W New York - Downtown

  • 123 Washington Street,
  • (Entrance on Albany Street)
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10006
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years of age or older to reserve a guest room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 152 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Fabulous!! What an awesome experience! This was our 1st time staying at a W hotel & it certainly won't be our last. This was the most accommodating hotel that my husband & I have ever stayed at. The staff was very friendly, courteous, & exceeded our expectations w/ service! Our boys (1 in college-1 senior in HS) don't want to hang with us much anymore---so my husband & I are reacquainting with each other & want to do some traveling We've been to all of our sons football games, parent teacher conferences, school "stuff", track meets-----we never missed anything!!. We will be going to Miami after football season & plan on staying at the W Hotel in Miami Beach & enjoying "our life" again!! August 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location Liked the location for my business purposes. Be aware of high tourist traffic due to 9/11 memorial across the street. Was disappointed when checking out. There was a guest in front of me and the 2 people working the front desk were in a conversation with that individual. I smiled at one of them and got acknowledged, but no service. I had to go up to her to get her attention to check out. Was surprising as this has not been the case int he past. Overall, like this W. Be foewarned the lobby is on the same floor as the bar and this is a meet for drinks type of bar. A little startling when you get off the elevator. June 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel Hotel is nice and new. Lobby is a bit too dark in the evenings and access to the gym is a little awkward since you have have to change elevators and walk through the lobby - especially in the evenings when they have a DJ in the lobby... The staff is ok, most are very nice but have ran into a couple that needs work. It's a little unprofessional when the check in clerk is resting his leg on the shelf behind the desk. Also requested a paper print out of the checkout folio - was told they don't print out due to being "green" now. But yet the person next to me received one upon request. It's great you want to be green but I should still be able to get a print out if requested. January 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by good location Decent location.. Walking distance to subway and a lot of lower Manhattan attractions. You have to switch elevators to get to your room which is a bit annoying. Doesn't participate in green choice- which should be highlighted while making reservations - I guess that's more SPG problem than the hotel's. In room dining food is just OK. January 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel in New York We usually stay in Times Square, but the downtown location was better for our trip this time. This hotel was amazing, the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating and the room was gorgeous (we got upgraded to a corner room overlooking the 9/11 Memorial). We arrived late so the overnight staff checked us in on 12/12 (technically 12/13). They were both great and even gave us free drink coupons for the next day. Housekeeping was friendly and checked in with me to see if they could find a convenient time to make up the room while I was at the gym. We visited the bar on 12/13 and the bartenders were awesome. Our friends just got married and the bartenders treated us to champagne and dessert. So nice! I would definitely recommend this hotel! December 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pleasure not business If you're traveling for pleasure, this is a good choice. Its located close to Battery Park, the statue of liberty, the 9/11 Memorial and if you're up for a walk... good shopping. If you're traveling for business, take your ear plugs!! The bar/night club (located on the 5th floor) has a great outdoor bar with good views but the sounds of loud music and club goers will keep you up (even on the 15th floor!) Not good when you have to get up early for work. The service was not the best. The staff wasn't rude, but seemed to pretty much care less if you are there. I'd go back... for a personl trip only next time. September 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort and style collide! You can never quite put your finger on what makes a hotel room comfortable for sleeping, but whatever fairy dust does the trick is evident at the W Downtown. Style is part of the W's DNA so I'm not going to spend time talking about it. It's a W, mmm-m-m-kay? I think their beds and bedding, especially top quality pillows, makes the bed ultra-comfortable for sleeping. Two thickness of shades on the windows gives you a choice of how light or dark you want the room, but that FULL ON comfort of the beds and bedding does the trick. And what's more luxurious, when you think about it, than a great night's sleep? May 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room not clean I stayed for 1 night and felt the room was not clean. Upon arrival, there was hair on the toilet seat and it was obvious the bedroom hadn't been vacuumed. I truly question whether the bedding had been changed as it did not smell fresh or feel fresh. So much for a good night's sleep! I would not recommend this hotel. January 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel where I stay often --- poor experience Given I spend a ton of nights here---as a platinum guest--I expect a decent upgrade. Even when the hotel is half empty like it is today get stuck on a low floor with lots of construction noise. Really hard to get decent sleep here. Either the service is poor or they are understtaffed. Because when I ask for service in the lounge takes for ever and I keep having to call out to the staff running round. Its empty for crying out loud. Super convenient if you want to walk to Wall Street. But given their poor track record wont be staying here any more. There is no life in the evenings or weekends around here in the evening or on weekends. The hotel is new though-- really nice amenities. Too bad. September 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Private parties should not supercede guest Great hotel, expect for the bullies that attempt to control something that doesn't need to be controlled. I got to the 5th floor, started walking towards the elevator to head to my room, half way there some "security" guy for what was apparently a private party gets in my face and ask me "can I help you?"... he asked if I had a room at the hotel, to which i responded yes, then he told me to back track go around the lobby to get to the elevator... i was roughly 10 feet from the elevator door... i rolled my eyes and thought to myself the W needs to rain in these "thoughness" factor... ridiculous December 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing stay Disappointing stay Have stayed at this hotel before and enjoyed it, but this stay disappointed. I was told that the hotel has no standard suites, so upgrade poissibilities for SPG Plat members are limited. "Cool corner" room on low floor was tiny and ice machine was in hall directly across from my door. Moved to a spectacular room on higher floor, but hallway smelled strongly of food odors throughout the stay, like people were cooking in thier rooms. I understand it's NYC, rooms are small and rates are high, but other NYC Starwood options are nicer, has better upgrades, and better rates. December 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay and Serivce My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights just after new years for a birthday celebration and had a great experience. As a Platinum SPG member, I've seen quite a few Starwood and W hotels and from my experience the service here maintained the high quality one would expect at a W hotel. The manager and staff were wonderful in helping me make this a special weekend to remember. The guy who checked us in was especially friendly and inviting which helped set the tone for the rest of our stay. As many other people mentioned, the location is great if you're looking to stay downtown and within reasonable walking distance of different subway stops. The views of the Freedom Tower/WTC Memorial were also unbeatable. My only tiny nitpick would be that I couldn't find a way to attach my iPhone to the stereo system, however this is incredibly minor given that everything else was quite wonderful. I would definitely recommend this property to others looking at staying in the downtown area. January 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rude Waitress in bar on the 5th floor. Saturday afternoon we were with our group on the outdoor terrace. My wife went to the bar and ordered 3 drinks. The bartender told my wife that she would get someone to help her carry the drinks outside. She asked a waitress named Kate to help her. Kate said that she could get her a tray. In my opinion for a hotel that in nearly $300 a night and when you are paying $36.00 for 3 drinks, the staff should be a little more accommodating. Who would ever off a guest their own tray? Another waitress came to retrieve the tray and apologized for Kate's behavior. She went on to say that it was an issue they have every Spring because the management opens the terrace too early. Apparently because we were having drinks on the Terrace, we had to get our own and Kate was unwilling to help in anyway. The issues that staff and management are having should not be taken out on a paying customer. That was a terrible way to treat a guest. When my wife confronted her about it, she laughed at here. April 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel The housekeeping staff was outstanding. Very friendly and accommodating. The shower and bathroom were very nice.The lighting in the hotel and the hotel room was very poor. The room could use more outlets for plugging in a hairdryer and curling iron. Hotel staff at check in OK but not very friendly. Never asked if there was anything that you needed or if they could assist you with anything throughout your stay. December 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by VERY DISAPPOINTED AFTER USING MY POINTS FOR THIS HOTEL I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED. FIRST OF ALL THERE WAS NO ONE TO VALET MY CAR . I HAD TO GO TO RESIDENCE HALL TO FIND SOMEBODY TO VALET THE CAR . I HAD TO WAIT 20 MINUTES. WHEN I GOT TO THE 5TH FLOOR TO REGISTER ALL THEY HAD WAS ONE PERSON HANDLING CHECK IN .I HAD TO WAIT 30 MINUTES TO CHECK I N. THE ROOM I WEAS GIVEN WAS DIRTY DIRT AND DUST ALONG THE RUG THAT MET AGAINST THE BED . ALSO I HAD TO CALL TO CHANGEROOMS BECAUSE LIGHTS DIDNT WORK AFTER PLACING MY CARD IN LIGHT SLOT . THEY MOVED ME BUT IT WAS AGIN INCONVENIENT.THEY SAID THEY HAD 24 HR ROOM SERVICE BUT WHEN I CALLED I COULD GET NOTHING FROM THEIR ROOM SERVICE MENU EXCEPT ICE CREAM ONLY ONE FLAVOR FINALLY WHEN I CHECKED OUT I CALLED DOWN FOR MY CAR THEY SAID 20 MINUTES OK I WAITED UPSTAIRS AND THEN WHEN I GOT DOWNSTAIRS I HAD TO GIVE THEM MY CAR NUMBER AGAIN AND WAIT ADDITIONAL 20 MINUTES VERY DISAPPOINTED AS A SPG PROPERTY AND THE FACT I AM APLATINUM CARD HOLDER NEVER AGAIN THANK YOU FREDERICK DENIKE January 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall the hotel looks to need a little freshning up.... The staff at the hotel were excellent! From the doorman to the housekeeping personale, everyone was superb. I was hoever a little surprised at the apparent lackk of general housekeeping. Having stayed at the other W locations in the city as well as other cities, this one appeared to need a fresh coat of paint in some areas and new carpet in others. Just didn't have that W feel to me.... Everything is usually spot on but in this location I get the feeling that things weere rushed... fixtured looked worn and old and the smell in some areas was unpleasant. Very dissapointed! October 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by NYE with the Family We reserved 3 rooms for a family of 6, plus one large dog for New Years Eve. The hotel was extremely accommodating. Tracy at the front desk was welcoming and helpful, and Jim the bellman was terrific! January 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Left a little to be desired The corner view room was a nice experience - clean and neat with everything working. There are not power outlets by the bed so your phone has to be across the room and little things like the quality of toilet paper were a little less ideal than other locations. The employees I met personally were all very friendly and helpful, however when I called the finance dept after my stay to question a charge on my bill, it was a very unhelpful and negative conversation (i.e. how do you prove something after the fact). The front desk manager did eventually resolve the issue. February 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A bit disappointing I travel to NYC often and have stayed at this hotel numerous times. It is definitely not ideal for the business traveler. The rooms are dark and the workspace is not comfortable. The hallways are dirty and remind me a bit of my frat house back in college. On the positive side, the staff is usually very helpful and the fitness center is very good. As a loyal SPG member, it is disappointing there are not more options in the area. December 24, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fatal Mistake of all times As an avid supporter of SPG reflected in my near 1 million SPG points, I cannot even imagine that I would be writing a review of this nature in my life. Although a brief stay, on the second night there has no response on any requests since 2 am (no one picking up phone lines, no person manning the check-in area) given my shower is not working. The next morning when I enquired, I was abruptly told that there has been a tragedy (related to certain guess passing away) and hence potentially the reason for lack of response. I am completely shocked that such information will be so voluntarily provided to guests to make them extremely uncomfortable. With all respect to the deceased, there is no need to alert guests of this nature and was close to checking out early. November 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by W is Wow Best outdoor lobby lounge balcony in the city. Hotel is directly across from Freedom Tower. Fabulous views of uptown from the North side of the building. Staff is friendly and knowledgable and helpful. The black on black polished stone decor in the 5th floor check in lobby is a bit overwhelming at first. (Nauseating was the term my roomates used). They let me bring my bicycle into the room for BikeNY. Convenient iCon parking around the corner - make two hard right turns coming from West St on Albany onto Washington then Carlisle before you reach the hotel. May 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by i'll be back My new favorite place to stay in NY thanks to the wonderful people at this hotel, especially those in loss prevention who helped me so much when I discovered I had left my purse at a restaurant the previous night. Definately customer service like I have never experienced. I cannot thank the staff enough, including Dante, who helped ensure I got to my meeting on time. December 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4 day stay Overall the hotel was very good. The room was clean and the staff was nice. There is a courtesy car available that's kind of not advertised but if you look you'll find it. It's a nice service that I used twice. My room was small. They called it a cozy corner. (I think) I liked the corner and big windows. The room was really too small though. Almost no furniture, a bed and one chair for the small desk. There was a bench to sit at the window. We laid on the bed to watch TV. The room was either cold or hot. I couldn't regulate the temperature. The thermostat seemed to be Ok, I don't know why it wouldn't work. It wasn't the end of the world. The bath needed more light. Even the makeup mirror was dim. Even with the negative things I wrote, the visit was good. I wouldn't stay away next time. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel Just came back from a stay at the W Downtown for the NYC marathon. The hotel is a short walk away from the Staten Island ferry - so ideal to get to the start. Great location - easy to go uptown. Very moving view from the rooms across to the 9/11 memorial too. Special thanks to Robert Rozko, the Concierge, for looking after us and providing some excellent tips on where to go!! Overall a great city stay. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very accommodating staff. The staff at The W met our every need and expectation. The accommodations were very comfortable and had every amenity we could desire. This will definitely require a repeat visit. We'd like to come back down once the 9/11 museum opens next spring. We didn't realize just how close the hotel was to it and made sure to visit the memorial before we left the city. November 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing View with Trendy Rooms We had an amazing view on the 19th Floor facing the WTC, Even though i frequent NYC bi-monthly it was a great focal point to wake up to in the morning. The construction makes its a little hard to get around in the area, but is was easy to overlook. Very kind guests with great trendy rooms. The room size is average, we upgraded but its a larger than an average size NYC hotel room. Very cool atmosphere with a state of the art lobby and lounge. July 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Location and Service Perfect location for NYC. The history overlooking the WTC and the redevlopment is awesome. The rooms are nice size (for New York standards) and service was quick and efficient. The W Hotels always have nice facilities in them such as a nice bar, hip, trendy -- as well as an eating place inside or nearby. As a Starwood Resorts member, I'm so glad the W's are part of this organization. Loved our stay at this hotel and can't wait to return. June 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good experience, but Although many aspects of the hotel were wonderful, for us, what was lacking was the "warmth" of the hotel staff. No greetings as we moved from room elevator to lobby elevator; front desk to concierge. The exception was Ray every morning. A true delight that understands customer experience. He brought us water when we didn't ask, anticipating our need. Also, recommending I use books to raise my laptop to make it easy. He is a keeper. June 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing view I had not realized exactly the location of the hotel ... it was such a fantastic surprise to see the location was right at the ticket gate for the 9/11 Memorial and the views out the room, bar, restaurant were spectacular. The rooms were nicely appointed as you would expect from a W. Both the bar and the restaurant were fun to eat/drink at. The bar has a great outside sitting area with heaters! I plan on coming to stay there again! November 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by TOO COMPLICATED IT TOOK M2 5 MINUTES IN THE DARK TO FIGURE OUT HOW TO OPEN THE LAMPS...AND I WAS NEVER ABLE TO CONTROL/OPERATE THE AC/THERMOSTAT. THIS HOTEL IS NOT DESIGNED FOR ANYONE...AND I MEAN EVERYONE OVER THE AGE OF 50...DON T EVEN BOTHER--YOU'LL GO CRAZY. AND I ASKED FOR TOOTHPASTE/TOOTHBRUSH AT THE DESK..OF COURSE IT NEVER EVER ARRIVED!! October 20, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>