W Minneapolis - The Foshay

  • 821 Marquette Avenue
  • Minneapolis,
  • Minnesota
  • 55402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 263 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern! Upon arrival, we were greeted right away by valet. They were very helpful & friendly. He explained to us how to get to the front desk. The front desk employee, Ashley, was amazing. We mentioned we were thinking of moving to the Minneapolis area & she recommended many areas to go see and what is affordable for city living. The room was awesome, clean, modern, & exactly what we were looking for. In the reservation I asked for a higher floor, if possible, We got exactly what we asked for with a great view. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants the modern feel & wants to stay smack in the downtown area. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely Hotel Great stay and responsive staff May 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I wanted. Perfect place to celebrate. The staff goes above and beyond to meet your needs. They are wonderful. Everyone is very professional and friendly. We celebrated our anniversary and got engaged here. The Concierge was very helpful. His assistance really helped make it perfect. Everything I wanted, he arranged to have done. Prohibition on the 27th floor is a very nice bar. I popped the question in their loft, a secluded area above the bar. Our suite was great. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. I am very thankful for the staff’s assistance. It was a memorable weekend and we will definitely be coming back. May 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best in Minneapolis I've stayed in most all of the upper tier hotels in Minneapolis & the W Foshay is absolutely the best. Great staff, even better food (both room service and Manny's) make this a Hotel I look forward to - and I do not look forward to many. The location is terrific - just near the Nicolette Mall - and the architecture of the old Foshay Building gives the hotel a unique look. Highly recommended. April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location, Downtown Landmark Stayed here for 2 nights while I was in town visiting friends. This hotel blew my away!!!! an awesome experience overall. Great room location, fantastic amenities, wonderful staff. Ryan and Brian at check in were fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in the downtown area. April 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place but with too much attitude Can't beat the rooms, decor, and the cool ambiance (if you like dark/modern/young). However, the employees forget it is the hotel, not they who are cool. They still need to be about service, like employees of all good hotels. Examples: Guys out front: More interested in talking to each other than helping. When I told them that I wanted to save money and park myself, they implied they knew of no other options. Turns out there was a great , inexpensive place just accros the street. Do you really think they did not know about the place? Front desk: fairly mute "greeting" with minimal information passed along. Seemed like he was doing us a favor by allowing us to stay at his hotel. September 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Enjoyable and romantic A place that's easy to have romance. May 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The location of hotel was convenient The service could have been alittle better. It was my birthday and would have loved to been given advice on where to go, restaurants, etc. I did receive a free updgrade which was nice. The price of items in the room were outrageous however, they did leave cupcakes and 2 free bottles of water in the room for my birthday which was nice. I would like to have been made more aware of things to do or see. The parking was horrendous however, there should be parking connected to the hotel besides $30 a night valet!! Lugging your luggage across a busy intersection/street was not ideal.... Overall the stay was decent however, I do not think worth the price. The rooms are definitely over priced. February 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Hotel; Needs a Refresh I was only in Minneapolis for one evening so didn't have the opportunity to explore all of the hotel's amenities, but I did visit the Prohibition Bar (very nice) and ordered room service for breakfast (exceptional food and unparalleled service). The only letdown of the experience was the rooms/corridors which seemed outdated and could use a refresh. I know that hotel products become outdated quickly, but the age and condition of room seemed well outside the typical W brand experience. The bed, however, was very comfortable. March 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Platinum Recognition I have stayed at other SPG properties in Minneapolis, but hadn't checked out the Foshay. While I am typically traveling for business, this was for a friends wedding. The front desk was able to confirm a cool corner room for my first night, and offered to upgrade me to a WOW suite for the second night of my stay. This was helpful as it offered us in the wedding party a great space in which to get ready. Everything was perfect. The hotel has the typical trendy vibe. The Acura car service was timely and very helpful. Thank you for helping make my visit for my friend's wedding simple and stress fre. August 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Besides some staffing issues, the hotel is great. I checked in with three colleagues for a week in April. We arrived at 8:40pm on a Sunday to a sweltering hot lobby with 8 people ahead of us in line. There was only one front desk person around with no manager or other staff around to help. The check in took nearly 45 minutes, not exactly what I wanted to do on a Sunday evening after a four hour flight.By the time we checked in, the line had reached the concierge area. During our stay I don't believe I saw a concierge one time. Also, I signed up for the make a green choice program which apparently means no cleaning all week. Most of the other Starwood hotels clean every third day, not the W - Foshay. The rooms were great, bed was a bit old and lumpy but the soundproofing was excellent. This is one of the few hotels where I got a great night sleep and didn't have to listen to people above or beside me or random slamming doors. Upon checkout the points were never awarded, the welcome platinum points were never provided, room night credits were never submitted. All four of us had to deal with the SPG program to get our points. I'm not sure if this is indicative of their poor staffing levels but certainly the hotel needs some help in following policies that all other Starwood properties seem to be grasp. Lastly, it's not really a complaint but my preferences do say "high floor" and I was on a low floor while my other non-platinum colleagues were on much higher floors. It just irks me. Our package included breakfast which was apparently interpreted to be a $15 credit per day. At the steakhouse they send you to that's about enough for an apple and a coffee. They should probably clarify what exactly is provided. If there were two people in my room the $15 would have only bought coffee (a little over $4.00 with tax). Location was great, lots of good restaurants in the area. May 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff needs training My third time at this hotel and not so good as before: we left our room early Sat and when we arrived back at 3pm the room had not been cleaned. No one answered the phone so we gently asked at the front desk if someone would clean our room. The person at the desk was surprised (seemingly at us, for such a request) and churlish. By night, the bed was made and trash emptied, but that was it. A half-way job. We also had pointed out soon after check-in that the mini-bar held empties (!) of drink and food that we did not want to be billed for: these were not removed during our stay (an empty packet of Cracker Jacks is not so enticing). Looks like they need to work on service and friendliness, both. :( October 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel. Good Location. This was my second stay and I like this hotel - a classic look (apparently the Foshay is a landmark for the City). Staff was courteous. Rooms were nice. The view was great fro my room - pity I stayed just one night this time around. There are some decent restaurants within walking distance. April 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ANOTHER WEEKEND DELIGHT I spent another romantic weekend at this beautiful hotel. ROOM; Thank you for the beautiful FANTASTIC SUITE, the suites are beautiful, spacious and have fabulous views of Minneapolis. STAFF: Just amazing. Thank you LISA, JAMES AND DELSA. DINING: Ate breakfast in bed that was delivered by Keys Restaurant and it was amazing. OVERALL: A beautiful SPG hotel with rich decor, amazing rooms and customer service. RECOMMENDATIONS: I highly recommend this W for your Minneapolis stays. Couples will love this hotel along with the party lovers. March 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Watch your valuables The historical Foshay building is a marvelous setting. Staff at the desk were responsive and courteous. Rooms met well but did not exceed expectations for a W. However, we experienced two big negatives. 1) whether we liked it or not, we were part of the week end party in the lobby. In order to get to the elevators and our room we had to run the gauntlet of drunken 20-somethings, and those looking for drunken 20 somethings, congregating in the lobby bars and waiting on line for the ride to the bar on the 27th floor. Also be prepared for the poorly lit "W" black decor which makes reading elevator and hall signage near impossible; and 2) an iPod worth more than the cost of our stay went missing from our room. While security was courteous, the subtext of the interaction suggested to us that unless the thief turned the iPod in (unlikely), then they would assume we had lost the item elsewhere. We'll be staying at the Minneapolis Westin or Chambers next time. May 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly at home We live a mile from W Minneapolis-Foshay yet wanted to experience the beauty of this space for a spontaneous overnight birthday celebration. It was a wonderful experience. The staff -- from valet to reservationists to servers -- made us feel truly at home. Beyond service, it can never be overstated that the impeccably designed W brand has a distinct, chiseled voice in all of the ways it communicates to its guests. A modern, unexpected, quirky presentation of ideas and services that are thoughtful, purposeful and beautiful. Well done. February 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Delighted and impressed I was staying in the hotel that used to be an office building in which I had my offices. The staff accommodated my request and was able to book me into a room that was formally my office! There was a delay in my ability to check in because I had requested this particular room but the hotel and staff were more than gracious in making the wait comfortable for me. The hotel is beautiful and has done a great job of being modern but integrating that modern feel with the classic luxury of the Foshay. It was an outstanding trip all around. Thank you very much to a great staff! January 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great property, friendly staff I've stayed at the Foshay several times, and it's always been a good experience, but I recently had a specific interaction worthy calling out. First, though, it's worth noting that not only do you get the service and accommodations commensurate with the W badge at the Foshay, but you have easy access to the Skywalk for those MN winters! Specific to my most recent stay, however, I had a roomservice order that unfortunately was quite different from what I ordered. The server (Alana?) was extremely apologetic and polite, and literally hurried out if the room to get it fixed. The service here has always been great, from the Acura Experience up to the servers at Prohibition, but that extra effort seemed worth calling out. May 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed w/ weekend getaway I was very pleased with the updated look of the hotel and our room, until I looked closer. The bathroom had dried water drip marks all over the walls, the sheet on the bed had a tear the size of a hand on it, you could hear EVERY noise outside of the room: the elevator going up and down throughout the night, hotel room doors opening and closing, raucous hotel guests and their every drunken word in the middle of the night, etc. The noise level was ridiculous. Unfortunately, based on all of this, we will not stay here again. One thing I look for in a hotel is a relaxing environment and it can not be found here. On a positive note, the Bliss bathroom products are a lovely touch and the location within the city is perfect. February 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dirty Room Frankly, our room was dirty. The bedspread had four unidentified hairs on it when we checked in and was snagged in a number of places. It was so tattered, I wouldn't have it in my home, much less expect it in our $325 a night hotel room. Also, there was a thick layer of dust on the windowsill in the bathroom, the carpet looked less than vacuumed and the tongs for the bar/ice bucket were crusted with whatever food product the people before us used them on. I didn't complain when we checked in because it was me and my husband's first anniversary and I didn't want to ruin the mood by being fussy but it was not acceptable. We have stayed in a number of higher end hotels in Minneapolis and elsewhere and this was not up to par. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful property & Excellent SPG Recognition We were here to celebrate our 5 year anniversary, and the Foshay did not disappoint. I have SPG Gold status and the front desk gave me an upgraded room, which ended up being a huge suite on the 26th floor, complete with a living/dining room, full wet bar, 1.5 bathrooms, and amazing views. The staff was friendly and thoughtful, even leaving us some delicious congratulatory cupcakes which were awaiting us in the suite's foyer. Excellent central location with a well-equipped gym. Would highly recommend this property, particularly those with higher SPG status. September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I normally don't write reviews, but this experience is worth sharing. Excellent hotel staff: friendly, courteous and professional. During my stay I received a complimentary tea tray with a handwritten note - for my itchy throat which the hotel staff noticed while delivering my room service plates. In addition, someone hand delivered DayQuil and NyQuil to my room which they had picked up from the Target near by. Highly recommend this hotel for attention to detail and truly exceptional service. March 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Central Mpls My wife and I had a great time at this hotel. The steakhouse is excellent and the DJ made the evening. We will definitely be back! April 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tiny, poor gym, no pool It is a W, so the rooms and common areas are typical of all W's and are nice, with their special 'swag'. I was very disappointed that this W had no pool or Bliss spa. Most of all, the gym was incredibly disappointing. It was tiny with no windows. The touch screen on the treadmills barely worked. I was there for a conference and when I went down each morning, most, if not all, of the equipment was taken. May not matter as much if you're staying there for vacation, but when on a business trip, my workouts are essential and this was a huge disappointment. October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Foshay has wonderful atmosphere & style The Foshay was wonderful. The room was comfortable, issues were dealt with immediately, the lobby/lounge was spacious and well designed. The food at Manny's was excellent in every way possible. We look forward to going back. They are also pet friendly! April 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very nice hotel EXCEPT the showers The renovated art deco classic building is great and the rooms were actually pretty large compared to many other W Hotels. As always, the bed, linens and towels were great. The showers, however, are horrible. The water pressure from the shower heads are terrible. I called engineering and the gentleman confirmed that the hotel changed out all the shower heads and, yes, they are terrible. As a male, I could barely get the soap out of my hair, Housekeeping should also be stepped up. The first room I was provided was superficially clean, but many things needed real cleaning--there was wine splattered on the wall, the carpets needed some work and the bathroom should have been MUCH cleaner. I was changed to a new room that was much better. July 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service My partner and I had a truly wonderful stay! The staff at this hotel were fantastic - always helpful, friendly, welcoming. They seemed to go out of their way to make our stay really perfect. I could not complain about a thing! The hotel itself is beautiful and fun and we were delighted to find a lot of "extras" available to us that made our stay even more enjoyable, such as being supplied with an umbrella and free drop off service. The food at the restaurant and room service was also excellent. This was probably the best hotel stay I have ever had :) May 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too modern, dark for our taste If you like ultra modern, lots of hot pink and dark hallways and rooms, you will love this hotel. If, like us, you prefer a brighter room with a little natural light, I would recommend looking elsewhere. It didn't help that we were on the 3rd floor with each of 3 windows facing out onto a nearby brick wall. From our room, we couldn't even tell if it was cloudy or sunny outside. The bathroom is modern and attractive but not entirely practical- very few hooks for towels, clothes, toiletries. The rainfall showerhead is cool but water pressure is low. July 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cute, location and trendy USED VALET. IT IS $32 AND CHANGE VS. $30 ON WEBSITE AND SPG WEBSITE. VALET WAS SLOW ALL TIMES. ARRIVAL OF ROOM DOOR WAS OPEN. MAKE SURE TO CHECK LATCH UPON IN AND OUT OF ROOM. BOOKED KING WONDERFUL HOWEVER WAS GIVEN ACCESSIBLE KING WHICH WAS FINE HOWEVER WOULD OF BEEN NICE TO HAVE KNOWN UPON CHECK IN. USED ROOM SERVICE, MUNCHIE BOX AND KEYS CAFE. ROOM SERVICE BILL SHOULD SPLIT OUT MUNCHIE BILL SO I KNOW FOR SURE SINCE SOME ITEMS WERE ALREADY MISSING UPON ARTUVAL. PLUS MINE WAS NOT RESTOCKED DURING STAY WHICH CARD SAYS IT WILL BE. September 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reservation Concerns I had two "confirmed" reservations covering back-to-back nights. This caused considerable confusion with the staff at the desk. When I checked in I went over my reservations at the desk and I was told I would not have to change rooms as both reservations were in order. The next day I had a staff member come to my room to see if I was checking out. I explained that I had the room for two more nights. Later I was asked to come down to the desk to once again go over by reservations. Not sure why this was so confusong to your staff. September 30, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>