W New York - Downtown

  • 123 Washington Street,
  • (Entrance on Albany Street)
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10006
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years of age or older to reserve a guest room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 200 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cozy, in a good way For a NYC hotel room, this was just about right. I've stayed here twice before, this year, and even though it's often far away from where I need to be, I consider it worthwhile, as the service here is above par even on a bad day. I had an unusual amount of requests and questions during this stay, and I was lucky enough to reach Johnny at the Whatever/Whenever line almost every time I called. That experience plus the fantastic overnight staff at check-in confirmed again why I choose this hotel almost exclusively when traveling in NY. December 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT HOTEL & STAFF! We stayed her this past weekend with our 2 children and had a wonderful time. Melanie L booked our room and she was wonderful, professional and friendly. Great customer service! Michelle & Javonne W. were fantastic also. A+ in customer service too! Our room had two double bed room which had a good view of the reflection pools of the 9-11 memorial. The room was super clean and modern. I was initially concerned about being too across from the elevator, as our room actually faced the elevator. We did NOT hear a sound. This was a nice surprise. The W had complimentary coffee in the lobby in the morning and a delicious fruit infused water in the afternoon. It was a nice touch, especially after being in NYC on a hot day. Bliss products in the shower were a nice upscale touch. A+ for the W Downtown -The location was great & service was wonderful! July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel - typical size of a NY hotel We got upgraded to a corner deluxe king room. The windows are tall but the view is not spectacular - just because of the location of the hotel. The room is not spacious but the decor and everything are definitely a W standard. November 7, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the WORST hotels I have ever stayed it!!! I have written a review before which never got posted. This is literally one of the worst hotels ever. I have been traveling to NYC for the past 11 weeks and because my company has a negotiated rate, I have stayed at this location. The negotiated rate varies between $299 - $439 per night so not cheap. This last visit the phones in my room did not work, I had to use my cell phone for calls including ordering room service. I mentioned this when I arrived and checked out on The 4th day and it still was not fixed. I have VERY low expectations for this hotel so did not bother to request another room because I am sure something else would have been wrong. Very disappointing almost every stay and the only thing that is consistent is that there will be something wrong. I don't want a free glass or bottle of wine, I just want a stay without issues. Traveling on business and being away from home is stressful enough, a hotel stay should not add to the stress!!! August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Spotty house keeping The first of my three night stay I filled up the ice bucket. The water was still in the bag when I left on the final morning. The day before I left, I came back to my room to find a dust rag on my desk and an empty pillow case on the bench by the window. The room always felt as though someone has rushed through it. August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by N Nameri Great location, impressive design and concept, But ...very little recognition is given to SPG Platinum members. Don't expect significant room up grade and the hotel do not participate in the SPG suite night award though they market on their web site two types of suits. Hotel is poorly managed. From my personal experience do not count too much on promises given by the hotel staff ( including the hotel manager himself!). We booked a room to celebrate our anniversary. I am heavy traveller and SPG Platinum member for 13 years. I dropped a line to the hotel asking to take into account that it is our anniversary and appreciate best service etc. Got nice replies but when checked in the room was serve for one, was not cleaned properly and had smoking smell from previous guest. Was given room on a relatively low floor and no significant up grade was made. If you need to be in the area, do not have a better alternative or get yourself a room at a promotional rate you may consider staying here but otherwise go elsewhere and save yourself a lot of aggravation. For SPG elite members - there are better Starwood options around NYC which valued our loyalty and one may enjoy the full scale of benefit offered to SPG Members. June 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Experience terrible, front desk rude and dismissive Horrible place- We went up to room and 1 kingsize bed only. It was myself and 2 teenage daughters and had requested 2 double beds. When I called the desk, I was told there was nothing else available. When I asked for a rollaway, I was also told "out of luck" they have none left. No alternatives or solutions given. They sent up some extra bedding, WOW! On top of everything else, a few days later, I noticed a charge on my card for $39.52, called the hotel, put on hold for a half hour and all anyone could tell me was it was supposedly something from mini bar-we never went near Mini bar! Reversed charges-but frustrating! Would never recommend this hotel! August 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Downtown experience Staff always friendly and professional August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely Disappointed I live in the area and was having work done in my apartment so I had no electricity and decided to book two nights at the Downtown W. I was woken up at 5 am to a guest screaming in the hallway and banging on another door. The yelling continued as security arrived and the guest and security argued. I checked out shortly after as I was extremely uncomfortable being a woman and being alone in that situation. When I explained to the front desk why I was checking out a day early the employee said yes we had to get the police involved. No apology, no effort to offer anything for the inconvenience. To add fuel to the fire I was charged $21 for a munchie box that I did not eat. Three days later and I'm still waiting for a call back from their Finance department. January 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time Here This is my first stay at the W. Everyone was very nice and I love the Hotel, I travel a lot and try to stay in the SPG family. I had a great view of the 9/11 memorial center from my room. The only thing I could say bad is you are in New York so plan on hearing traffic as early as 7 a.m. August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by w New York Downtown has a spectacular ambiance which is in a way comforting and welcoming First impression matters and I had a very. good one which started at the entrance of the hotel: The bell boys set me at ease with their winning. and warming personalities. They exude hospitality at it's best. Check in was a breeze at the living room lounge. My only disappointment came when I entered the bathroom of my room. Housekeeping were sloppy at their task.. I hope they scrub the bathrooms top to down; and under the sinks after each guest. I really enjoyed the coffee in the living room every morning. Best brewed coffee ever: I cannot find enough words to describe the Acura experience. Well done W Hotels December 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could stand to improve... Being a loyal Starwood member, I have to pick this hotel since its the only SW property in the vicinity of my client. However, I believe the cleaning staff could do a MUCH better job at cleaning the rooms. There seemed to be a superficial cleaning job done in 2/3 of my last few stays - Take a closer look at the carpets, particularly where the carpets meet the walls - its filthy. The shower floors have scum build-up and and due to the dim lighting, a lot of the dirt is masked. I would hope that Management pays a little more attention to this. I am going to give it another chance, and then I am going to move. June 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel I have stayed in many of the Starwood Hotels and loved all of them. This one was beautiful but the room I was assigned was not fully cleaned and a big paper bag with garbage from the previous guest was left in the room just outside the bathroom. Unfortunately I had an emergency at home so I didnt get to ask for a room change because I didnt stay the night. I am sure my experence would have been as amazing as all the others but I was very surprised to walk into a room like that from the W Hotel. I will continue to stay at Starwood hotels because all my other experiences have been wonderful. March 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Corner room Great views, very comfortable. Loved the window seat. August 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The hotel is great if you're in your 20's The doorman were very nice and helpful. The staff that checked us in were not welcoming AT ALL and the concierge was not very helpful either. We checked in on a Friday night and it was very clubby. The lightening in the room wasn't that great either. Our room didn't have a room length mirror which would have been nice. Also, the Javitis center tax and tourism tax was a bit annoying. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best staff around! I've stayed at the W Downtown NYC almost every week since January of this year. It is literally my home away from home. The staff are the reason why I keep coming back and remain loyal to SPG. Specifically, Javon and Andrew who work the front desk have been incredible. They are great to chat with and have gone above and beyond to make me feel welcome. I'm forever grateful for their hospitality and will continue to choose the W Downtown! August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by OUTSTANDING Service! ~ Great Location! I am a frequent traveler, my preference is Starwood hotels. This is a one year old hotel with great views of the 911 memorial. Rooms were surprisingly larger than expected. The service was Outstanding! January 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by all flash; no substance considering the price of this hotel one would think there were more ameneities. The rooms have constant noice from WTC construction, They also have cheap fixtures and the bed was not comfortable. December 5, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely Poor Service Dont stay here if you plan to go anywhere. December 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience, very welcoming and fun I came to the W as a displaced person in November as my apartment was affected by Sandy. Living only a few blocks away, I'm familiar with the neighborhood. While it's quiet and night (which I enjoy as a resident), and crowded with tourists during the day (9/11 Memorial site is directly across the street), the Hotel brings a hip vibe that you'd expect to find a neighbhorhood like SoHo or TriBeCa. It definitely adds to life to the otherwise quaint area. I was instantly greeted "Welcome Back" by the friendly staff outside. They led me up to the Lobby (which is on the 5th floor). I'm a detail-oriented person and instantly obsessed over the elevator carpet that gets changed throughout the day,. greeting you with "Good Morning" "Good Afternoon" and "Good Evening". The lobby is very cool, and unlike any other Hotel lobby. Again, the friendly staff welcomed me to the Hotel and checked me in effortlessly with a smile on their face. My room was rather large and very modern. The bathroom was also large and came equipped with bliss products (so good!). My view was breath-taking of the WTC. I figured as someone who was checking in for a few weeks they wouldn't pay much mind to me, seeing as I was staying at the FEMA rate due to my inhabitable apartment. It was to my surprise the excellent service I received by ALL staff. From the guys downstairs greeting at the entrance (who always ensured a cab was waiting for you), to the front desk and concierge (so sweet and helpful), to the housekeeping (12th floor woman is fantastic!) and of course (and maybe most importantly) the bartenders at the lobby bar. I ended up extending my stay, thanks to the front desk manager for allowing my extension during an otherwise crazy time of the year in NYC. Although the W is a luxe, larger-scale hotel, they truly made you feel at home. It was nice to have the staff know you on a first-name basis and really provide you with superior service. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone traveling to or within NYC. Although it is far downtown, it's in walking distance of SoHo, TriBeCa and a couple of stops on the express train to union square and midtown. Wall Street and the beauty of Downtown Mnahattan is footsteps away as well. I wouldn't hesitate to come back to this location or any other W around the world. I fully intend on making my way back to the Lobby Bar- the guys mix up delicious cocktails tailored to your liking! A++++! January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Staff Really Exceptional The hotel is very nice but the staff is great. From arrival via auto (helpful, friendly, and told me about my parking options), the same person taking my bags to check-in, and then up to my room (to often you get 1-3 different people to tip). Front desk offered me best views and availability. Acura car scheduled for my wife the next morning. Checkout fast and easy. Bag check was free and people were very helpful and responsive. Valet was fast. 1st floor Sunday night dinner was average. January 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice view, should have been better The view was nice, the lack of ubs plug was not, the less than full length closet neither held my wife's gown or my tuxedo due to the safe being jammed int the base of the closet. The office space on the 4th floor had a terminal that did not work and the blasting loud dance music seemed inappropriate for a work space. Friendly staff. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is very modern and unique W New York Downtown had outstanding class. They served impeccable food and drinks, and they provided rooms and decor so different from other hotel's. August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location This is my first time stay at this hotel, and it was only for 2 nights, wish I could stay more longer and enjoy the trip while I'm in New York City August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location I felt welcomed in this hotel and received attention ( exceptional front desk!!) any time I needed it. August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing I have stayed in this hotel before, and really enjoyed it. This time, I had requested a quite room, and got one facing the WTC site, with construction noise. The hotel held an even that night on the 5th floor, which was fine, but between 1am and 2am, people walked through the 12th floor continuously, with walkie-talkies on full volume. Last thing I was looking forward to after a 14 hour flight. August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay for the View over WTC alone I was a bit concerned about the location - so far south of the action but, indeed, it turned out to be perfect....with Century 21 shopping a stone's throw away and Wall St./Trinity Church around the corner. The room was beautifully hip and the view over WTC both stunning and moving - especially with the cranes illuminated at night. I found the staff to be friendly and well-informed. April 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor cleanliness and housekeeping The room was not properly cleaned (had left-overs from dinner of the last stay!). Room also was not properly stacked with water / toiletries for the first night of my stay February 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need for Coffee My stay was great and the people were very nice. The one thing I would comment on is not having coffee in the room. For me, I like to wake up and make coffee without having to get dressed and go down to the lobby. I did order a coffee maker the morning I was there because there wasn't one in the room. I usually do work before meeting and like to be comfortable while I enjoy my morningg coffee. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice property Rooms are small, but staff and amenities are excellent! August 1, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>