W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

  • State Road 200,
  • KM 3.2 - HC-1 Box 9368
  • Vieques Island,
  • Puerto Rico
  • 00765
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Minimum Age for Check-in

Guests must be 21 years or older with a valid photo ID to check-in.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 259 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Christmas weekend visit - 2013 Unfortunately, I would not either recommend or return to this property for the cost extracted. Despite the efforts of the staff, the property is in sad physical condition. Is it possible that management does not walk the property and see what needs to be corrected/improved - such as the driveway and the tennis courts? It is only four years old. How can a room for two have only two drawers for storing clothes and one hook for nightwear? For a $65/day facility charge, why is there only one organized yoga class at 0815. Security at the front gate for those with rent-a-cars was literally nonexistent; the front gate staff need training. One visit was one too many; will advise friends and associates. December 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Resort- Could be even better The hotel is beautiful and relaxing with a wonderful staff. The airport lounge and transport to the resort is a nice touch. Within 10 minutes of getting there, we wished we had booked more than one night. But, I am in the travel business and there are definitely a few things that would have made the resort outstanding, especially for a longer stay. l, Orientation: Our ambassador did not explain all of the features of the resort to us so we did not know that the snorkel and kayak equipment could be used for free or that there were tennis courts. I saw this on line when I was writing this review. 2. Resort fee: too high: $65.40 per day with tax and not much benefit that we could see. Rooms at this price should include any services that we received during our stay. Since the hotel is isolated and the Island is small, it would be nice for the resort to offer shuttle service a few set times a day to another beach (?Blue) or into Esperanza, perhaps at dinner. Sorce was good as a dinner choice, but it would not be interesting to have every meal at the same place. Paying a taxi $40 a day to go to the beach or eat is steep. 3. The Biobay adventure with Vieques ECO tour (Eric) was fantastic. It offers a less "touristy" experience (smaller group, no wasted time with drinks etc, and use of the parachute if needed on moonlit nites). This opportunity should be presented to all clients rather than referring them all to Blackbeard tours. 4. You should offer towel service by the pool instead of just at the beach. We will return, and with the above caveats, will recommend this resort to clients. March 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyable experience My overall expirence of the hotel was a good. There were plenty of positives to mention especially some of the staff (Rickie - greater/bell hop) and (Dan was his name I believe but I called him Philly as that is where he is from) It is guys like that that make the stay completely enjoyable and make you feel right at home. My largest complaint is around the number of staff or lack there of at the concierge desk. The Whenever whatever is a great idea but when they transfer you to the Conciege and no one pick up it becomes extremly frustrating. This did not happen just once but almost everlytime they transfered me. I would then get kicked back to the Whatever whenbver team. Also there was very rarely ever anyone at the desk when I walked through the lobby. This is the type of thing where 2 ppl need to be staffd there at all times and the desk should never be left unattended. Another issue was the lack of umbrellas abailable for the beach. There were about 5 and when I pay a 65 a day resport fee there should be no issue with obtaining an upbrella at the beach. I could see if there were 25 of them and all being used but I think its time to buy quite a few more. (I know I was not the only guest with this thought). Lastly was the leak that began in Villa 3 on the day I arrived and flooded the path to villa 1 and 2. The water got worse until the day we left 4 days later and I finally saw a couple of guys placing some dirt on the water. I understand that leaks happen but we had to walk through the mud daily. Someone should have been placing dirt on it daily.until it was fixed. Other than those issues it was a greate expirence. Thanks February 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Has potential The grounds are beautiful, and so are the rooms. It's almost everything you want it to be. But, why was there only one bar of soap in the room when there was a sink that was separate from the shower which was separate from the bath tub? The toiletries were not replenished until the day before I left and then they didn't replace the shampoo. I hung my towels up everyday, and everyday they took my towels and didn't replace them until the next day. When I spilled water on the floor, I grabbed a hand towel to mop it up and the towel turned brown...I had never walked on that part of the floor as it was next to the bath tub. There is a complimentary bottle of water in your room, for two people, and they don't replace it...but when I asked at the front desk if you only get one complimentary bottle of water, they said no. That night they replaced the water, but it didn't happen every night. We had 3 rooms between us, and the first night we were there one of the rooms came back to chocolates when their room was turned down for the evening. That happened in their room one other time in the five nights we were there...the other two rooms never got chocolate! There is complimentary coffee in the morning until 10...the cups they have at the coffee pot are very small, ~6oz, and there are no lids. By the time you took it back to your room it would be cold. At night there is a free drink from 6 - 6:30...again it's a small cup and your only allowed to have one. I know these are little things, but it's the attention to these little things that make or brake ones opinion. For the amount of money one pays to stay here, these things should not be happening. Would I recommend this hotel...if you don't mind calling the front desk everyday, I'm thinking they would fix all the little things...it is a beautiful place and there is nothing else like it on Vieques. February 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Honeymoon Disappointment We went to the W in Viques with HUGE expectations, and we were left VERY disappointed by the W Hotel. We spent 6 nights at the hotel, and found that leaving the grounds of the hotel were more satisfactory than being around the rude staff. The maids to the room would do the bare minimum of a job cleaning the room(even though it is off season and nobody was staying at the hotel), it looked like they probably spent 10 min. in the room leaving trash everywhere, and then would take our spare room key that controlled the lights and electricity upon every visit. We complained about the service, but it took 3 complaints for them to finally stop taking our key. The electricity and water went out for the majority of one of the days we were staying, which left us trying to shower in a bathtub with gallons of water we had to go buy from the store. We were charged for things in the mini bar, to which we did not use. The Wi-Fi did not work in our room, to which I called about and never received a call in return, and then we get hit with a $65.00 a day for the use of the non-working WiFi, and the amenities that we never even thought about using on our trip. I was rather outraged when I saw $400 worth of charges on my bill for things that were never used, and I think it is ridiculous for a hotel as nice as the W to charge for these kind of things. Overall, it would be hard for me to recommend the W to anyone. I was planning on getting a room there for my wife's birthday at the Austin W, but I might have to spend a day with the accounting department trying to figure out ridiculous charges on my bill. Also, the luminescent bay is supposed to be one of the most beautiful things to see on the island, yet what they don't tell you is when there is a lot of moonlight, you really cant see much of anything. We spent $107 on a 35 min. kayak trip to mostly have our guide tell us about where to go eat on the island as we sat bored wondering why we spent so much money on a trip when they know you can't see anything on nights with a mostly full moon. All 8 people who went on the trip from the hotel were very disappointed that we were taken out on this trip and not told to go another night when you could see something. I could probably keep going, but it is just going to make me even more angry about out trip. The only positive was the bed, that was it. September 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My impression for me and my clients I was thrilled to have the opportunity to visit the W and was quite impressed with the lobby, the reception and the eco friendly environment. The staff was exceptional and was always available to provide the best experience. The room was quite nice and spacious. In the evening is where i found a few issues that would make me reconsider sending specific clients. I found the lighting to be quite poor, e.g. i could not make out my room number and there was no lighting to the entrance of my room, hence i found myself walking up to the different rooms until i found my room. Also, in the evening, as i slept and wanted to go to the bathroom there was no visibility, so I found myself walking into the divider that separated the bathtub from the main room. I walked into the bathroom door and bumbped my head. The restaurant was lovely, although I found the food not to be on par with the property. Apetizers were great. All in all it was a lovely experience and look forward to returning. February 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by MOST RELAXING W EXPERIENCE We traveled to the W Vieques for a last minute girl getaway with my daughter (she's 15) during her winter break (Feb). It took pretty much the whole day (though travel time from JFK was south of 4 hours, including a 24-minute flight on a 9-seater CapeAir plane), but it was so worth it. Unlike most W properties, the W Vieques has a "no shoes, nor shirt, no problem" attitude which, along with being far enough away from the maddening crowd, handily coaxes the zen back to weary city folks in need of a break. It's a beautiful place with a surfer chic vibe and a staff that's helpful and friendly. Typical of W properties that are generous with shared spaces, the W Vieques has plenty of room to hang out and play, plus two beaches to choose from. The food was surprisingly great-- steaks, burgers and salads done just right, but had a little local flavor to them, and I had to go back for the chef's version of eggs Benedict and maple banana French toast. It's great for if you don't want to drive the 10-15 minutes to the towns of Esperanza or Isabela. Among our favorite hotel features: (1) the outdoor fire pit on somewhat chilly nights, (2) stylish "beanbag' chairs around the lobby for napping, (3) a gorgeous pool area that was large enough to accommodate a winter break crowd without feeling like we were on top of each other, and (4) surprise/random visits from the island's "wild" horses right outside our room. Special thanks to Ricky in Reception and Jesus at the pool who were helpful, knowledgable and eager to help out. Our only suggestions for the property would be (1) please, more heat in the pool in February, (2) add more light to room (a couple of uplights would be great), (3) more hooks to hang towels and personal paraphernalia in the bathroom, and (4) more thorough sand removal from the couch by maid service. All in, a fun and relaxing experience we wouldn't mind coming back to. February 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hard to go wrong with this location This is a gorgeous island, and the flight from San Juan is unforgettable. The W experience starts at the VQS airport arrivals lounge for the hotel, although I thought the lounge could have been vastly improved. When I was there, just one bottle of orange juice and an empty carton of guava juice were sitting on the counter, and there was no Wifi, alcohol, or snacks. The hotel itself sits on a gorgeous stretch of the Atlantic, making it a tad choppy in winter but still stunning. There are two beaches (one adults only), with food/beverage service to both (albeit quite slow, and at $18 a pop for a mojito, almost prohibitively expensive). The main pool set-up was fantastic, and despite the hotel seeming booked almost to capacity on a December weekend, there was always a place to sit, including hammocks, lounge chairs, and in-pool loungers shaded with umbrellas. My room had a great ocean view and was huge, with a nice-sized tub and a great balcony. I was able to take everything out of the little fridge and stock it with Medalla Light I brought from the mainland. :) I appreciated the SPG Platinum upgrade, and with my flexibility about beds (I was fine with a room with two queens), I was able to get a way better room. I would avoid the non-ocean view rooms, as the same horse dung remained outside on those lawns when I left as when I arrived two days before. My only real issue was the arrangement of services outside the hotel. When I was there, just one person was at the concierge desk, and the man in front of me was planning his entire week for more than an hour while I waited. The publico system (public taxis) is hit or miss, as there are very few on the island and it seems a couple drivers have a monopoly on the W, so when they are late/sick/flake, the guest suffers. I hate to wait about two hours for a publico to take me to the beach at one point, which ratcheted up my stress level quite high, negating the purpose of my vacation. In any case, this island is well deserving of a visit, and the W makes a good base for exploring. December 22, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Spectacular setting, inconsistent service W Vieques is clearly an absolutely stunning setting with top notch pool and beach area. Pros: - SPG recognition. I spoke to a resort employee Ayie prior to arrival and she was more than accommodating and was recognized for my platinum status upon arrival and upgraded to a WOW! Suite...very nice SPG recognition - Setting. The hotel setting and pool area are spectacular. Two beaches allow for the kids to have an area to play with provided beach kayak, etc and the other allows for adults to truly relax and enjoy the setting. Set in a mountainside with breathtaking views. Pool area although a little small for the resort size, had chairs that also sit directly in the water and was extremely refreshing. We also thoroughly enjoyed the wild horses that would from time to time find themselves on to the property...very cool! - Service. This is both a pro and a con, but will leave the pro comments here. Concierge team was more than accommodating and helpful...booked whatever we wanted and also was more than willing to transport us to nearby destinations upon request. Sorce host remembered our name from the previous day as well as the server gave very helpful info about the island...everyone we asked for help from, was more than accommodating. Cons: - Service. As mentioned before, when asked, everyone went above and beyond to be helpful and nice, but not many people took the initiative. Maybe on par for a W hotel, but the feeling is one of the best W's I've ever experienced and would expect the service to match. - Food. Not many options here and the only option from 3-6pm is either room service or the outside pool area. Food is overpriced for what you get and with limited options, if you don't venture out to Esperanza or other parts of the island to eat, you'll get tired of the food quickly. Breakfast was always the best meal! - Technology issues. Our TV was out of service for two whole days. Why are we watching TV at a place like this one may ask, but having the option would be nice. Overall it was a great experience and the hotel and setting are beyond what the pictures show. There are at times from the rain some flooded areas, but that is to be expected in PR. I would highly recommend for someone looking to get away and not looking for anything Americanized (shopping, eateries are all native). I would also like to again recognize Ayie for her helpful communication and ensuring our SPG status was more than well recognized. With a few more consistencies, this would be a 5 all the way, but until then, it's a strong 4! August 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unable to properly make reservations for guests. My boyfriend and I booked a 3-night trip to Vieques solely based on the fact that we were staying at a W. Being well-traveled and having stayed at numerous W properties all over the world, I have become accustomed to - and expect - a certain level of hospitality and service at any W. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, there were issues. First, our room wasn't ready until after 4PM (which is an incredibly late check-in) - and when they brought us to our room (booked as a Spectacular ocean-front room with a balcony), we had a poolside first-floor room with no view (unless you count the barbeque station as a view, which I don't). After complaining about this, we were told there were no other available rooms until Sunday. Begrudgingly, we stayed put, but had to close our curtains at all times, sacrificing any natural light and the sparse view of the blue sky. Then, we went to scheduled dinner reservation for the evening (which we booked weeks in advance) - only to find that we, in fact, had no reservation. At that point, we decided to doublecheck every other reservation we had made to see if they had actually made the reservation. Unsurprisingly, they had not booked our couples massage. In fact, the spa was so busy they couldn't fit us in at any requested time, so we had to rearrange our schedule in order to fit into their schedule. We took a trip to the Bio Bay kayaking tour - shuttled by the hotel. However, when we were finished with the tour, we had no transportation back to the hotel. We were basically stranded in a random town in downtown Vieques. And if you know Vieques, you know there are no cabs readily available. While the manager (?) did try to make up for the hotel's mistakes (a room upgrade to an unnecessarily large suite for one night that was STILL on the groundfloor; a complimentary dinner at the hotel that was way below par in terms of quality; a free massage that ended up taking double the time due to inadequate staffing), I cannot overlook the fact that were significant missteps (on seemingly easy requests) every step of the way. The inadequacies of the hotel to properly accommodate their guests the way I expected to be accommodated was way below par - and way below what I have grown to expect from W hotels. All that being said, the hotel property is gorgeous. February 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent the resort is beautiful, with the usual W interiors. Excellent menu with adaptations of local foods. Blissful beach and pool side. The entire staff were friendly and helpful and professional. Very easy to get around the island, with a rental Jeep right on the site. Horses on the lawns by day and tree frogs in the trees by night. February 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I'd expect from a W... Where do I start? How about with checkin. We arrived early - 1130a - and understandably the rooms were not ready. So we waited patiently by the pool. 4pm was checkin and we didn't get our room until 545p. Not a great way to start our vacation. I have to say, the resort itself is quite nice. Horses run free on the property and in the early morning hours you can see them laying in the grass or grazing. The pool area was nice as well. Lots of seating around both pools. The service from the pool bar was attentive and quick. All the servers we had were great. Our rooms were a nice size and exactly what you'd expect from the W, spacious and well decorated. The bed was really comfortable. Now reality sets in. We're early risers and were down by the pool by 7a. Every morning the pool area was littered with trash, empty cups and bottles from the day/night before. There were no towels in the morning so you had to go to the front desk to get them. Towels didn't come out until close to 10a. How's that possible? Same with water. Bone dry until 10a. They also have 6 cabanas they charge $250 a day for. Not one person paid for any of them for the 6 days we were there. They just sat empty. Why wouldn't they just have them open? $250 a day? Unbelievable. They charge a $60 a day resort fee (actually $65.40 with tax) which includes Internet and non-motorized water sports, etc. The problem is with such a large property, you have to walk 1/2 to the other side to get paddles for kayaking, snorkel & mask for swimming in the ocean. You have to be there right when they open to ensure you get them or you'll miss out for the day because they don't have nearly enough to accommodate the number of people staying. The Internet is also included in the resort fee and its worse than a third world country. Seriously, dial up would be faster. This is unacceptable to me considering you don't have an option to use it because you're forced to pay for it. The hotspot on my iPhone worked 10 times faster. Ridiculous. Then there are the nature sounds at night they pipe in around the property. They're so loud you can hear them as if they're in your room. Frogs and crickets - two of the most annoying sounds anyone would want to hear at night. If we could have only found the plug, it would have been silent!! All in all I wouldn't return. This hotel is not what I'd expect from a W, especially for what they charge. We did have a great time only because there were 14 of us and it was the company that made the trip awesome. Proceed with caution. March 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First trip to Vieques My girlfriend and I chose Vieques and the W as our first getaway together as neither of us had ever been. We are both well traveled so expectations were very high… From our arrival at the small island airport and its W lounge, we were greeted and treated exceptionally well by the W staff. Ricky, our Ambassador, was friendly, courteous & helpful and ultimately assisted with a room change that we desired (wasn’t needed – just our choice). Blaine at Wet was tremendous with his service but was truly friendly and a great help with suggestions, explaining some of the idiosyncrasies of Vieques and much more. W, you’ve got some great people in these two. The W is certainly nice as you approach but it’s only after you walk through the lobby and step outside that you really can appreciate how beautiful the setting is, fully appreciate the property and get the whole vibe of the place. The first night we shared chicken soft tacos and shrimp quesadillas at Sorce – both were great but we highly recommend the quesadillas as a great light dinner or lunch. We had them 4 times during our stay! Our advice is not to go to Vieques without renting a Jeep (Island Car Rental at the W was convenient). Most of the beaches are in undeveloped, protected areas and they are some of the most pristine beaches I’ve seen anywhere. Getting out and seeing the island, visiting Esparanza, Isabel II and the all the “wildlife” areas, seeing the roaming horses and getting a feel for the whole place shouldn’t be missed. This is a VERY laid back place with very nice people, a good bit of poverty but a wonderful culture to it. Black Beard Sports on property will lend you snorkel gear for “free” (part of your $60/day resort fee) and we recommend renting a chairs for the beaches from them as well. Don’t get me wrong, the beaches at the W are great but can’t compete with others on the island… Try Sol’s food truck for an amazing lunch near some of the best beaches (yes, a truck!), El Quenepo and, best of all, Next Course where we ate twice for really great meals. I’d call the last two for reservations to be safe. The W Spa did a wonderful job with a couples massage in a room overlooking the ocean which has a wall of doors that we requested be opened during. There’s nothing like a great massage while listening to the ocean! Also, do the Bio Bay tour if you haven’t seen one before. Choose a kayak tour if possible and, if you have a Jeep, you can meet the tour operator near the bay. Otherwise, you’ll spend too much time on the back & forth, etc. It’s truly amazing but you only need an hour on the water and another hour to put in and wind up – more than that is unnecessary. There are only a handful of these in the world and it is amazing to see. February 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing location, wonderful hospitality, beautiful setting Simply put, the hotel and location is beautiful and the staff will typically go out of their way to offer you a great experience. The rooms are simply, yet expertly, designed in a way that feels grounded to the island. Every morning we would wake up, watch the sunrise and feel like we're the only ones at the resort. Tranquility reigns king here. The facilities were great, too. Good gym with options for morning yoga. Occasionally it'll get busy in the morning, but it's still a decent size and open 24 hours. The pool is great, too. There are some standouts from a personnel perspective. Edgardo is one of the most helpful Welcome Desk reps I've ever met - he took GREAT care of us during our stay, from room requests to island-specific pointers. He was great. Veronica was the nicest person and most attentive of the staff poolside. There is some improvement opportunity with the food, though. I'd expect nothing less than consistency, and at times we'd order a plate back-to-back but the food was different each time. Small things, too, like rusted metal in the salt shaker (from the cap), no French press coffee available, drinks were inconsistent, etc. The staff would typically work to remedy the situation, but at a place like this you'd expect it to never happen. Now, would I go back again? You bet! I think the issues above are more representative of my expectations, not necessarily of the resort's capabilities. Personally, I would probably go during the off-season, when staff to guest ratio is a little more in your favor and, presumably, they're more engaged in upping the QA procedures. Overall, a few key staff members and a great hotel make this place a great destination. February 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Spectacular Hotel / Service Needs A Boost The location and facilities were excellent. You couldn't ask for a nice pool or room. The bar, pool, valet, and restaurant staff were excellent. However, the Concierge (W/W), Blackbeard's rentals, and Front Desk the weekend I stayed seemed very average and less than helpful at times. I found the Concierge always talking to an employee and actually directed me to the Front Desk when I approached for help. I've never seen that at a W. The lady at Blackbeard's seemed inconvenienced on the day I visited. When you have a super poo and F&B staff, the people who are average tend to stick out so I wanted to mention it. December 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by any early deficiencies have been corrected I started reading reviews 2 years ago in planning our trip. I wanted to spend wisely and have a great trip as a family. Some reviews weren't so great and left me scratching my head ("really? at a W? that doesn't sound right!") We stayed 2 rooms 7/31-8/7/13 and had a blast. Yes, it's a resort--there are daily fees (we used the kayaks once) and cheeseburgers/fish tacos are $15-25...menus are on the website. Get past that and realize you're paying for the view and the experience. The W lounge at VQS is GREAT (help yourself to the DonQ) for arrivals/departures. Juan at the lounge, Ronnie at the WET bar, and Abigail at the W Cafe were beyond words in making us feel welcome and at home. August 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME!!!!!!!!! If you looked at Trip Advisor you may have considered not going to W Vieques as we did However-what we found last weekend Dec.14-17 was a pleasant surprise. The property is beautiful- 2 fantastic beaches.2 great pools. The restaurant is excellent- great food and great service.And I am an SPG Platinum and travel around the world and am very picky. The restaurant staff were wonderful. Jillian at breakfast and Javal for dinner were friendly, efficient, professional and exceeded our expectations. All of the staff were helpful for both hotel and island advice. This W is ahidden gem for a Caribbean holiday. December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Island! One of the best vacations ever. This is a great place to go to get away from it all. November 15, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Christmas 2013 We had a wonderful time overall at the W in Vieques. Room service was outstanding, somehow they managed to clean the room every single day during our breakfast time, what a perfect operation. Awesome views from every room as far as we could see, beautiful pool. Great concierge support booking restaurants and taxis. Black Beard Sports provided very professional scuba and kayak service, including the magnificent Bioluminescence Bay tour. But book early as there is limited capacity, especially for scuba diving and biking. Only thing below expectations was the W dinner service, food quality not up to the level of prices charged - local restaurants are a must. Staff very friendly and accommodating, but again restaurant service a bit inexperienced. Overall a great vacation and recommended! December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to spend your vacation! Very friendly staff, great facilities - in the room but in the shared spaces also (pool, living room, beach), chic and modern - everything was perfect and a great addition to the whole island experience making our stay one of the best vacations we've ever had! January 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Stay From the first glance at this hotel I realized it was going to be a memorable stay. Not only is the hotel beautiful but the scenery and sounds are exquisite. I would truly like to recognize David at the front desk as our stay wouldn't have been the same without him. His high energy laughs and smiles are enough to make the whole hotel light up. He is very knowledgeable and helped us pick out the best excursions on the island. Its a must to see David when you arrive. I also would like to thank Juan who took our bags to our room and we had the pleasure of seeing him at the airport before we left. Such a kind staff here at the W. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thank you guy for making our stay amazing! October 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An overall great experience Overall, a great experience. A few items to improve. Yoga mats in exercise room need to be replaced. Equipment like paddles and snorkels are unavailable - that's what you pay the resort fee for. The adult beach is great, but you can't get umbrellas or chairs there. Food is very good. We wanted to watch the NCAA basketball games on a lobby TV, but the staff was unable to get their projection TV to work. The staff in general is very nice and helpful; Iris (sales) and Luis (security) deserve special mention. Our daughter received a bad sunburn and all were quite helpful. We will be back. March 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A relaxing time away in paradise A great place to get away and relax. A beautiful property very well kept. Very friendly staff. Spectacular views of the beach and ocean. A couple of nits. The on site food for breakfast and lunch was great. But dinner was overpriced and not that appealing. It took over 4 hours to get into our room despite arriving late afternoon. We had to call several times to check on the status (staff never informed us). I agree with another reviewer that the rooms are very dark. A simple fix would be to add reading lights. In general the phone "whatever, whenever" calling system worked well. April 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Housekeeping The whatever/whenever motto is not so. The housekeeping staff was not very good is the main reason I would not recommend this resort to friends and family or ever come back. The rooms were dirty and never cleaned --my family and I had 2 ocean front villas. I had to ask for towels --sometimes the rooms had none-- and I had to ask for soap and shampoo --it was never replaced. Our rooms were never cleaned -- the shower and tubs were always dirty. Our sheets were never changed in the 7 nights that we stayed. We sometimes got turndown service but if we did, nothing was ever done to the room. The only reason we knew that someone came to the room was that the curtains were drawn. In a luxury resort as the W claims to be Housekeeping is so very important. All of this is very unfortunate since it is a really beautiful spot and if Housekeeping were better I would have loved to come back and recommend the W. January 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful property, lovely stay My family of four had a fantastic six-night stay with SPG points for Spring Break. We were assigned an ocean-view room with two queens, just steps from the main pool. The grounds, facilities and rooms are beautiful, well-kept, and convey a unique island charm. As we had heard from other reviews, it seems that developing a strong pool of service staff is a challenge for the hotel (it is the only full-service resport on the island). Yet, while we experienced a few service-related issues, they were quickly and satisfactorily remedied by the excellent management team. Will will absolutely be back to enjoy the gorgeous views, the grazing whild horses, the balmy breezes, and the delicious passionfruit cocktails. April 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not quite up to standards I booked the W expecting to be blown away, but most of the stay was a disappointment. It met the basics of a beach resort hotel, but did not live up to 4 or 5 star standards. During our 3 night stay a large wedding party owned the property with almost all of their functions being held in the pool area rendering it unusable for other guests. The housekeeping was atrocious for a high scale resort and there was not much of an SPG platinum benefit. They are very clear that there is no early check in and no late check outs allowed (in fact on check out day our phone randomly rang once every 30 minutes starting at 8am, hint hint). The room upgrade was the bare minimum. There was also a touch of attitude we experienced throughout the stay, that mixed with the obnoxious crowd left a bad taste in our mouths...too bad, I really wanted to love it. On the positive side we had one great dinner experience and absolutely loved the island. My advise is to get out on the island and spend as little time at the W as possible. August 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Spectacular views; resort shortcomings The public areas of the retreat are lovely. For the high price, the guest rooms are poorly lit, not warm, and not well designed. The concrete like grey floors were not very clean. Generally, the service was mediocre, but as more guests came, the pool service became horrible. We noted a bit of an uprising by several different guests the day of departure - complaints about poor service. The place could be fantastic if you want to be in an isolated, chill spot, but SPG needs to train staff better. Even though not many guests, the Spa did not have anyone available to do a manicure. February 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Getaway The W hotel is a great for a getaway vacation. The hotel grounds are outstanding so if you want to relax by the pool or firepit and get away from it all then this is the place to go. I would recommend getting off the property to go to better beaches on the south side of the island and definitely go on the Bio Bay tour. Taxi service is unreliable and costly since it is always $10 per person round trip to anywhere. I recommend going to dinner in Isabella for local food. Food and drinks are very expensive at the hotel but even though you are on a remote island it still seems high. November 18, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing Stay at W Vieques We had heard great reviews about the W Vieques but we were very disappointed with our recent stay - sand in the bed and hair in a bathtub when we arrived. Lost dinner reservation. Overall very disappointing experience. January 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Vieques The hotel location and access to the beach was great. As were most of the amenities. I was disappointed with attention to detail: • Upon check in light bulb not working in shower, shower hook coming off, and remote had no battery power. • Then when maintenance showed up they addressed the light bulb but had no work order for the hook … then when working on the hook left all the tools on the bathroom sink mixed in with my toiletries … not professional. • Things like the resort offered sun tan lotion for two days but couldn’t seem to find the lotion for the rest of my stay. • Had to ask twice (same day) for room cleaning … • All in all a nice stay but I expected more from a W location especially at the rates charged. April 16, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>