W Minneapolis - The Foshay

  • 821 Marquette Avenue
  • Minneapolis,
  • Minnesota
  • 55402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 306 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Foshay W Insiders are simply the best Lisa Heath and the W Insiders at the Foshay are best in class. I no longer need to provide advance notice of my arrival. When I check in, my room has been outfitted with all of my favorite amenities. The Foshay is like a second home. As recognition of the W Insiders superb service, the Foshay is now designated a preferred hotel of my company. August 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not exactly 'fantastic'... Having stayed in W hotels before I had high expectations of the Fantastic suite, unfortunately I was left really rather under-wowed. My main concern was the lack of free wifi in the room. At a top end establishment this really should be a given, it's just miserly to not include it in the room rate Also, more of the higher end hotels now offer club floors, the W seems to be lagging behind here. Overall not a bad experience but not a fantastic one either. August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel (and museum!) This was my second stay at the W Foshay and both times I had a great stay and a wonderful room with great views. The Prohibition bar has a great selection of unique and delicious drinks. I was not aware the hotel had museum about the history of the Foshay building and it's builder as well as a great observation deck (apparently only one of 6 active outdoor skyscraper observation decks if I read that correctly). Overall I highly recommend the W Foshay to anyone who enjoys a modern ambience or classical architecture (check out the engravings on the elevator doors). July 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I would not stay at this hotel So many problems, hard to list. Impossible to get through to reservations by phone. Room not cleaned by late afternoon. Phone broken in room. Car service screwed up which had been ordered though their concierge. They did make amends, or try to, which was appreciated, but still...too many problems to try again. Hate the dark entry way and long walk to check in (my son had a broken ankle; not fun) July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful, As Usual We almost exclusively stay at The W when we stay in downtown Mpls. Amenities are top notch, service is always friendly and helpful. Rooms have always been clean, fresh and well managed. Beds are extremely comfortable (in our opinion). Having a world class steakhouse right downstairs is a wonderful benefit as well. Can't say enough good things about The W. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by W Minneapolis Stayed the night of the All-Star game, room was perfectly nice, with a great view. Staying on Floor 28 however presented some challenges, I think some of the fellow guests on the floor were enjoying post game festivities, and the floor was a bit loud throughout the evening, between their noise and the constant of the elevators up and down and more guests coming up to celebrate, wasn't the best night of sleep. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay As always, our stay was wonderful. Comfortable beds, quiet rooms, great atmosphere. Very helpful and responsive staff, including valet and town car service! Thank You! July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Notch Just an enjoyable stay. Excellence service from the staff, especially Lisa Heath! July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Minnesota comfort With old early american charm and updated features and service. A great location. July 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Quite Disappointing We stayed from July 2nd to July 5th 2014. The hotel appears to cater to the 20 something crowd. It is dark in the lobby and in the hallways. Parking with in and out privileges is only available through the valet at $35/day is quite steep for Minneapolis. No coffee maker or tea maker in the room. We had to call the front desk to get it. I stay at SPG hotels quite often and I always liked the hotels, Dallas Meridian, Taipei Meridian, Westin Singapore, ... but The W Foshay is not one I will be coming back to. Regards, Hichem July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, atmosphere and staff I've stayed at the W Minneapolis a few times now and I absolutely love it there. The staff are always very welcoming and friendly. The bars down and up stairs offer great night life. The rooms are very comfortable. Everything is located in the historic Foshay building. I definitely recommend this hotel. July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Felt like I was in the dark 24/7 This hotel provides no lighting in any part of hotel except your room. Felt like I was in a night club 24 hours of the day, very gloomy atmosphere. Also for being a high priced hotel they did not have any extra blankets available. Brought something that somewhat resembled a blanket the second night. Very small rooms. The shower was the only positive thing about this hotel stay as they had the rain shower. Definitely not worth the money spent. July 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Miss informed or provide more transparency First when I checked in I was asked if I wanted to enroll in Green Maid services which I was told meant that if I declined Maid Services each day by placing the "Do Not Disturb" Sign out that I would earn rewards points but after the 1st day I found out I had opted out of the Maid Service because I had signed up for the Green Service. So I called the front desk to let them know I did not want to enroll on the Green Service and would like housekeeping to stop by to pick up garage and stock towels and shower items and the next two days they did not come to the room. Also you have to pay for a local phone call from the room which I don't quite understand. The umbrella that they provided are not worth the $13 and when I called down to the front desktop to ask if they had 2nd umbrella it might have been a good idea to inform the consumer that the umbrellas are not complementary instead of always answering a question without actually answering it. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stylish and comfortable Very cool hotel, the lobby and hallways are too dark but the room was bright, modern, clean, and comfortable. I thought the room service menu, including wine choices by the glass, were a little limited, but what I did order was tasty. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to chill after long days of volleyball This was a "working vacation" for our family. We were playing in a national volleyball tourney in the conv ctr. The W is 2 blocks away from a skybridge connecting the two and it gave us just enough distance to be there fast...and get away fast. The chill environment, wonderful cucumber water, and excellent attentive staff made our stay very enjoyable!! Thanks!! June 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lines at the front desk are bad Arrived to find a 25 minute line at check in with one attendant. Made it to front around 2:50 PM to be told that room was not ready as check in time is 3:00. I wondered if I should get in line again as by the time I reached the front it would be 3:00. Upon arrival to room I walked in and noted that the room wreaked of cigarette smoke. I then changed rooms. The room was not cleaned by 6:00 PM each day. It is obvious that you do not have enough staff. June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Foshay Most W Hotels are excellent. The Foshay goes beyond that. In addition to its iconic architecture, the feel of the place has such a fun, deco-era vibe to it, that it's hard not to have fun. The Prohibition Bar is an absolute must. Ask for Megan and she will treat you like royalty. The desk staff at the hotel is also very, very warm and welcoming. I will be back. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond The staff at the Foshay made sure to recognize SPG status. Also, when I had a flat tire, the valet even changed my tire to the spare for me within 15 minutes. I didn't even ask for this, they offered. Now that is above and beyond! I love the architecture of the building and the food offerings within the hotel are top notch. There is a lot of restaurants within walking distance as well. Nicolette mall is a block away. One of my favorite hotels from the starwood properties, June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice room While my room was clean, comfortable and had all the necessary amenities, the decor is ultra modern which feels a bit 'cold' to me. But that is just a perosnal preference. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not quite what I expected The hotel atmosphere was very nice. Our room did not have a nice chair to relax in which would have been nice. The shower had trouble draining and the tub filled up. We had to wait between showers so that tub could drain to prevent overflowing and caused a delay in getting our day started. People were very friendly and polite. I was told that because of the shower problem we would get a credit, but we did not. Follow through is also important, not just a friendly smile and polite words. June 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice but didn't appreciate extra charges Loved almost everything about our recent stay. The room was spacious and funky, the bed was comfortable, the amenities were nice, and breakfast at the keys was delicious and reasonable. We also enjoyed very expensive drinks at the hotel's two bars. They were interesting bars and the drinks were good, but were really far too expensive. We also didn't appreciate the additional $60+ charged to our card for mini-bar items that we didn't touch. I'm glad I checked my account. Customer service was helpful, and the charge is apparently being rectified. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience First time at this hotel. Will definitely return in the future. The staff was welcoming and informative. The hotel rooms clean and nicely appointed. The bar and lounge are fun and intimate at the same time. We have stayed at 4-5 downtown Minneapolis hotels over the past couple years ... this was our best experience to date. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Summer Weekend hotel is ideally located for downtown activities, staff was friendly and helpful, bar and 2 connected restaurants excellent. will return. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Downtown stay Our fourth visit to the Foshay Minneapolis was a treat again. We got upgrade to a perfect room on the 26nd floor with a magnificent view. Beds were awesome and the personal very responsive! June 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome hotel Wonderful hotel with excellent staff! Great bar area and atmosphere of the entire hotel. We will definitely be back and I will try to always book at a W Hotel in any city that I travel to for work or for fun! June 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great W Property I stay at many properties, and I always pick the W brand if there is one around. The W Foshay is definitely one of the nicer hotels. With that being said, it is not because of the aesthetic - but because of the people. From the Valet, to Ryan at Check-In, to Room Service Personnel, the entire experience was consistent and amazing. Thank you, I will definitely be back - every month. June 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great service with OK rooms I stayed in the W Forshay hotel for 2 weeks at the end of May for work. The service was wonderful; I always had prompt responses to any requests, the room order was always delicious, and one front desk employee even went out of her way to help me when they were working on fixing the hot water and I really needed to take a shower. I would recommend the W for people who want a great service experience. That said, I didn't feel like the rooms were that great, especially for the high price point. There were no (easily available) outlets next to the bed for charging phones. Both of the rooms I stayed in had one broken lamp. There was very little (if any) overhead lighting outside of the bathroom, so it makes working in the evenings challenging. This is likely a result of the "swanky" feel the W chain is going for, and it certainly doesn't reflect on the people who work there and the service you receive. But overall, the rooms were just a tad inconveniently designed for the prices they charge. But it is centrally located, surrounded by many good restaurants and just a couple of blocks away from Nicollet Avenue. The hotel even has an entrance into the Skyway, so it'll be super convenient in the winter. June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Felt very welcome Every time I walked into the hotel, I was greeted by name. For the size of your hotel, I thought it was incredible. I felt very welcomed. June 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed The bathroom only had hot water. The toilet flushed extremely slow. There was absolutely no coffee to be had in the morning. The room was small and stiff. They fooled you into thinking water was free and then charged $12.00. Very very disappointed. Not worth the money. June 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by June 4-6, 2014. Breakfast arrived cold ,uncovered, and burnt!! Hotel decor is extremely dark and depressing! This is the same for W-Los Angeles! June 7, 2014
  • 2015-07-30T21:22:49.094Z
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_306, tr_306
  • loc_en_US, sid_3019, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>