W New York - Downtown

  • 123 Washington Street,
  • (Entrance on Albany Street)
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10006
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years of age or older to reserve a guest room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 217 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cozy, in a good way For a NYC hotel room, this was just about right. I've stayed here twice before, this year, and even though it's often far away from where I need to be, I consider it worthwhile, as the service here is above par even on a bad day. I had an unusual amount of requests and questions during this stay, and I was lucky enough to reach Johnny at the Whatever/Whenever line almost every time I called. That experience plus the fantastic overnight staff at check-in confirmed again why I choose this hotel almost exclusively when traveling in NY. December 30, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel - typical size of a NY hotel We got upgraded to a corner deluxe king room. The windows are tall but the view is not spectacular - just because of the location of the hotel. The room is not spacious but the decor and everything are definitely a W standard. November 7, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Experience terrible, front desk rude and dismissive Horrible place- We went up to room and 1 kingsize bed only. It was myself and 2 teenage daughters and had requested 2 double beds. When I called the desk, I was told there was nothing else available. When I asked for a rollaway, I was also told "out of luck" they have none left. No alternatives or solutions given. They sent up some extra bedding, WOW! On top of everything else, a few days later, I noticed a charge on my card for $39.52, called the hotel, put on hold for a half hour and all anyone could tell me was it was supposedly something from mini bar-we never went near Mini bar! Reversed charges-but frustrating! Would never recommend this hotel! August 1, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely Disappointed I live in the area and was having work done in my apartment so I had no electricity and decided to book two nights at the Downtown W. I was woken up at 5 am to a guest screaming in the hallway and banging on another door. The yelling continued as security arrived and the guest and security argued. I checked out shortly after as I was extremely uncomfortable being a woman and being alone in that situation. When I explained to the front desk why I was checking out a day early the employee said yes we had to get the police involved. No apology, no effort to offer anything for the inconvenience. To add fuel to the fire I was charged $21 for a munchie box that I did not eat. Three days later and I'm still waiting for a call back from their Finance department. January 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room Lacked Basics The room had very poor lighting. Had to use the flashlight on my cell phone to read the morning newspaper. There wasnt a full length mirror. October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by w New York Downtown has a spectacular ambiance which is in a way comforting and welcoming First impression matters and I had a very. good one which started at the entrance of the hotel: The bell boys set me at ease with their winning. and warming personalities. They exude hospitality at it's best. Check in was a breeze at the living room lounge. My only disappointment came when I entered the bathroom of my room. Housekeeping were sloppy at their task.. I hope they scrub the bathrooms top to down; and under the sinks after each guest. I really enjoyed the coffee in the living room every morning. Best brewed coffee ever: I cannot find enough words to describe the Acura experience. Well done W Hotels December 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could stand to improve... Being a loyal Starwood member, I have to pick this hotel since its the only SW property in the vicinity of my client. However, I believe the cleaning staff could do a MUCH better job at cleaning the rooms. There seemed to be a superficial cleaning job done in 2/3 of my last few stays - Take a closer look at the carpets, particularly where the carpets meet the walls - its filthy. The shower floors have scum build-up and and due to the dim lighting, a lot of the dirt is masked. I would hope that Management pays a little more attention to this. I am going to give it another chance, and then I am going to move. June 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel I have stayed in many of the Starwood Hotels and loved all of them. This one was beautiful but the room I was assigned was not fully cleaned and a big paper bag with garbage from the previous guest was left in the room just outside the bathroom. Unfortunately I had an emergency at home so I didnt get to ask for a room change because I didnt stay the night. I am sure my experence would have been as amazing as all the others but I was very surprised to walk into a room like that from the W Hotel. I will continue to stay at Starwood hotels because all my other experiences have been wonderful. March 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by N Nameri Great location, impressive design and concept, But ...very little recognition is given to SPG Platinum members. Don't expect significant room up grade and the hotel do not participate in the SPG suite night award though they market on their web site two types of suits. Hotel is poorly managed. From my personal experience do not count too much on promises given by the hotel staff ( including the hotel manager himself!). We booked a room to celebrate our anniversary. I am heavy traveller and SPG Platinum member for 13 years. I dropped a line to the hotel asking to take into account that it is our anniversary and appreciate best service etc. Got nice replies but when checked in the room was serve for one, was not cleaned properly and had smoking smell from previous guest. Was given room on a relatively low floor and no significant up grade was made. If you need to be in the area, do not have a better alternative or get yourself a room at a promotional rate you may consider staying here but otherwise go elsewhere and save yourself a lot of aggravation. For SPG elite members - there are better Starwood options around NYC which valued our loyalty and one may enjoy the full scale of benefit offered to SPG Members. June 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by OUTSTANDING Service! ~ Great Location! I am a frequent traveler, my preference is Starwood hotels. This is a one year old hotel with great views of the 911 memorial. Rooms were surprisingly larger than expected. The service was Outstanding! January 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by all flash; no substance considering the price of this hotel one would think there were more ameneities. The rooms have constant noice from WTC construction, They also have cheap fixtures and the bed was not comfortable. December 5, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is great location for Wall Street hotel was very clean, modern, comfortable and accommodating. Adjoining restaurant that was recommended was disappointing. Great location for 9/11 memorial, easy walk to subways for Brooklyn and upper Manhattan as well as ferry to Stanton Island. Also fun to be in Wall Street for once instead of Central Park. Morning coffee was good but nothing else was available. When we arrived there was no doorman so we didn't know where to go. October 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely Poor Service Dont stay here if you plan to go anywhere. December 20, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel has poor service I have stayed here numerous times but can longer deal with the lack of basic services which are not provided such a room cleaning, turn down service, water, etc. even when I ask for the basic to be performed, I need to ask at least 3 times. Worst service in the chain October 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly and professional staff Staff greet you at check in and through out your stay in a friendly and professoal manner. October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WEEKEND STAY WAS PERFECT I would like to say that my stay at this hotel was perfect, my checkin was smooth, the room had a slight issue but "Casey" front desk manger resolved the issue extremely quick by moving me to an even better room with a 100 times better view and Also sent up a bottle of wine for the inconvenience.. the concierge was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. she made our touring the area so easy. In total the staff was A1, the view is location is right in the heart of financial district across the street from world trade center. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any and everyone looking for a classy staff, SPG recognition and quality stay overall. you can tell that this hotel has a true Leader in there GM. i'll be back again soon. October 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience, very welcoming and fun I came to the W as a displaced person in November as my apartment was affected by Sandy. Living only a few blocks away, I'm familiar with the neighborhood. While it's quiet and night (which I enjoy as a resident), and crowded with tourists during the day (9/11 Memorial site is directly across the street), the Hotel brings a hip vibe that you'd expect to find a neighbhorhood like SoHo or TriBeCa. It definitely adds to life to the otherwise quaint area. I was instantly greeted "Welcome Back" by the friendly staff outside. They led me up to the Lobby (which is on the 5th floor). I'm a detail-oriented person and instantly obsessed over the elevator carpet that gets changed throughout the day,. greeting you with "Good Morning" "Good Afternoon" and "Good Evening". The lobby is very cool, and unlike any other Hotel lobby. Again, the friendly staff welcomed me to the Hotel and checked me in effortlessly with a smile on their face. My room was rather large and very modern. The bathroom was also large and came equipped with bliss products (so good!). My view was breath-taking of the WTC. I figured as someone who was checking in for a few weeks they wouldn't pay much mind to me, seeing as I was staying at the FEMA rate due to my inhabitable apartment. It was to my surprise the excellent service I received by ALL staff. From the guys downstairs greeting at the entrance (who always ensured a cab was waiting for you), to the front desk and concierge (so sweet and helpful), to the housekeeping (12th floor woman is fantastic!) and of course (and maybe most importantly) the bartenders at the lobby bar. I ended up extending my stay, thanks to the front desk manager for allowing my extension during an otherwise crazy time of the year in NYC. Although the W is a luxe, larger-scale hotel, they truly made you feel at home. It was nice to have the staff know you on a first-name basis and really provide you with superior service. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone traveling to or within NYC. Although it is far downtown, it's in walking distance of SoHo, TriBeCa and a couple of stops on the express train to union square and midtown. Wall Street and the beauty of Downtown Mnahattan is footsteps away as well. I wouldn't hesitate to come back to this location or any other W around the world. I fully intend on making my way back to the Lobby Bar- the guys mix up delicious cocktails tailored to your liking! A++++! January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Staff Really Exceptional The hotel is very nice but the staff is great. From arrival via auto (helpful, friendly, and told me about my parking options), the same person taking my bags to check-in, and then up to my room (to often you get 1-3 different people to tip). Front desk offered me best views and availability. Acura car scheduled for my wife the next morning. Checkout fast and easy. Bag check was free and people were very helpful and responsive. Valet was fast. 1st floor Sunday night dinner was average. January 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A view next to none. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The lounge and evening drink area was cozy, yet with such trendy, artistic design, especially the constant changing lighting with the nicely made drinks really take you out of the normal life mode, and sitting arrangements were comfortable enough to just sink in and relax. Room, thou not big, it reaches a W expectation, amenities sufficient, bed comfortable. View, overlooking the Ground Zero Memorial, was what brought my stay here, and I wouldn't trade it for anything else. October 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The hotel is great if you're in your 20's The doorman were very nice and helpful. The staff that checked us in were not welcoming AT ALL and the concierge was not very helpful either. We checked in on a Friday night and it was very clubby. The lightening in the room wasn't that great either. Our room didn't have a room length mirror which would have been nice. Also, the Javitis center tax and tourism tax was a bit annoying. May 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing I have stayed in this hotel before, and really enjoyed it. This time, I had requested a quite room, and got one facing the WTC site, with construction noise. The hotel held an even that night on the 5th floor, which was fine, but between 1am and 2am, people walked through the 12th floor continuously, with walkie-talkies on full volume. Last thing I was looking forward to after a 14 hour flight. August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay for the View over WTC alone I was a bit concerned about the location - so far south of the action but, indeed, it turned out to be perfect....with Century 21 shopping a stone's throw away and Wall St./Trinity Church around the corner. The room was beautifully hip and the view over WTC both stunning and moving - especially with the cranes illuminated at night. I found the staff to be friendly and well-informed. April 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel! This was a very last minute booking after having to extend a day-trip to the New York area. I normally would not have chosen this location, but the hotel was wonderful. Upon checkin, I was not given any gold upgrade or ammenity, but I was told the hotel was full. The gentleman that checked us in was very nice and helpfull. The woman at the counter later with a thick accent was quite rude. Drinks on the balcony in the Living Room bar were amazing. The hour we spent there with perfectly made drinks overlooking the 9/11 memorial was a very memorable experience. I would come by for a drink even when not staying at the hotel. The rooms were small (but normal for NY standards) and things were clean. There was no soup or shampoo in the room, but it only took 10 minutes to get after a call downstairs. I was charged $5.95 for in-room internet. I never used any internet, and I didnt even have a computer or tablet with me. I thought the charges for in-room internet were higher, anyway. I tried to question this at check-out but the line was too long and we were late for a meeting. August 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is very modern features My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel. Upon our arrival we were greeted by staff and directed to the checkin desk on the 5th floor. The checkin was friendly and thorough. The desk staff explained to us about the hotel offerings and the Acura Experience complementary ride and were then introduced to the concierge who offered any help we might need. Our room was on the 16th floor with a spectacular view of the Twin Towers Memorial and the new tower now under construction. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to experience the lower Manhattan area, but with access to other areas as well. January 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor cleanliness and housekeeping The room was not properly cleaned (had left-overs from dinner of the last stay!). Room also was not properly stacked with water / toiletries for the first night of my stay February 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't let the modern decorating and great views fool you This hotel is very clean and very modern with fantastic views of the World Trade Center site. Unfortunately, the good news ends there. First off, the W hotel nickel and dimes their guests. For a hotel of this caliber at this price, free wifi should be offered throughout the hotel rather than the free wifi in lobby and outrageous hourly and day-by-day pricing in rooms. They charge over $6 for 30 minutes of wifi in your room. Another way in which we felt we were being taken was their business center offerings. We wanted to print tickets to visit the 9/11 memorial and found it was over $6 for 30 minutes of internet usage (the least amount of time you can purchase) and .69 cents per black and white page printed in their business center. I have stayed at much cheaper hotels with free printing and although I found this irritating, it was only a few bucks. I wonder how much they’ll charge me for drinking the 10 ounce bottle of water that was in our room… A dollar an ounce? In the lobby there is a bar which by night has a dj and you have to walk through this to reach the elevators to your room; obnoxious in my opinion. It was dark and loud and I’m not sure who they are trying to appeal to with this setup. It can also make it difficult to speak with the people at the front desk as we experienced while checking in. Our room could be converted to adjoin with the neighboring room so there was a door in our wall; this also seemed a bit out of place in a hotel trying to be this modern and swanky. (It tries HARD by the way). The people in the room sharing our adjoining door were loud all hours of the night, though we didn’t complain. Our final night at the W we came in around midnight to find our room smelling strongly of marijuana and a lot of noise coming from the adjoining room. It was clear where the smell was coming from and by this point we felt the need to call the desk and complain. The woman who answered was courteous and said security would be up to check on the activities of our neighbors while housekeeping would be up with air fresheners for the room to mask the smell. We waited about 20 minutes for someone and received nothing. When we called again we received another apology and were told someone would be up with spray for our room; no mention of security was made this time and based on the continued noise next-door it was clear nobody had come. A few minutes later a gentleman came and sprayed our carpet to kill the odor and while it helped mask the smell, it also left our carpet wet even the following morning; a half-hearted and unacceptable fix in my opinion. The lack of attention from security was inexcusable as was the level of noise that continued throughout the night and into the morning. My final complaint brings me back to the fees for use of their business center; for the roughly $7 charge for internet and printing fees I spoke of earlier I was charged a $100 temporary authorization on my credit card which remained far too long. To make matters worse, several calls to the hotel’s “Finance Department” (which rings to one person’s phone) left me unable to reach anyone to discuss the fee. In my opinion this is a hotel trying to appear upscale and classy but run like a seedy motel. While it was clean and stylish I found the staff to be inattentive and the amenities lacking. This is what I imagine it would be like if the cast of Jersey Shore opened a hotel. While I would like to be able to recommend this hotel, I cannot and I will not stay again. As an aside: I don’t blame the hotel for this but you should be aware that construction noise from the World Trade Center was bad. Crews were using jack hammers and digging at 7am on Saturday morning and it was LOUD. Judging from the signs on the street warning of blast signals I imagine what we experienced was not an isolated incident. January 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Outlets Outlets, Where are the Outlets? Great hotel, the staff was great. One remarkable problem. As hip as this W and the W brand is generally, the management at the W Downtown NY apparently don't have I-phones, Androids or any other electronics. In my upgraded corner King room, there was not a single outlet to plug things in anywhere except the desk. NO place to plug in anything near the bed. This hotel would be a 5 star in all categories, but for a $10 power strip. How can W be so hip and not understand we need power. Even much lower end hotels have added outlets and power strips near the bed. Get onboard W, electronics are here to stay. September 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great trendy hotel Had a fabulous experience here. Our party showed up early and found that our room was ready so that was great. I liked that i was asked what upgrade i wanted as a Gold member with Starwood. Andrew at the front desk was wonderful. Very accommodating, friendly, and super charming. All the staff were great, helpful with everything. If there was one negative I would say that we had a problem with our tv and asked for someone to come up and they must have forgot. But was no big deal since we were headed out anyway. Location is great, right across from 9/11 memorial. Would definately stay here again. April 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by OUR 20TH ANNIVERSARY My wife and I spent 4 nights at your wonderful hotel for our 20th wedding anniversary, the US Tennis Open and 2 plays. The room was fabulous, the location of the hotel was perfect with great ease of access to the subways, but most important was the treatment by the staff. Smiles and good cheer, a present to celebrate our anniversary and recognition of the travails we had gone through just to get to NYC because of Hurricane Issac as we are from New Orleans. Lastly, my wife misplaced her gold earrings in the room which were found and sent to us. A truly wonderful experience!!! September 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT HOTEL & STAFF! We stayed her this past weekend with our 2 children and had a wonderful time. Melanie L booked our room and she was wonderful, professional and friendly. Great customer service! Michelle & Javonne W. were fantastic also. A+ in customer service too! Our room had two double bed room which had a good view of the reflection pools of the 9-11 memorial. The room was super clean and modern. I was initially concerned about being too across from the elevator, as our room actually faced the elevator. We did NOT hear a sound. This was a nice surprise. The W had complimentary coffee in the lobby in the morning and a delicious fruit infused water in the afternoon. It was a nice touch, especially after being in NYC on a hot day. Bliss products in the shower were a nice upscale touch. A+ for the W Downtown -The location was great & service was wonderful! July 29, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>