W Minneapolis - The Foshay

  • 821 Marquette Avenue
  • Minneapolis,
  • Minnesota
  • 55402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 274 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Foshay W Insiders are simply the best Lisa Heath and the W Insiders at the Foshay are best in class. I no longer need to provide advance notice of my arrival. When I check in, my room has been outfitted with all of my favorite amenities. The Foshay is like a second home. As recognition of the W Insiders superb service, the Foshay is now designated a preferred hotel of my company. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff is excellent I frequently travel for work and am often in Minneapolis. The staff at this hotel is by far the best and the most thoughtful. On one particular trip, I was very sick. The woman who checked me in sent hot tea, lemon, and honey to the room. This hotel makes Minneapolis one of my favorite spots to visit. August 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not exactly 'fantastic'... Having stayed in W hotels before I had high expectations of the Fantastic suite, unfortunately I was left really rather under-wowed. My main concern was the lack of free wifi in the room. At a top end establishment this really should be a given, it's just miserly to not include it in the room rate Also, more of the higher end hotels now offer club floors, the W seems to be lagging behind here. Overall not a bad experience but not a fantastic one either. August 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Quite Disappointing We stayed from July 2nd to July 5th 2014. The hotel appears to cater to the 20 something crowd. It is dark in the lobby and in the hallways. Parking with in and out privileges is only available through the valet at $35/day is quite steep for Minneapolis. No coffee maker or tea maker in the room. We had to call the front desk to get it. I stay at SPG hotels quite often and I always liked the hotels, Dallas Meridian, Taipei Meridian, Westin Singapore, ... but The W Foshay is not one I will be coming back to. Regards, Hichem July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel (and museum!) This was my second stay at the W Foshay and both times I had a great stay and a wonderful room with great views. The Prohibition bar has a great selection of unique and delicious drinks. I was not aware the hotel had museum about the history of the Foshay building and it's builder as well as a great observation deck (apparently only one of 6 active outdoor skyscraper observation decks if I read that correctly). Overall I highly recommend the W Foshay to anyone who enjoys a modern ambience or classical architecture (check out the engravings on the elevator doors). July 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I would not stay at this hotel So many problems, hard to list. Impossible to get through to reservations by phone. Room not cleaned by late afternoon. Phone broken in room. Car service screwed up which had been ordered though their concierge. They did make amends, or try to, which was appreciated, but still...too many problems to try again. Hate the dark entry way and long walk to check in (my son had a broken ankle; not fun) July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful, As Usual We almost exclusively stay at The W when we stay in downtown Mpls. Amenities are top notch, service is always friendly and helpful. Rooms have always been clean, fresh and well managed. Beds are extremely comfortable (in our opinion). Having a world class steakhouse right downstairs is a wonderful benefit as well. Can't say enough good things about The W. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Completely Amazing Hotel!! I was transported to another place from the moment I walked in the door! Pefect mix of vintage and modern. Spacious lounge/bar areas, extremely quiet, clean rooms with comfortable beds, great restaurant on-site, prohibition bar and observation deck with awesome views, skywalk access and wonderful attention to detail-from apples and earbuds in the excersize room to plush robes in the rooms. Staff is professional and friendly and went above and beyond to accommodate my requests and help with directions and parking. The lighting everywhere is fabulous- so cool and romantic- I swear it makes you look younger and skinnier! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying downtown. January 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by W Minneapolis Stayed the night of the All-Star game, room was perfectly nice, with a great view. Staying on Floor 28 however presented some challenges, I think some of the fellow guests on the floor were enjoying post game festivities, and the floor was a bit loud throughout the evening, between their noise and the constant of the elevators up and down and more guests coming up to celebrate, wasn't the best night of sleep. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Excellent Excellent I was on a business trip. I stayed 2 nights. I have stayed at several W's and this was by far the best in customer service. Kenneth was the best. He remembered my name the entire stay and I was always greeted by Kenneth anytime I walked past the desk. He should be put on the fast track for a promotion. He is just a pure professional The person who checked me out when I was leaving was not as personable. August 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Notch Just an enjoyable stay. Excellence service from the staff, especially Lisa Heath! July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by So Close To Being A Really Nice Hotel For my fellow SPG friends, this hotel breaks the #1 rule, it has no SPG Check-in line. When I arrived about 6-7 people in line to check in. Two people working and the line went fairly quick, but the point of being loyal is get a perk or two, not waiting in line to check in is suppose to one of those perks. Rooms are nice, like most W but had one really amazing issue. No power outlets at the desk nor on the side of the bed. Really? Even low end hotels have power on the bedside tables. Cell phones, Laptops they are here to stay, lets get some power outlets near the bed. Overall a nice hotel, solve these two issues and I would give it 4 or 5 star rating! February 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Service sub-par I would not recommend this hotel. I stayed here on June 7th 2012 on the 21st floor. During my stay, I attempted to take a shower, the water was ice cold and wouldn't get warm. I then proceeded to talk to a member of the hotel staff to tell them my dilemma and they said they would check into it. The next morning I attempted to shower again, It was still cold. I have never received such bad service, on top of that I was supposed to get a free breakfast from Manning's Steakhouse and was not granted that offer as well. The woman at the desk offered me a measly $25 credit for my bad experience. A hotel is supposed to offer two guaranteed amenities, 1 a place to sleep and 2 a place to clean your self. I was only granted one of them. June 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cleanliness was an issue When we arrived there were glasses out in the hallway in front of our door. They were never picked up. They were still out in the hallway when we checked out. Also, the top blanket on the bed and one of the throw pillows had crumbs on them. Definitely not clean. Lastly, when we received our bill we had extra charges from the mini-bar. They did remove them but I find it very annoying still. It was a little bit of a let down considering the price of the room. February 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Minnesota comfort With old early american charm and updated features and service. A great location. July 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historic Building If you're not from Minneapolis, please know that this hotel is a conversion. Use to be the historic Foshay building (I think it was an office building before they converted it) and now it's a W Hotel. Since this wasn't a W hotel built from the ground up, don't expect everything to be 100% W. The rooms are nice, but since the plumbing is old, the water pressure is low and sometimes draining is slow. Decoration and the staff is great. It's conveniently located in downtown and within walking distance to shopping and dinning destinations. Manny's Steakhouse downstairs is great as is the Key's. The hotel seems to get busier and busier since it opened in '08; it's booked quite often and my room was not ready yet at 2:00pm. Platinum used to get upgraded to suites pretty easily, but in the last 3 times I've stayed at this property, all the suites were full. May 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by June 4-6, 2014. Breakfast arrived cold ,uncovered, and burnt!! Hotel decor is extremely dark and depressing! This is the same for W-Los Angeles! June 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good W, amazing historic building My first stay at this W and was upgraded to a massive amazing suite on one of the top floors (thanks SPG Platinum). This W, like all of them, is nice. - Room was clean, top quality linens, and of course my most loved Bliss products - Hotel gym had no windows (and was always empty -- which was fine by me) - Service average - nothing to write home about - Cool museum on the top floor showing history of Foshay Tower (free for guests, great views) The bar on the top floor is a bit stuffy and the two times I walked in had an older (40s, 50s) crowd -- seemingly biz folks. Wasn't WOWed here like I have been at other Ws -- but I'd stay here again (assuming price is right). March 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Felt like I was in the dark 24/7 This hotel provides no lighting in any part of hotel except your room. Felt like I was in a night club 24 hours of the day, very gloomy atmosphere. Also for being a high priced hotel they did not have any extra blankets available. Brought something that somewhat resembled a blanket the second night. Very small rooms. The shower was the only positive thing about this hotel stay as they had the rain shower. Definitely not worth the money spent. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, atmosphere and staff I've stayed at the W Minneapolis a few times now and I absolutely love it there. The staff are always very welcoming and friendly. The bars down and up stairs offer great night life. The rooms are very comfortable. Everything is located in the historic Foshay building. I definitely recommend this hotel. July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice but didn't appreciate extra charges Loved almost everything about our recent stay. The room was spacious and funky, the bed was comfortable, the amenities were nice, and breakfast at the keys was delicious and reasonable. We also enjoyed very expensive drinks at the hotel's two bars. They were interesting bars and the drinks were good, but were really far too expensive. We also didn't appreciate the additional $60+ charged to our card for mini-bar items that we didn't touch. I'm glad I checked my account. Customer service was helpful, and the charge is apparently being rectified. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Miss informed or provide more transparency First when I checked in I was asked if I wanted to enroll in Green Maid services which I was told meant that if I declined Maid Services each day by placing the "Do Not Disturb" Sign out that I would earn rewards points but after the 1st day I found out I had opted out of the Maid Service because I had signed up for the Green Service. So I called the front desk to let them know I did not want to enroll on the Green Service and would like housekeeping to stop by to pick up garage and stock towels and shower items and the next two days they did not come to the room. Also you have to pay for a local phone call from the room which I don't quite understand. The umbrella that they provided are not worth the $13 and when I called down to the front desktop to ask if they had 2nd umbrella it might have been a good idea to inform the consumer that the umbrellas are not complementary instead of always answering a question without actually answering it. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb All-Around Hotel Housed in an Icon Excellent hotel in all respects: super friendly staff (in the "nicest city in America"), terrific rooms (especially the suites), good location in the heart of the city and very inviting public spaces (both the Prohibition bar on the 27th floor and the Living Room Lounge, as well as Manny's Steakhouse Restaurant attached to the hotel). To top it all off, the hotel is housed in the iconic Foshay Tower, which has been beautifully restored to its the 1920's art deco grandeur. Make sure you check out the Foshay Tower Museum and Observatory on the 30th floor (admission is free with your room key). July 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lines at the front desk are bad Arrived to find a 25 minute line at check in with one attendant. Made it to front around 2:50 PM to be told that room was not ready as check in time is 3:00. I wondered if I should get in line again as by the time I reached the front it would be 3:00. Upon arrival to room I walked in and noted that the room wreaked of cigarette smoke. I then changed rooms. The room was not cleaned by 6:00 PM each day. It is obvious that you do not have enough staff. June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond The staff at the Foshay made sure to recognize SPG status. Also, when I had a flat tire, the valet even changed my tire to the spare for me within 15 minutes. I didn't even ask for this, they offered. Now that is above and beyond! I love the architecture of the building and the food offerings within the hotel are top notch. There is a lot of restaurants within walking distance as well. Nicolette mall is a block away. One of my favorite hotels from the starwood properties, June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stylish and comfortable Very cool hotel, the lobby and hallways are too dark but the room was bright, modern, clean, and comfortable. I thought the room service menu, including wine choices by the glass, were a little limited, but what I did order was tasty. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not quite what I expected The hotel atmosphere was very nice. Our room did not have a nice chair to relax in which would have been nice. The shower had trouble draining and the tub filled up. We had to wait between showers so that tub could drain to prevent overflowing and caused a delay in getting our day started. People were very friendly and polite. I was told that because of the shower problem we would get a credit, but we did not. Follow through is also important, not just a friendly smile and polite words. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to chill after long days of volleyball This was a "working vacation" for our family. We were playing in a national volleyball tourney in the conv ctr. The W is 2 blocks away from a skybridge connecting the two and it gave us just enough distance to be there fast...and get away fast. The chill environment, wonderful cucumber water, and excellent attentive staff made our stay very enjoyable!! Thanks!! June 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Kind of let down I frequently stay at the Foshay. The last few times I've stayed there I've been disappointed. On this stay I upgraded to a fantastic suite. Upon check in the hostess advised us the room was not ready and she would have our room cleaned asap. This was okay, we stopped over at Manny's to have a drink. About 45 min later we were allowed to check in. At first the room seemed great, however upon closer inspection it was anything but clean. Handprints all over the windows, headboard of the bed, mini-fridge, and leather sofa. It would be literally impossible for this to go un-noticed to a trained cleaning staff. My complaints were not addressed. This would be the third time I wonder why I pay so much to stay at this hotel. June 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Foshay Most W Hotels are excellent. The Foshay goes beyond that. In addition to its iconic architecture, the feel of the place has such a fun, deco-era vibe to it, that it's hard not to have fun. The Prohibition Bar is an absolute must. Ask for Megan and she will treat you like royalty. The desk staff at the hotel is also very, very warm and welcoming. I will be back. June 27, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>