W New York - Downtown

  • 123 Washington Street,
  • (Entrance on Albany Street)
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10006
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years of age or older to reserve a guest room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 180 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded all expectations! Perfect location and great staff. The BLT Grill is fantastic. I love staying at this hotel because of the convenience and the friendly people. December 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Downtown is a fantastic hotel The staff at this hotel is amazing. Everyone without exception was friendly, courteous and helpful. This hotel is a gem in lower NYC. December 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by extra charges the morning after I checked out, I received an updated bill with additional charges for mini-bar items I did not consume. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Christmas time in New York If staying Downtown this is the place to stay. No noticable problems from Sandy aftermath. An oasis of peacefulness. December 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great This hotel is very nice. The staff makes you feel important like a movie star.. Awesome room and view August 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Features, great staff in the public areas Was treated wonderfully by all staff that I came in contact with and the hotel was gorgeous. December 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the corner room Great hotel and love the lobby. Staff was very friendly specially the lady that check me in. January 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great staff really good location but can be noisy with all the construction. staff is great! January 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful view of 9/11 Memorial Great room in Downtown NYC, staff was helpful and courteous. I love the W March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by outstanding staff great staff good views and quick service when need for rooms needs. August 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel in NYC Great location. The best ambiance. Awesome decoration September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by So posh and surrounded by anything and everything. So posh and surrounded by anything and everything. September 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by cool! chic and awesome. perfect for Manhattan! August 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by very poorly managed hotel very poorly managed hotel September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow Experience Amazing room, facilities and service February 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb and Chic Amazing room, facilities and service February 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Facilities met my expectations. Facilities met my expectations. July 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Employees and Hotel....BUT! I love your hotel and the staff is exceptional. The care and the attention that I received was outstanding and the hotel certainly lives up to W Hotel standards. The Living Room Terrace Bar was great on a warm summer afternoon for drinks. I also had the opportunity to take advantage of the Acura Experience and it was wonderful. I am concerned about having a “Club” atmosphere as you enter the hotel on Friday and Saturday nights. This is clearly the wrong venue and location. Just imagine what a guest must think after flying 12 hours and arriving at the W Hotel Downtown New York at 12am, checking in, gathering bags and having to walk through dance floor where a DJ is spinning music in front of the elevators that take you to your room. W Hotels are known for their eclectic, chic, cutting edge style and this is why I choose and continue to stay at W Hotels, however practically and logistics must be considered when designing a venue. This venue is neither practical nor logical. Additionally, please do not allow the W brand to fall to the clients that think “anything goes”. Clients that think that the eclectic, chic, cutting edge style equates to loud parties and disturbing guest attempting to get a good nights sleep. My stay was a business trip and I worked all day and left the hotel very early every morning. I appreciate a good night’s sleep. On one of my nights at the hotel I was forced to call the front desk to have security quiet the guest that stayed up until 3am partying. Not sure how this can be addressed long term, but be cognizant that you can lose repeat guest if this isn’t addressed. July 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by stayed with 2 kids and had a great time! Generally really liked the W New York Downtown, with a couple tiny issues. As an SPG gold i wanted a view of ground zero, and they gave me a great spectacular room overlooking the grounds and a direct view of the new buildings. room was really nice and we especially liked the design and little details (kids loved the ocean sound machine for going to sleep, and DVD player is a necessity if you have kids since they don't have a 24-hour toddler channel ala PBS kids/ Nick Jr). the service in general was great, including a call to confirm all is well, bringing me a personal coffeemaker (but they only had medium starbucks, not the dark flavor we prefer and have gotten used to). they brought us free unlimited bottled water, and even came up with a bottle opener to open a beer for us (we bought it in a deli a few doors down for $2 instead of 6-7 in the minibar). They also allowed late checkout at 3pm (could have stayed til 4) the next day (SPGGold). That said, i didn't like that they didn't respect my free night (Best Rate Guarantee program) to allow me to have an SPG Gold amenity, but that could have just been some confusion (i spoke with SPG and they gave me the extra points afterward, so no harm no foul). the bathroom and room in general is funky and cool, and i loved the lemon scented bath bar etc., but the shower pressure could be better, and we found a little bit of hair on the side of the shower wall towards the back. if you are staying here with a car, would suggest using the Groupon deal or a coupon (from the icon website) at the Icon parking lot just a few buildings down on albany street. Our kids especially loved the battery park water sprinkler area that was a lot of fun (it was 90+ when we stayed in mid-june). June 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointing experience **Please excuse typos below as there will invariably be at least one** This was one of the worst experiences I've ever had at a W. In addition to the staff being rude/inattentive/possibly bored or lazy, the entire experience was frustrating. The water in our room would not get much hotter than tepid and we were informed that it was "hot enough." The front desk was rude and caused nothing but obstacles for everything from checking in to getting new keys. They repeatedly reset one key, which turned off the other key and didn't bother to tell us that this would happen. It was a surprise each time myself and my traveling companion got to the room. Overall the douche factor was amped up to 10 and the hospitality factor was dialed down to about a .5 - the only thing I can say is that their facilities and cleaning crew are extraordinary. Despite the front desk attendants telling other patrons that they were "in the business of hospitality" and running through a list of amenities available, they were frankly the least professional staff that I have come across. I'm not a paranoid person, but it seemed that they were too distracted to deal with myself and my companion which impacted every aspect of our stay. On top of everything, they're eating establishment received a "B" rating from the NY Sanitation review board. Let's be clear, I will not walk into any place in Manhattan that receives less than an "A" or even has a "Grade Pending" sign. It's seems extremely distressing that an overpriced chain hotel cannot obtain an "A" rating while charging me $15 to use the business center Internet for 3 minutes (yes, 3 actual minutes.) I will NEVER stay at this W again and I am likely to start looking in to other hotel chains in general as the W seems to be going downhill while the prices are at a premium. April 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few small problems kept this from being 5 stars A very lovely hotel, but 2 small things prevented the trip from being perfect. We stayed in the Cool Corner Room 1008. 1) There was a big yellow (grease?) stain on the white headboard. Very distracting trying to imagine what could have left that mark. Otherwise, the room was beautiful. 2) I booked a standard Cool Corner room. A few days before my arrival, I received an e-mail asking if I wanted to upgrade from the standard Cool Corner to an Ultra Cool Corner, which meant the maximum square footage and a 42 in tv instead of the standard 37. I agreed and was told I'd pay the upgrade fee at the hotel. I check in and ask if I was upgraded successfully to the Ultra Cool Corner, and the front desk man, Andrew, said yes, you have the Cool Corner room. We get to the room which is very nice and settle down to watch television. I own a 42" and noticed that this was definitely not the same. I look at the model number and it is indeed a 37 inch television. The next morning at checkout, I'm asked for my credit card to pay the upgrade fee, but I tell Andrew that we weren't upgraded. I explain to him that the promised 42" tv was only a 37. He says no, there are only 32 inch and 42 inch tv's and that my room had the max sq. footage. One of two things must have happened, and either way I'm a little upset. a) Andrew was mistaken, that I was not upgraded to the Ultra Cool Corner room, and was charged an extra $20 for nothing. b) I did indeed receive the maximum square footage, but the hotel furnished the room with a smaller television hoping no one would notice the tv wasn't upgraded. I know I'm harping on smaller things, but why pay an extra $20 for a bigger room and tv and not get exactly that? Now I'm not even sure I got the extra square footage since they messed up on one thing. Again, had it not been for these two things, I would have said this was a perfect stay. My request for a late check-out was approved and the staff was very pleasent. June 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK location, very helpful concierge Check-in was quick. We got there before noon and our room was already available. I was acknowledged as a SPG gold member and was asked for a late check-out time. SPG gold and platinum members are offered 2 free small bottles of water. They were not clearly marked in the room (supposedly in the fridge). I was mistaken and thought the 2 bottles of Fuji water were free. Nevertheless, when I checked out, the lady at the front desk made a note to take off the charge, which was nice of them to do. This hotel is right across the street from ground-zero. Depending on the person, one (like my friend) may find it a little creepy. We were in a Spectacular Room at the end of the hallway (coincidentally 2001). I sat on the floor-to-ceiling window bench a couple of times and admired the eerily beautiful 9/11 memorial. Otherwise, the location is not the most convenient, especially if you want to do stuff in midtown, though the subway is only a short walk away. The room was smaller than I expected, partly because one corner is part of the back staircase. If you are sensitive to noise, you may want to ask for a room away from the construction site (i.e., the memorial), which doesn't shut down until at least 10:30pm. There is a white noise machine in the room, which helps. I had my earplugs with me, as always. The best part of the hotel is the staff; they are very helpful and have a great attitude, especially the concierge. She is very knowledgeable and efficient. We asked for slippers, foam pillows, and a coffee maker, which were promptly delivered to the room (except the coffee maker, which they were out of). There is free coffee and tea in the morning at the lobby bar area. Water and fruit (a bowl of green apples) are always available as well. We didn't use the fitness facilities. The biggest disappointment was the unavailability of the Acura car service. The only available times were early morning the next day, which didn't work for us. Reserve your car service before you arrive if you know where you need to be. December 31, 2011
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7