W Minneapolis - The Foshay

  • 821 Marquette Avenue
  • Minneapolis,
  • Minnesota
  • 55402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 264 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, atmosphere and staff I've stayed at the W Minneapolis a few times now and I absolutely love it there. The staff are always very welcoming and friendly. The bars down and up stairs offer great night life. The rooms are very comfortable. Everything is located in the historic Foshay building. I definitely recommend this hotel. July 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Felt like I was in the dark 24/7 This hotel provides no lighting in any part of hotel except your room. Felt like I was in a night club 24 hours of the day, very gloomy atmosphere. Also for being a high priced hotel they did not have any extra blankets available. Brought something that somewhat resembled a blanket the second night. Very small rooms. The shower was the only positive thing about this hotel stay as they had the rain shower. Definitely not worth the money spent. July 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Miss informed or provide more transparency First when I checked in I was asked if I wanted to enroll in Green Maid services which I was told meant that if I declined Maid Services each day by placing the "Do Not Disturb" Sign out that I would earn rewards points but after the 1st day I found out I had opted out of the Maid Service because I had signed up for the Green Service. So I called the front desk to let them know I did not want to enroll on the Green Service and would like housekeeping to stop by to pick up garage and stock towels and shower items and the next two days they did not come to the room. Also you have to pay for a local phone call from the room which I don't quite understand. The umbrella that they provided are not worth the $13 and when I called down to the front desktop to ask if they had 2nd umbrella it might have been a good idea to inform the consumer that the umbrellas are not complementary instead of always answering a question without actually answering it. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stylish and comfortable Very cool hotel, the lobby and hallways are too dark but the room was bright, modern, clean, and comfortable. I thought the room service menu, including wine choices by the glass, were a little limited, but what I did order was tasty. July 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lines at the front desk are bad Arrived to find a 25 minute line at check in with one attendant. Made it to front around 2:50 PM to be told that room was not ready as check in time is 3:00. I wondered if I should get in line again as by the time I reached the front it would be 3:00. Upon arrival to room I walked in and noted that the room wreaked of cigarette smoke. I then changed rooms. The room was not cleaned by 6:00 PM each day. It is obvious that you do not have enough staff. June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to chill after long days of volleyball This was a "working vacation" for our family. We were playing in a national volleyball tourney in the conv ctr. The W is 2 blocks away from a skybridge connecting the two and it gave us just enough distance to be there fast...and get away fast. The chill environment, wonderful cucumber water, and excellent attentive staff made our stay very enjoyable!! Thanks!! June 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond The staff at the Foshay made sure to recognize SPG status. Also, when I had a flat tire, the valet even changed my tire to the spare for me within 15 minutes. I didn't even ask for this, they offered. Now that is above and beyond! I love the architecture of the building and the food offerings within the hotel are top notch. There is a lot of restaurants within walking distance as well. Nicolette mall is a block away. One of my favorite hotels from the starwood properties, June 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice but didn't appreciate extra charges Loved almost everything about our recent stay. The room was spacious and funky, the bed was comfortable, the amenities were nice, and breakfast at the keys was delicious and reasonable. We also enjoyed very expensive drinks at the hotel's two bars. They were interesting bars and the drinks were good, but were really far too expensive. We also didn't appreciate the additional $60+ charged to our card for mini-bar items that we didn't touch. I'm glad I checked my account. Customer service was helpful, and the charge is apparently being rectified. June 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by June 4-6, 2014. Breakfast arrived cold ,uncovered, and burnt!! Hotel decor is extremely dark and depressing! This is the same for W-Los Angeles! June 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not quite what I expected The hotel atmosphere was very nice. Our room did not have a nice chair to relax in which would have been nice. The shower had trouble draining and the tub filled up. We had to wait between showers so that tub could drain to prevent overflowing and caused a delay in getting our day started. People were very friendly and polite. I was told that because of the shower problem we would get a credit, but we did not. Follow through is also important, not just a friendly smile and polite words. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Foshay Most W Hotels are excellent. The Foshay goes beyond that. In addition to its iconic architecture, the feel of the place has such a fun, deco-era vibe to it, that it's hard not to have fun. The Prohibition Bar is an absolute must. Ask for Megan and she will treat you like royalty. The desk staff at the hotel is also very, very warm and welcoming. I will be back. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Completely Amazing Hotel!! I was transported to another place from the moment I walked in the door! Pefect mix of vintage and modern. Spacious lounge/bar areas, extremely quiet, clean rooms with comfortable beds, great restaurant on-site, prohibition bar and observation deck with awesome views, skywalk access and wonderful attention to detail-from apples and earbuds in the excersize room to plush robes in the rooms. Staff is professional and friendly and went above and beyond to accommodate my requests and help with directions and parking. The lighting everywhere is fabulous- so cool and romantic- I swear it makes you look younger and skinnier! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying downtown. January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Excellent Excellent I was on a business trip. I stayed 2 nights. I have stayed at several W's and this was by far the best in customer service. Kenneth was the best. He remembered my name the entire stay and I was always greeted by Kenneth anytime I walked past the desk. He should be put on the fast track for a promotion. He is just a pure professional The person who checked me out when I was leaving was not as personable. August 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice room While my room was clean, comfortable and had all the necessary amenities, the decor is ultra modern which feels a bit 'cold' to me. But that is just a perosnal preference. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience First time at this hotel. Will definitely return in the future. The staff was welcoming and informative. The hotel rooms clean and nicely appointed. The bar and lounge are fun and intimate at the same time. We have stayed at 4-5 downtown Minneapolis hotels over the past couple years ... this was our best experience to date. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Summer Weekend hotel is ideally located for downtown activities, staff was friendly and helpful, bar and 2 connected restaurants excellent. will return. June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by So Close To Being A Really Nice Hotel For my fellow SPG friends, this hotel breaks the #1 rule, it has no SPG Check-in line. When I arrived about 6-7 people in line to check in. Two people working and the line went fairly quick, but the point of being loyal is get a perk or two, not waiting in line to check in is suppose to one of those perks. Rooms are nice, like most W but had one really amazing issue. No power outlets at the desk nor on the side of the bed. Really? Even low end hotels have power on the bedside tables. Cell phones, Laptops they are here to stay, lets get some power outlets near the bed. Overall a nice hotel, solve these two issues and I would give it 4 or 5 star rating! February 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Service sub-par I would not recommend this hotel. I stayed here on June 7th 2012 on the 21st floor. During my stay, I attempted to take a shower, the water was ice cold and wouldn't get warm. I then proceeded to talk to a member of the hotel staff to tell them my dilemma and they said they would check into it. The next morning I attempted to shower again, It was still cold. I have never received such bad service, on top of that I was supposed to get a free breakfast from Manning's Steakhouse and was not granted that offer as well. The woman at the desk offered me a measly $25 credit for my bad experience. A hotel is supposed to offer two guaranteed amenities, 1 a place to sleep and 2 a place to clean your self. I was only granted one of them. June 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cleanliness was an issue When we arrived there were glasses out in the hallway in front of our door. They were never picked up. They were still out in the hallway when we checked out. Also, the top blanket on the bed and one of the throw pillows had crumbs on them. Definitely not clean. Lastly, when we received our bill we had extra charges from the mini-bar. They did remove them but I find it very annoying still. It was a little bit of a let down considering the price of the room. February 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great W Property I stay at many properties, and I always pick the W brand if there is one around. The W Foshay is definitely one of the nicer hotels. With that being said, it is not because of the aesthetic - but because of the people. From the Valet, to Ryan at Check-In, to Room Service Personnel, the entire experience was consistent and amazing. Thank you, I will definitely be back - every month. June 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historic Building If you're not from Minneapolis, please know that this hotel is a conversion. Use to be the historic Foshay building (I think it was an office building before they converted it) and now it's a W Hotel. Since this wasn't a W hotel built from the ground up, don't expect everything to be 100% W. The rooms are nice, but since the plumbing is old, the water pressure is low and sometimes draining is slow. Decoration and the staff is great. It's conveniently located in downtown and within walking distance to shopping and dinning destinations. Manny's Steakhouse downstairs is great as is the Key's. The hotel seems to get busier and busier since it opened in '08; it's booked quite often and my room was not ready yet at 2:00pm. Platinum used to get upgraded to suites pretty easily, but in the last 3 times I've stayed at this property, all the suites were full. May 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome hotel Wonderful hotel with excellent staff! Great bar area and atmosphere of the entire hotel. We will definitely be back and I will try to always book at a W Hotel in any city that I travel to for work or for fun! June 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Downtown stay Our fourth visit to the Foshay Minneapolis was a treat again. We got upgrade to a perfect room on the 26nd floor with a magnificent view. Beds were awesome and the personal very responsive! June 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good W, amazing historic building My first stay at this W and was upgraded to a massive amazing suite on one of the top floors (thanks SPG Platinum). This W, like all of them, is nice. - Room was clean, top quality linens, and of course my most loved Bliss products - Hotel gym had no windows (and was always empty -- which was fine by me) - Service average - nothing to write home about - Cool museum on the top floor showing history of Foshay Tower (free for guests, great views) The bar on the top floor is a bit stuffy and the two times I walked in had an older (40s, 50s) crowd -- seemingly biz folks. Wasn't WOWed here like I have been at other Ws -- but I'd stay here again (assuming price is right). March 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great service with OK rooms I stayed in the W Forshay hotel for 2 weeks at the end of May for work. The service was wonderful; I always had prompt responses to any requests, the room order was always delicious, and one front desk employee even went out of her way to help me when they were working on fixing the hot water and I really needed to take a shower. I would recommend the W for people who want a great service experience. That said, I didn't feel like the rooms were that great, especially for the high price point. There were no (easily available) outlets next to the bed for charging phones. Both of the rooms I stayed in had one broken lamp. There was very little (if any) overhead lighting outside of the bathroom, so it makes working in the evenings challenging. This is likely a result of the "swanky" feel the W chain is going for, and it certainly doesn't reflect on the people who work there and the service you receive. But overall, the rooms were just a tad inconveniently designed for the prices they charge. But it is centrally located, surrounded by many good restaurants and just a couple of blocks away from Nicollet Avenue. The hotel even has an entrance into the Skyway, so it'll be super convenient in the winter. June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb All-Around Hotel Housed in an Icon Excellent hotel in all respects: super friendly staff (in the "nicest city in America"), terrific rooms (especially the suites), good location in the heart of the city and very inviting public spaces (both the Prohibition bar on the 27th floor and the Living Room Lounge, as well as Manny's Steakhouse Restaurant attached to the hotel). To top it all off, the hotel is housed in the iconic Foshay Tower, which has been beautifully restored to its the 1920's art deco grandeur. Make sure you check out the Foshay Tower Museum and Observatory on the 30th floor (admission is free with your room key). July 31, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed The bathroom only had hot water. The toilet flushed extremely slow. There was absolutely no coffee to be had in the morning. The room was small and stiff. They fooled you into thinking water was free and then charged $12.00. Very very disappointed. Not worth the money. June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Felt very welcome Every time I walked into the hotel, I was greeted by name. For the size of your hotel, I thought it was incredible. I felt very welcomed. June 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Kind of let down I frequently stay at the Foshay. The last few times I've stayed there I've been disappointed. On this stay I upgraded to a fantastic suite. Upon check in the hostess advised us the room was not ready and she would have our room cleaned asap. This was okay, we stopped over at Manny's to have a drink. About 45 min later we were allowed to check in. At first the room seemed great, however upon closer inspection it was anything but clean. Handprints all over the windows, headboard of the bed, mini-fridge, and leather sofa. It would be literally impossible for this to go un-noticed to a trained cleaning staff. My complaints were not addressed. This would be the third time I wonder why I pay so much to stay at this hotel. June 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by In hot water, or not.... My recent stay at the W Minneapolis was very disappointing since there was no hot water on the second/final morning I was there. After waking, I worked out in the hotel's gym (clean but small and limited). You can imagine my surprise when I went to hop in the shower and had only late spring Minneapolis ice water flowing from the shower head. I called reception and they said it was a hotel wide issue and I could use the Y down the street. Since I was in a hurry, I did not have time to do so and took the polar plunge. On the plus side, the room on bed were comfortable and I had a great cheeseburger from room service. It was delivered vwery quickly. All staff at the hotel were pleasant and professional. On the negative side, in addition to no hot water, there was a loud group in the hallway making tons of noise in the middle of the night and the wifi is slow. To stay there again, I would want reassurance that the water issue is not a recurring problem. The starpoints the hotel provided did not seem like adequate compensation for the problem, but that is a separate matter. June 5, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>