W New York

  • 541 Lexington Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10022
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 828 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Should've been better No room upgrade (3rd straight Platinum year) even when my coworker got one. No towels in room until second request. July 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Staff Needs Work I was actually very disappointed given this was my first stay at a W Hotel. Around 2AM I brought take out back to my room and realized that the vendor did not include utensils with my order. I took the elevator down to the lobby to grab a set of utensils from the restaurant when the front desk stopped me and offered to send a set to my room. I said "okay" and waited in my room for 30 minutes without anyone showing up, finally frustrated I went down to the lobby and grabbed a set of utensils from the restaurant. Oh, and when I made the hotel manager aware of the situation, he did NOTHING. Only offered his apologies. July 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expected more from a W I am a Gold SPG and was disappointed by the overall experience. Location is good, and the small room is totally understandable (hey, this is NY!), food was good, but service really needs improvement. No SPG recognition, Wi-Fi is horrible (you have signal only if you stay close to the door, and had to spend 30 mins with an assistant as I couldn't log in), and service is poor. Expect 10-15 minutes before front desk answers your call, and housekeeping is sloppy (I found a rubber glove laying on my sink returning from work... had to call 3 times and wait 40 mins before someone picked it up). I've been to many SPG hotels and expected much more from the W in New York. July 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service Excellent service from all the staff at W Times Square, starting from the doorman all the way to the chambermaids. The welcome chocolates from the manager and the upgrade to a Fantastic Suite in lieu of my half-month stay was very welcoming. I really appreciated the recognition of the Platinum status here. The room had a decent view of one side of Times Square. Probably a decent pick for those with families and for NYC first-timers. July 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rude Staff I know check-in is 3pm, but many business travelers arrive prior to that time, and many hotel chains accommodate their needs early. My company is a large customer, and we've got early check-in services with other major hotel chains. When I arrived at noon, I was told I'd have a room in one hour. No big deal. At one hour, I checked at the desk, and the person there told me check-in was 3pm. Ok, I get that, but I was told it would be one hour. I mentioned that to the man at the desk, and his response was "check-in is 3pm". Rude. I went back and waited... at 2pm I asked again, and the new person at the desk said "sure, your room has been ready". I asked why they didn't call me, as they said they would when they asked me for my phone number. Strange. Poor coordination. Day of check out... knocking on my door at 8am by the cleaning staff. I mentioned I would be working from my room until check-out at noon. 9am-ish.. another knock on the door. Same deal, cleaning staff wanted to know when I would be leaving. At 10:30, someone started to enter my room. I stopped them, it was cleaning staff once again. Very poor customer service situation. Room was tiny, and no where to set up an ironing board, and no where to plug in an iron. Not even enough room to move around the bed with the desk chair under the desk. Very crammed. Overall bad experience for a seasoned business traveler. July 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible, horrible staff I had my wedding in New York in June, and had the worst experience with the W. First of all, we paid for a Spectacular room, and got the smallest Spectacular ever. The W gave complimentary upgrades to three other groups in our party - (from a Cozy to wonderful, and two Cozys to Spectaculars) - and the Spectaculars they gave the other two groups were almost twice the size of mine - and I was the bride! We demanded that they change our room (it was too tiny to have a bride and her bridesmaids help her get ready in), and they told us they had no other bigger spectacular rooms available -which was a lie because my sister got a complimentary upgrade to a spectacular almost twice the size of mine. The manager, Trevor, was incredibly rude in dealing with this room situation - didn't care that I was the bride getting married the next day, and that I had brought all this business to their establishment. After demanding it, they finally grudgingly agreed to reduce the rate that we were paying - but it was ridiculous that we had to fight with them for an hour to get this. Of course the next day, we found out that the rate had NOT been reduced...my now husband had to call and call the entire morning to try to get a hold of Trevor or a manager to get them to adjust - they were completely unresponsive, or were deliberately avoiding us altogether. Eventually we got the rate adjusted but it took so much to get them to honor what they agreed to do. So ridiculous. I also booked two complimentary cars for the day of the wedding to take us to the venue - then come to find out on the day of, they lost the reservations. Perfect...considering I had just booked it the day before. My husband is a Gold SPG member, and we were incredibly disappointed by how rude the staff is - how unaccomodating, especially to a bride and groom (when they upgraded three other rooms and wouldn't upgrade us is an absolute outrage). The staff is horrible. July 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellant Staff We recently stayed at this hotel to celebrate an anniversary and two 60th birthdays. David, of the whenever/whatever staff went way over the top in being the most gracious host and ensuring that we had absolutley everything we needed to make this a memorable vacation. Thank you, thank you, thank you David. You are amazing and quite an asset to this hotel!! July 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Stellar! I have been to this hotel quite a bit and always it has been fantastic. Your front desk staff specifically Sami goes out of their way to ensure you are completely satisfied. See you again soon. June 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by W Should Improve Existing Hotels Instead of Expanding Starting with the front desk experience I should have known it wouldn't get any better. The woman who checked us in had a total attitude and was not about to meet any special requests or accommodations. When we got to our room the scent of perfume/deodorizer was so overwhelming that my husband and I instantly developed headaches. The only solution the front desk had was to send up an ionizer and told us to leave our room for an hour. The next day we informed the staff not to spray any perfume/deodorizer and we left a note for the cleaning staff. We returned to our room to find it equally as bad as the previous day. The towels were frayed and dingy in color. The room was simple in a cheap way. We also were supposed to have a queen bed and we were given a double. Considering the expense of this hotel, it did not meet my expectations. June 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Small room, a lot of improvement needed I'm SPG Platinum. When checked in, I was told I got 2-level upgrade. I had a high floor preference. I was put in 6 FL. When I got in my room, I was really surprised. The room was REALLY REALLY small. I can't imagine without 2-level upgrade, what the room would look like. And I had a view of a big "rock" (a building was a few feet from my window). Okay, I was on business, small room, no view was not a problem. But the first night, I was woke up by air condition at 4am!! I called Whenever/Wherever for help, and I was asked if I want someone to come in my room to fix it. It was 4am, I wanted more sleep! The next morning, I called, and was offered to move to another room. I was told to pack my stuff and hotel staff would move for me around 12-1pm. I came back at 6pm, checking with front desk for my new room number. It took front desk 10+ minutes to get me a new room -- no one had moved for me! This is not the kind of facility and service I would expect from W New York! June 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel for an overnight stay I stayed at the W Lexington overnight for an early meeting the next day. The rooms are not big but have everything you need for a comfortable stay. The staff was professional and welcoming. My only tip for those who are in a rush in the morning... leave extra time the elevators take forever when there is a rush. June 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing for a Category 6 hotel I travel to New York for business every week and have been systematically going to each Starwood property to find which hotel will best suit my long term needs. The W New York unfortunately does not seem to fit. I checked in on a Friday night with my wife for a weekend stay. I called in earlier and Friday and the staff was great. They found my reservation and went ahead and secured my upgrade to a fantastic suite. The recognition of status and the courtesy of securing the upgrade over the phone were greatly appreciated. I was told my room would be available at 4pm. Upon arriving around 4:30pm I was told my room was not available, but that wasn't a big issue as they gave me gym access in the interim. When I finally check into our room around 6pm, the disappointment began. The room was not properly cleaned. The fantastic suite size, layout, and furnishing were sub-par compared to similar suites at the W Times Square. Still it was a free upgrade so I did not have any grounds to complain (except for the cleanliness, which I let pass). The shower drain was clogged and the shower flooded, thus I called maintenance Friday evening to get it resolved. They said they would send someone up. I left and came back a couple of hours later with my wife who used the same shower and told me it was clogged still. I went down to the front desk and asked in person to have it resolved. The next morning we find that the drain was still clogged as the bathroom started flooding. This time I went to speak with a manager (Tim or Tom) and he was extremely apologetic. He offered free breakfast/drinks which I turned down as that wasn't my objective. Within an hour someone came to fix the issue. It is sad that at a category 6 property it takes 3 requests and an interaction with manager to get a service call addressed. That being said I am appreciative of the manager's responsiveness and professionalism. Beyond the service issue the property itself leaves much to be desired. Within our suite you can hear the plumbing of our neighboring room. The noise is so loud it wakes you up. Add that to the fact that the building itself does not insulate street noise well at all. Obviously these are issues the staff can't compensate for, but still should be noted. Upon check out I expressed my disappointment to the front desk they apologized and offered me 5000 points for my inconvenience (which I haven't seen yet). Overall I felt that for a hotel that is designated a Category 6 hotel, that it did not meet up to the expectation. June 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Checked in and checked out Room smelt like mildew, entire facility dusty not clean. Upkeep and maintenance poor. Understaffed at front desk with long wait times. Check in at 11:00pm Friday and Checked out 11:30pm Friday. Not what you would expect from a W hotel. June 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Executive Floor Management Jess, who was managing the 16th and 17th floors during my recent stay, was extremely proactive in dealing with a noisy cooling problem. Rooms were changed immediately and I was provided with an upgrade so that I could focus. Thanks to efforts like these, I continue to prefer this hotel when traveling to New York for business. June 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by They gave my suite away... I recently used a suite award night to book a room for my parents who were visiting NY for Father's Day. I recieved a confirmation a week before the visit that I would be upgraded. When i got to the hotel to check in, I was given a suite, however when I walked into the room, someone's stuff was already in there! They gave my award away! The staff was friendly and after about 20 minutes, they gave me another room, but it was a regular room - no upgrade, nothing. I was so disappointed because this was a special weekend for my parents. Not only did the entire check-in process take over 30 min (hey, time is precious) but I wasn't given what I reserved or what I was told I would receive. Poor inventory management and a terrible experience. i will give credit to the staff at the front desk - it was their fault and they couldn't do much but they seemed sorry. June 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dirty room We arrived at the hotel at check-in time and were told our room wasn't ready. Several hours later, we were told the room was ready and given our key. When we entered the room, the bed wasn't made and there were dirty sheets on the desk. The floor needed to be vacuumed. I will not be returning to this hotel next time I visit NYC. June 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by personal attention at its best !!!! I recently stayed at the W NYC Extreme WOW suite and had some specific requests to be carried out for a marriage proposal. The whatever whenever staff (David and Renee) went above and beyond for me. they showed such close attention to small details and provided such a personalized service that it made us feel like royalty. I am a "W" guest for life because of them. food was out of this world. chef made things not on the menu just for us. Renee is a God Sent. the work she did put tears to my fiancee for an over the top experience. Thank you for a memory of a life time. June 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fancy design which is very unpractical I will first list the positives: The Bed was great, the bathroom adequate,the porch fantastic. The staff did their best but were limited and response time from maintenence or housekeeping was poor. The noise in the Lobby due to the Bar and music makes talking to the front desk sometimes comical as you have to yell. There is no storage in the room besides a tiny closet with a small shelf. I stayed 9 nights and had to live all over the room with my clothing. Ridiculous. The fancy living room is so cluttered with furniture you end up bumping into it all the time. There was just no where to place my empty suitcases but in the middle of the room. The couches are cute but unpractical. It is nice to have the extra suite room but with the crazy modern design you cannot have a functional meeting in the room. I ordered a fridge after trying to use the minibar and was automatically charged it's whole contants (front desk was nice enough to trust me and credit me). I had to put the fridge under the desk as there was no place else (cluttered room) hence could not work at desk. Room service is ridiculous. I ordered one day a bowl of oatmeal and 2 glasses of orange juice for Breakfast and was charged $46 !!!! Internet speed (both wired and WIFI) is ridiculously slow. it took sometimes 8 hours to download a movie. I extended my reservation prior to arrival by 2 days. This created 2 reservations on the system which for some reason they could not be combined on the computer. I therefore spent over 25 wasted minutes checking out from my first reservation and checking in again. How stupid as I did not change rooms. The front desk kept apologizing and were very nice about it but could do nothing. Lastly the elevators are so slowly and old. Being on the 18th floor meant an endless slow elevator ride every time. June 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too small for too much money the hotel is conveniently located. the restaurant staff is very friendly, most of them have been working there for years. the rooms are very small. difficult to get a nice upgrade. cleanliness of the bathroom floor and shower is not great. June 12, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anything That Can Possibly Go Wrong, Does, at W New York Our strange W 'harrowing experience' started from the rude 'awakening' from the the door/bell man who marred our arrival at the door, reception who was indifferent in informing that there is no platinum upgrade, provided with a room containing kitchen 'odor', served with moldy cheese cake that was not removed after repeated requests even when checking out 7 nights later to being billed for mini bar items not consumed including for a non existing roll away bed! the proactive management team was notified and even though apologies were extended, all these should not have happened! being the FIRST W in new york and influenced by some good reviews earlier, its evident that the inconsistency of the ground team have benchmarked W new york to the LAST W in anyone's list if they experienced what we did. definitely thumbs down! June 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel and Service We arrived earlier and we were fortunate enough to get an upgrade and have the room earlier. The service was excellent and we had an enjoyable stay and time in New York. I was impressed with the service at the W on Lexington. I will definitely stay again! June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this W from the time that I pulled up to the entrance EVERY staff member, from the valet, guest service staff and concierge were fantastic. This was my first Stay and will not be my last. Thank you for staying true to the brand. June 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ceiling in room fell down I had a mixed stay this past time. A portion of the celing in my room fell down during my first night and luckily it did not strike the bed. But really - at this level of standard should the maintenance be so questionable that the ceiling is falling in? On the plus side the staff was excellent, especially Marian at the fornt desk - they moved me to a new room immediately and were vey helpful. So my problem is that I can highly recommend the staff but watch out for the ceiling June 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Absolutely filthy room!! BE WARNED - Stay far away from this W. It is not like any other. It has been several years since I have stayed at the W on Lexington. It has always been one of my favorites- well- at least until this last stay. I was truly shocked and disgusted by the condition of my room. All 4 of my drinking glasses and ice bucket were filthy. I could feel the dirt in the glasses when I ran my finger along the inside bottom of the glass. Additionally, the tray the glasses and bucket were sitting on was covered with dust and 2 curly hairs (GROSS!!!). When I reported this to the "whatever/whenever" desk they immediately brought clean glasses up to me. When the employee arrived with the glasses I asked him to come in so I could show him the multiple stains on the carpet, numerous black marks on all of the walls and a place on the corner of one wall where a chunk of the sheetrock was missing. He seemed very surprised by the condition and told me he would make the manager aware of the situation and to expect a phone call following up. However, I never received a call from anyone. Later that evening I began sneezing and my eyes began to tear up. That's when I discovered the multiple inches of dust built up on the top of the TV and inside the cabinet containing the mini fridge, in addition to the top of the refreshment center (yes- the same place where they are trying to sell you food was covered in dust). I want to stress that the amount of dust in these areas was not an amount that would have accumulated over a couple of days or even a couple of weeks. I venture to say it had been a couple of months since anyone from housekeeping touched these areas in the room. HONESTLY, NEVER IN MY 20+ YEARS OF STAYING IN HOTELS HAVE I EVER ENCOUNTERED A ROOM THIS FILTHY!!! Unfortunately, the list goes on and on. The fabric on the desk chair was ripped on both front corners with the padding on one of the corners completely exposed. The bathroom was beyond disgusting. The shower tile was mildewed and most of the grout for the floor tiles was black from who knows how long without a good scrubbing. The bathroom door molding was yellow- not from age but from dirt. I know this because I soaped up a bath cloth and wiped it down to reveal its true white color. I have no idea when the last time this room was adequately cleaned or when any member of the W Staff had inspected it for routine maintenance. I dare say it had been quite some time. SHAME ON THE GM FOR NOT KEEPING A MORE WATCHFUL EYE ON HIS PROPERTY AND ALSO SHAME ON THE MANAGEMENT TEAM FOR NEVER FOLLOWING UP WITH ME ESPECIALLY WHEN THE COMPLAINT WAS RELATED TO THE CONDITION OF THE ROOM! I took many pictures of the issues I have referenced in my review. I will be providing similar reviews with my pictures to substantiate my complaints on every online travel website that includes reviews and travel blog I can find. Hopefully, my actions will help others make an informed choice and prevent them from having the experience I did with this property. I also plan to lodge a formal complaint with SPG so Corporate is aware of the damage this hotel is doing to the otherwise sterling reputation of the W Hotel Chain. Run from this W- there are so many better hotels (SPG and otherwise) in NYC. June 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My MOST Favorite property Although I arrived earlier than expected, and even though the property was "sold out" the night before, Michael assisted with me obtaining, much needed rest, immediately. The room was exceptional. THANK YOU MICHAEL! I've visited this property many times over the past few years and this trip noticed there were MANY, MANY new faces receiving guests. With this, it was REALLY good to see a FEW familiar faces and to be "recognized." I LOVE the W New York!! TTS I WILL say though, that NOT being afforded FREE "WiFi" in each room, is NOT the BEST way to follow through with your "Whatever, Whenever" theme. Even though it is offered in the "Living Room" guests don't always want to come downstairs to log on to the internet. ESPECIALLY at 3am! Apart from that, good times!! June 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fantastic Suite. Noisy! We were there for 4 nts to attend a conference in the city this past Memorial Day weekend. We had just stayed at the brand new W in Hong Kong and were wowed! by that experience. Even bought some W bedding after that stay. For the W New York, we had a Fantastic Suite on the 7th floor overlooking 49th and Lexington and were impressed by the size of the room. We were not impressed by the outside noise that made it in thru the windows. Cars honking, people yelling, sometimes as late as 3am on a Saturday night. I was shocked how much noise came thru. It was as if we didn't have windows. I was also not impressed with the room AC as it was an individual unit built into the walls by the window. One in the bedroom, one in the living room. Noisy!! They reminded me of the motel rooms of my youth where you had a big, noisy AC unit hanging out the window. Also, there were heating pipes of some sort behind a metal mesh in the bathroom. The bathroom was separated from the bedroom by a flimsy sliding door that had no seal. So warm air is coming into the bedroom making the AC run all night trying to maintain a cooler temp. Crazy! The room also looked beat up with a huge slice of peeling paint in the living room and water stains on several areas of the ceiling. I couldn't help but try and figure out which hotel was here before. No luck, We got a great price for this part of town, but I would not stay at this property again. It was a big let down after having experienced the best in HKG. I like the W brand, but not this property. May 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 AWESOME Whatever/Whenever was an awesome motto....thank you for the upgrade (i heart my junior suite super......). one minor issue is that sometimes the card key to the lift is not working you have to insert it several times but everything was truly fabulous...i am glad that i stayed & chose W to spend my 30th Birthday as well as Memorial Day weekend....Perfect by the way the BLISS product are truly the best specially the shampoo and conditioner...i am actually hoarding that product at this very moment. I should have asked you guys to give me more sample....Thanks again May 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing stay ESP staff Just recently stayed at this amazing hotel that am most def coming back...the staff ESP Jason,semmye,n the whole lobby welcome team Jason I think..we're so damn near perfect n very attentive with all our needs n concerns n they were cordial despite me getting frustrated...And av been texting all my mates that wanna come to NYC to book this particular W hotel n ask for the same crew May 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel Overall this hotel was nice. Lobby had a great atmosphere. When checking in associate was very friendly and even called once we got to our room to make sure everything was ok. The room itself was smaller than what I was used to even for a hotel in NY. The room felt old with just an updated paint job. Bathroom felt even smaller, felt as if i was in the shower while going to the bathroom. Shower curtain is too short and water always leaked onto bathroom floor. As part of our reservation we where suposed to recieve two sip cards which we never recieved. These may seem like little things to some, but for the cost to spend the night in NYC everything counts. If I did decide to come back to the W I would do it for their customer service and maybe try to get a larger room. May 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location Despite the relatively small rooms, I like like this W property. The location is excellent for my purposes....and Equinox is on a few blocks away. May 28, 2012
  • 2015-11-27 T07:51:26.025-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-25, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_828, tr_828
  • loc_en_US, sid_97502, prod, sort_default
<<prev 23 24 25 26 27 ... 29 next>>