W Washington D.C.

  • 515 15th Street NW,
  • F St. Between 14th and 15th Street
  • Washington,
  • District of Columbia
  • 20004
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older to reserve a guest room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 460 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by great hotel overall the hotel met my expectations and the staff were very helpful. May 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place for the young and the hip Bathroom facets were lame! Acura car service is excellent. April 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was great. This hotel was the best, would stay there again for sure. June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Hotel Love that we can take bottle waters for the day October 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by You can almost touch the white house Amazing view from the roof top. Always a good party. July 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent The bed is very confortable. And the view amazing. March 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience The accommodations and the staff are exceptional! June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features Great location, great decor, great service. October 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay at the W on Sun Oct 6 Great experience - would come back again. October 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Special location great staff Very pleasant and professional start to finish August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cool hotel was nice stay , thanks for late check out . December 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Washington Great location. Great Food. Great service. February 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location location extremely comvenient to business April 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location & helpful staff Staff was very helpful during our stay! March 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is such a comfort I felt so at home. I will be back. April 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This was our / my first W stay, overall i'd say very disappointed versus my expectations overall visit was disappointing May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by W is the place to stay Excellent experience and hotel! March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Easter Wonderful and friendly staff. April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Front Desk Dila and Oliver are great. August 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by High on Design, A Bit Less on Comfort OVERALL IMPRESSION: Very positive interactions with every member of the staff we encountered made for a very personal and pleasant stay. I would cite, in particular, our “ambassador” Mustapha and our concierge, “Kim” who both went above-and-beyond. SPG RECOGNITION: It was New Years Eve so I am willing to cut slack on this one. We applied for a Suite Award upgrade but were not successful. As it was, we received a one category upgrade. The Breakfast amenity was for a continental in the restaurant. The space was beautiful, the breakfast OK. THE ROOM: Tiny with a correspondingly tiny bathroom (no tub/single basin/no toilet compartment). LOCATION: As good as it gets in DC. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: The design and decor of the public spaces was exceptional - even for a W! I love how reminders of the hotel’s important history as the former Hotel Washington were integrated into the new design scheme - like the old reception “cage” on the ground floor, the funky portraits of Presidents and the Washington silhouette lamp in the guest rooms. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: The room (“Spectacular” category) was very small and cramped. The light-colored shag carpeting was not only naff but filthy and made me feel uncomfortable about the cleanliness of the room in general - unfounded or not. January 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice hotel, but guest service needs improved I like staying at this hotel. Stay here on a regular basis each time I'm in DC. However this particular stay I was dissatisfied with the guest services. Upon check in, my SPG platinum wasn't ackowledged and they proceeded to give me keys for a standard room without even asking about which amenity I would like. So then I said, do you have a upgrade, so he went back and checked and said this is best room they have in my category. There are only suites left. So I said, well I am platinum and entitled to suite upgrades. So he had to check with someone else. The next person came and after a few seconds then told me, all the suites were booked, but they have a fabulous to put me in, right under the suite. I said, ok fine if that's all you have. Still wondering how they are sold out on a cold DC sunday. After handing my keys to me, the same guy went to next desk to help another guest and over heard him talking to him about the cost to upgrade his room to a suite, which he would give him for $300 instead of the normal $600. At that point I said to myself, you just sat here and told me all the suites were booked, but yet now you are "selling" and upgrade to someone else after you told me there were non. That is unacceptable customer services to a platinum member and a repeat guest at this particular hotel. January 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service! We were coming up to DC for just one night and wanted a hotel that was located near the White House, with easy access to great food and museums. We checked in a bit early, and were pleasantly surprised both rooms were ready. The check in process was seamless and quick. We were greated by a hotel Ambassador who escorted us to our rooms, and explained the features in them. He gave us a detailed overview of dining options both within the hotel and nearby. I wish I had memorized his name - because his brief tour and welcome was one of the best parts of our stay. The rooms were wonderful. High ceilings make them seem more spacious than they are, and the attention to detail made them comfortable and warm. W decor and styling is more modern than most, but that the historic grandeur of this particular property was incorporated nicely. The Lincoln nightlight was a nice touch ! Our kids got a kick out of the various lighting options, and the multiple movie options as well. We had a great view of the South Lawn and National Christmas Tree from both rooms. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and well dressed. We spent most of our time away from the hotel, as we had limited time on this visit. We were very impressed by the service we received from the staff at each encounter, and hope to return in the near future to try the restaurant and spa. A+ January 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful staff My family actually stayed in the W Washington DC twice within a two week period. Both times there were issues which could have clouded our stay. However, due to the attentiveness of the W staff, both of our stays met high expectations. I feel that in both situations, staff members went above and beyond what was expected. Pros The bed was beyond heavenly in comfort. The modern decor is relaxing. Everyone we encountered greeted us and was friendly. Location is central. There are several great restaurants within walking distance. There are good shopping opportunities close to the hotel and within walking distance. Metro Central is a block away. You can get anywhere in DC easily. The Acura experience was great and helped with transportation. Staff member Kathryn actually came to my room to address an issue. Cons Housekeeping isn't wonderful. Our bathroom floor had lots of little hairs upon arrival. I mentioned it to housekeeping, nothing was done. Once I contacted the Anytime/Anywhere staff, the problem was promptly taken care of. The rooms near the elevator are noisy when the elevator is going up and down. Interior rooms have a view of a brick wall and a boiler. The hotel is crowded on the weekends. The club is in full swing. Entering and exiting the hotel can be difficult when the club is in full swing. Overall, it is an older hotel; however, I would not hesitate to stay at this property in the future. March 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great restaurant can't make up for terrible room and customer service We chose this hotel for a romantic weekend because of the location and the wonderful roof-top lounge/restaurant. We're huge Starwood Hotels fans (and Gold SPG level) but were very disappointed by this W hotel. We reserved the room well in advance, using points, and requested a room on a high floor with a good view. The night before check-in, we noticed that somehow our reservation had been changed (not by us!) to specify an "accessible" room. When we checked in, we were assigned a low-floor, inside "accessible" room with no view despite our immediate request not to be booked into one - in fact, the only window was covered with frosted glass to hide the HVAC equipment. The only words to describe the room are "weird" and "depressing". The bathroom door would not close completely, there was no door on the shower, everything was placed much lower than normal, and the lighting was extremely dim throughout, including at the sink, where lighting is important. We asked twice more for another room, offering to pay to upgrade, and were told by the same receptionist who checked us in that the hotel was full (although we checked in at 11 a.m.) and that there was no other option - not even offering to wait-list us in case a room opened up. We will never return to this hotel because of this experience and the remarkably low level of customer service (which has definitely created an unfavorable impression of W hotels!) April 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Valet Issues The hotel was good as always however I had an issue with the valet company this hotel hire to run parking. Me and my production crew (BET) had a 6am call time and when went downstairs to get our car from valet @ 5am one of the valet workers said his co-worker was down in the garage with the "only" key to get in and out of garage. He said he was down their for at least an hour from the time we arrived and he didn't come from the garage until 6:04am. He ended up coming out of the garage being driven by a female in a large SUV. We can only assume what he was doing for the two hours but me and my crew were late to our shoot and had to pay overtime for the rest of our crew because we wasn't able to start on time. About 5 Delta Sorority members were also late for their engagements that morning. Luckily they were able to take a taxi to save time but we had equipment in our truck so we couldn't leave without our vehicle. The W. Hotel service was good but I didn't like how the hotel handled the situation. I feel if you hire a company then they are your responsibility and the hotel wasn't willing to take that responsibility. I had to pretty much beg the valet supervisor to provide his company info, this is something the hotel should have and should have been able to provide. I will say that if I or anyone from my company (BET) have a rental car I will avoid staying at this hotel. To make it even worst the next morning it took the valet 30 minutes to find my keys!! On another note the Fitness Center is too small and need a variety of machines. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW I was upgraded to a wow suite, and that is exactly what it was! I was with my two girls, and they went crazy when they saw the room. I have stayed at a five star, one bedroom suite before, but this was by far the coolest decorated! I felt like a rock star! Loved the bathrooms, and all the bliss products. The staff was warm, friendly, and fun. My make-up case ended up in lost in found, and I ended up talking to staff while waiting for security. Then, security accidently broke the top of it when he took it out of the plastic wrap. I told them it was a free case that came with the Elemis products I bought, and we had a good laugh. Poor man looked horrified at first, and I don't think he could do more than a nervous smile, even after I made fun of it. Excellent fitness center for any level. Couldn't see anything missing; they even had foam rollers, which top athletes use to warm up. Breakfast service was very nice. I liked the convenience of having a check list of choices and times, and they picked it up outside the doorknob after 1 am. Service was on time in the morning, and the waiter was 5 star. Before leaving, I looked behind the bed. There was a compartment that had a xxx booklet, which I threw away. I don't believe it was part of the wow amenities. When I checked out, I couldn't say anything about it, because I felt I was going to say something embarrassing, so I ended up telling about the bath needing to be caulked again (it's was unnoticeable unless you are soaking in the tub, but I'm sure it's fixed now). Best hotel stay ever! July 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best hotel stay of my life! I spent only one night (that's my biggest regret) at this property before transferring to a conference hotel for work the following day. I arrived late at night and was upgraded to a WOW suite. As you'll read from others, WOW is exactly what comes out of your mouth when you enter this room. I watched the NFL playoffs on the big screen TV while ordering room service and awoke to the President's marching band rehearsing for the inauguration right outside my window. The location could not be better if you are interested in seeing the sights. I had a few hours before work and went for a run around the National Mall and back up to the White House. I feel like I saw everything within steps from the front door. Time well spent. I stay in hotels frequently and I almost always forget about them. This stay was different. I was treated like royalty from the moment I walked in the door. The staff was helpful, friendly, and generous. In fact, I was not entirely loyal to one brand over another until this stay. Since then, I've vowed to stay at Starwood hotels whenever possible because of this singular experience. I can't say enough about the impact this short trip made on me. It set the tone for my entire conference. It set me up for success. That night, I was not just another guest... I was "somebody special." I'll be coming back with my entire family in a few months. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Look no further than the W Washington DC for your next stay. Regardless of the room, you won't be disappointed. Thank you to the incredible staff. This was beyond words... Your management should be very proud. July 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by So Much Potential But "Where's the Execution?! I will start on a positive note. Arrived and was upgraded to a lovely suite. Went to dinner in the Wine Bar where where an amazing bartender- shame on me for not getting his name- noticed I barely touched the organic chicken that had sounded so good but not tasted that great. He offered an optional entree- the seared Cod which was phenomenal and a complimentary glass of wine. This is what I expect when staying at the W as a Platinum mmeber who spends over 40 weeks per year in SPG properties. What was very disappointing was the Whatever/Whenever program in DC. Having been at the W in London just a few months ago- I suggest you do some cross-training to learn a few basics like... DO NOT send an email to a guest offering to help arrange events or dinner if you have no intention of executing. I thought I would arrive and have suggestions and/or reservations that I had asked for only to discover that no one apparently read my response and I was on my own. Next my big hope was for a massage. Long week- a little TLC would be appreciated. Called the spa- got vm. Tried the web booking- apparently no services were available on March 14th. Big bummer for me. When I stopped at the W/W desk, I was told the woman attending the desk would check on the possibility of getting into the spa for me since I couldn't get through on the phone. I never heard back. So, as long as you are independent and don't expect or need help from the concierge the rooms are lovely, and the hotel has a nice atmosphere. If you are a celebrity or politician I'm sure you will have everything you need- the everyday platinum business person is apparently just the bread and butter- a necessary evil to help fund the ego of DC. I would go back to London in a heartbeat- DC will have to win me back and prove you do care about customer satisfaction and the average business person. March 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lots of glitz - little substance I know W Hotels are known for their boutique feel and exceptional service... However, this trip was a bit of a disappointment. The hotel has an exceptional aesthetic - truly beautiful mix of modern design, contemporary art, and classic DC architecture. The downside? 1. Rude staff (I don't think I've ever waited so long to be checked in while the front desk chatted up a client - only be hastily rushed out of the way to serve the next client. The check-in process is in desperate need of a revamp – you can’t have guests blocking the hallway waiting in line unless you want them to feel like they are blocking hotel operations and like they’re more of a nuisance than a welcomed guest. If the architecture of the space doesn’t allow for a redesign, that’s fine -- just welcome them with the Friday glass of champagne while they wait in line… or, staff the three desks instead of two and have some sort of organization. The saving grace for the staff – one bell hop! I wish I caught his name, but he was unbelievably nice, well-mannered, and helpful) 2. The rooms are pretty small – but it’s old DC architecture so what can you expect? I was okay with this – they were beautifully designed and well decorated 3. Club Scene – It’s a W.. I was expecting a club/lounge vibe and was very open to it; looking forward to it even! What I wasn’t expecting was a bouncer who proceeded to rotate me to the rooftop elevator line even after I showed him my room key (which he thought was a license??). Only when I asked for a second time. “Even though I’m a guest and I want to go to my room,” did he note his mistake – he obviously didn’t feel it was necessary to offer an apology – a little uncomfortable. When I made it to the roof deck later that night, I ordered a cocktail from an extremely rude bartender who spilled my drink all over the bar – what was left was tasty.. but then again how to you mess up prosecco and st. germain? Finally, I get it – people get tipsy and order room service at 3 AM – by check out the next day, it may be worth removing the trays from the hallways… you know so guests don’t have to step over stale french fries on the way to the elevator. Even after some trays were picked up, the food remained.. gross. Overall, in my opinion, this hotel was overrated, overpriced, but had potential. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful experience My husband and I recently stayed at the W hotel in Washington because of its close proximity to where my office holiday party was being held. We received an e-mail before our arrival from the hotel confirming our reservation and asking if there was anything the they could do for us during our stay. I requested a reservation with their Acura Experience driver so that we could be dropped off at the party. This was handled smoothly and efficiently. When we arrived at the hotel, which was beautifully decorated for the holiday season, we were greeted at the front desk pleasantly and enthusiastically by Kyle. Kyle upgraded us to a spectacular room from a wonderful room (with options for the 4th or 9th floor – with explanation that the night club above the 9th floor gets loud on weekends in order to assist in our decision), offered us a late check-out time, provided us with a drink ticket and presented us with glasses of champagne to enjoy right then. Once we arrived at our room, we noticed it was on the small side which was not a surprise as the description on the website states how large the rooms are, but that it was well appointed. As we were hanging around and getting ready for our party, I did notice that the one flaw was that the walls are a bit thin as I could hear the people in the room adjacent to our talking. I could not make out exactly what they were saying, but I, also, wasn’t trying. Once I turned on the television this became a non-entity. My husband had forgotten a shoe horn and requested one from guest services and received courteous and efficient service. We left our hotel room at our appointed time to meet our driver and experience the Acura Experience. The car was gorgeous and our driver very pleasant. After our party, we arrived back to our hotel room to find that “neighbors” were smoking (a, not at this time, legal substance) in their room. Now, while to each their own, it wasn’t just in their room, nor the hallway, but pretty prevelant in our room. After my husband tried to speak with them and was rudely rebuffed, I did call down to the front desk to make a complaint. Within minutes of my call, security was at their door and speaking with them and, I believe, the hotel activated something to help clear the air. When we checked out, we were offered sincere apologies for the incident and I have since received an e-mail addressing and also apologizing for the situation. Very professionally and well-handled by the hotel and its staff. Overall, we had a wonderful time and would definitely consider staying at this hotel again. December 5, 2012
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 next>>