W Atlanta - Midtown

  • 188 14th Street, NE
  • Atlanta,
  • Georgia
  • 30361
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be over 21 to check in to our hotel.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 459 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Showing It's Age Reasonably decent hotel, with pluses and minuses (as is often reality). As a Platinum member, have never been upgraded over numerous stays (floor chart doesn't show a plethora of suites), although i agree that upgrades are a perk, not an entitlement. Front desk was fast and efficient, as was the automobile valet (other than one snafu that was acknowledged and addressed). The rooms are comfortable (particularly the beds) but are showing their age in terms of dents and dings, carpet stains, run in the bedcover, etc. Bathrooms are small but acceptable. The air conditioners, however, are terrific and a real positive. Gym facilities are adequate; haven't used Bliss or eaten in Spice Market? June 26, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible experience First room had no A/C. Was moved to a second room. Second room sink and tub would not drain properly. Valet parking was extremely slow. Because of all these issues when we arrived we almost were late for the wedding we were in Atlanta to attend. I had two rooms reserved and the billing was done incorrectly plus there were charges added on for sodas that we did not use. June 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by My recent stay Please note the quality of my sleep had everything to do with me not sleeping in new places & nothing to do with the bed, which was great. A couple things to share: I looked around the room & noticed your efforts to be an upscale hotel. A wonderful bed ... check! High end decorating ... check. Excellent service ... yes. But a package with condoms in it & a picture of a screw on the front that says something about "getting lucky" ... cheesy AND sleezy. What message is that sending or encouraging?! There were others in my group for the conference I was attending who felt the same, & I opted to be the one to share this for our group. Next up: The staffing situation at Trace. When there is a conference in town you should have staffing that can get the food out. We waited at minimum 1/2 hour for our meals ... & 1 night waited 45 minutes (after it took a long time to order) & our food had to be brought down to the conference room. It is not the servers who were awesome. I'm not sharing this to be a complainer but rather to help you, because even though there were these issues I kept encouraging people to eat there, to support you (the food is AMAZING. So, please get that worked out so you can do well! :) June 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel, poor internet service. I was in Atlanta on a working business trip. The internet service in the hotel, (except the bar), registered barely faster than dial-up on my laptop, phone and tablet. When I did opt to pay for the "high speed" service which cost more for one day than my service at home cost for a month, the speed was only negligebly higher than the free service. I was not able to get any work done and you could forget about streaming netflix. The hotel was nice enough to take the charge off my bill but there is no excuse these days for this poor of service, especially in this costly of a hotel. April 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Choose carefully Guess I'm not hipster enough but this hotel has a ways to go in my opinion. Most of the staff are too cool to bother giving great service. As always there are exceptions and there are a couple people who do give great service. I have to stay at this hotel for business. It is wonderfully close to work. The hotel itself is tired. The 'hip' decor is in desperate need of freshening up or maybe it's just time to move on to something a little less pretentious. Depending on what room you get will depend on what works or doesn't work. Also depending on what room you get it will be respectably clean or you will be disgusted and want to ask for a different room. Now if you're a party person weekday or weekend, you'll be in good company. At least one night a week I am woken from sleep to loud people in the halls, next room over, smoker (non-smoking hotel) in the connecting room or just the loud plumbing noises. Another reviewer mentioned not getting a 00 or 01 room, which is true but I would expand that to include the other end of the hall too where the service elevator runs all night. But hey if you're not in your room much or you just plan to pass out when you get back there then you should be okay. Once I am no longer required to stay at this W, I will not and may not stay at any other W if they are all like this one. June 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff and overall great experience. . . This is a great place to stay in MIdtown. The staff are accomodating and professional, and everything you want/expect from a W Hotel is satisfied here. *Fantastic suites are fantastic, roomy, comfortable and fun. Don't expect much privacy in the bathroom/shower though, as everything is 'viewable'. Great if you don't mind, but something to consider if you do. *Bellmen and front-desk staff are helpful and kind. Our Acura driver was more than kind, outgoing and professional (Derek). *Location is great (try Tap for dinner and South City Kitchen for lunch, both walking distance). *There is a big club scene on Thursday-Saturday at night, so be prepared. Lobby bar area is great. Overall, this is a high-quality property that knows what they are doing. February 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by You need to do better in this relationship... I want to love this place...it has so much going for it, from the views to a truly engaged management. But - if you need to get management involved to get things done, we have a problem. Upon arrival, the Bell staff are excellent. Quick to the car, exceptionally helpful, and always gracious (never have I left the hotel without being offered a bottle of water for the road). Front Desk are appropriately nice and welcoming, but somewhat detached. There could absolutely be better planning for staff coverage during peak check-in/check-out hours. Whatever/Whenever is where this hotel falls down, and badly. iPhone app orders have been routinely ignored (even had a manager apologize to me stating that a rep didn't have the application open to receive orders). I've had wake-up call requests ignored, making me late to a meeting (and even when they call once, they ignore the request to give a second wake-up call shortly thereafter, which every other W I've ever stayed at is happy to do). Most unusual is that the hotel doesn't even stock all the items listed in the W app (and which are found at other W Hotels). Last, but not least, laundry charges are an absolute travesty. Room service is quite good, both for breakfast and late-night, as food and service are spot-on there. Wi-Fi isn't worth using. Terribly slow service, and realistically not worth paying for. Bring a Mi-Fi card. The bar/lounge area does get high points from me. The bartenders are delightful, engaging, and attentive to the mood of the guest. If you're in the mood for a chat, they'll be glad to reciprocate, or give you the space you want if your desire is to be left alone. The manager of the nightlife venue is quick to welcome, and very happy to ensure that guests leave happy. I've stayed here a few times in 2011, and am already solidly booked for a few weeks in 2012, as the location is right where I need to be. I look forward to the issues I've had being resolved, as they are not insurmountable, and I really do want to make this a favourite spot to come back to. December 22, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exceptional Staff The staff at The W Midtown Atlanta was very welcoming and extremely helpful during our stay. Thank you! June 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by VERY RUN DOWN Not up to the standards of a W property at all. I highly suggest you stay elsewhere if visiting Atlanta. The hotel is very run down, floors and rugs torn up, cobwebs everywhere, filthy elevators, the showers were a disgrace and we moved rooms twice. Mini fridges were all over the hallways as well as tons of trash. We were highly disappointed with this hotel. May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel Experience in a Long Time Absolutely the worst experience at a hotel that caters to business people ever. First couldn't find my reservation. Wireless didn't work when I got to my room. Gym is hot and dirty. Room service arrived 15 minutes late and breakfast food was terrible... at least the coffee was decent. But worst of all is the attitude of the staff. You feel as if they are all doing you a favor, and that things working or being on time is not their job. Really?!? Not sure they have been trained on what being in the service business really means. So many other great Atlanta hotels, skip this one. May 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't Valet Your Car!!! I stayed at the W last month and one thing has completely ruined it for me. I valeted my car for two days when I left the hotel I drove home and noticed that my passenger side rim had been severely curbed and there was damaged on the fender totaling about $1,000 in damage. USA Parking is the contractor that manages the valet services at the W. USA Parking claimed that since I left the property the damage is 100% my fault!!!!! Also I emailed the GM at the W with no response and only until I called the W did they put me in touch with a manager that said they could not help me work with USA parking and that the W would not help me in pursuing my claim. This has been the worst example of hospitality / customer service I have ever seen because everyone is pushing back claiming I can't prove anything. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again or use USA Parking again! If you stay here be careful and inspect everything before you leave because the small consumer is all alone at this hotel! January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly WOWed Words can’t express how overwhelmed I was this past weekend. I've been with SPG since it was around and ITT Sheraton before that. I'm currently a Lifetime Platinum member of SPG. The hotel provided us with some great surprise amentities but also had *a super suite upgrade *a great pool staff that was very attentive *great food and treatment by the manager and his staff at Spice Market *The very pleasant young woman at the gift shop I spend about 150 nights a year in hotel rooms. I’ve had nicer rooms, nicer amenities, more experienced staff, better food – but never have I had everything come together so seamlessly. July 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel Hotel rates high on the charts in my opinion. Valet was prompt, customer service was awesome.. Keep up the great work W!!! May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great staff! I was so impressed with your staff members at the W. It was so nice to be greeted by friendly people from the moment I stepped foot in front of your hotel. What a NICE change in this world of miserable people! Thank you for taking the extra steps to make the customer experience excellent! August 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Run Down!! I have stayed in many W's and this has to be by far my worst experience. The hotel decor is very dark and dated, especially the rooms, the staff for the most part were pleasant, but lacking in enthusiasm. I felt that the property was run down, and in serious need of some cosmetic work...for example, the paint on the walls and base boards in the hall way to my room were chipped & scratched, the rugs were always in need of a good vacuum, especially around the guest room doors and corners (lazy housekeeping) there was a 1/2 broken socket cover hanging off the wall (look like it was hit by the housekeeping cart) this broken socket was that way the entire time I was there. The rooms felt very unclean, there were finger prints and dirt marks on the walls, furniture, and doors. The toilet was not flushing properly, there was a light out that could not be fixed...overall you felt as if the housekeeping staff ware just going through the motions and not really cleaning the rooms. Overall a very disappointing experience...avoid this property. December 2, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stay someplace else and get a good night sleep I stayed at the midtown W for a week this past February. As a frequent traveler I usually stay at another chain where I have status in the rewards program but I figured the W was slightly closer to our new office so I thought I'd give it a try. The rooms are meant to look hip and fashionable but really it's just lipstick on a pig. The windows were so fogged up with condensation that the view didn't matter, the desk had cracks and bubbles in the wood, and the bureau had three missing handles. In the bathroom shaving was nearly impossible as the bathroom sink made a loud noise every time the hot water was turned on. Of course that noise was nothing compared to the noise of the Thursday night parties downstairs, the constant slamming of doors, the frequent clacking of shoes from the bathroom above, or the alarm clock in the room next door that went off every 10 minutes starting at 5am. Overall, I'd stay at another hotel (there are two great options just a block away. This W is in need of some serious soundproofing and upgrades to the interior. March 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel Everything was great for our stay. My only complaint is the price of parking...it's entirely too much! May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by W has lost control of this hotel Kids roaming the halls till 3 am parties on every floor. Complained 4 times to front desk and the kids would just leave one room and go to the next. The W has lost control of this hotel. April 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful Experience at W - Midtown Atlanta, GA (1) Internet was down 3 of 4 days - necessitating me to call support; (2) Waited 15 minutes for someone to pick up on whenever whatever line to request car; (3) room service incorrect - 2 of 3 orders (4) bathroom - not satisfactorily cleaned - (5) mini-bar not refreshed (6) water not replenished in room (7) room not appropriately cleaned - room service platter left in corner for three days, chinese food not removed Never will stay hear again! Please avoid - much better options in the area. This is the third bad experience I have had in the last month. Only stayed because of proximity to work. October 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Untimely follow-up I contacted the hotel on several occasions to inquire about an item that was left behind in the hotel room. I called that same day and was told that someone would contact me the following day, so I called back multiples times afterwards until I was finally able to get someone to investigate the matter further, this was several days later. I was informed that the item was never located, and because several days had passed from when I checked out from the hotel there was a slim chance the item would be recovered. It ruined an otherwise great stay because this was an expensive item. May 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs much improvement Entering the lobby the decor is very cold and unwelcoming. Check-in was a nightmare for us even though we made our reservations 5 weeks ahead of time. The wedding party got put on different floors although a block was reserved. Breakfast room service was slow. The rooms are decorated in gray and black and are like a cave. Terrible lighting!! The only good thing was that some of the employees were very kind and helpful to us. May 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mostly good, but still can't get the lobby bar right Service throughout hotel is solid except for lobby bar. Have been to the hotel a few times, and each time kind of amazed they can't capitalize on the bar. Beautiful space, great liquor brands, comfortable but inattentive cocktail servers more interested in hanging out by the bar and talking. Bartenders are not well trained. Even though bar was not busy, getting a drink was a wait. Bar top wasn't really clean. No snacks offered with drinks, had to ask for them with the second drink. Looking at the bar tab I felt like of like, "Serve something besides goldfish pretzels and chat us up a little." December 5, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel has a long way to go. Don't expect elite treatment from this hotel should you have elite status. Expect delays, confusion, and poor service. You should also consider that two glasses full of waters covered in plastic wrap outside you door, for some unknown reason, will remain there from the time you checked in until you depart. Not sure if that is part of the kitsch, but kind of strange. Finally, don't expect to get the room style you prefer or that is on your preferred profile, or that you booked. Avoid at all cost. May 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel, staff not attentive or responsive The hotel is nice, but I will admit the driveway in is a little odd, and not enough space to park and get through when there are more than 2 or 3 cars there. I arrived and was given a room on the 11th floor. The room was nice and the bed was very comfortable. I did find some brown and red stains on one of my towels, but I was just one person so did not need all of them. The carpet was also dirty as if it had not been vacuumed in a month and there was a lot of dust. It simply seemed that housekeeping worked too quickly, and didn’t wash the towels as they should, nor did they make sure they were clean before putting them back into the rooms. They also never replaced my wine glasses during my stay. The first night, they left a dirty one sitting on the desk. The next night they took both glasses and never replaced them. It was as if they never cleaned simply "re-organized" and "fluffed" I also was disappointed that my phone had no button for "Wheels" so I could not easily call to get my car brought up. I also pushed the "Whenever/Whatever" button on the phone and it rang and rang and rang, even in the middle of the day. This happened on 4-5 occasions, and never once did I speak to someone. After waiting 20 minutes for my car (after I went down) I had to ask the valet for his direct line for next time. I was also a little upset as I came back in the evening and was barated by the "bouncer" outside the hotel. I did not have my key out and he was yelling at me that I could not enter and had to go into the bar. It took me a minute or 2 to get my key out and he let me in the front door but grunted and gave me a dirty look. That did not make me feel welcome. Please not that it is a CLUB atmosphere to get into the hotel in the evenings on weekends. I was happy that the club atmosphere did not extend to the guest floor I was on. The room was very comfortable and quiet when I wanted it. Overall, it is a nice hotel but the staff needs to learn how to clean rooms and needs to answer the phone. Also publishing the "wheels" number in the book or putting a "wheels" button on the phone would be helpful. I will be back in March, but mostly due to the good rate and perfect location. I do hope the staff will be more attentive to answering phones and that housekeeping will actually clean this time. January 26, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Falsely Accused Overall service was mediocre a best; room definitely had some wear and tear but that didn't bother me. What bothered me was that we were promised many services that never happened. We were told that someone would come fix out blinds since they weren't working, that never happened. We were also told we could get a second fridge to put our own food in since the one in the room was already fully stocked. When we called the front desk we were told someone would bring it up in 15 mins, they never came. We called the next day concerning the fridge again and were told just to take all the items out the first fridge (which I did not have a problem with, but could have been told that initially). The only thing that was delivered as asked was a microwave when we asked if there was a place to heat up food. We asked about the Acura numerous times, but because of its limited hours we always had just missed it. The real kicker is this; when I was checking out I was charged $90 for parking..I never once had a car my entire trip, luckily I disputed the charge right there and then and it was taken off (or so I thought), I was given a bill that reflected my zero balance. I left my luggage there and when I came back before my flight the same concierge who checked me out stated that her manager said something about seeing my self and my party in a gold car. Within a 5 day stay I was in a cab 2 times max coming to the hotel and leaving to go out one night I never drove, stood next to, nor breathed on a gold car my entire stay in ATL. So when this was said I was a little taken aback, but all I said was I have no idea where thats coming from since we took the Marta and walked everywhere. Even another concierge who over heard the comment stated that he saw us walking everywhere. Since it was already cleared up on the bill I assumed it was over. Yes I was a little bothered that it turned from billing error to accusation of having a car that I never had, but I thought hey I'm just ready to go home anyway. Imagine my shock when I was carefully combing over my credit card statement like I do once every month and see that same $90 charge magically appeared the day after I checked out. Now this is a real problem for me because it means that either 1. it was never really taken off even though I was given a bill with a 0 balance or 2. I was not believed and someone decided I still needed to be charged. This experience needs to be resolved, but it has definitely tarnished my image of the hotel. August 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a family hotel I stayed there this past weekend with my wife (who is 23 weeks pregnant) and two kids age 2.5 and 9 months. The hotel was clean and comfortable however at 3 in the morning there were several drunk people walking down the hallways yelling very loud. This woke up my wife and kids and so I called security. The people settled down for a bit but then started yelling loud again. I would say maybe have a few floors with people with kids and older people that go to bed at a decent hour. Then have a couple of floors far away for drunk idiots that want to stay out until 3 AM. May 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Service at breakfast was the worst I have ever had Fun place with nice rooms but there for a business trip and had an important business breakfast that ended up being disrupted by the terrible service. Wait staff were uninterested and it took many attempts to get them to just bring coffee. After finally getting someone to take our order it took 45 minutes for the food to arrive. When it did items were missed and the response was that we had not ordered that item. As this was a business breakfast of 10 people it became quite a joke but I would avoid coming to this hotel for any business function. November 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff, noisy at night Great customer service enjoyed during the entire stay. The only complaint was the hallways were noisy at night while trying to sleep. May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun-Trendy-Comfortable I stayed at the W Atlanta Midtown for a music festival in May, and it was amazing. Hotel was super cool and trendy. Great bar. Pool was very fun (hours should have been explained at check-in, as I wasn't sure if it was open for the season yet). More body wash needed in bathroom for longer stays, but Bliss products were awesome. Great energy of hotel. Never a line at the Front Desk. Can't wait to come back and stay longer. May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel This hotel has up to date designs in the rooms and entire hotel. So much entertainment options close by and a very friendly staff. March 24, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>