W Minneapolis - The Foshay

  • 821 Marquette Avenue
  • Minneapolis,
  • Minnesota
  • 55402
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 310 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great service with OK rooms I stayed in the W Forshay hotel for 2 weeks at the end of May for work. The service was wonderful; I always had prompt responses to any requests, the room order was always delicious, and one front desk employee even went out of her way to help me when they were working on fixing the hot water and I really needed to take a shower. I would recommend the W for people who want a great service experience. That said, I didn't feel like the rooms were that great, especially for the high price point. There were no (easily available) outlets next to the bed for charging phones. Both of the rooms I stayed in had one broken lamp. There was very little (if any) overhead lighting outside of the bathroom, so it makes working in the evenings challenging. This is likely a result of the "swanky" feel the W chain is going for, and it certainly doesn't reflect on the people who work there and the service you receive. But overall, the rooms were just a tad inconveniently designed for the prices they charge. But it is centrally located, surrounded by many good restaurants and just a couple of blocks away from Nicollet Avenue. The hotel even has an entrance into the Skyway, so it'll be super convenient in the winter. June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Felt very welcome Every time I walked into the hotel, I was greeted by name. For the size of your hotel, I thought it was incredible. I felt very welcomed. June 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed The bathroom only had hot water. The toilet flushed extremely slow. There was absolutely no coffee to be had in the morning. The room was small and stiff. They fooled you into thinking water was free and then charged $12.00. Very very disappointed. Not worth the money. June 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by June 4-6, 2014. Breakfast arrived cold ,uncovered, and burnt!! Hotel decor is extremely dark and depressing! This is the same for W-Los Angeles! June 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by In hot water, or not.... My recent stay at the W Minneapolis was very disappointing since there was no hot water on the second/final morning I was there. After waking, I worked out in the hotel's gym (clean but small and limited). You can imagine my surprise when I went to hop in the shower and had only late spring Minneapolis ice water flowing from the shower head. I called reception and they said it was a hotel wide issue and I could use the Y down the street. Since I was in a hurry, I did not have time to do so and took the polar plunge. On the plus side, the room on bed were comfortable and I had a great cheeseburger from room service. It was delivered vwery quickly. All staff at the hotel were pleasant and professional. On the negative side, in addition to no hot water, there was a loud group in the hallway making tons of noise in the middle of the night and the wifi is slow. To stay there again, I would want reassurance that the water issue is not a recurring problem. The starpoints the hotel provided did not seem like adequate compensation for the problem, but that is a separate matter. June 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Hotel Minneapolis Many options for SPG members in Minneapolis. If you want to treat yourself try the W. Staff was great, room upgrade was perfect. May 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel in Minneapolis The W Foshay is by far our favorite property in the Twin Cities. It' a great property with a cool history. The staff was exceptional. When we failed to answer our wake up call, they sent a staff member to our door as a back up. Great! Manny's is our fav steakhouse -- and it's located onsite. Best of all they really know how to treat their Platinum Guests. No hassle for suite upgrade. May 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service and attention to detail What a nice hotel and what makes it even better is the staff. I had a pleasurable experience there and even though I had to check out early they worked with me on that (having our first kid). I can't say enough....GO May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful!! Great place to stay. It was my first time to stay at this property and I would stay again in the future. Staff, rooms, amenities - all were excellent!! May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel in Downtown Minneapolis The rooms were just like they were in the pictures, but the view from the 19th floor was absolutely amazing. The hotel was within walking distance of many places to eat and things to do which made it super convenient. I would definitely stay here again May 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Paying for internet service at this hotel Is not acceptable. At a "premier" hotel, one shou.ld not pay for internet at the hotel. I can get internet in the lobby for free (available to anyone - guest or not), but am suppose to pay $12.95 to use it in my room. Internet should be built into the price of the room. In the future, i will consider not staying here because of this. I am a SPG member - what good does that do me? May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely Hotel Great stay and responsive staff May 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Besides some staffing issues, the hotel is great. I checked in with three colleagues for a week in April. We arrived at 8:40pm on a Sunday to a sweltering hot lobby with 8 people ahead of us in line. There was only one front desk person around with no manager or other staff around to help. The check in took nearly 45 minutes, not exactly what I wanted to do on a Sunday evening after a four hour flight.By the time we checked in, the line had reached the concierge area. During our stay I don't believe I saw a concierge one time. Also, I signed up for the make a green choice program which apparently means no cleaning all week. Most of the other Starwood hotels clean every third day, not the W - Foshay. The rooms were great, bed was a bit old and lumpy but the soundproofing was excellent. This is one of the few hotels where I got a great night sleep and didn't have to listen to people above or beside me or random slamming doors. Upon checkout the points were never awarded, the welcome platinum points were never provided, room night credits were never submitted. All four of us had to deal with the SPG program to get our points. I'm not sure if this is indicative of their poor staffing levels but certainly the hotel needs some help in following policies that all other Starwood properties seem to be grasp. Lastly, it's not really a complaint but my preferences do say "high floor" and I was on a low floor while my other non-platinum colleagues were on much higher floors. It just irks me. Our package included breakfast which was apparently interpreted to be a $15 credit per day. At the steakhouse they send you to that's about enough for an apple and a coffee. They should probably clarify what exactly is provided. If there were two people in my room the $15 would have only bought coffee (a little over $4.00 with tax). Location was great, lots of good restaurants in the area. May 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Atmosphere, terrible soundproofing. All of the staff we encountered were wonderful. The concierge helped my fiance plan a surprise and make dinner reservations at Manny's Steak House for us. She really made the evening special. The food at Manny's was amazing! The drinks at Prohabition were great. The only things that could have been improved was the level of noise/soundproofing for our hotel room on the 18th floor and dusting. Every time a police siren, ambulance or fire truck came near the hotel it was obnoxiously loud. This kept both of us up all night. The elevator was also very loud. At first we thought it was planes going over the hotel. The refrigerator in our room was making a silence consuming electrical humming noise. Our room was not dusted. There was a layer of dust of the side tables, enough so that if you wiped your finger through it, it would leave a path. The entertainment, style and staff at the hotel were again fabulous. The soundproofing was not. We hope this gets addressed. We love going to the W Hotel for entertainment and atmosphere. May 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Enjoyable and romantic A place that's easy to have romance. May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Great I usually stay at this hotel when visiting Minneapolis. The staff is helpful, the rooms are stylish, the food is wonderful, and the bed is great. I arrived early on a Sunday and they were able to accommodate me after an early flight. I really appreciated the valet staff helping me out in the pouring rain! The only issues I came across with this time around were some issues with the internet. On most days it wouldn't recognize my room number and prompted me for another room number so I had to speak with Tech support a few times. Also I felt that the room smelled a little, but nothing so bad that I needed to switch rooms. I've never had these issues before so once in awhile something will happen, so I understand, but honestly I love this hotel and would tell anyone to stay here! May 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect kick off to our honeymoon! We had an overnight layover in MN on our way to our honeymoon. We were lucky enough to stay in The Foshay and had an incredible experience. It was our first time staying with Starwood Hotels, and we will absolutely stick with this brand. They made us feel special and like they sincerely cared about our honeymoon! The concierge went above and beyond to set us up with a driver for the evening and reservations at his favorite restaurant. We loved his suggestions and had a great night in the city. The hotel is impeccable, the decor was exactly what I expected from a W Hotel. My ONLY complaint is we had an early flight and coffee wasn't available until 6am and no coffee in the room. Other than that, the stay was absolutely perfect. May 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location, Downtown Landmark Stayed here for 2 nights while I was in town visiting friends. This hotel blew my away!!!! an awesome experience overall. Great room location, fantastic amenities, wonderful staff. Ryan and Brian at check in were fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in the downtown area. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best in Minneapolis I've stayed in most all of the upper tier hotels in Minneapolis & the W Foshay is absolutely the best. Great staff, even better food (both room service and Manny's) make this a Hotel I look forward to - and I do not look forward to many. The location is terrific - just near the Nicolette Mall - and the architecture of the old Foshay Building gives the hotel a unique look. Highly recommended. April 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel. Good Location. This was my second stay and I like this hotel - a classic look (apparently the Foshay is a landmark for the City). Staff was courteous. Rooms were nice. The view was great fro my room - pity I stayed just one night this time around. There are some decent restaurants within walking distance. April 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service was remarkable While on business travel I had the unfortunate experience of needing ER assistance due to a bad ankle sprain. The staff went out of their way to assist in getting the right care and to ensure that I was well taken care of during my visit at the hotel. Everyone was amazing and went well beyond normal service standards! Additionally, the hotel is in a great location. The Foshay has great legacy and the venue is a beautiful historical landmark. Thank you W Foshay and staff for making my stay feel welcome. You understand great service and represent your brand very well. April 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Central Mpls My wife and I had a great time at this hotel. The steakhouse is excellent and the DJ made the evening. We will definitely be back! April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Foshay has wonderful atmosphere & style The Foshay was wonderful. The room was comfortable, issues were dealt with immediately, the lobby/lounge was spacious and well designed. The food at Manny's was excellent in every way possible. We look forward to going back. They are also pet friendly! April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ANOTHER ROMANTIC WEEKEND STAY. I stayed here to celebrate my girlfriends birthday on a weekend. CHECK IN: Was smooth and I want to welcome ERIC to the front desk at the W.Minneapolis. He did an excellent job. ROOM: Was a beautiful corner FANTASTIC SUITE with an amazing view of Minneapolis. W INSIDER: I want to immensely thank LISA for the birthday cake and for delivering the birthday flowers and balloon to my room. I also wish to thank her for making last minute reservations for us to dine at Manny's Steakhouse. DINING: I dined at Manny's Steakhouse. I want to thank all the managers including DAVE for being courteous and sweet every time that I have visited. Above all I want to thank SAMANTHA and ALAN who have always been the sweetest ever at Manny's. I made sure that I personally gave a piece of my girlfriends birthday cake to SAMANTHA AND ALAN. W. STAFF: I want to thank everybody at the front desk including BRIAN for making my stay comfortable. Above all I wish to thank JAMES for the amazing person that he is. Thank you for everything JAMES. OVERALL: Great hotel for fun, play and romance. RECOMMENDATION: I highly recommend this hotel to everybody. Its amazing. I would not recommend bringing children here on the weekends. The atmosphere is mostly adult on the weekends especially in the evenings. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow'd in the Fantastic Suite It may not be the E-Wow suite but the Fantastic suite exceeded all expectations. Plenty of room, lots of amenities and the personal attention of the W Insiders. I recommend that all W Minneapolis loyalists experience the Fantastic suite. You will be Wow'd! March 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Hotel; Needs a Refresh I was only in Minneapolis for one evening so didn't have the opportunity to explore all of the hotel's amenities, but I did visit the Prohibition Bar (very nice) and ordered room service for breakfast (exceptional food and unparalleled service). The only letdown of the experience was the rooms/corridors which seemed outdated and could use a refresh. I know that hotel products become outdated quickly, but the age and condition of room seemed well outside the typical W brand experience. The bed, however, was very comfortable. March 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed feelings on hotel. The hotel room and lobby were very appealing, albeit, very dark - probably to a sexy vibe, but it was almost too dark. Secondly, on weekend nights, the main floor lounge turns into a night club w/ a DJ and bouncer, roped lines. Also, there's a bar on the top floor, which uses same elevator as the hotel room floors. I was a little concerned when I saw bar patrons getting off on hotel room floors just for the fun of it - wandering the halls of the hotel room floors. I was nervous when I was followed off the elevator, when I knew they didn't have a room on that floor. I didn't want to pull out my room key and open my room door; it was an uncomfortable situation for a single woman. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I normally don't write reviews, but this experience is worth sharing. Excellent hotel staff: friendly, courteous and professional. During my stay I received a complimentary tea tray with a handwritten note - for my itchy throat which the hotel staff noticed while delivering my room service plates. In addition, someone hand delivered DayQuil and NyQuil to my room which they had picked up from the Target near by. Highly recommend this hotel for attention to detail and truly exceptional service. March 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel in historic Art Deco building This is a beautiful hotel in downtown Minneapolis, housed in the Foshay Building, a historic building with a mini-museum and observatory deck on the 30th floor. It has a fun Art Deco theme, sumptuous beds, artfully decorated rooms and wonderful staff. We saw no children while there at this hotel, and with lack of pool and such, we surmised that was largely why it seemed to appeal to adults only. Sadly, we found out the night before we left, from a friend also staying there, that had we "gone green" (requested no towels in the room, etc), we would have gotten 500 extra points per day in our SPG account. But we weren't told about it when we checked in. Other than that, this was a stellar experience and I will return again! March 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Funky vibe and comfy room I have stayed at this hotel many times. Very cool vibe - you definitely know you're in a W Hotel. Rooms are comfortable, gym is solid, and food choices are very good. Plus you are right downtown near everything. March 20, 2014
  • 2015-08-28T11:21:33.901-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_310, tr_310
  • loc_en_US, sid_3019, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>