W Atlanta - Midtown

  • 188 14th Street, NE
  • Atlanta,
  • Georgia
  • 30361
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be over 21 to check in to our hotel.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 494 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Choose carefully Guess I'm not hipster enough but this hotel has a ways to go in my opinion. Most of the staff are too cool to bother giving great service. As always there are exceptions and there are a couple people who do give great service. I have to stay at this hotel for business. It is wonderfully close to work. The hotel itself is tired. The 'hip' decor is in desperate need of freshening up or maybe it's just time to move on to something a little less pretentious. Depending on what room you get will depend on what works or doesn't work. Also depending on what room you get it will be respectably clean or you will be disgusted and want to ask for a different room. Now if you're a party person weekday or weekend, you'll be in good company. At least one night a week I am woken from sleep to loud people in the halls, next room over, smoker (non-smoking hotel) in the connecting room or just the loud plumbing noises. Another reviewer mentioned not getting a 00 or 01 room, which is true but I would expand that to include the other end of the hall too where the service elevator runs all night. But hey if you're not in your room much or you just plan to pass out when you get back there then you should be okay. Once I am no longer required to stay at this W, I will not and may not stay at any other W if they are all like this one. June 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Customer Service I'm a Platinum SPG and normally receive great customer service when I stay at this location. I have stayed here over 10 times and usually bring friends with me but never again. There were so many issues with this stay, I don't know where to begin. No SPG recognition, no sleep on the first night due to kids partying and running the halls all night, call the front desk to complain and nothing resolved, had to request to be relocated the next day, and charged bill to wrong credit card (couldn't be fixed because the finance dept. wasn't open). Manager promised to follow up and never did nor did the General Manager. I will take my business elsewhere. If you are a professional that requires rest and quiet time when on vacation, stay away from this hotel. May 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Repairs My room needed repairs. The ceiling light was not working and hanging from ceiling. No one came to repair even though I asked. A switch on lamp by bed was broken. We asked for refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker but never received it even though front desk assured me that it would be delivered. I was there 3 nights. The furniture needed repainting and some handles were broken. Just was not up to my expectations for an upscale hotel. July 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff was awesome From the valet, front desk, bell hop, restaurant, everyone we interacted with, the staff was great in every way. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best HOTEL I've ever stayed in! This hotel never disappoints me! They recognize special occasions and go out of their way to provide upstanding hospitality! Thank you for always making our stay incredible! July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyable Stay Really enjoyed my stay here,however the bed was poorly made and the padding from the feather down made sleeping uncomfortable because of the pricking. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good hotel midtown easy to downtown, W car dropped me several times downtown, subway is close by, plenty of restaurants to walk to, good desk and comfortable room July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff and overall great experience. . . This is a great place to stay in MIdtown. The staff are accomodating and professional, and everything you want/expect from a W Hotel is satisfied here. *Fantastic suites are fantastic, roomy, comfortable and fun. Don't expect much privacy in the bathroom/shower though, as everything is 'viewable'. Great if you don't mind, but something to consider if you do. *Bellmen and front-desk staff are helpful and kind. Our Acura driver was more than kind, outgoing and professional (Derek). *Location is great (try Tap for dinner and South City Kitchen for lunch, both walking distance). *There is a big club scene on Thursday-Saturday at night, so be prepared. Lobby bar area is great. Overall, this is a high-quality property that knows what they are doing. February 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by not that good ... I was completely underwhelmed during my visit to your hotel THIS time. it was as if someone had gone through the room and unplugged lights (from sockets that were behind the desk area and under the bed), the clock radio didn't work and the room lacked the usual "readiness" that I have come to expect from your hotels - and this one in particular. Additionally, my room was located near the entrance to the pool and was incredibly noisy. What surprised me was that you would put a guest in a room like that when your facility was not even close to fully booked. I will say that your staff was courteous and the valet guys were incredibly helpful and nice, even offering me a cold bottle of water, although $32 to park seems high. Overall, it just wasn't the experience I've come to expect from W or any of the SPG facilities. Disappointed! July 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by You need to do better in this relationship... I want to love this place...it has so much going for it, from the views to a truly engaged management. But - if you need to get management involved to get things done, we have a problem. Upon arrival, the Bell staff are excellent. Quick to the car, exceptionally helpful, and always gracious (never have I left the hotel without being offered a bottle of water for the road). Front Desk are appropriately nice and welcoming, but somewhat detached. There could absolutely be better planning for staff coverage during peak check-in/check-out hours. Whatever/Whenever is where this hotel falls down, and badly. iPhone app orders have been routinely ignored (even had a manager apologize to me stating that a rep didn't have the application open to receive orders). I've had wake-up call requests ignored, making me late to a meeting (and even when they call once, they ignore the request to give a second wake-up call shortly thereafter, which every other W I've ever stayed at is happy to do). Most unusual is that the hotel doesn't even stock all the items listed in the W app (and which are found at other W Hotels). Last, but not least, laundry charges are an absolute travesty. Room service is quite good, both for breakfast and late-night, as food and service are spot-on there. Wi-Fi isn't worth using. Terribly slow service, and realistically not worth paying for. Bring a Mi-Fi card. The bar/lounge area does get high points from me. The bartenders are delightful, engaging, and attentive to the mood of the guest. If you're in the mood for a chat, they'll be glad to reciprocate, or give you the space you want if your desire is to be left alone. The manager of the nightlife venue is quick to welcome, and very happy to ensure that guests leave happy. I've stayed here a few times in 2011, and am already solidly booked for a few weeks in 2012, as the location is right where I need to be. I look forward to the issues I've had being resolved, as they are not insurmountable, and I really do want to make this a favourite spot to come back to. December 22, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, fun hotel The hotel is walking distance to great restaurants, entertainment, and shops. The ambiance and activity level of the hotel worked fine for the purpose of my trip--in town for a wedding. Not the ideal place if you're looking for a quiet retreat as there is plenty of activity in the lobby with the bar as well as the Wet deck. The walls are "thin" in that you can hear some of the noise in the hallways, but overall the rooms are great and the staff was responsive. Fun hotel, though! July 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by worst bath fixtures The sink and shower head were the worst- sink was too shallow- may be "stylish" but certainly not practical for travelers- the shower head trickled and was not adjustable- again stylish, but poor choice July 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Get there early for breakfast! Nice hotel, but on a not very busy morning, we had to wait for 10 minutes, because as the food was freshley cooked (in most hotels, an omlette would be...) the chef could only go so fast. Does this mean you only have 1 chef on in the morning?! As I say, good job there wasnt 'a rush on!' July 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Creepy Bathroom Locale and Set up There was one factor which stood out for me the entire time I stayed at your hotel. As it got later, the location and set up of the bathroom near the bar set unsafe and almost scary. The location is off the beaten path, no one can view me entering nor exiting and then there is an anteroom which has a couch, Why? if that's the protocol then at least take away that heavy door which would mitigate any sounds, just in case a woman is followed into the bathroom. I felt as if it wasn't safe to go to the restroom without an escort. This really needs to be addressed posthaste. Unless you would rather leave it as be and eventually have to react to a situation, rather than be Proactive and address it before it happens. June 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This is a W? Probably my least favorite W property and I've stayed at a lot. Had to change rooms 3 times, the reception staff was not as professional as what I am used to with a W. Calling for my car in the morning I thought i was calling a call center in India...just not the experience i expected with what W usually delivers. July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overnight GetAway Sans Kids My wife and I are two very active parents who don't always have the luxury of time to do things just for one another. We decided to spend an overnight romantic getaway at the W-Midtown hotel. The W-Midtown is the perfect place for adults to have a romantic getaway and experience the midtown Atlanta nightlife! We found the hotel staff to be very hospitable and the facility itself was amazing with the modern furniture and amenities. Close to several night life hot spots (many within walking distance of the hotel) we know we'll be back! June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by So I Finally Got an Upgrade Checked in on a Wednesday, out on the following Friday. Valet was quick and easy, as was checkin. While I had to ask for an upgrade, I finally got one -- to a Marvelous Suite -- having stayed here numerous times without ever received one before. The suite itself was spacious, comfortable, and the HVAC was spot on -- was able to bring the room down to a relatively freezing temperature. Housekeeping did a great job throughout my stay. Drinks in the lobby bar were great, as was breakfast in Spice Market. Checkout was simple and the bil correct. My only complaint is that when I called for my car, guest services failed to let the valet know -- I have had this problem previously and often at this hotel -- don't assume but ask when you are downstairs at the valet. Otherwise, great Midtown location -- dinners at Empire State South and The Spence highly recommended. December 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The hotel staff was unsatisfactory A Beautiful hotel with disappointing customer service. From beginning to end of my stay was not a good one. From not able to find the hotel because there is no signage off of the building or street signs to identify the hotel, to no instructions given on how to operate the elevator prior to being shown where it is, to having to wait to check in because the finance dept failed to process a pre-authorization form they received several days prior, to valet bringing me the wrong car and the tv not working after reporting it to a technician, and finally being charged for the munchie bar in which I did not consume. Customer service was terrible and the representatives were not helpful at all. June 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Stay, but a couple improvements I went on a holiday weekend and it was surprisingly not crowed. The staff was friendly and helpful but when calling for things to be delivered to your room it felt like it took forever (had to call twice to make sure we weren't forgotten). The Whenever, Whatever policy is legit. They really strive to meet all your needs. I was a little put off on the parking situation but that comes with planning for your stay. If you have no problem with valeting your car expect to pay $32/night. The good thing is that you can go in and out as much as you please with the extra money you pay per night. There is an alternative to park in the public garage that is right next to it, but you would be spending more money doing that; so you really are left with no choice but to valet. Be cautious with the "in room" munchy bar. You may find yourself being charged for things that you didn't even drink or eat. If you take things out of the fridge to make room for something you purchased from a restaurant or grocery store and store them in the fridge, there is a possibility the staff will overlook that and think you drank the drinks and charge you and exorbitant amount of money to your room; So beware. Overall, I enjoyed my stay. There was a lot to do nearby and sometimes in walking distance. If ever back in Atlanta, I might stay here again. July 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by its all in the details Great hotel stay, but they lack an attention to details. No concierge on duty - the entire five days, I had to call and leave a message which he/she never returned the call. Housekeeping was very unreliable. Came back from meetings one day at 6pm and the room was still unmade. The next day they shook the pillows out and feathers were all over the room and they didnt bother to vaccuum them up. The carpet had sticky areas and really needed to be cleaned. July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A little worn, but great staff The rooms and public spaces could use some repairs and updating. The staff was really excellent, from beginning to end. Efficient and friendly. I will give particular kudos to Brooke and Brittany behind the lobby bar. Both could not have been more charming and professional. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great ATL downtown business hotel It was a quick taxi ride to the GA Congress Center. Lots of informal, comfy meeting spaces scattered throughout lobby and upstairs. We will definitely be back. July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't Valet Your Car!!! I stayed at the W last month and one thing has completely ruined it for me. I valeted my car for two days when I left the hotel I drove home and noticed that my passenger side rim had been severely curbed and there was damaged on the fender totaling about $1,000 in damage. USA Parking is the contractor that manages the valet services at the W. USA Parking claimed that since I left the property the damage is 100% my fault!!!!! Also I emailed the GM at the W with no response and only until I called the W did they put me in touch with a manager that said they could not help me work with USA parking and that the W would not help me in pursuing my claim. This has been the worst example of hospitality / customer service I have ever seen because everyone is pushing back claiming I can't prove anything. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again or use USA Parking again! If you stay here be careful and inspect everything before you leave because the small consumer is all alone at this hotel! January 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly WOWed Words can’t express how overwhelmed I was this past weekend. I've been with SPG since it was around and ITT Sheraton before that. I'm currently a Lifetime Platinum member of SPG. The hotel provided us with some great surprise amentities but also had *a super suite upgrade *a great pool staff that was very attentive *great food and treatment by the manager and his staff at Spice Market *The very pleasant young woman at the gift shop I spend about 150 nights a year in hotel rooms. I’ve had nicer rooms, nicer amenities, more experienced staff, better food – but never have I had everything come together so seamlessly. July 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun atmosphere - slow to respond staff Staff seemed over whelmed by the number of guest and were slow to respond to room cleaning and valet parking request. I was also over charged for parking... July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool vibe, excellent value Great location, loved the look , reasonable food and beverage at pool July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great staff! I was so impressed with your staff members at the W. It was so nice to be greeted by friendly people from the moment I stepped foot in front of your hotel. What a NICE change in this world of miserable people! Thank you for taking the extra steps to make the customer experience excellent! August 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by poor room service great facility, lovely location, poor room service July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by maybe I shouldn't reveal our secret... but the W Midtown is THE absolute best place to stay if you are running the Peacthree Road Race. We stay at the W Midtown every year - great location, amazing beds (I always get a great night's sleep on the W Bed) and a gracious, cool staff that goes above and beyond. The fact that the hotel has coffee and snacks for runners ready at 5am shows that they truly understand and anticipate what their guests will need. The only negatives I would say are the cost of parking - even on a holiday ($30) and the lack of SPG recognition as we've never received an upgrade as SPG Gold. But still, we love this hotel and can't wait to come back! June 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Run Down!! I have stayed in many W's and this has to be by far my worst experience. The hotel decor is very dark and dated, especially the rooms, the staff for the most part were pleasant, but lacking in enthusiasm. I felt that the property was run down, and in serious need of some cosmetic work...for example, the paint on the walls and base boards in the hall way to my room were chipped & scratched, the rugs were always in need of a good vacuum, especially around the guest room doors and corners (lazy housekeeping) there was a 1/2 broken socket cover hanging off the wall (look like it was hit by the housekeeping cart) this broken socket was that way the entire time I was there. The rooms felt very unclean, there were finger prints and dirt marks on the walls, furniture, and doors. The toilet was not flushing properly, there was a light out that could not be fixed...overall you felt as if the housekeeping staff ware just going through the motions and not really cleaning the rooms. Overall a very disappointing experience...avoid this property. December 2, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>