W New York

  • 541 Lexington Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10022
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room and check in.

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 682 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I have stayed here before with much better service. To be concise, the kitchen was closed at check in and I was hungry after a long cross country flight from Seattle. Once in my room I was surprised by the smaller than normal room and very surprised to find some leftover spandex workout shorts in the closet on the luggage stand. Nasty and smelled of old sweaty BO. Not what I expect out of a W hotel. May 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A NO NO NO NO W. MY MOST FAVORITE HOTEL BRAND IS THE W. I TRULY LOVE THE Ws. I never thought that I would rate a W. as unsatisfactory. It breaks my heart to write this review but I HAVE TO BE TRUTHFUL TO EVERYBODY OUT THERE WHO RELY ON HOTEL REVIEWS. I tried checking in and there was trouble FINDING my reservation and I was told that the hotel was booked to capacity-COME ON GUYS! I am very meticulous about checking all my reservations and would not take the trouble of flying from sweet old Midwest to my most favorite place in the world NEW YORK CITY without a hotel reservation. It was late in the evening and I was tired. Well then a room became available and it was assigned to me. ABSOLUTELY NO SPG RECOGNITION AND THE SPG 50-75-100 GUYS FORGET IT, ITS NOT GOING TO HAPPEN FOR YOU GUYS. Then somehow I got to my room, OH MY GOD, IT WAS TERRIBLE. The room was as small as a bathroom of many SPG hotels that I have been in.EXTREMELY CLAUSTROPHOBIC. I had my child with me and there was NO WATER IN THE ROOM. My child was THIRSTY and NO WATER WAS PROVIDED. HOTEL STAFF please have mercy on your guests, especially ones with children and provide them at least with a bottle of water. We guys work hard to attain SPG 50-75-100 status and at least deserve some water to drink. We were hungry and my child wanted the W chocolate that he is accustomed to at the other Ws but the top of the minibar was not stocked. I called the front desk without avail. Finally, I had to take my sleepy and groggy child out of the hotel and brought water and chocolate off the street in MANHATTAN. I apologize in advance to the Ws for saying this but this W is hardly a Category 6, its CATEGORY -100. Having said all the above, I would very much like to see this W improve and live up to the W reputation so that I can once gain proudly review it and say that this is one on the best Ws in NYC. Ws REMEMBER I LOVE YOU, YOU ARE THE BEST. March 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel/Great Location / Needs updates Some of the newer W's i have stated at have modern amenities such as USB Chargers for phones, iPOD doc etc. This W had none of that. There were also issues with our Key access. Overall the stay was good and the staff was accommodating. Bar service was terribly slow and the Concierge wasn't very helpful.. Good value for the money and the location is awesome. Close to subway and Grand Central July 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by W Lex - Awful This was the worst Starwood stay I have ever had. Only one elevator worked and I had a room on the 11th floor. The wait was up to 10 minutes at a time. The front desk was understaffed so the wwait there was too long. The room I had was too small as well and had a broken air conditioner. I am a loyal Starwood member, but I will never stay at this hotel again. June 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Customer Service I have EVER Recieved I used the W on Lexington for my wedding block, and also stayed there myself the night before and night of my wedding. I am an event planner in NYC, and I have NEVER been so appalled nor treated as poorly in any establishment, much less a touted hotel. The "meeting and event manager" was rude, dismissive, unhelpful, and non-responsive. I had to physically go to the hotel to get any answers or clarification, and then flat out refused to come out of the office and would only speak to me over the phone behind the desk. I asked for a manager, who was pleasant but did not solve any of my issues and informed me I would just have to deal with the events manager. The porters, on the other hand, were amazing. Very welcoming and quick with a smile. After the wedding, we came back to the hotel about a half hour before the bar closed, to grab a night cap. The bartender refused, citing sh didn't want to serve us as our group would take too long--as I am standing there in my wedding dress. There were 8 of us. If you cannot pour 8 drinks in a half hour, your management has done a poor job of determining the quality of their staff. I could continue to write about the nightmare that was dealing with anyone at the W, as there were several more incidents, but I believe I have made my point. Neither I nor my entire company will be using any W Hotel for any of the hundreds of events (or my personal use for that matter) we spearhead ever again. May 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to par for a W Wow, where to start. I had heard negative things about this property before my arrival but the location and availability for my last-minute trip to NYC made this property the hotel for this stay. I have to say, the hotel lived up to most (not all) of the other negative reviews. To start, the rooms at this W hotel are the smallest I have ever encountered in the SPG program. At check-in I was told that I was being upgraded to the third level of rooms that the property had. WOW, this room was tiny! The desk in the room was literally no more than two feet wide. Petite, miniature, or mini would be the correct term for this desk. The desk was just wider than the chair. As a Platinum member I have become accustom to having nice rooms when I stay with SPG. This was not the case at this property. I called down to complain about the size of the room and was told I had indeed received an upgrade, (really????) and there were no other rooms available. I was offered breakfast in the hotel as a comp for the tiny room.. More on that later… The tiny room had a door leading to a mock-miniature balcony overlooking Lexington Ave. You really could not do anything with this mock balcony so I really don’t know why they even let you open the door. However, this door would not lock AT ALL. It required a key from the inside but had a simple knob on the OUTSIDE, odd but true. I called down to see what could be done about the lack of security with this door to the mock-balcony. Security came up with a handful of keys to see if he could lock the door. No luck. I expressed my concern that the guest from the room next door “could” enter my room via the joint mock-balconies. The chance might be remote, but it was possible and not difficult. They offered to move me to another tiny room without a balcony. I moved. The new room had a larger desk, small but more of a normal hotel desk. The only phone was the standard cordless phone in the W hotels. However, the handset would not work. I had to use the speakerphone for all of the calls to/from the room. I did eat breakfast in the hotel. Wow, again totally underwhelmed. I was seated promptly; however the waiter never came over. Finally the person setting tables noticed after awhile that no one had taken care of me and she took my order and provided good service. The food was well below par and I felt like I had wasted an opportunity to go out for a good breakfast. I did not finish my meal and would not return to the restaurant for another meal. I did receive a late check-out which is always appreciated, when needed. This is a standard comp for Platinum members. This property receives a higher percentage of negative reviews. I understand that every hotel has the chance to receive a 1-star review from an unhappy guest, but this property receives 1-star reviews 16% of the time. This percentage is HIGH. Obviously this mid-town property has some work to do. You can have small AMAZING rooms, but this hotel doesn’t. Plain décor, cheap plastic décor on the walls and not much to love, sum up this property. May 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location, but NOT W Standards We were traveling to New York to visit friends that were leaving the US, shopping, and enjoy a nice weekend away. We arrived at the hotel just before 9pm and we could not find the valet to take our car. He was not wearing any sort of recognizable uniform. Finally we got our bags, and I had to go inside to find him while leaving my car parked on Lexington Avenue. This was not a very good start. We then waited over 10 minutes before we were helped at the Welcome desk. She told me she was upgrading us to a Spectacular room. I inquired about anything else with my Platinum Status, and she said there was nothing else. We went up to the room and were a bit surprised. The room was NOT a Spectacular room, it was a Wonderful Room (at Best). The view was of a stairwell and another guestroom, where people were "enjoying their evening" right there for everyone to see. I called down to the desk and asked again for an upgrade or to be moved. She said she would look and call me back. The agent called me back and said there was nothing else she could move me into. I had trouble believing that, so I went online and looked and there were other Wonderful Rooms and Mega Rooms for sale on the website (aka, available as it was after 9pm) but the woman at the front desk lied and refused to help. Realizing, I would get nowhere, I emailed customer service and the hotel management asking them to call me on my cell phone, as I would be there for a couple days. During my stay, I received NO phone call, email back, no offer to help, not even an apology or note. We then did not want to stay in the room (it was small, and the view was disturbing) so we went to the lobby bar. We sat in in some of the couches and looked at the drink menu, and waited over 15 minutes, but the cocktail waitress never came by. She walked passed ONCE smiled at us and I waved her over, but she went back into the kitchen and never came out. Finally we went to the bar, and the bartender was saving the seats for someone else! We moved some other stools up to the bar and squeezed into the corner. The drink was NOT to W Standards either. I have stayed at the other W's in New York, and the Downtown bartenders are some of the best in the industry. This one seemed to hate her job. When we checked out, I had been charged for internet (although it was supposed to be free) and the agent kept forgetting to take it off. She has to re-print the bill 3 times. With the line that was there, the entire process took close to a half hour. I am glad I was only going out shopping and not trying to catch a plane. When we left, Lexington Avenue was closed for a street fair, which I know can be difficult on the hotel as their front entrance is not accessible. We had to lug our bags out and around the corner to meet the valet. There was NO offer of assistance from anyone. It then took over 45 minutes for our car to arrive. We left thoroughly disappointed in the W New York. After a couple days, I had still NEVER received a response to my initial email to the hotel management, my initial request for a call back, nor the request I made at check-out. I emailed the hotel again, and again copied Starwood Customer Care. This time I got a quick response and voice mail from Jason, the assistant director of the Welcome office. I am glad that the actual management of the hotel cared enough to respond. Jason apologized and said he "missed" my original requests as the GM was off for the weekend. I find that hard to believe that the GM leaves and nobody checks emails. He offered me a minimal amount of starpoints and offered to upgrade us to a Fantastic Suite next time we came to the hotel. I am due that upgrade as a Platinum member anyway! I had had issues with other W Hotels before, as I know nothing is ever perfect, including a billing issue with the another W Hotel just a week before. They took care of it and certainly exceeded my expectations, but the W New York failed at every moment, even when trying to get a resolution. Beware! October 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service, thin walls Starpoint award booking. Staff contacted me in advance of my stay to check for special requests, and accommodated my request for a particular room floor plan that I had enjoyed before. Staff was friendly on arrival, room was clean and comfortable, etc. The walls in this hotel are thin -- I sleep very lightly so that's an issue for me, but it may not be for you. Room service breakfast was passable but not great. I have stayed here before and will continue to stay here on business trips. Convenient and reliable. July 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a disappointment Cant deliver on Starwood promise. 1. Arrived at 5:35pm. - room not available - despite email from Renee about my arrival time. 2. If you like living out of a suitcase and Dontwant to unpack, be aware - no drawers in hotel room. When I inquired, Guest Services said "no hotels in NY have them?.....are you kidding? It may be my first time to this hotel, but I regularly come to Starwood in NY but wanted to try this property. 3. Coffee, tea, or diet coke in room - nope. Minibar half empty and no coffee in room. aghh! If you need caffeine to wake up, not at this hotel.. I wouldn't stay here again. October 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location, unsatisfactory room The W Lexington has a great location. Walking distance to practically everything! And if you need to take the subway, an entrance is a block away. The staff was welcoming and polite! I even received a free drink voucher because my iPod hookup was missing a part. The problem arises when you step into your hotel room. I stayed in a suite with a separate living area, 2 tvs, queen bed, bathroom, etc. The room was "cold," not in the sense of temperature, but in comfort and space. The carpet was dirty, the curtains had stains on them, and the bathroom was terribly tiny. I understand the need for maximizing your space in NYC, but if I'm paying >$800 a night, I expect some cleanliness and comfort. If you are looking strictly for location, this is the place! If you want some warmth in your hotel room, look somewhere else. January 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Loud & Uncomfortable Beds I decided to give this hotel another try after leaving it for years (I travel to NYC roughly 20 times a year). My regular hotel was sold out and this hotel is close to the office. I had heard the place had been renovated and while it definitely has had a facelift, the fact that they still have not figured out how to soundproof the rooms is beyond me. The rooms are beyond loud (between the traffic noise and the AC sounding like a jet engine was taking off, I got little sleep), the beds are hard and uncomfortable. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone...EVER! Never again. June 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to expectations My spectacular room was not spectacular. Not what I'm used to for a platinum upgrade. Tiny room, tiny bathroom, couldn't see the tv from the desk, no chair to watch tv. My second wake up call didn't arrive this morning, and I was rushed since nobody called me as requested. Asked for a paper to be delivered each morning, only on the day I checked out did I receive one. Concierge Evelyn was wonderful as she did everything she could to get me a paper, but no luck by the morning staff. For the price I paid, along with my SPG status, this hotel experience was way below expectations. The whatever/whenever attitute wasn't evident during my stay. February 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing service This is the most disappointing experience I've had with W, or any Starwood hotels. We checked in late on Thursday night, after taking a late evening flight after work. we were pretty exhausted when arriving the hotel, and apparently the staff at the reservation desk wasn't very understanding and returned us with a poker face throughout check-in process. We were assigned to a room, which was clean, but with an awkward layout (i.e., one of us was sleeping next to the mini bar). Although at one point both of us started wondering if this was a retaliation of not being charming at the front desk, that was still fine, given it's NYC and it's W Hotel. What's worse, however, was that we could hear elevators operating, since we were so close, the entire night. The next morning we were able to talk to a nicer person at the reservation desk and were moved to a better room, and took advantage of the complimentary shuttle service, which was probably the best experience through the entire stay. When we checked out, I realized we were charged for some mini bar items that we had never used, the staff helped us take out from the account and clean the balance. HOWEVER, after I got back home, I realized my credit card was double charged for the same reservation. I have been struggling to find someone who can really solve this problem for me (apparently the customer service ended after we left the hotel?!). The accounting department didn't respond to my call until 3+ days later and promised to take the duplicate charge out from my account, and that was 15 days ago... Lastly, for some reason, my record doesn't exist in the system, nor do my SPG member info. This is a very disappointing experience. I wish things could have been communicated more privately through a customer satisfaction survey, but I have not seen such survey and wasn't able to address this issue to any appropriate personnel. For perspective travelers, if you wish to take advantage of the Manhattan Midtown location, there are plenty of well-known hotels located within the block to save you a post-trip headache. April 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by W New York Kevin at reception was fantastic. Professional, efficient with a big smile. Needed to go back at reception and Airen was the exact opposite. Rooms are tiny. Bathrooms are even smaller. Queen bed was too small (we booked a king size and got upgraded to a room with a queen - however, preferred more space over bed size, especially as we stayed for a week). Two ladies at breakfast were lovely. The recognized us on the 2nd day already. Very friendly, fantastic service. Bar is cool and trendy, efficiently run. We booked a room for two, but only got one shower gel and one bottle of water. Small detail but details matter. June 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average property in good location, poor SPG benefits I have stayed at this hotel many times. It is a great Midtown location at 49th/Lex. Rooms are generally very functional and clean, but very small. The bar in the lobby and the adjacent Whiskey Blue are lively but not a particularly trendy crowd (thought they look like they think otherwise!) Staff generally have a high opinion of themselves too. As a Platinum member I have only ever been upgraded to a suite once and that is after already checking in and seeing they were wide open for reservations online. I called back front desk and had to escalate to front desk manager before they finally caved and gave a suite. I have read plenty of similar stories so it is pretty clear this property has no interest in honoring it's requirements under the SPG program. October 22, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor experiemce Not value for the money. Room totally inadequate. Facilities poor. Service non-existent. One of the worst hotel experiences of a long career. December 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by May Trip My stay was good. Staff was attentive and helpful which I appreciate. May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Service! The W on Lexington Ave. had exceptional service. From the second we walked in the door, we were greeted and all of our needs were met. July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel This hotel has it all...great business rooms, trendy bar, all night room service, a spa, and comfortably modern rooms. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Hotel 49th and Lex Excellent hotel with a staff that was very helpful. Great bar in lobby and club attached The quick easy coffee/breakfast option in the lobby each morning was excellent...good coffee Only negative was that the rooms were a little small but minor inconvenience Beds were very comfortable June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenomenal experience WOW is right for this W. I booked 4 rooms for a 50th Anniversary weekend for my partner's parents and family. What a great experience. The staff here could not have been more professional, from check-in with Kevin who helped coordinate with Darryl a special treat for the anniversary couple,to the front desk staff who very efficiently handled our check in and check out. Also, the breakfast and lounge food was great. Try the turkey meatball sliders and phuket chicken wings. The level of service could not have been better! Well done W Lexington June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by do not like the updated foyer there has been a change in the bar area in the foyer since I was last there and I find it less friendly. Other than that, it remains a favourite. June 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wonderful room not so wonderful We upgraded to a Wonderful Room vs. Cozy when we prepaid for 3 nights a couple weeks in advance. When we got to our room, it was very small, and didn't seem how it could be any smaller. We inquired and were told that it was in fact a Wonderful Room. When I got home, I looked at pictures of the Wonderful Room on the website. There were none. The Cozy room had a picture which seemed to match our corner of our "wonderful" room. Very small for 2 people and I fear that you get people to upgrade and then give them cozy room at the wonderful price. I have yet to understand how the cozy looks different from the wonderful, it says the meters of the room are bigger but I fear we were dupped. February 21, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a Platinum Experience. Year to date I have stayed in this hotel more than 20 nights because of the location to my office. Each time I am given a horrible room on a low floor. I just don't get it, I am a loyal SPG member but this hotel does not seem to care one way or another. Too bad, because it is a great location but I will find a Hotel that appreciates a customer that will spend 25-30 nights a year on property. This hotel as far as I have seen does not. October 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tired Facility Staid here two nights on business. Was on top floor but still hear lots of road noise. Room had fancy electronic shades but there was gaps so was lots of light in room very early. Thin towels, low water pressure and AC that didn't really work make for a property I will not be returning to. Attempted to tell front desk employee on check out and there was no interest. On positive side did get energetic directions on places to visit. June 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor experience My flight way delayed and my girlfriend was meeting me from another location. Prior to my flight I called and spoke with the hotel reservations specialist at the hotel itself (rather than the national line) and the lady whom which I spoke with said that it would be no problem to add my girlfriend to the reservation so that she may check in as my flight was delayed till after 2am. Sharing this with my girlfriend she arrived at the hotel earlier than me by 3 hrs and was told by the staff that she was not allowed to check in. When I complained about this the evening manager was condescending though promised 5,000 starwood points for the mistake on the Hotel's part. Of which those points have not shown up in my account and it has been more than 30 days. In addition, the room was extremely poor relative the to other options in and surrounding NYC. I will never, ever stay at this hotel again and this experience has turned me off to star wood hotels overall. June 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Outdated - rooms not W like Stayed 4 nights in the W hotel and received SPG upgrade to Spectacular room - view was restricted - other hotel room & parking garage. Parking generated so much light, it looked like constant daylight. Room was too small in width with outdated furniture to create claustrophobic emotions. November 21, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible experience Unfortunately the only positive I can say about this hotel is good location. This hotel is meant to be 5 star which came with the 5 star price tag. The room was tiny, the air conditioner sounded like a lawn mower it was so loud, our rooms lock was broken and we had to ask to get it fixed on three occasions we were not compensated for this as promised by the staff member who finally fixed the door. The cleaners were very loud each morning waking us up. Our window in our room lined up with an outdoor area where all the air conditioning vents were we were woken up one morning by workmen drilling and hammering outside our window,we were not made aware that this was happening when I told the staff that was upset by this they said they would simply speak to their manager and it was never heard of again. I have friends who have booked in to stay at the W hotel in December after we had told them that is where we planned on staying I was strongly recommended that they cancel this booking due to this terrible experience. August 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ratio Price / quality very low The room are really small and noisy. The TV fills half of the bed room. Phonic isolation pretty low and the bathroom is functionnal but very very tiny, you cannot be two in it at the same time. Confort bed was average. June 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room not cleaned When I checked into the hotel and went to my room, I found a used towel in the bathroom, used drinking glasses and no soap, shampoo, etc. I called to report the issue, was transferred to another person, explained the problem again and was asked if I would like my room to be serviced. After waiting about 15 minutes, someone came and looked at the bathroom and said that they would return to address it. Another ten minutes went by and then someone showed up to clean the bathroom. I was not offerred another room nor was an adjustment made to my room charge (which was very high). May 25, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>