W Atlanta - Midtown

  • 188 14th Street, NE
  • Atlanta,
  • Georgia
  • 30361
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be over 21 to check in to our hotel.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 403 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Staff gets it! From the moment I arrived, the staff made me feel like I was coming home. Upon Check-in, Anthony (not sure of his last name) did everything he could to accommodate me during my stay. I had shared with him my not so wonderful experience at a Boston SPG property just days before and he made certain I was not going to be unhappy at the end of my stay at the W Atlanta Midtown. As a platinum member i've come to expect certain things and Anthony delivered. I have stayed here several times before and have never been disappointed. Thanks for giving me one more reason to be loyal to the SPG program! May 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by What happened to that southern politeness ? I know W hotels flaunt their "attitude", but the concierge (on Saturday morning) should be told told that when she responds to a guest's question, it would still be more courteous - and professional - if she gets off her stool instead of facing her laptop and speaking to the guest over her shoulder. Also, the check-out clerk should respond with a "Good morning" when the guest greets him, instead of a curt "Room number?" . These experiences speak poorly of the management's training and priorities. A hotel's essential and chief feature should be HOSPITALITY. Physically, the hotel is dark - including its breakfast restaurant "Spice Market". Not romantic dark, not glamorous dark, but GLOOMY dark - the lobby, the restaurant, even the rooms. And also, who needs thumping music in the elevators even in the morning ? But all part of the W ethos: hip, hip, finger-snapping hip. Besides HOSPITALITY, another critical feature of a hotel is COMFORT. January 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mid Week Stay I stayed at this hotel two weeks in a row. The rooms on both stays were in need of basic cleaning (filthy behind sliding doors, dirty glasses not clearer from room)and maintenance (lamp switches broken, bulbs out, bubling veneer on furniture, broken blind chains.) The hotel is probably great for a party weekend - when the bar is open - but during the week it is like being in a nightclub in daylight, Beds are not as comfy as most spg rooms and the spikey feather toppers are really irritating and scratchy. Spice Market staff in evening are great, The morning crew have no conception that a midweek breakfast is not Sunday Brunch and are way too slow. I would not recommend for business travellers. December 21, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing The hotel fell short of our expectations for several reasons. The first was our room was not cleaned by 5:30 pm even though the maids saw us leave that morning. The desk offered us a $60 breakfast credit. We ordered room service and it was wrong. It did taste good. The dressing room was very dark so we moved an extra lamp onto the vanity. The shower spilled out onto the bathroom floor. We only had 2 towels. No coffee maker in the room; however free coffee was inconveniently located in the lobby. A pot of coffee for 1 cost approximately $16. The corners of the bathroom were dirty. The staff were friendly and asked how our stay was going. When I mentioned things at check out the staff just said "Oh" March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonder Home Away From Home I am a near resident at this property. I travel to this location twice monthly for 6 nights each stay. I am always meet with a genuine welcome and smile. At check in I would like to mention a particular asset to this hotel, Terrance. He welcomes me by name each and every time he sees me enter the hotel. He goes above and beyond what is expected of any service oriented employee. It is too often that the only time a letter is written is to lodge a complaint. I would like to commend Terrance for his exemplary attention to customer service and detail. It is dedication like his that employee's should strive to achieve. Thank you Terrance, and the rest of the hotel staff for making weeks away from home that much more tolerable. November 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Why bother going out to eat Atlanta and more importantly, Buckhead is known for it's wide diversity of excellent restaurants, some are independently situated and some reside within some of the finer hotels in the city. One such restaurant is Spice Market, located on the second floor of the W Midtown. Spice Market is without question truly a fantastic experience. It starts with the decor, the really attentive staff, their great night manager who I always seem to be fortunate to have as my host and the fantastic menu of innovative and superbly prepared dishes with unexpected flair for the exotic yet using ingredients we are all accustomed to. I always make a point to drop in and see whats new and delicious at the Spice Market! September 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unaccountable Our stay was fair at best. The most upsetting was that we spent a considerable amount of money at the club upstairs (but this did not scratch the surface on what we spent when we left your establishment). Two issues. 1) Charging tax on top of a mandatory gratuity is illegal and is worthy of review by the IRS. My bill of $324 became a mandatory non negotiable bill for almost 33% more. Something seems and feels very wrong with that. 2) Our wives requested that the DJ to play a certain song (which was hip and current...it certainly wasn't like we asked him to play an old Tony Orlando and Dawn song). His response left us aghast. His response was not that he couldn't play what we wanted or didn't have what we wanted to hear, he flat said no and refused to play our request. When I asked him to explain, he arrogantly said he would get to it but he clearly had no intentions on getting to it. It was too bad because we had just arrived from a charity event featuring the Atlanta Braves. We stayed a while to finish our bottle but after that, it was clear he wasn't interested in even considering our request. We simply left and took our business elsewhere. December 27, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dirty, and not well maintained For as much as you pay to stay here you would think that the room would at least be clean. You would be mistaken. Hairs in the bath, broken lamps, non-working telephones, and when I asked for a room change I was greeted by pretentious, snotty manager that acted like she was going to 'upgrade' me. They moved me into the same room on a different floor with different broken lamps, non-working phones, etc. Adding insult to injury.... When they moved me they lost all of my toiletries.... Worst hotel stay in a long time. I won't be back, and won't recommend it to any of my friends either.... February 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff My check-in was horrible, was giving a room which someone else was using and the guy at the front desk just kept giving me the same room as I took 4 times going up and down the elevator. Valet took forever with collecting my car as I call down head of time and showed up gave my name again. January 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice but needs to follow up I experienced a room where the first night my white comforter/duvet had dried blood on it. I immediately brought it to the attention of a employee, he contacted the proper dept. and offered us an 80.00 dinner coupon,later on so we left came back it appeared as if the comforter has been replaced and had NOT. It had been turned around! I then again went to front desk and spoke to a manager this time. He assured me that it would b handled. He talked to me later on and offered us a 50.00 room credit. We accepted. Of course it wasn't applied at the end of our stay but the didn't hesitate to apply it. I appreciated the staff I just wish that things would have been handled properly the 1st time. Blood is serious. April 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is great I was at the hotel this past weekend and I had a lovely time. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the robes were deliciously lovely. The food at Spice Market was ok, but I was expecting bigger portions. Emily at the front desk was a doll. Asia, the other one at the front desk....not so much. Very bad attitude and she was snarky to her coworker. I thought her behavior was very unprofessional, especially in front of guests. I spoke to Terrance a couple times on the phone and when I finally met him in person, he gave me a big hug! Terrance was Awesome and he is def a keeper for your hotel. I thought the pricing of valet was a bit high though. Overall, I enjoyed myself at the hotel and I would def come back. August 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Food The W in Midtown Atlanta needs some serious review of their breakfast selection; The staff at the Spice Market needs some major training in service and their breakfast selection is really poor. Some of the hotel staff was exceptionally helpful while others were way below par. I was attending a conference in the hotel and there was almost no signage the first morning when everybody needs it the most and since the hotel is complicated to begin with this was a major problem and many were late to meetings because of lack of direction. The map in the program was hard to read since it was copied from a colored background on to black and white. The hotel must do a better job of accomodating conference guests in the future. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly staff and great location I was there for the Gift Mart. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Room was large, clean and I loved the decor! Spent some time in the outdoor patio - thankful for the heaters! ( and the bus shuttle to the Mart was well organized, on time and we never had to wait in line). January 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay Great stay over the weekend for a party. Ordered room service and the food was a little less than stellar. Staff was more than accomodating and sent up a replacement quickly at no charge. I do think someone should walk through the hotel with an eye for detail though and fix a few things that are starting to show some wear (missing bolts on the glass bridge at the front, some missing metal work on the doors, a few cracked light fixtures). This jewel is just starting to show her age and could use a touch up. Otherwise, great experience. Love staying here on big nights in town. July 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Week end in Midtown Brittany at the reception desk gave us a warm welcome and overview of the available facilities. She also upgraded us to a suite. As listed below, "Above expectations" was driven by the service provided by team members (bar, restaurant) and the quality of food (Spice Market was delicious) whereas the maintenance was below par: bulb out in the walk in shower, chipped paint, fire alarm went on 3 times in our bedroom on Sunday AM wihtout any smoke/fire and my spouse found there was a smell in bathroom. We shared this when checking out and were assured it would be taken care of. April 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Pretentious I arrived late in the evening on a Tuesday and expected a warm southern greeting. Unfortunately, I was greeted coldly and felt as if I was being a bother. Only one person said hello to me during my stay. The room layout was nice, but the colors were so dark, it was unpleasing to my eye. Also, everything had a gimmicky label. Even the spare roll of toilet paper was labeled "backup plan". I generally love the Starwood brands, but this place didn't live up to my expectation. I'll stay somewhere else when I'm in Atlanta next time. Hopefully there is a Westin somewhere nearby. February 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by what you expect from a W Nice hotel, but what you would expect staying at a W hotel. Only issue was breakfast in the Spice Market, where on both days the service was incredibly slow (It was not crowded), and the second day was slow, and 4 out of 5 breakfasts were wrong or incomplete. Apart from this, all good January 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Friendly Staff, Noisy Rooms, Awful Keycards Staff was extremely friendly, courteous, and attentive. The two major issues I had with your hotel was that the walls must have been made out of paper because I continued to be woken up throughout the night by people in the adjacent rooms coming in and out. The keycards we were given seemed to work maybe 25% of the time and that got to be a little frustrating. It was frustrating enough that I would recommend going back to the standard key even though I know that would be extremely costly. I think that if these two issues could be resolved then I would have had nothing to complain about. Not unhappy with my stay as I read the reviews before coming to this hotel and was prepared to accept these reoccuring problems. June 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Excellent room - lacking in service. The room was great, the staff was very friendly, but as it always seems to happen when I stay with the W, the business end of things is lacking considerably. I was overcharged (by one whole night's rate) and it took the staff three days after I checked out to make things right. I checked out of the hotel on a Sunday, and when I called to ask about the overcharge, I was told (on Monday) that I was still checked in! I left messages for managers with no calls returned to me, and as an SPG member, I expected a higher level of service quality! The hotel is beautiful and is in a great location... I just wish they'd improve upon their service skills. If you choose to stay here, make sure and get a physical printout of the bill! August 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really Good Stay I found the "Wonderful" room to be wonderful. Even though there were some small quirks that I brought to the attention of the management, I would definately stay at this hotel again. I can't say enough about the staff! Every member of the staff that I interacted with was in a great mood and had a great attitude, very attentive to my needs. I could tell that they enjoy working at this hotel. The meeting facilities were fantastic, clean, well maintained, stocked with a wide array of snacks, including candybars, and fruits! I would rate 4 1/2 stars for this hotel May 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by W Hotels need an update These hotels are looking very 1990's - but they looked better then. The attitude must go - they are there to make your stay better, not to give the guest attitude. January 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't wait to visit again! We had a great stay at the W Midtown. My only complaint is that the beds were not very comfortable. We stayed 2 nights, the first night I slept fairly well due to a long night of partying in ATL, but the second night I bearly got any sleep from all of the tossing and turning. Everything else was exceptional. Everyone was so helpful and thoughtful especially Demarcus. He made sure we knew that we could call for him at anytime for anything! As soon as we pulled up to our house from our weekend stay we joked about calling Demarcus to help us unload our car full of luggage! =].. All-in-all our stay at the W was great and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking to stay at a high-end and hip hotel in Atlanta! Thanks W Midtown! March 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK stay Not bad. They brought in room coffeemaker. Not enough light in the room for reading. January 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horribly noisy and overstimulated I was there on business and the lobby was a zoo. There were not enough people to check folks in...long lines just to check in. Lobby was loud and chaotic. Staff friendly. So many parties going on at night that I slept horribly. I called and security came up, but then the next party would start. It was like being at a club, not a hotel. Would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone, and will definitely tell the folks with my company to not plan another even tthere. Also, really....on a Sat you coudln't find the concierge. I needed help and noone available. May 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exceeded expectations Celebrated our anniversary in Atlanta and chose the W Midtown because of great reviews from our friends who stay there. We were not disappointed. I notified management that this was our 10th wedding anniversary prior to traveling and that we were looking to make it a special and memorable weekend. Management listened and gave us a very nice room upgrade and a nice romantic treat for our room. Staff was friendly, helpful, and room was very clean. We will definitely be staying there again. November 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location Great location and staff. The overall hotel is very nice with great ambiance. My only issue was with the bed. The mattress had a cushion cover that is overdue to be replaced. The feathers kept on poking out and pinching me making it a bit uncomfortable. The room itself is chic and modern, but the uncomfortable bedding is a downer. Looking forward to coming back, but hopefully will get to sleep in an updated bed. December 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Facilities Appears aged..not 'fresh' like most Ws. Associate who managed the bar area in the AM where the coffee was served had "could not be bothered" attitude. One of the coffee makers had grounds all in my cup. So I told her about and she "well you dont have to drink it". Then did she go clean out that pot?...NO... Vanessa was awesome--I checked in my room WITHOUT any towels, wash cloths etc. I took 2 phone calls and over an hour to get some up to the room. She did waht she could to make it right.! Awesomw job But really wouldnt recommend here September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun, friendly hotel Great service! Staff was friendly, knowledgeable, helpful, and courteous. The entire establishment is very kid-friendly, with lots to see in it and cozy places to explore and relax in. The rooms are clean and well-appointed with comfortable beds. The hotel is located in easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, and attractions. Except for spotty, unreliable Wi-Fi service in the room (something we really needed to be working 100% of the time), everything else was outstanding! November 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overnight Stay We were staying overnight in Midtown for a party. The shower drain was stopped up, so that after a minute in the shower, the basin was full of water. The second person showering had to worry about the basin overflowing. In speaking to others at our party, I heard that friends of theirs had the same exact problem. WOW. There was also a dead roach in the room. Right in the middle of the room too. How does that happen on the 17th floor? Was it ever vacuumed? December 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not for mature crowd I liked the decor in the rooms. A little disappointed we could not open a window. Did see mold on the ceiling in room 2119. We were next door to a room with young ,loud college grads who were still making noise at 3:30 in the morning and were talked to by security 2 nights in a row. Therefore my opinion of the hotel was very tainted based on the fact that I couldn't get much sleep. I did like the location of the hotel though. I challenge the W Hotel to offer me a free weekend with no noise keeping me up all night. October 28, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 next>>