W Atlanta - Midtown

  • 188 14th Street, NE
  • Atlanta,
  • Georgia
  • 30361
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be over 21 to check in to our hotel.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 505 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff We stayed at the W Midtown this past weekend and I have to say every staff member we encountered provided excellent service. They were friendly, professional and extremely helpful and are a credit to your hotel. April 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love everything about this hotel! The hotel & staff are impressive from the moment you pull up to the valet until you check out. I have stayed here a few times & I have never once been disappointed. May 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the best Starwoods hotel in the area The room I was placed in was very small and somewhat dirty. Customer service is great; it always is with the Starwoods chain. I would opt for another area hotel... December 5, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by nice employees; some things overlooked First the great things about this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful and the midtown location is great. This is the first time I stayed at a W hotel and had a couple room issues I would not have expected from this type hotel. The television did not work. I discovered it late in the evening so didn't want to go through getting it fixed. So I planned to read in bed and the knob to turn the light on was missing. Maybe this is a fluke but I have stayed at what I thought was lesser quality hotels and had better luck. I reported the room issues when I checked out and I am sure they would have fixed it if I had called when I discovered them. October 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by favorite hotel in Atlanta Great location, rooms, and amenities, including (perhaps especially) the bar and restaurant. Can get overwhelmed by crowds at times, however... November 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Whatever/Whenever I travel for business every week Monday ��� Thursday which means on an average month half my nights are spent in a hotel. Given that fact it is of the utmost importantance to ensure when I stay somewhere it has all the comforts of home and meet my needs because being in a town where you don’t live makes traveling a lot harder than it should be. I have been traveling to “The Dub” midtown since February and I have to say based on all of the other hotels I have stayed at in different cities internationally and domestic, the staff here really knows how to make you feel at home; not only if you are a pleasure traveler or a business traveler. They really embrace a luxury hotel mentality and make your experience here the best it can be. There are several employees here who truly care about the guests and want to ensure their experience here is a memorable one. I have to say based on my stays I have never met such a phenomenal staff like Reggie, Byron, Scott, Tamera, Melissa and Michael. Hands downs if you have to come to Atlanta you absolutely need to stay here, and I don’t think it takes someone who stays in a hotel over half the nights in a year to tell you that. July 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service with a smile Excellent service with the oppropriate expectations set from the moment greeted at the door through check-in! December 5, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy and Impersonal; No Status Benefits No status acknowledgement at check-in, no Platinum options offered. No upgrade even though Suites were available to book hours after checking in - this is sadly the norm. I stay here regularly and no matter which room/floor the rooms are extremely noisy (this week I was able to hear coughing, talking and TV from next door rooms, footsteps from above, every conversation happening in the halls), loud elevator noise even though the room was 1/3 the way down the hall. There are always maintenance issues (blown lightbulbs, loose shower fittings and tv cables). The bright stars are the bar staff and the valet guys who are always friendly and helpful. February 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded My Expectations My every "wish" was met:) Most pleasant hotel stay I've experienced and I travel often.... September 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overcharged and won't resolve it We really enjoyed our stay until the morning of our checkout. The water was off in the hotel. This was not really a big deal as we all know emergencies happen. We were given a letter slipped under the door stating to help ourselves to comp bottled water. Since the letter nowhere stated where the water was we used the water in the room. Upon leaving we noticed bottled water outside our door.since I'm not a mind reader I had no idea it was out there. In the end we were charged for the bottled water we used and the billing department is NEVER in and they haven't returned my numerous voice mails. I will never stay at a Starwood property again! October 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A little worn, but great staff The rooms and public spaces could use some repairs and updating. The staff was really excellent, from beginning to end. Efficient and friendly. I will give particular kudos to Brooke and Brittany behind the lobby bar. Both could not have been more charming and professional. July 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Shabby for a W! My expectations were reasonably high. But when I arrived, I found the entrance to the hotel inside shabby and rather industrial. And I don't mean shabby chic. It looked faded and in need of refurbishment, even though I am told the hotel is fairly young. The room was called "Spectacular". It was in fact, on the grubby side. Tired furnishings with stains on the sofa. Dark and rather dingy. Clean, If this is the spectacular room I would hate to see the Wonderful room. Hotel public rooms and bars are boring, dark and unimaginative, although the outdoor bar at the front entrance is somewhat interesting. I will NEVER stay in this W again. Ever. September 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I visit every year for the past six years for our anniversary My room was dirty and very dusty as if it had not been cleaned in weeks, the hallway carpets looked as if there was a party on the entire floor it was filthy, I went to front desk and told them I would like it cleaned they offered to move me to a room equivalent to a downgrade, which I declined. They sent housekeeping to room, I waited for hours then was told that supervisor looked over the room and it was great. (i took pictures prior to leaving), the room was just as dusty as I left it they did manage to dust the desk and tv, I had the room serviced the following morning and the same the night stands and fridge and bed head was still untouched and the dated pictures show the dust accumulation. At the pool my wife was coming up from the water and the hand rail pulled completely out on her she was so shook up behind this, i also used my phone to take pictures of this. My B'Day is on 7/15 and I always have a huge party, our anniversary is on 7/19 and we always go to the W as our relaxation after celebrating. This time was very disappointing. I was truly disgusted and grossed out. On top of this I had a late checkout and this was stated from when I checked in, and at 6 am in the morning the housekeeping crew was banging down my door to tell me it's checkout...totally ridiculous August 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Stay at the W-Midtown, Atlanta My husband and I were in Atlanta for the weekend to attend my brother's wedding., We stayed at the W Hotel and we must say it was an excellent experience. All the employees were so helpful and the customer service was absolutely great! The hotel was very clean and the food was very good. The night life was so much fun. We look forward to our next visit to Atlanta and of course our stay at the W-Midtown. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great ATL downtown business hotel It was a quick taxi ride to the GA Congress Center. Lots of informal, comfy meeting spaces scattered throughout lobby and upstairs. We will definitely be back. July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by WORSE STAFF EVER! I had the worse experience ever during an event I held at Spice Market at the W Midtown. Not only were they rude, the front desk staff were confrontational & even threaten me & my guest. They spend time socializing with one another & allow guest to wait 10 to 15 min before acknowledging you. As well, they do not have very good listening skills & do little to nothing to help you with your issues.The valet also were understaffed during a holiday weekend making us wait 45 minutes just to get out vehicles. I would never stay there nor would I host another event. And I would never recommend them to my worst enemy let alone friends or family. May 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Stay, but a couple improvements I went on a holiday weekend and it was surprisingly not crowed. The staff was friendly and helpful but when calling for things to be delivered to your room it felt like it took forever (had to call twice to make sure we weren't forgotten). The Whenever, Whatever policy is legit. They really strive to meet all your needs. I was a little put off on the parking situation but that comes with planning for your stay. If you have no problem with valeting your car expect to pay $32/night. The good thing is that you can go in and out as much as you please with the extra money you pay per night. There is an alternative to park in the public garage that is right next to it, but you would be spending more money doing that; so you really are left with no choice but to valet. Be cautious with the "in room" munchy bar. You may find yourself being charged for things that you didn't even drink or eat. If you take things out of the fridge to make room for something you purchased from a restaurant or grocery store and store them in the fridge, there is a possibility the staff will overlook that and think you drank the drinks and charge you and exorbitant amount of money to your room; So beware. Overall, I enjoyed my stay. There was a lot to do nearby and sometimes in walking distance. If ever back in Atlanta, I might stay here again. July 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun atmosphere - slow to respond staff Staff seemed over whelmed by the number of guest and were slow to respond to room cleaning and valet parking request. I was also over charged for parking... July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool vibe, excellent value Great location, loved the look , reasonable food and beverage at pool July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by poor room service great facility, lovely location, poor room service July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wedding Party Nothing but great things to say about this hotel. The location, the staff, the food, everything was perfect. I was here for a wedding and arrived a couple of days early. I took advantage of the Whisky bars outside seating. What a wonderful place to unwind and people watch. The drinks were great, the food was memorable and the service was outstanding. The same can be said for The Spice Bar which is where the rehearsal dinner was held. Bliss Spa was clean, professional and pleasant and my manicurist Keisha did a great job! I will definitely recommended this W hotel and will be staying here again on my future stays in the Atlanta area. July 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inconsistent Service Put a Damper on Experience We purchased the Indulge Package and expected a level of service when it came to the amenities we purchased. From the check in, "Gary" I believe was his name, presented an unfriendly introduction of the hotel and failed to give us guidance on how to use our package. We were given no instructions on how to obtain our entry tickets, when our champagne would arrive or when we could have dinner. I made over 3 calls to the front desk for guidance. Each time, I found myself repeating myself. I was asked more than twice, when did I make my reservation for the hotel. Not, what I would have expected since I know the Starwood brand very well. January 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beware of added parking fees! Interesting decor- kinda night clubish, esp. in regard to the lighting- low throughout. Nice comfortable bedding. A worker was loud in hallwall at one point, even knocked on our door (reason unknown) yelled sorry and moved on? High rate- not really that special to merit in our opinion. One very irritating issue: attached parking is public and costs $23. a night! Not included and not clearly stated. I've been to several other hotels that have such adjoining public parking which is offered complimentary to hotel guests. My initial compliant was not well received, yet a manager quickly offered to refund the cost which was appreciated. January 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by worst w experience to date -foyer and hallways dirty -key card didn't work in elevator -floor lamp in room didn't work-I asked for it to be fixed and it never was so i had a dimly-lit room -whenever, whatever button rang to a busy signal every time i tried to call to desk-didn't work for entire stay -no help was offered with my luggage July 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good stay, but charged for a room i didn't reserve Charged for a room I didn't reserve. I called to ask if one of my staff would be able to get a room if she came. They told me they would put her as my guest, which meant that she would share a room. I called the week before my stay to make sure that a room was not reserved for the person. I was assured that the person was listed as my guest to share a room with me. I also double checked on my arrival to make sure no other rooms were in my name. I was assured both times, when I made the phone call and when I arrived, that no other rooms were in my name. Upon checking out, I received a folio saying that I had a room with a no show status and a charge. I have called repeatedly about this with no return call. Please remove this charge from my card. The only charge I should have is for room 1113, from 6/16-6/19, of $558.84. June 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great neighborhood - frustrating stay The hotel is in a great area of town. There are many restaurant options that are walkable and nearby. Unfortunately, when you experience a lot of little problems and inconveniences it just makes for an overall frustrating experience. Before arriving at the hotel I had read some reviews that mentioned that the Internet was extremely slow (dial-up slow). Knowing that I would have to be working while there, I emailed the hotel to ask if the Internet problem had been addressed. The IT manager wrote back to let me know that there were some problems but they have been addressed and now the free limited internet was faster and if you paid the daily fee, the higher speed was about 2MB. Upon my arrival at the hotel, the driveway had cars backed up on the street to valet park. Luckily there is a mall connected to the hotel and there is a self pack right there off the W Hotel driveway. Avoiding the lines and drama I opted to self park! The front desk staff were pleasant and friendly. I went up to my room and noticed immediately upon walking into the room that there was a small hole (paper punch size) right in the middle of the top bedspread. As I went to put some clothes in the drawer the second drawer was broken and when I pulled it out it fell right to the floor. By now my computer had booted up and I connected the wired line to the computer and….nothing. The IT manager did make it a point to call my room to make sure I was connected so I let him know that I wasn’t. They sent a staff member up and pulled the desk away from the wall and found out the cable wasn’t connected. They returned with a new one and then I was up and running. Unfortunately, the connection at this hotel wanted to keep putting everything in a frame and none of the web pages I accessed worked correctly, the connection was slow and it kept timing out (this was the PAID connection speed). I couldn’t connect to my office VPN or any secured web pages through that connection. At one point I also had my phone using wireless but decided NOT to use it because it was faster and more reliable getting a 3G connection. After walking around the area I went to my room and wanted to use the shower but I could not get any hot water. I turned it all the way to HOT and left it running about 10 minutes and still it was ice cold. Another call to the front desk and they sent up an engineer who pointed out that I shouldn’t pay attention to the HOT/COLD label on the shower control. HOT was actually just below center on the COLD side. Moving it up or down from that point would make the temperature cooler. I really wanted to like the hotel because it’s in a great part of town but it wasn’t the best experience. If you don’t need to park or don’t need the Internet you will probably enjoy this hotel a better than I did. April 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too Noisy to Sleep Walls in room must be very thin. Stayed on Fri/Sat night. Big mistake. Had to call front desk both nights due to excessive noise. One night it was from the TV in adjoining room & the other night it was from a party upstairs. Also, lots of problems with key cards not working & it took over 30 minutes to get into the pool Sat morning. Two trips to front desk to change my key card..not the problem..another with security..finally operations director was able to access entry. Big Hassle. On the positive, the staff was very helpful and friendly and the Bliss spa was nice. The front desk generously extended our late check out to 3:00. June 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good stay The W Atlanta Midtown was a nice experience. We stayed in a room which, honestly, was just an "okay" room. There were just a few small cosmetic details that needed to be tended to including the scuff on the desk and I'm not really sure if the top and last drawer were supposed to have pull handles on them or not but they were "missing". There was also an obvious patchwork place on the wall. Also, there was lime on the shower head. On a positive note, the bed and pillows were amazingly comfortable. And the staff put the "W" in wonderful. From the front desk and concierge to the bartenders in the lounge, everyone was exceptional. January 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Stay Despite Minor Inconveniences According to the “Guest Services” section on the W Hotels page of the Starwood website, the first section states, “Anything you need...[a]t W hotels, it’s always whatever you want, whenever you want it.” This approach to service and hospitality has manifested into a team of Talent that has far exceeded my expectations, resulting in a romantic, enjoyable and memorable New Year's week-long vacation. Before placing the reservation, I was hesitant to book because of unfavorable reviews. I wanted to stay in Midtown and know there are numerous hotels; however, I decided to book because of the positive feedback posted to guests’ negative reviews on Trip Advisor. I am happy with my decision and will stay again the next time I have an interview scheduled since I am preparing to relocate. A few minor issues (that were addressed promptly): 1. Noise from setting up an event on the 27th floor woke me up • Resolution: A call to Whatever/Whenever resulted in an offer to relocate me and a sincere apology 2. Reservation included a request for a coffee maker, but one was not in the room • Resolution: A call to Whatever/Whenever resulted in delivery of a coffee maker within 5 minutes 3. The safe door was open, but not unlocked • Resolution: A call to Whatever/Whenever resulted in a visit by a polite gentleman who unlocked the safe The Talent undoubtedly makes guests feel special, that they are not only staying in a hotel, but also receiving a level of professional, friendly and prompt service. I travel frequently and it is refreshing to interact with staff who have a great sense of humor and are not robotic. Every Talent member was fantastic and whether I have called or met them face‐to­‐face, I have walked away smiling and laughing. Candice When I called to inquire about an upgrade, she assured me she would do all that she could to accommodate my request. She followed up with me numerous times and I discovered later that she had communicated to your team my request for an upgrade. Suite 2403 is stunning. When close friends came to visit, I called a few times with requests (like lime juice) and Candice could not have been any more cheerful or accommodating.  Mary The day I called to verify if a suite was available, Mary called me. She apologized for the minor issues, acknowledged that she knew this was a special trip and wanted me to enjoy the rest of my stay. Her call was unexpected, but top notch. Vanessa I think Vanessa’s real name is “Bundle of Joy and Spunk” because she exudes so much positive energy. The current Oxford dictionary has her photo for the word “Joy”. From phone calls to meeting me at my room because my key cards were deactivated, she went the extra mile to take care of me. Vanessa and Katie When I viewed my folio on the TV, I noticed a difference in room rates. Vanessa handled the initial call and advised me she would be happy to resolve the issue once I emailed my reservation. I then received a call from Katie who explained in detail the reason for the difference and offered me a resolution that I just could not pass up. I was smiling so much during the call that my cheeks began to hurt. Garett and Katie When I went downstairs to have my key cards reprogrammed, the well-­‐mannered Garett greeted me with a warm smile and asked to excuse himself while he went into the office. I thought something bad happened, but then he came back out to introduce me to Katie, whose positive energy makes her Vanessa’s twin. Katie genuinely asked about what brought me to Atlanta, learned about my job interview and was easy to converse with. Unknown Awesome Talent As I was leaving for dinner with a friend, I heard a knock on the door and was surprised it was an indulgent, healthy amenity with a personalized and handwritten card wishing me luck on my interview. The gesture and card almost made me shed a tear until my friend punched me. Sparkles When I asked for lime juice, Sparkles was exactly full of sparkles. She was so cheerful to deliver lime juice. Lime juice does not make me smile that much, but Sparkles greeted me with a smile that looked like she had won the lottery. The Talent listed above have a solid grasp on hospitality and I cannot thank them enough. Execution is not flawless, but when given a chance to resolve issues, this W delivers. January 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Maybe just not my style This hotel is heavy on the fad, light on the quality. Looks like a pretty shoddy renovation. It may have purple walls but it still feels like an old Sheraton to me. Staff is well-meaning but extremely young and inexperienced. June 30, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 18 next>>