W Minneapolis - The Foshay

  • 821 Marquette Avenue
  • Minneapolis,
  • Minnesota
  • 55402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 302 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too modern, dark for our taste If you like ultra modern, lots of hot pink and dark hallways and rooms, you will love this hotel. If, like us, you prefer a brighter room with a little natural light, I would recommend looking elsewhere. It didn't help that we were on the 3rd floor with each of 3 windows facing out onto a nearby brick wall. From our room, we couldn't even tell if it was cloudy or sunny outside. The bathroom is modern and attractive but not entirely practical- very few hooks for towels, clothes, toiletries. The rainfall showerhead is cool but water pressure is low. July 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice but didn't appreciate extra charges Loved almost everything about our recent stay. The room was spacious and funky, the bed was comfortable, the amenities were nice, and breakfast at the keys was delicious and reasonable. We also enjoyed very expensive drinks at the hotel's two bars. They were interesting bars and the drinks were good, but were really far too expensive. We also didn't appreciate the additional $60+ charged to our card for mini-bar items that we didn't touch. I'm glad I checked my account. Customer service was helpful, and the charge is apparently being rectified. June 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by very disappointing experience We decided to stay at the W Foshay over the Lowes/Graves even though it cost $50 more. Unfortunately, our room was very small and uncomfortable. The was no available place to sit besides the desk and the bed was very terribly uncomfortable. The bathroom had hair left on the window sill and the the sink stopper had to be removed so the water would drain. Thank goodness for Manny's or our stay would have been a complete bust. We were told at check-in that we were getting a room upgrade. I can't imagine a room worse than the one we received. August 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and beautiful building Loved the building and the location, but the beds were uncomfortable and the room never got warm in the winter cold. Might be time for new beds and a review of the heating effectiveness. Otherwise, it's s beautiful historic building with access to great shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. December 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ANOTHER WEEKEND DELIGHT I spent another romantic weekend at this beautiful hotel. ROOM; Thank you for the beautiful FANTASTIC SUITE, the suites are beautiful, spacious and have fabulous views of Minneapolis. STAFF: Just amazing. Thank you LISA, JAMES AND DELSA. DINING: Ate breakfast in bed that was delivered by Keys Restaurant and it was amazing. OVERALL: A beautiful SPG hotel with rich decor, amazing rooms and customer service. RECOMMENDATIONS: I highly recommend this W for your Minneapolis stays. Couples will love this hotel along with the party lovers. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly at home We live a mile from W Minneapolis-Foshay yet wanted to experience the beauty of this space for a spontaneous overnight birthday celebration. It was a wonderful experience. The staff -- from valet to reservationists to servers -- made us feel truly at home. Beyond service, it can never be overstated that the impeccably designed W brand has a distinct, chiseled voice in all of the ways it communicates to its guests. A modern, unexpected, quirky presentation of ideas and services that are thoughtful, purposeful and beautiful. Well done. February 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cute, location and trendy USED VALET. IT IS $32 AND CHANGE VS. $30 ON WEBSITE AND SPG WEBSITE. VALET WAS SLOW ALL TIMES. ARRIVAL OF ROOM DOOR WAS OPEN. MAKE SURE TO CHECK LATCH UPON IN AND OUT OF ROOM. BOOKED KING WONDERFUL HOWEVER WAS GIVEN ACCESSIBLE KING WHICH WAS FINE HOWEVER WOULD OF BEEN NICE TO HAVE KNOWN UPON CHECK IN. USED ROOM SERVICE, MUNCHIE BOX AND KEYS CAFE. ROOM SERVICE BILL SHOULD SPLIT OUT MUNCHIE BILL SO I KNOW FOR SURE SINCE SOME ITEMS WERE ALREADY MISSING UPON ARTUVAL. PLUS MINE WAS NOT RESTOCKED DURING STAY WHICH CARD SAYS IT WILL BE. September 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great example of a W done right 1) Great service from arrival at curb through stay to the great car service they had immediately available when we departed 2) The hotel itself is an old cool building made better by W. All the W's aren't like this. You've seen some old Days Inn's spray painted black. 3) Room was above W average in the views, furniture, etc. I've stayed at that Aloft in MN as well and that place is fantastic for the money. W does MN well. Next time I want to try Manny's the adjacent restaurant. October 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BLOWN AWAY AGAIN Quick weekend stay. Marvelous suite was truly wonderful. I am very thankful and grateful to Lisa in concierge for always making my stay special. I ate at CRAVE located in downtown and Lisa gave me a special VIP card that entitled me to a free appetizer. It was very kind of her. This is a fabulous SPG hotel and you will enjoy the rich decor and the staff will make your stay wonderful. Food at Manny's Steakhouse is fabulous and the freshly squeezed orange juice from Key's restaurant is heavenly. Stay at this W and you will love it. March 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reservation Concerns I had two "confirmed" reservations covering back-to-back nights. This caused considerable confusion with the staff at the desk. When I checked in I went over my reservations at the desk and I was told I would not have to change rooms as both reservations were in order. The next day I had a staff member come to my room to see if I was checking out. I explained that I had the room for two more nights. Later I was asked to come down to the desk to once again go over by reservations. Not sure why this was so confusong to your staff. September 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not very impressed I was a guest for one evening in Room 1110. The bathroom counter was dirty and had ring marks all over it. The bathroom faucet was broken and difficult to turn on. One wall in the bathroom was covered in watermarks. The mini-bar/table had a door that was broken and hanging off it. The bed was not very firm or supportive. Ambiance was trying to be good, but the cleanliness of the room was disgraceful. I would have requested a room change had I not checked in so late and only been staying for 1 night. I would not stay here again. April 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Hotel; Needs a Refresh I was only in Minneapolis for one evening so didn't have the opportunity to explore all of the hotel's amenities, but I did visit the Prohibition Bar (very nice) and ordered room service for breakfast (exceptional food and unparalleled service). The only letdown of the experience was the rooms/corridors which seemed outdated and could use a refresh. I know that hotel products become outdated quickly, but the age and condition of room seemed well outside the typical W brand experience. The bed, however, was very comfortable. March 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst stays of my life! If you are looking for exceptional service with a smile, quality rooms, prompt service, good management, and being treated like someone who just paid $420.00 a night corner room for a "W" hotel, than I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Im a big fan of starwood hotels, and have never had any issues, although after I write this Im thinking Im going to call my CC company for a refund. It started out by pulling up with our car service on a Thursday, and after watching 3 valet/door guys sitting there talking for about 5 minutes me and my wife went up to ask for help with our bags which than they pointed inside to luggage cart, and said they were right there. (I've had 6 knee surgeries and a foot surgery, and my wife just recently gave birth to our 3rd child, and is getting ready for neck and back surgery) Which than I offered the young man $20.00 to help and he went on to finish his story, and said he will meet me by the car. I timed him and sat in the car waited 6 minutes for him to come out with the cart, when I should have just grabbed it myself. When we checked in we were the only ones at the counter until finally a older lady with an accent came up, and asked if we had been helped. I told her no, but were fine if we could just check in we were excited to get to our room, and start our break from our 3 kids as we are getting ready to relocate. She told me she was a manager, and was in the middle of something else and would find someone else to help us. There is nowhere to sit in the lobby, so we stood until finally someone got to help us. The young man who checked us in was the only one out of the 4 night, 5 days we were there that actually cared, talked to us like we were equal, and was very helpful (Alex). Once we we were in our room it was about the size of my walk in closet at home, and packing with my wife its never any easy feat packing light. So I called down to see what availability they had, and was told they could get us into a bigger room which turned out to be a tad bigger, but we made it work. Although after getting settled we found out the lamp next to my side of the bed had a burned out bulb which I called numerous times to fix it to know avail, and when walking into the shower was met by short black curly hairs, and long blond hairs, as well as around the toilet region. After waiting about 30 minutes with no one coming from the front desk I took one of the towels from the room, and took my body wash I had brought with me and cleaned the shower, as well as our dirty toilet. 5 outlets in the room didn't work, but when I asked for a new room or even pay for an upgrade I was continuously told nothing was available, but the next day they would have something for us. Well we checked out of the same room Monday that I cleaned the shower and toilet in Thursday. 2 out of the 4 nights we were there they forgot to clean our room and one of those occasions they forgot to give us more Toilet Paper and towels. Our sheets were changed twice, I know this because my wife loves eating chips in bed, and unfortunately I slept in them 2 of the nights in a row. Friday and Saturday nights were a complete unorganized drunken mess with people leaving the bar, and no real security or respect or access for the guest so my wife was harassed both nights walking back to our hotel room, and all we were told was "yea it can get a little crazy here on the weekend, but no one means any harm by it" was the answer I got from them. Are you serious? When I think about the W hotel I think about friendly staff, the "Wherever, Whenever" BS they feed you and the upmost respect mutually between us and them. It could be that my wife is 26 and I am 30, but I am a partner with a very large international financial firm, and treat everyone with respect the way I would like to be treated, always make sure I tip nothing less than $20.00 for anything, and always offer to help with whatever anyone is doing, but I don't believe you should have to pay for service that makes you feel worse than when you showed up, especially having three kids, and anyone with kids knows getting a break is one of the finer luxuries in life that do not come along everyday. There were more things I could write about, but the last thing Ill banter about was when we got our final bill, there were discrepancies on it, so I went to the front desk to talk to a manager, and when that same really old lady with an accent came up to the counter, (yep the same one as before) and I showed her where the problem was, she said that I was not telling the truth, and that my bill was correct even though I had the receipts to prove it. When I told her I didn't agree, and showed her the receipts, I was told to pay or she would have to call the authorities. So I am writing this letter in hopes that other people, especially married couples looking for a getaway or for the "W" experience I would not recommend this one at all. If the rest of there management was anything like what I dealt with on both those occasions I would stay far away. Thank you for reading my 2 cents, and hope it was at all helpful on your decision making for your next trip to Minneapolis, which by the way was an amazing city, and has a lot of things to do, with an awesome array of food, shopping, and sights. Thanks again. September 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Room If you are looking for a modern, clean, and upscale place to stay, the W is great. The rooms are very clean and modern although quite a bit smaller than comparably priced rooms in downtown Minneapolis. Unless you plan on spending a lot of awake time in your room they are more than adequate with an awesome shower and decent view. Forget about going to the nightclub (next to Manny's) as it was constantly packed with people waiting to get into Manny's. The exception would be if you make a reservation for table service (which I have found to be very expensive and over-rated). On Friday nights the music is very loud and it draws mostly non-hotel guests. The bar on the 27th floor is where we had drinks. The staff is friendly although quite slow. Happy hour is your best deal. After 7 PM plan on spending an average of $15 per drink. Also, seating here is limited and I watched more potential customers leave before having a drink due to limited seating than I did see people actually seated and drinking. November 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff is the best I've encountered The staff at the Foshay overwhelmingly exceeded my expectations. They were friendly, respectful, and accommodating. They remembered my name and totally catered to all of my needs. Simple features like greeting me at the door and providing directions made me feel comfortable. They made great recommendations for dining and entertainment for a young traveler. When talking to fellow conference attendees that did not stay at the Foshay it was clear to me that this staff made my trip am exception to the boring hotel stay rule! July 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW! Upon check in, I was asked if instead of (3) rooms I had reserved if it would be OK to have 1 standard room, and 2 people share a suite. Although it is less than ideal for 2 businessmen traveling to share a room, I agreed. Not only was the shared room acceptable it was incredible. The Extreme WOW suite at the W Foshay rivals any room I have ever stayed in. The staff at the W Foshay was perfection, and mirrored the quality I have come to expect when staying at the W. We will be sure to stay here when visiting Minneapolis. March 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Valentine's Day Getaway The Foshay is a perfect place to spend a romantic weekend with someone special in your life. The room we had was quiet, spacious, clean, and quite comfortable. The hotel is located within walking distance of dozens of excellent restaurants, theaters, coffee shops, and a mere four blocks to light rail system providing easy transit to and from MSP airport. The concierge arranged for a massage table to be brought to our room for a nominal fee. I'm a laid back traveler but my sweetheart is not. Both of us loved this hotel. February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by BIRTHDAY STAY Great stay, surprise birthday cake and complimentary wine were in the room. A fantastic suite was allocated but unfortunately two small dogs in the adjacent room were barking very loudly. The barks could be heard in my room. I called the front desk and the staff was extremely friendly and I was moved to another Fantastic suite on a different floor. The staff member at the front desk personally came up to help me move my stuff and he had new keys with him. I am very grateful. In the morning I ordered breakfast from KEYS and it was delicious. Please try the freshly squeezed orange juice. Also do not go to KEYS to dine in the morning as its SUPERCROWDED and you wont even be able to stand. They deliver to your room.This is a beautiful hotel with dedicated staff and service. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Great I usually stay at this hotel when visiting Minneapolis. The staff is helpful, the rooms are stylish, the food is wonderful, and the bed is great. I arrived early on a Sunday and they were able to accommodate me after an early flight. I really appreciated the valet staff helping me out in the pouring rain! The only issues I came across with this time around were some issues with the internet. On most days it wouldn't recognize my room number and prompted me for another room number so I had to speak with Tech support a few times. Also I felt that the room smelled a little, but nothing so bad that I needed to switch rooms. I've never had these issues before so once in awhile something will happen, so I understand, but honestly I love this hotel and would tell anyone to stay here! May 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by love this place!!!! I love the bar and the food and the staff and the room.......wish the shower had the option to be from the side or the top because i did not wish to get my hair wet, also the door has to be closed to watch tv in bed room and that was kind of annoying and the light was out next to bed, guy couldnt fix it, should have been checked before we checked in, as well as the guy came to check the mini bar after we had already checked in and we were naked and had to put on clothes, kind of ruining the moment!!!! April 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect all around! First time in Minneapolis and The W made me feel at home. From the warm, welcoming check-in with Ryan to the perfect drinks in the Prohibition bar on the 27th floor it was a most excellent experience. The location of this beautiful hotel is also perfect to navigate through the streets of Minneapolis. November 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Whatever, Whenever Hotel Everyone from the GM, security, valet, front desk, concierge and cleaners live Whatever, Whenever. They believe that they have the ability to get what you need when you need it. The W Foshay itself is a extremely trendy place to stay downtown. You can take a skywalk to pretty much anywhere downtown without having to walk outside in freakin cold winter weather. By-the-way; the concierge recommended eating at The Union Restaurant, which is new. You must go there! Awesome food and cool place to eat. December 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not quite what I expected The hotel atmosphere was very nice. Our room did not have a nice chair to relax in which would have been nice. The shower had trouble draining and the tub filled up. We had to wait between showers so that tub could drain to prevent overflowing and caused a delay in getting our day started. People were very friendly and polite. I was told that because of the shower problem we would get a credit, but we did not. Follow through is also important, not just a friendly smile and polite words. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Starwood Hotel in Minneapolis! My son and I had an incredible stay at the W recently before attending the state fair. The front desk welcomed us like family and Lisa planned an awesome amenity for my son and I. She got my son a Gophers hat, thank you Lisa you are the best! I will be returning soon and am very looking forward to coming back. Thank you W Minneapolis for one of the best stays I have ever had at any SPG Hotel worldwide. P.S. please make sure Lisa gets special recognition for her spectacular service. August 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautifully decorated. A lovely place to stay, in beautifully decorated premises. Great service. The "Living Room" was amazing with great food and drink. Two little problems - I found the room a bit dark and there was no parking so forced to use valet parking. Otherwise a definite 5 star! November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All around great experience My wife and I stayed for a night away from the kids and to celebrate her birthday. Couldn't ask for better service from the staff. Front desk person determined why we were there and let us know of everything going on within the hotel that we would like. i.e. Happy hour on 27th floor, ability to order from Mannings restaurant, musuem tour on the 30th floor and an "ugly sweater" contest and dancing on the main floor during the night hours. Rooms are very modern, love the look, very comfortable. Restaurant - just had a few drinks for happy hour but I know Mannings steakhouse is suppose to be great. Nightclub - looked very fun but was little too crowded for my taste. Location - center of Mpls, walking distance to Nicolet Mall, Target Center, heart of Mpls. Great stay, great experience. Will stay again sometime. December 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond The staff at the Foshay made sure to recognize SPG status. Also, when I had a flat tire, the valet even changed my tire to the spare for me within 15 minutes. I didn't even ask for this, they offered. Now that is above and beyond! I love the architecture of the building and the food offerings within the hotel are top notch. There is a lot of restaurants within walking distance as well. Nicolette mall is a block away. One of my favorite hotels from the starwood properties, June 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ultra Modern - Not a Family Hotel Stayed here in 2 rooms with 13 yr girls for a concert at the Target Center. The hotel was very nice, but Ultra Modern. The lobby has really weird mood lighting that makes you feel drunk in he middle of the day. :) I probably would have liked this more had I been on a couple's weekend or with girlfriends. Having a swanky, crowded bar right in the lobby was not child friendly after 9:00pm. the hotel is also off the beaten path a bit, but still walkable. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Service The service was superb. My cousin who was also staying there had left her formal dress clothes (for my wedding) at a hotel in Seattle. Through hard work and determination, James at the Minneapolis W arranged for her clothes to be overnighted so that she would have them in time for the wedding! Staff also stored my leftover wedding cake in their kitchen refrigerator and let my two young nieces up to the observation deck when it was closed. The service went above and beyond. September 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not exactly 'fantastic'... Having stayed in W hotels before I had high expectations of the Fantastic suite, unfortunately I was left really rather under-wowed. My main concern was the lack of free wifi in the room. At a top end establishment this really should be a given, it's just miserly to not include it in the room rate Also, more of the higher end hotels now offer club floors, the W seems to be lagging behind here. Overall not a bad experience but not a fantastic one either. August 5, 2014
  • 2015-03-27T17:29:30.551-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_302, tr_302
  • loc_en_US, sid_3019, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>