W New York

  • 541 Lexington Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10022
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room and check in.

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 567 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing as usual If it were not for the location, this hotel would be empty. Arrived at 1030 to a room with a broken AC unit. Finally by 1145, they had fixed the unit, only to have a thermostat that now was broken (figured that out after waking at 1245 in an 80 degree room). Was reassigned to a Queen closet-sized room for the balance of my two night stay. After emailing the Whereever desk, I traded a few emails with someone followed by me leaving two unreturned phone messages. While we all know this hotel exists due to its location, the rooms and systems are in serious need of upgrade. They also ran out of Wall Street Journals at 730am. This is clearly and execution issue, because our expectations are generally not up to W standards anyway. I am a lifetime Platinum and this is my least favorite Starwood property. March 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A+, highly recommend Was a little worried after reading the reviews of the small room size but I was pleasantly surprised. At check in, I asked about upgrading to a larger room. Cindy told me that I could, but she also had a handicap cozy room available. I decided to take my chance with the handicap room as it worked out perfect. Room was slightly larger and really only difference is that the light switches are a little lower and there are grab bars around the toilet and the shower. Beside that, its the same room, just a little larger. Best part was, there was no extra charge for it. Cindy was great at check in as she also offered us 2 glasses of champagne. Location of the hotel is perfect, and security was very effecient. Overall, I would definately recommend staying here to others and would definately stay here again. April 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We love the W New York We stayed at the W New York for a long weekend. When we booked we were a little worried about the location, but after getting there we were really pleased with the location. It is within walking distance toRockefeller Center and Times Square. We were also really surprised by how nice and helpful the whole staff was. My wife as a little sick, and they did everything they could to help get her some relief. Everyone went above and beyond compared to the service we get at other hotels. January 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Absolutely dirty dirty dirty I have stayed at this W several times. This time was absolutely the worst. I was so surpirsed how quickly the W was able to turn the room over, however, much to my dismay the sheets had not been changed from the previous guest and they were blood stained. The spa is aging, the decor is aging and in a city with a lot of hotel opions I will choose to spend my time and money elsewhere. I have the pictures to prove the sheets, however, a manager has yet to get back in touch with me. May 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by My Least Favorite W A great midtown location and a stunning lobby raise expectations that are immediately shattered by the long wait for check-in (or any dealings at the reception) and an I'm-too-cool-to-be-serving-you attitude. We were on a redemption stay and I was crestfallen to see the miniscule room with tired and dark decor, overlooking an air shaft. The ancient bathroom wouldn't rate 2 stars. We were expecting an urgent Fedex delivery and I advised of such upon arrival. The following morning I called Whenever/Wherever to inform the day staff and stressed the urgency. Five hours after it was confirmed delivered, the hotel still couldn't find it and claimed that the name of the person who signed for it was not even on staff! We spent an entire morning chasing this package and that was sufficient to sour me on this hotel for good. April 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service and SPG recogition I found the staff to be extremely helpful. Additionally, the general manager is very organized and accommodating. This property offers a great experience for SPG members. The personal service provided by the staff here is second to none. No wonder why I have future reservations placed here! November 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Staff This is a great hotel and very close to many attractions in New York. My wife was not sure about the hotel, but once she was there she changed her mind. I was upgraded to a suite and it have a lot of space, bathroom was great. It is one of the best stays in new York. The room was keep it clean every day and the cleaning staff was very friendly. Check in was fast. I will try to book my next stay i this hotel if possible. Thanks W Hotel for a great stay. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Met EXPECTATION !! Very Satisfied.... I stayed at the W Lexington December 2011. The staff were excellent . I arrived early before check-in time , and I was allowed early to check-in, I got a complimentary breakfast, and a larger room , for no additional charge. Room were very clean. Perfect. I would definitely stay here again. Great Service, and very clean. Did I mentioned that already., It was... Not to mention very close to all the main area , Walking distance to Times Square ETC.... February 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Go somewhere else I was upgraded to the "spectacular room". Trust me there was nothing remotely spectacular. Actually thought it was a joke. The room was supposedly 2 notches up from the standard room. No view. Room looked into other rooms when shades were drawn, therefore had to keep shades drawn while in the room. Only one sink. Wallpaper peeling off wall. Room was I believe 230 sq ft. In room fridge broken. Was reported but not fixed during my stay December 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointing - not a true W As a long-standing platinum member, I have come to expect a certain level of room comfort. My room was cramped, the walls were scuffed and the lighting was terrible.And the bathroom? Almost non-existent. I asked for a different room, but the staff was unable - or unwilling - to accommodate. I've read some rave reviews and I just don't see it. This is definitely not up to W standards and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. January 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by They gave my suite away... I recently used a suite award night to book a room for my parents who were visiting NY for Father's Day. I recieved a confirmation a week before the visit that I would be upgraded. When i got to the hotel to check in, I was given a suite, however when I walked into the room, someone's stuff was already in there! They gave my award away! The staff was friendly and after about 20 minutes, they gave me another room, but it was a regular room - no upgrade, nothing. I was so disappointed because this was a special weekend for my parents. Not only did the entire check-in process take over 30 min (hey, time is precious) but I wasn't given what I reserved or what I was told I would receive. Poor inventory management and a terrible experience. i will give credit to the staff at the front desk - it was their fault and they couldn't do much but they seemed sorry. June 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by An awful experience Lobby was always packed and loud. bar was packed and load. had to stand in line forever to check-in, speak with cocierge or buy a drink. carpet in room was dirty, room keys ALMOST NEVER worked. I had to have new keys cut at least four times in 18 hours, totally unacceptable. bar patrons got in a fight at front door of bar and I had to listen to one of the loud, drunk and profane participants in the aftermath. June 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by No WiFi I am a Gold member and when I checked in I requested as my reward the free internet access. Later that evening I tried to use the internet only to discover that the room I was given (in a far away corner of the hotel) had a really weak signal and I was unable to log in. I had already unpacked and did not want to move. If I requested internet access, why would the check in staff assign me a room with no signal? January 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway This past weekend my wife and I came into the city for dinner and a play. Lucky for us we were able to get a sitter so we had the night solo. Our stay at the WNYwas wonderful. Everyone was so friendly, the room was spectacular, the spa facilites fantastic. After the play we sat in the lobby and had a night cap. The energy in there was great. We would defintely stay at the WNY again without hesitation January 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Billing Nightmare Checked in on 5/21/12 under what I thought was my corporate rate. When I received by emailed bill at check out it was for the full rack rate of $450+ a night. After calling the Platinum line and a half hour of complaining. Starwood HQ fixed my rate back to $379. Rooms they call special or spectacular are glorified closets. Worst starwood property I have ever stayed at and I am a lifetime Platinum! May 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding service This hotel has an outstanding staff. It is not every day that you are welcomed at check in with a complimentary glass of champagne and a W teddy bear for your 5 year old son. All the staff, from the doormen to the check in are super friendly and professional. The lady at check in really went out of her way to put us in a nice room. I really believe this hotel deserves higher and better reviews! December 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ongoing Frustrations 1) Canceled my reservation incorrectly. 2) Charged me full amount without telling me. 3) When I showed up expecting room, I had a long wait. 4) Thermostat broken in room I was finally given, I couldn't get temperature below 75 degrees. 5) Standing puddle of water in room. 6) Charged incorrectly for internet access. 7) Charged again for room despite already charging me incorrect cancellation fee. February 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad experience Checked in late at night. No soap in the room. Telephone cord not attached causing the charger to beep every 5 sec for no charge. Half-used toilet paper. Lot of noise from street. This is after being an SPG platinum. God knows what happens to people with no status. Filthy room and unclean carpets. Do not recommend this hotel at all. I am shocked it is a Starwoods property. January 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not currently meeting W standards I asked for a room away from the elevator; was given a room just off the elevator. Housekeeping was good but carpet stained, needs cleaning, just gross (Room 938). Lighting dim, not great for reading in room. Doesn't feel up to W Hotel standards (e.g., W Boston). February 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dirty and small Paid for upgrade from cozy to spectacular.......found the room to hardly be spectacular by any means....stains on wall between window like drip marks......, built up dust and grime on bathroom door pocket doors at base.......(apparently cleaning is done with pocket door open), toothpaste on bathroom walls, tiny bathroom, tiny shower........nothing spectacular, not even the view....glad I did not waste my points on this place.....hardly meets standards of other W hotels I have visited. Should be category 3, not 6. I would not recommend this hotel except that it was cheap due to major reconstruction January 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old and Cold The room was renovated, but very old and renovation was poorly done. The room window was not sealed appropriately that the room was cold with the heater turned on whole time. Also the size of the room was not correct either. February 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wait till Renovations are complete Check in on a Friday and informed there were no room upgrades available, which was surprising as a plt. Initial room faced into the other side of the building, so I had to wait until another room was ready later that night. Overall the hotel is a great location and excellent to meet people, but I'd recommend staying elsewhere until the renovations are done. February 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by like living in an expensive closet Could hardly move in this "room"; could not get over my allergies thanks to the perfumed air-spray; could hardly choke down my breakfast after seeing a $4 charge for a banana; could hardly get to my room since the key-card seldom worked. Obviously, a man designed this bathroom as there is no place for cosmetics/no light to see and no mirror for make-up. May 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dark, but still sets the mood The only issue I had was with the lighting. The hallways are super dim and the lighting in the Studio suite was not adjustable to my liking, but still wasn't bad. I would recommend this hotel to any singles and couples, not the most exciting accommodations for families. February 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Everything went wrong The reservations for my son's wedding were all wrong - my 89 yr old mother's room had no heat - the staff was not helpful - our heater was so loud it was hard to sleep - and it took forever to check in - finally, every time we called for help - no one ever responded - required several follow-upo calls. Very bad experience! March 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Small room, a lot of improvement needed I'm SPG Platinum. When checked in, I was told I got 2-level upgrade. I had a high floor preference. I was put in 6 FL. When I got in my room, I was really surprised. The room was REALLY REALLY small. I can't imagine without 2-level upgrade, what the room would look like. And I had a view of a big "rock" (a building was a few feet from my window). Okay, I was on business, small room, no view was not a problem. But the first night, I was woke up by air condition at 4am!! I called Whenever/Wherever for help, and I was asked if I want someone to come in my room to fix it. It was 4am, I wanted more sleep! The next morning, I called, and was offered to move to another room. I was told to pack my stuff and hotel staff would move for me around 12-1pm. I came back at 6pm, checking with front desk for my new room number. It took front desk 10+ minutes to get me a new room -- no one had moved for me! This is not the kind of facility and service I would expect from W New York! June 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Moved 2x in 4 days. First day due to noise. Second due to defective HVAC. While staff seemed to care, accommodations fell short of expectation. February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Customer Service My daughter and I booked a cozy room to enjoy a weekend in NYC to celebrate her 16th birthday. We were quickly uprgraded to a suite, and the concierge left a gift of cheese cake and a gold bracelet in our room. The staff really went out of their way to make this a very special birthday weekend in New York! January 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old W hotel NY The photos on the website look nicer. The hotel needs to improve in all sense. We got a noisy room. The room was close to the cleaning staff and they were very noisy early in the mornings. the rooms are very small. This hotel should be like the other one in Times Square. This one is too old and ugly. May 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cool vibe, otherwise disappointing I need to stop coming to this hotel. I've been a handful of times and each time, while I enjoy the cool vibe of the hotel, my stay is underwhelming. The rooms are tiny, there is something always disshelved (i.e. a lamp shade, something in the bathroom, etc.) and the walls are paper thin. February 21, 2012
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 20 next>>