W New York - Downtown

  • 123 Washington Street,
  • (Entrance on Albany Street)
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10006
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years of age or older to reserve a guest room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 193 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor cleanliness and housekeeping The room was not properly cleaned (had left-overs from dinner of the last stay!). Room also was not properly stacked with water / toiletries for the first night of my stay February 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel! This was a very last minute booking after having to extend a day-trip to the New York area. I normally would not have chosen this location, but the hotel was wonderful. Upon checkin, I was not given any gold upgrade or ammenity, but I was told the hotel was full. The gentleman that checked us in was very nice and helpfull. The woman at the counter later with a thick accent was quite rude. Drinks on the balcony in the Living Room bar were amazing. The hour we spent there with perfectly made drinks overlooking the 9/11 memorial was a very memorable experience. I would come by for a drink even when not staying at the hotel. The rooms were small (but normal for NY standards) and things were clean. There was no soup or shampoo in the room, but it only took 10 minutes to get after a call downstairs. I was charged $5.95 for in-room internet. I never used any internet, and I didnt even have a computer or tablet with me. I thought the charges for in-room internet were higher, anyway. I tried to question this at check-out but the line was too long and we were late for a meeting. August 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is very modern features My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel. Upon our arrival we were greeted by staff and directed to the checkin desk on the 5th floor. The checkin was friendly and thorough. The desk staff explained to us about the hotel offerings and the Acura Experience complementary ride and were then introduced to the concierge who offered any help we might need. Our room was on the 16th floor with a spectacular view of the Twin Towers Memorial and the new tower now under construction. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to experience the lower Manhattan area, but with access to other areas as well. January 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Outlets Outlets, Where are the Outlets? Great hotel, the staff was great. One remarkable problem. As hip as this W and the W brand is generally, the management at the W Downtown NY apparently don't have I-phones, Androids or any other electronics. In my upgraded corner King room, there was not a single outlet to plug things in anywhere except the desk. NO place to plug in anything near the bed. This hotel would be a 5 star in all categories, but for a $10 power strip. How can W be so hip and not understand we need power. Even much lower end hotels have added outlets and power strips near the bed. Get onboard W, electronics are here to stay. September 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't let the modern decorating and great views fool you This hotel is very clean and very modern with fantastic views of the World Trade Center site. Unfortunately, the good news ends there. First off, the W hotel nickel and dimes their guests. For a hotel of this caliber at this price, free wifi should be offered throughout the hotel rather than the free wifi in lobby and outrageous hourly and day-by-day pricing in rooms. They charge over $6 for 30 minutes of wifi in your room. Another way in which we felt we were being taken was their business center offerings. We wanted to print tickets to visit the 9/11 memorial and found it was over $6 for 30 minutes of internet usage (the least amount of time you can purchase) and .69 cents per black and white page printed in their business center. I have stayed at much cheaper hotels with free printing and although I found this irritating, it was only a few bucks. I wonder how much they’ll charge me for drinking the 10 ounce bottle of water that was in our room… A dollar an ounce? In the lobby there is a bar which by night has a dj and you have to walk through this to reach the elevators to your room; obnoxious in my opinion. It was dark and loud and I’m not sure who they are trying to appeal to with this setup. It can also make it difficult to speak with the people at the front desk as we experienced while checking in. Our room could be converted to adjoin with the neighboring room so there was a door in our wall; this also seemed a bit out of place in a hotel trying to be this modern and swanky. (It tries HARD by the way). The people in the room sharing our adjoining door were loud all hours of the night, though we didn’t complain. Our final night at the W we came in around midnight to find our room smelling strongly of marijuana and a lot of noise coming from the adjoining room. It was clear where the smell was coming from and by this point we felt the need to call the desk and complain. The woman who answered was courteous and said security would be up to check on the activities of our neighbors while housekeeping would be up with air fresheners for the room to mask the smell. We waited about 20 minutes for someone and received nothing. When we called again we received another apology and were told someone would be up with spray for our room; no mention of security was made this time and based on the continued noise next-door it was clear nobody had come. A few minutes later a gentleman came and sprayed our carpet to kill the odor and while it helped mask the smell, it also left our carpet wet even the following morning; a half-hearted and unacceptable fix in my opinion. The lack of attention from security was inexcusable as was the level of noise that continued throughout the night and into the morning. My final complaint brings me back to the fees for use of their business center; for the roughly $7 charge for internet and printing fees I spoke of earlier I was charged a $100 temporary authorization on my credit card which remained far too long. To make matters worse, several calls to the hotel’s “Finance Department” (which rings to one person’s phone) left me unable to reach anyone to discuss the fee. In my opinion this is a hotel trying to appear upscale and classy but run like a seedy motel. While it was clean and stylish I found the staff to be inattentive and the amenities lacking. This is what I imagine it would be like if the cast of Jersey Shore opened a hotel. While I would like to be able to recommend this hotel, I cannot and I will not stay again. As an aside: I don’t blame the hotel for this but you should be aware that construction noise from the World Trade Center was bad. Crews were using jack hammers and digging at 7am on Saturday morning and it was LOUD. Judging from the signs on the street warning of blast signals I imagine what we experienced was not an isolated incident. January 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff & Service During my stay for the TD 5 Borough Bike Tour I was constantly surprised by how smoothly everything went. From check-in, valet, bike storage, baggage storage to overall friendliness and knowledge of the staff. Other than a minor hiccup with the room (1 king vs 2 doubles), which was pleasantly resolved in minutes during check-in, I am beyond pleased with my stay. The staff was well prepared for the flurry of bikers and bikes to manage. I was always greeted with a smile and positive attitude. And most impressive was that I was always given the same answers to questions regarding logistics regardless of who or when I spoke with someone. Pleasantly pleased is actually a bit of an understatement. I was so thoroughly impressed it actually motivated me to write this review! Thank you W for the excellent service and accommodations. May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great trendy hotel Had a fabulous experience here. Our party showed up early and found that our room was ready so that was great. I liked that i was asked what upgrade i wanted as a Gold member with Starwood. Andrew at the front desk was wonderful. Very accommodating, friendly, and super charming. All the staff were great, helpful with everything. If there was one negative I would say that we had a problem with our tv and asked for someone to come up and they must have forgot. But was no big deal since we were headed out anyway. Location is great, right across from 9/11 memorial. Would definately stay here again. April 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Stay with great employees Hotel is located in a great location in the Financial District and only 1 block to the nearest subway station. The hotel is definitely showing its wear in the rooms as well as the common areas but the excellent employees more than make up for it. The room itself was a bit dirty with food stains on the carpet, mold on the shower floor and dust on all the shelving and night stands. The bed itself was comfortable and there was ample storage for all our items during our stay so we didn't feel so cramped. The views of the memorial are beautiful as well. The only downside is that the lobby bar does not open until 5pm so you cannot relax on the terrace during the afternoon with a drink without going to the ground level bar and bringing your drink back up with you. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful service! We booked this particular hotel because we would be in town for the annual TD Five Boro Bike Tour. The customer service went above and beyond to make our stay most pleasurable. We received prompt valet service, a room that was ready early (plus an unexpected upgrade-thank you), and never encountered anyone unpleasant. Checkout was effortless, and the concierge service was impeccable! May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by OUR 20TH ANNIVERSARY My wife and I spent 4 nights at your wonderful hotel for our 20th wedding anniversary, the US Tennis Open and 2 plays. The room was fabulous, the location of the hotel was perfect with great ease of access to the subways, but most important was the treatment by the staff. Smiles and good cheer, a present to celebrate our anniversary and recognition of the travails we had gone through just to get to NYC because of Hurricane Issac as we are from New Orleans. Lastly, my wife misplaced her gold earrings in the room which were found and sent to us. A truly wonderful experience!!! September 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by weekend get away Came to NYC with my son for a weekend and stayed and enjoyed several of the hotel features including the restaurant, and the deck and the bar. Convenient to subway system and downtown sites. Responsive and helpful staff. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has many positive features going for it The W is situated in a great position downtown - next to the 9/11 memorial; close to the subway and Century 21 (a must for shoppers)! All the staff were fantastic we came in contact with no matter what position they held within the hotel, with all requests always being met. Of special mention were Ritchie and Ray who went out of their way to assist us. Whilst our room was slightly small, that was the room style we had chosen. Daily cleaning was excellent. We would highly recommend staying here when in NYC. The close subway connects easily to the rest of Manhattan. March 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dirty room and poor construction The room was not up to W standards. There was mildew in the shower, makeup smudges on the white painted walls, and the shower head was so full of lime the water sprayed everywhere. A close look around the room reveals details of poor construction. This may have been why I heard every single thing the maid was doing outside my room all morning, including her conversations. I was awoken at 10:30am by all this noise, although I had 4:00pm late check-out. There are plenty of other Starwood Hotels to choose from in Manhattan, I'll stay at one those next time. February 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel in NYC Hotel is nice in a new building with great acces to the subway for transport anywhere in town and the airport. It is actually quicker to most parts of the city since it is so close to the subway stop. Waterfront promenade is only a few blocks away. This area has some great views of the river and is worth a look. The W Downtown is a "Hotel" in New York City not just another New York City hotel. I hope you can get a chance to experience this hotel soon. The service is world class from the bell staff to the insiders who look after your needs and requests. December 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice but needs a little cleaning..... The beds and the pillows were the most comfortable I have ever slept on but my room needed a good vacuuming and the bathroom needed cleaning. May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Third time staying at W for NYC Bike tour. We have always had a wonderful experience. The staff is accommodating and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The views of the World Trade Center memorial are amazing. May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, style and service Location is fantastic in the financial district, looking out over Ground Zero Memorial and close to Battery Park. Lobby on 5th floor is very cool. Don't miss the rolls in the restaurant. Awesome. May 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service This we consider a service experience. Thus we pay attention to the details. We feel your facility meet our expect ions and exceeded in some. Thank You April 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Failed to meet expectations This a very chic trendy hotel. I was blown away by the level of design detail. However, I felt basic hotel services were sorely lacking in that detail. 1. The outside temperature in Manhattan during my stay (12/15-12/19) was from 25-35 degrees. The heater was not working and had to be serviced. 2. My first night, I ordered room service twice (at different times during that night). The first order came within a respectable 30-35 minutes, but the second order had never come up. When I called back, they insisted the order had never been placed. Rather than argue, I told the Whatever Whenever person I would cancel the order and find food elsewhere, as I had been waiting for over 45 minutes. They then persuaded me to stay and wait for meal...the meal did come and it was not added to the bill. The next morning, I ordered room service and the pancakes were not cooked correctly. I was leaving for a meeting, so I didn't complain. That evening, I ordered room service again and the meal was fine, but the delivery person confronted me about the last night's order. WHY? I again told him that I had placed two separate orders that were about 30 minutes from each other. But he was more interested in telling me that he filled my order. I found that to be unprofessional. 3. On Sunday, 12/18, I called Whatever whenever around 10:05am to have valet retrieve my car. I waited about 10 minutes before going to get it. When I got there, the bell person told it was on the way. At 10:25am, there was still no car. We proceeded upstairs to the front desk to ask them where the car was. She checked with the valet service and said it was on the way. Rather than wait downstairs in the freezing hotel lobby, we decided to stay on the reception level floor for another 10 minutes. We went down to the lobby about 10:40am and there still was no car. We had gone back the front desk to say that we had been waiting over 30+ minutes for our car. We had to show her the ticket again, describe our car in full detail. After 10 minutes of phone calls and her rationalizing this mistake, the car was returned to us about 10:55am. Normally, I wouldn't raise an issue about a slight mistake, but I found that the staff didn't take responsibility in their mistakes and should not engage the guest in what went wrong. Sadly, this hotel failed to meet the basics or service during my stay. I left feeling undervalued. It is however a cool place to hang out if you're hipster. December 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded my expectations I have only had good experiences when staying at a W Hotel, and that is in many countries, under many circumstances (like during Sandy in NYC ) . Feels like home. April 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible. General cotton buds, tooth brush/paste not available. . One bottle of complimentary water was given on the first day, when requested more bottles, was told that it is only given to platinum members. Tap water smelt bad and therefore did could not be drunk. Final night out of four nights house keeping did not bother to make room. Air condition in the room is located blowing onto both of the beds and although can be adjusted and angled away, the air still ends up blowing on the beds September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My review Great hotel, loved the bar and balcony June 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shocked Stunned that this hotel has only been opened for two years. Our experience was hard to believe. We have been loyal W guests and I can't think of any reason I would ever go back again. Had some serious housekeeping problems that were reported on day one and on day three - still not fixed. This was the number one problem but certainly not the only. Very, very disappointed. Would be very hard pressed to ever recommend this hotel or another W hotel again October 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel in Downtown NYC Found a great deal on this hotel for week of Fourth of July. It is located right across the street from the 9/11 Memorial entrance and blocks away from Wall St. The room was very clean and comfy. Bliss bath products were a nice treat. Bed was very comfortable. No free wi-if in room, but can get in lobby/living room. Concierge can print out boarding pass for flights. Overall, great stay. I would definitely book this hotel next time I am in NYC. July 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Property Amazing Staff You can never go wrong with any W Hotel, but I recently stayed at the propery in front of Lower Manhattan, and this has been the best experience I have ever had in a W Hotel. The staff was extremely attentive, thoughtful and catered to each and every need with a smile. There are several hotels in the area, but I urge you to select this one if you are staying in Lower Manhattan. It's where your dollar paid and value received definitely meet. May 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most amazing stay EVER!!!! THE W IN DOWNTOWN NYC WAS THE MOST AMAZING HOTEL STAY EVER. THE ROOM WAS AMAZING, THE VIEW OF THE WORLD TRADE CENTER WAS EXCEPTIONAL, THE STAFF WAS TOP NOTCH FROM CHECK IN TO LATE NIGHT ROOM SERVICE TO CHECK OUT AND EVEN THE COMPLIMENTARY CONCIERGE SERVICE. THE CHOCOLATE LAYERED CAKE WAS DELICIOUS. THIS REALLY WAS THE BEST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED AT AND I STAY AT A LOT OF HOTELS. WHEN I COME BACK TO NY, THIS WILL BE MY TOP CHOICE!!! July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good experience, but Although many aspects of the hotel were wonderful, for us, what was lacking was the "warmth" of the hotel staff. No greetings as we moved from room elevator to lobby elevator; front desk to concierge. The exception was Ray every morning. A true delight that understands customer experience. He brought us water when we didn't ask, anticipating our need. Also, recommending I use books to raise my laptop to make it easy. He is a keeper. June 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Loved my stay--until the surprise charges I live in NYC and enjoy staying at interesting hotels around the city every now and then to get to know different neighborhoods of this exciting city. I was delighted by the staff, was completely blown away by the beautiful view of the Freedom Tower from my room, and really enjoyed the style of the facilities. I left feeling wonderful after great sleep on an extremely comfortable bed. To my dismay, I received an email copy of my bill only to discover an added charge of $72.52 added to my bill for "Munchie Box". I am admittedly frugal and never indulge in these overpriced conveniences and certainly DID NOT take any "Sips, snacks, or something else". How disappointing that a delightful stay has been soiled by this inaccuracy. I have left a phone message with the finance department to report this egregious error and I look forward to W Downtown's resolution. February 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overlooking World Trade center memorial If you need to be in lower manhattan than this is a great option. you are close to the financial district and the world trade center memorial. June 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The "W" stands for Worst at this location. This hotel came up short by W standards. We arrived about an hour before check in and the front desk person told us that our room would be ready at 3:00. No problem, that was to be expected. We came back at 3:00, and our room was still not ready. After waiting 30 minutes, a supervisor came over to apologize for the wait and told me that they had just credited me $50 in their system. He said if I didn't spend it on anything at the hotel that it would be applied to my balance at check out. I didn't use it during my stay, and at check out there was no $50 credit. After check in we went up our room on the 19th floor. We put our bags in the room, then we were ready to go out and see NYC. We go out into the hallway to find out the elevators had stopped working! There is a phone by the elevators that you're supposed to use to reach someone if there are any issues within the hotel, nobody answered when we called about the elevator. So my wife, 2 small children, and I had to walk down the stairs from the 19th floor! After seeing the sights the elevators were up and running again, so we thought. We got up to our room fine, but when my wife and children tried to go back downstairs for something to eat the elevator they got on wouldn't move after the doors closed! Luckily, the doors opened back up after a minute or two so that they weren't trapped. A hotel with 30 floors can not have so many issues with its elevators. I'm glad we were only there for one night. I recommend staying somewhere else when visiting NYC. June 23, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>