W Washington D.C.

  • 515 15th Street NW,
  • F St. Between 14th and 15th Street
  • Washington,
  • District of Columbia
  • 20004
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 515 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by COMBINATION OF COOL AND LUXURY GREAT property in the heart of DC. While the room was small, the W has done an incredible job of making it both luxurious and cool. Really enjoyed this aspect of the hotel. Also, the vibe in the hotel is extremely cool and energetic and most staff very accomadating. Finally, the Roof Top bar has incredible views of the Washington monument and the White House. On the "needs improvement" side of things, while I understand that the W strives for the hip factor, the attituude of some of the rof top personnel, especially the host and a tall bartender with dark hair, was completely unacceptable. Both were standoff-ish and rude to me and my guest. All in all, a wonderful property but if I was King for a Day, there would be some personnel changes made at the Roof Top lounge. October 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extraordinary Stay The W offered even more than we expected. The room was beautiful, quiet, and very comfortable. We were delighted with room service, it was prompt and the food delicious. The W staff was very professional, courteous and accommodating. It was a pleasure staying at the W. September 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs updating This hotel is in a great location. Unfortunately the prime location is not providing prime Comfort. The carpet in our room looked like it was in a high traffic area all throughout the room, especially in the entry. It looked as though it had never been clean. The area between the bed & the dresser looked brand new, which magnified the wear & tear of the other carpet. The housekeeping manager came to see it and stated it was scheduled to be replaced the next day along with a few others. How convenient? September 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Boutiquey small Room design is small and cramped. Focus was clearly on trying to make a tiny room seem hip but the net result was a sense of claustrophobia. Having a sink in the main room as opposed to separated in an actual bathroom gives a hostel like sensation.Great staff however. September 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Classic and Modern all in one The hotel is just beautiful! It's a classic/historic building and has been decorated with modern touches. The staff do everything a guest could ask for and went beyond what anyone could have expected for me. I will definitely stay here again. September 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed Room was extremely small, bathroom was functional but not to my liking at all. Our room keys stopped working the morning of our departure and we had to wait for 10-15 minutes to be let into our room. We were charged $30.32 for "munches" we did not consume. The hotel has no warmth and did not meet my expectations. The location is excellent. September 19, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 Not my cup of tea! Tea is symptomatic of my problems with this hotel, which is elegant, but not at all to my taste. More on the tea later. I was at the hotel for three week nights, on a government rate. This was my fifth overnight trip for the government, and the first where breakfast was not provided. In effect, breakfast was not available, since room service breakfast was obscenely expensive, and the dining room didn't open until 7 am, and offered no buffet. That's far too late to be of use for someone who had to be at his Washington office by 8 am. Luckily, there was a deli 2 blocks away that opened at 6:30, and had a by-the-pound buffet. I had delicious food for $6, or about 10% of what it would have cost in the hotel. The receptionist at check-in told me that the average breakfast was $40 to $50 per person, or more than I spent on dinners. The room was quirky. I was assigned a 3rd floor room, but asked for and was given a 9th floor room that was not under the roof top bar. The bed was, fabulous (although it was about 6 inches off center); but that sleep benefit was partially offset by the paper thin walls which let in lots of noise. The light switches were odd, particularly the "Washington lamp", and I had to call the front desk to figure out how to work them. My biggest problem was the bathroom, which was sleek and modern, and not at all to my taste. The weather was very hot, and I missed having a tub or swimming pool in which I could immerse my sweaty body. One couple found the see through bathroom wall sexy. I found it annoying. The shower itself was lovely, but I need a bath tub in order to enjoy a hotel stay. I felt that the staff was helpful, but they couldn't make up for the feeling that there was a hand in my pocket at all times. The rooms had mini bars. A friend of mine who is kosher asked to have the contents of the mini bar taken out, so she could put some kosher food in the refrigerator. She was told that there would be a $50 charge to do so. Most hotels waive the internet charge for government workers, or have no charge. Here it was about $12 a day. Someone who ordered fruit and yogurt from room service (for her, as well as me, 7 am was too late for breakfast) was charged $19. The guest internet on the mezzanine was $6.95 for 15 minutes, the first time I've ever seen such a charge in a US hotel (although it's common in Europe). As for laundry, the prices were a sick joke. I mentioned to my wife that " it will probably cost $7 to $10 dollars to wash my sweaty shirt", then found that the charge would have been $14. Who pays such prices? This luxury hotel is, in many ways, the opposite of my favorite luxury cruise line, Regent, where everything is included - tips, drinks, specialty restaurants, and even excursions. The roof top bar has a wonderful view; but it was about 90 degrees out, and the bar was outdoors. They can convert it into a glassed in bar, but chose not to do so. It was so hot that I retreated back into the air conditioning. Based on what I've read about drink prices, that was probably a good idea. Now for the tea. I carry my own tea bags, and I wasn't about to pay more than $10, including service charges, for a cup of hot water in my room. The hotel lobby has coffee starting at 6 am, but no decaf, and no hot water or tea bags. On my first morning, I asked for hot water for tea. That took more than 5 minutes, since the kitchen apparently wasn't ready for such a request. By the time I got the hot water, brewed the tea, and drank it, 15 minutes had elapsed, and it was still too early for the restaurant. I went caffeine free for the rest of my trip, which was not good for someone in meetings all day. Yawn! A luxury hotel should do much better than this. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 This hotel is FABULOUS!!! Met with champagne on arrival which, after a tiring journey, was very well received. Our room was lovely and the staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful in every way. The rooftop bar was lovely and whilst it was busy with people not staying there, we were allowed to queue jump as we were resident and so that was a nice touch. I would absolutely love to stay at the W again next time I come to Washington and would recommend it to anyone. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular Stay I'll keep this short and sweet -- it was Wonderful -I'm probably spoiled keing a platinum lifetime member but it far exceeded my expectations on so many fronts -- I found the bar and restaurant pricinig to be reasonable, the rooms were great, and if you're looking for Monument adjacent, you can't do better --- access to Dupont circle, etc is also very good. September 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by W DC is refreshingly cool, hip, and low key I stayed at this hotel for a quick weekend stay. With its great location and excellent facilities, there's not much to not like. The lobby is beautiful with lounge and cocktail bar. A dee jay starts spinning around dinner so it livens up. The POV bar has breathtaking views of the White house and the Washinton Monument(the night view is even better). The outdoor dining is nice at POV or the steakhouse. (overall food quality is good. I would add there are much better food options close by). The POV nightclub is small and with the VIP taking up half the room it feels like a house party with a guestlist September 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel and great location I came into town Sunday evening for a meeting early Monday morning, and choose this hotel due to its location to my meeting. Check-in was quick and efficient. The woman at the front desk welcomed me, explained the differences in the hotel bars and restaurants and where everything was. She gave a double look and offered me a couple options for my Gold Upgrade, and then walked me to the elevator. The entire process gave me more information and took less time than check-ins at most other hotels. The roomm was nice, well appointed, but small. The windows opened to a lovely view. I did notice that there were some things (like a corkscrew and extra towels) missing from the room, but that did not matter to me. The front desk recommended the Old Ebbitt Grill, 1 block up 15th street for a late dinner and drinks. GREAT choice! Was much cheaper than the hotel restaurants, and the food and atmosphere was great. I will eat there again on my next visit to DC. I also had drinks in the rooftop terrace, POV. I found it to be overpriced, but the view is something every visitor should at least check out. I also had a late lunch there after my meeting and before leaving for the airport. Again, it was a bit expensive for the portion sizes, but food was delicious. Check-out was also easy and efficient. I recieved my emailed bill the next morning, and amazingly, no erroneous charges that are so common with Starwood Hotels. This is an old historic hotel renovated to the W Style. Despite the "old" features of the hotel, it is still very clean and in good working order. I know that can be difficult to perfect. This is an A+ property. It was the best experience I have had in a Starwood Hotel September 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded my expectations From reading other reviews, we were expecting a small room, but with luxurious facilities. However to our surprise, our room was quite spacious! We had 2 queen beds with plenty of room to spare. The bathroom was not cramped and the shower was wonderful and could fit 2 adults easily. The service was excellent, as would be expected, but it should be mentioned. Our room was not ready at check-in, so the front desk gave us complimentary drinks at the bar while we waited. The rooftop lounge looked nice, but unfortunately as we have small kids, we couldn't enjoy it at night. The location is great as it overlooks the White House and is walking distance to the Washington Monument. Overall, we're very impressed and glad we chose the W for our stay. September 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by First TIme to W in DC I am a frequent SPG hotel stayer and have stayed in mutiple W locations around the US. Typically, I travel for business, but this last trip to DC was for pleasure. The hotel's rooftop lounge is a beautiful enhancement to the hotel (had lunch there the first day), but proved to be a complete nuisance during the evening. When returning to the hotel, my family and I waited for almost 20 minutes to get to our room due to the line for the club. The woman controlled the flow of guests told us we needed to wait for the single elevator to the left. This also occured our next night as we waited for 15 mins. September 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Noisy Had a terrible stay. Actually left in the middle of the night it was so noisy. Room walls are paper thin. The staff was not helpful with the problem. If you are going to DC to party late into the night, this is your hotel. Otherwise, I'd stay away September 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good overall experience Booked our room this past Wednesday for Labor Day weekend. Found the overall experience to be pleasant. Staff was very attentive and overall hotel was presentable (as the W should be) The only caveats I have were that: 1. Our bedsheets had yellow stains in them 2. We were treated rudely when going to the POV Lounge/Rooftop Being a hotel guest (and a Starwood Hotel employee family member), I would expect nothing but the best from any Starwood Hotel, especially coming from the W. Overall, I would probably come back again (keeping what I said in mind) September 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous hotel Absolutely gorgeous hotel right in the heart of all the sights. Amazingly friendly staff -- from the door man to the room service staff, the service was top notch. So pleased with everything, would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting DC. August 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by W does it again! From kind staff to amazing decor this is one the top of the list for hotels to stay at in DC. The location is phenomenal. To visit the lobby is like visiting a monument. I must have taken 20 photos of the unique decor! August 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointing stay I am a frequent business traveler and SPG member for many years. I would never stay here again nor recommend this hotel to anyone. It is definitely not on a par with other hotels. Decor cheap and garish. Halls painted black, dark, elevators slow. Room had filthy carpet, Bath very poor design and dirty; toilet with black mold under rim. Shower door design allows water to leak out all over floor. Bathroom door does not shut completely by design; no privacy. Only 6 hangars in the closet. Electrical outlets inconvenient; room not tech friendly. No coffeepot. Definitely not worth price despite location and rooftop view. This was for a special event; our son received an award at the Pentagon Friday. He had a choice between the W and another excellent hotel close by. We all wish that we had not stayed at the W and chosen the other. We will also be informing the govenment travel agent of our diappointment. Also asking questions in sections 3,5, in this survey that are redundant. You have information in the confirmation. August 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hip and practical The W has a good location for both business and leisure travelers. At check-in and check-out, the staff was friendly but neither process was efficient or streamlined. Room comfort is good, wake-up call came exactly as requested, and the shower in the bathroom is excellent. Some may consider the room cramped. I was traveling solo and it was fine for just one person. The rooftop bar has a beautiful view, but I found it both annoying and insulting that there was no table service for drinks (you only get table service if you want to order a bottle). I don't like having to fight my way through a crowd for the privilege of paying outrageous sums for measly-sized drinks. August 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! We enjoyed our stay! Were in for a night only and would have stayed longer. Staff was very friendly, accomodating and capable. As SPG member I was greeted with appreciation for loyalty. Roof top bar is a must see/do while in DC. August 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Superb Location! Stayed just a couple days on a business trip, so did not utilize much of the hotel amenities. Gorgeous terrace, fine features, and great location in the heart of downtown DC. August 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by You can almost touch the white house Amazing view from the roof top. Always a good party. July 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home away from home The W Washington is one of the nicest Ws I've stayed at.  It is a relatively small hotel, and that probably makes it so special and welcoming. I stayed there with my husband for a whole week in July 2012 and we had a wonderful stay.  All the staff was very friendly and professional; there was always someone at hand whenever I needed anything.  The position of the W Washington can't be beaten: literally steps away from the white house and the national mall, and very well served by public transport.  I made daily use of the Acura experience too: complimentary rides anywhere in the city between 12 and 8 pm.  It's a very comfortable service which beats any taxi in town. The car is extremely comfortable, the drivers  very skilled and professional.  The lobby of the hotel is quite stunning, with bold and stylish furniture, a good bar, and great music appropriate for the time of day.  From the lobby one can walk into JG steakhouse, where in the summer you can eat in the patio outside. I had lunch there twice and it was very good.  I had booked the least expensive room with spg points; at check in I was upgraded to a better room, same size but with a view on F Street and the Treasury department.  The room was a bit on the small size, but in fact very comfortable. I spent a lot of time working in my room and while I had to keep my stuff well organized because there wasn't a lot of space on the desk, I also had anything I needed at hand. Plenty of sockets to connect all the chargers and devices, and the wifi connection is extremely fast. You can't work or sit with two people in the room, but for one person even the small rooms are ok.  The bathroom was perfect - shower only but very large and comfortable. The sink doesn't have a lot of water pressure but it's overall ok.  The p.o.v. bar is worth going - an amazing view of the Monument and the white house, a great place to chill out in the evening and a perfectly relaxing place to have lunch.  Overall it was a wonderful stay, the hotel is such a beauty, and the staff make it really special. When I returned at the hotel after dinner, I was greeted at the door with "Welcome back home" - and indeed, that was the feeling I had during my stay at the W Washington.  July 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wedding blues Though forewarned about difficulties, we booked our wedding party here and are now sorry to have done so. The staff were unable or unwilling to get the bridal suite available in a timely fashion, and when we were finally able to get in, the lights didn't work, there was no hot water for two nights and a used condom was found underneath the bed (yuck!!) A minor adjustment was made to the bill, but not enough to persuade me to ever return or recommend to others. July 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Washington Very nice stay - I like the clean minimalist decor and yes even the translucent shower. I will return. $50 valet parking is probably the highest in all of Washington. Why? Not clear. But easy to find a garage for half the price nearby on G street so not a biggie. July 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs Improvement The location is ideal, front desk staff was wonderful and the complimentary Acura service was very convenient as always. Unfortunately, the room was dark, small and most likely a closet at some point. The majority of staff in the Living Room and POV (rooftop terrace) were rude, inattentive and in desperate need of a customer service crash course. Overall, it was not the W experience I have come to expect. I look forward to my stay at one of the many other Starwood properties in the DC area when I return. July 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by FIrst and last W experience As an SPG Gold memebr for the past 5 years, this is the worst hotel I've stayed in. I was brushed aside at check in, compared to the usual warm and appreciative greeting. My "upgrade" was a low floor across from the elevator with barely any view. Quite the opposite of what Ihave recieved everywhere else. The door staff was awesome. Housekeeping did a good job and left plenty of Bliss supplies. July 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by First DC visit... The W DC is in a great location for site seeing and the staff is very accomodating. Some of the room layouts are strange (clothes closet in bathroom) but the rooms are nice. I did have a problem with phone reception on my mobile in my room as well as the wifi reception for my laptop. Overall a great place to stay. July 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel with nice location I feel very good during my stay in W DC together with my familiies. The staff is very helpful and gave me a lot suggestions for the planning during the days. July 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by "W"onderful!!!!! What a stunning hotel with a staff to match!!! Overly attentive and catered to our every need! The room was plush and cozy and we had everything at our fingertips! Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone! The location can't be beat!!! Doesn't get any better!! July 10, 2012
  • 2015-10-06T07:50:48.271-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_515, tr_515
  • loc_en_US, sid_3279, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 next>>