us loved this hotel. February 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Stay Nice room, nice view. Did find a can of pop in the bar with ashes on top of it and the phone began beeping at 7 because it was not plugged in and ran low on battery. Shower controls not so good. Other than that, what we expected. February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by ALWAYS CHOOSE THE W FOR VALENTINE'S DAY Another fabulous stay at the W. This time for Valentine's day weekend. The hotel was booked to capacity and there were a lot of floral arrangements seen at the hotel. In spite of being super busy the staff assigned me a fantastic suite. The staff is always very friendly. If you choose the W then your Valentine will have the best time of her life and feel very special. The W is the best. February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Modern and fun Stayed there w/bf for V Day. We both agreed hands down one of our best experiences ever. Will definitely be back. February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location in downtown Minneapolis While the rooms are a little small (they were renovated from an older hotel), you still get the feel of a W. The rooms are well appointed, and the beds are great. The Living Room bar is hopping late at night or Prohibition is a bit quieter but still hip and chic. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by So convenient! Loved the hotel location! Easy to get to through the skyways and Hennepin theatre district. We lucked out at prohibition and ended up with the best seat in the house! We live in the TC area, but wanted a weekend get away experience and will definitely stay here again! Staff was so friendly, rooms clean and beautiful and super comfy bed! February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff and service The whatever/whenever staff at the W is excellent. Very fast and caring. February 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Friendly Staff! Just about everything was amazing as usual. The staff was super friendly, the room was awesome, the location was great! If you reserve the Acura Experience, don't let other guests ride with you (that you don't know) because it might ruin the experience. February 17, 2013
  • 2015-10-06T07:50:20.296-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_312, tr_312
  • loc_en_US, sid_3019, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 12 next>>