W New York

  • 541 Lexington Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10022
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room and check in.

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 653 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth of Cat 6 - Stay elsewhere! This review is a novel, but worth the read if you're considering staying here... I stayed at the W New York for my first trip to NYC this past weekend. I was looking for a nice hotel, in a good location, and the W brand was one of the few SPG brands I had yet to try in my near 300 nights that I have stayed in SPG properties over the past few years, so I gave this one a shot. The lobby of the hotel was nice, and the location was great for a first time tourist in NYC, but I would never return to this property. I was in a "fantastic suite", which was going for 500/night for this weekend (or 20,000 spg points + suite upgrade awards like in my case). Upon opening the door of my (first) room, we walked straight into a wall (literally). Because this was a corner suite, it was cut up very oddly, and the door barely cleared a jut in the wall. We entered the room and found a very modern decor, as you would expect in a W. The couches looked nice, but were not functional. The bedroom was around the corner, and offered just a full size bed, not even a queen or king. The bathroom was off the corner of the room, and was not even wide enough to walk straight through without banging your knee into something. There certainly was not enough room for two people. The next morning, as we were preparing to explore the city, we found a few things to really make me second guess staying here. Next to the bed, there were stains all over the floor which appeared to be blood. There were stains on the wall, visible from the bed, of who knows what. On our balcony, there were numerous cups which had been used as ash trays, along with cigars just lying on the floor. Additionally, there was still a drink glass sitting with this trash. The hotel staff does such a poor job cleaning, that all of these items were still there after refreshing our room for the day. This really made me wonder how well of a job they were doing with cleaning the rest of the room. Before finding most of those issues, I already had a room change in the works on behalf of my SPg Ambassador. Upon picking up my new keys, management was unwilling to upgrade me to a better room type, saying they were all sold out, but the spg.com site showed two better suite options for available for sale for the nights I would have needed. The second room... The new room was on a lower floor, but offered a better overall layout. The bathroom was still tiny, however. The shower curtain was about a foot too high, which resulted in flooding of the bathroom floor with each shower. Both rooms had signs of water damage, which was no surprise by this point. None of the rooms have exhaust fans in the bathroom, so steam escapes into the room – which I believe was the cause for all of the drywall seems to be popping on the bedroom ceiling, and for the ceiling to have additional bubbles in certain areas. In both rooms – everything just appeared to be dirty. The first room had an ottoman that had a huge stain on it, which ruined the fabric. The second room had some sort of a chair or luggage stand in the corner of the bedroom, which was disgustingly dirty. It was so dirty, that I would have thought it was naturally colored this way, if it weren���t for an area of the surface that was a completely different color. On our third and final morning, we exited our room and found an entire section of wallpaper hanging off of the wall in the hallway. It took until early afternoon for the hotel to put the paper back up, and they used very high powered glue with horrible fumes that made it in the room. Overall, the Category 2 and 4 hotels that I stay in each week are much nicer, and kept up better, than this “category 6”. This property is in no way deserving of the Category 6 rating that it has. I would suggest spending your money or points elsewhere – especially if the W is your hotel of choice (there are 4 others to choose from in the City). April 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel!! Great location in Midtown. Great Bar, Great Staff. Really treated me like a gold rewards member!! April 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not SPG material The reviews I read prior to my stay were not that positive so in my recent visit to NYC I had the pleasure to visit and stay in several hotels of the SPG chain to have my own experience. The location of the hotel is good, nicely located (Lexington ave), the front desk is kind of busy all the time, and the hotel is noisy. The rooms are very small, in fact the smallest rooms of all the SPG hotels during my stay in NYC. Sleeping was kind of difficult since you could hear the other hotel guests slamming the doors. (probably the door of the closets) In summary: Stay somewhere else if you have the chance to stay in another hotel September 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expected more from a W I am a Gold SPG and was disappointed by the overall experience. Location is good, and the small room is totally understandable (hey, this is NY!), food was good, but service really needs improvement. No SPG recognition, Wi-Fi is horrible (you have signal only if you stay close to the door, and had to spend 30 mins with an assistant as I couldn't log in), and service is poor. Expect 10-15 minutes before front desk answers your call, and housekeeping is sloppy (I found a rubber glove laying on my sink returning from work... had to call 3 times and wait 40 mins before someone picked it up). I've been to many SPG hotels and expected much more from the W in New York. July 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always appreciate staying at a W Hotel Great location, great staff, great ammenities April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not whatt I would expect from a W branded Hotel Having stayed at the W in Barcelona I was expecting a similar experience...but it definitely wasnt anywhere near the fantastic experience we had in the W Barcelona. First room was very cold, Decor was tired and heating was very noisy (and didnt work properly) reception and check in staff were very robotic and not empathetic at all...the experience was not what I expect. I have recently come back to Sheraton as my prefered( Used to be Platinum)..begining to question if I made the right decision. However Hosuekeeping staff and Door Men were excellent, Caring, and happy.. Put them on Reception!! February 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel in a great location I enjoyed my stay with the location of this hotel suiting my needs for the weekend. Rooms are quite small but as expected in New York. My room was comfortable and had great amenities. Only downfall was that the walls are not shound insulated therefore you can hear your neighbors, so they can hear you as well. Staff is friendly and helpful. Hotel lobby and restaurants are lively with a nice interior decor. April 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel Stay Ever I happened to be looking on the SPG site and out of curiosity looked at the reviews at this W since I still recall this as being the worst hotel stay I ever had and I am still unhappy about it. Great place to be part of the NY scene, but do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere. I have stayed at many NY hotels and I know rooms are small, but even by NY standards, this place was a cross between a cheap student dorm and a prison cell. Barely big enough for one person, and we were a party of two. Not even sure why they bother to have a hotel there. I would not stay there even if the room was free. I guess the staff gets this allot since they could have cared less when I asked about a better room. I have visited nearly 100 countries and have a large tolerance for hotel variations, but this place still gets me mad just thinking about it. April 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is to be avoided (for NOW)!! As I arrived New York after many years away, I entered the W Manhatten. After waiting a short while, I was told my room was ready so I hurried upstairs. I was expecting something wonderful but that's not what I got. The room was small, tattered, not clean, and the carpet was disgusting!! The bathroom was smaller than my coat closet at home. It did have a balcony as I requested a smoking room which is no longer available so I just went with it. I tell you all this as I spent a staggering 96000 points for this "NOT Fantastic" suite for 4 days. Thank goodness I didn't spend much time in my room. This hotel needs to remodeled SOON!!! I would not go back until this is done.. May 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mr. James Sontag Not only do they not answer the phobnes when you need service in your room. But they lose your car taking 1 hr to find in garage. I would never come back to this hotel. April 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great room for three people Very good sized room for three people. The staff were excellent - very polite and helpful. Will stay again. April 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The stay the broke my W camel's back! Though as a platinum member in informemed them of an early arrival (12 noon) i was made to wait for 2 3/4 hours (!!!) for my room. The so- called upgrade made me wonder if my original room was amnesty international approved! As per SPG i am entiteled to the best room available, but was informed that a two level upgrade was all they could do, though suites were available. Adding to an unmotivated, disinterested check staff were deficiencies in the room such as a trickle, not rain, shower, towel holder falling off because it was shoddily repaired, lamps unplugged and a dirty tub! The only redeeming factor was the barmaid Michelle, who seemed to care! For the rest good riddence! December 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by You should NOT put anyone on the spa floor I have stayed at this hotel several times, and I have enjoyed it in the past. However, for this stay, I was placed on the floor with the Bliss Spa. Starting at 6:30 a.m., there was incessant banging outside my room (it sounded like metal carts banging together). There were people (employees?) yelling to each other in the hall. It woke me up and then continued until I left my room at 8:30. You should NEVER put an SPG member on that floor, and you should remind your employees that there are guests SLEEPING in rooms. This was not a little noise, but constant loud, banging, yelling slamming noise for over an hour. July 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good food, but the hotel needs improvements The food was very good. But the hotel room is too small & dark. Bathroom needs a mirror with enlargement. The luggage storage staff is not good. I waited for 15 minutes to get somebody to get my luggage and store it. Then when I came back to get it, I waited another 10 minutes and the lady was very rude. And it was only 7:30 PM. Not acceptable. The concierge did not help. She was nice and polite, but was not able to find me a mani pedi place on Sunday at 7 PM! She said all the mani pedi places were closed. When I said it's not possible, and directed me to the W salon. There, the receptionist was rude. I had to walk just two blocks to find 2 mani pedi places open. That was bad. February 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Checking In & Out is Time Consuming The W New York Hotel is in a great location, and rooms are clean and contemporary. The process for checking in and out is abysmally high touch - requiring at least 30 minutes on both ends - and technology deficient with no differentiating assistance/preference for gold/platinum guests. Given that this is the most fundamental service a hotel provides, you would be well served to consider another location in the area unless you enjoy waiting in line. And, the W New York would be well served to reconsider this entire portion of the guest experience. It's severely lacking, bordering on unbelievably unacceptable. March 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by snobby attitude from the lead staff at the desk The staff were all friendly but the director at the desk, David, had a snobby attitude during each interaction and there was a sense of unnecesary hostility. Our room was not even prepared by 3pm and he was in no way going to try to be accomadating regarding an upgrade. My friends and I were sent to the spa with all of our luggage to get ready for our lunch. Also, 90% of the equipment in the gym was broken and that was pretty dissapointing given the amount my friends and I were paying. This was my first expereince at any starwood hotel where I did not feel valued as a loyal gold member. Later a bottle of champagne was sent to my room but it hardly made up for the cold welcome. October 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tiny rooms, staff too busy for platinum guests Title says it all. I have stayed here 4 times now. It is the worst w in the world. I'm not sure why I keep coming back except the great location. April 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dirty and small Paid for upgrade from cozy to spectacular.......found the room to hardly be spectacular by any means....stains on wall between window like drip marks......, built up dust and grime on bathroom door pocket doors at base.......(apparently cleaning is done with pocket door open), toothpaste on bathroom walls, tiny bathroom, tiny shower........nothing spectacular, not even the view....glad I did not waste my points on this place.....hardly meets standards of other W hotels I have visited. Should be category 3, not 6. I would not recommend this hotel except that it was cheap due to major reconstruction January 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I expected from a W Hotel First, there was a ton of construction going on. This would have been nice to know before staying at this hotel, as I would have opted to go elsewhere, especially for the price I paid per night. Next, the room felt cramped, similar to a cell. Electrical wall sockets were loose and partially hanging out of the wall, and the bathroom felt old and in need of a major update. I've stayed at many W Hotels, both in NYC and in other cities, and this one really fell off the mark from what I've come to expect from the W Hotel brand. March 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I will never stay anywhere else! So happy with this hotel! From a beautiful clean room, attentive and helpful cleaning staff and fantastic reccomendations from concierge..I travel alone for the most part I'm never fully comfortable sleeping in hotel rooms for safety reasons and bed comfort. I wanted to take this bed home! I melted into it each night and slept like a baby!! Safety is not a concern because one of the staff stands by the elevators in the evening to make sure everyone has a room key who is entering. The concierge was sp friendly and gave a fantastic recomendation for an awesome local restaurant. Thank you! Will be back soon!! October 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lovely Closet When we checked in we were told for an additional $30 a night we could could upgrade three levels. I shudder to think what size closet we would have been assigned had we not chosen the upgrade. The room was minuscule. If size were not enough, the shower arrangement was Byzantine. The faucet location required you stand in the shower to access the faucet, thus your initial experience was a torrent of ice cold water. April 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Never Would Have Believed it Before This Stay... I witnessed something staying in suite 534 Nov. 24-26 that still befuddles me. I had brought a plastic to-go container with 1/2 of an excellent sandwich. After enjoying that and some W room service with my wife, I put the tray with empty hotel dishes and the rest of it (including that plastic container) out into the hall as instructed for pick-up. The next morning, outside our door, the tray had been removed but that plastic container and bag of chips I had brought with me was still there. What's that?? A generally stressful experience with old, crusty Euro furniture and a very comfortable bed...go figure. December 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Never fails to disappoint - I'm loyal for life! The service, hotel, and staff at the W NY never fails to exceed my expectations. I've stayed here every year for the past 3 years and can't think of an occasion where I'll stay anywhere else when visiting NYC for biz or pleasure. Even the smaller rooms are roomier than most NYC hotels I've stayed in, with plenty of space in the bathroom where you don't have to contort yourself in weird ways to ahem...use the facilities... it's just the right amount of getaway space and peace when you're traveling for work or play. The midtown location ensures that it's never hard to get a taxi to anywhere you need to go. October 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A few things went wrong Love the W and have stayed here several times. Just a few inconvenient moments. My safe did not work in the room and I waited over 30 minutes for security to get to my room. They couldn't fix the problem so I had to put my items in a friends room. I was late to my trade show. They ended up replacing the safe that day. Also, could not warm up the room above 67 degrees. Pretty chiilly. I was gone all days to a convention and came home late at night. They offered to move me to another room, but at 10:00 pm and ready to go to bed, it was too late. Scent in the room from housekeeping was overpowering as well. February 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is conveniently located If you are looking for a hotel in midtown that is close to Grand Central, you can't beat the W lexington. April 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sleepless in NYC Do not stay here. I have not slept in 48 hours due to the malfunctioning heat/AC at the hotel. The first night it was 74 degrees in the room, and I was told (at midnight) that it would take nearly an hour to try to fix it. They onstensibly fixed it the next day, but I woke up every 20 minutes the second night when the heat/AC would variously turn on. After complaining at 5 AM the second night, the manager told me that the AC/heat is a problem at the hotel, and they will change it sometime soon. Fair enough, but they must warn you ahead of time if they recognize the problem. Until this problem is fixed, you can only do better elsewhere. While the staff is nice, this hotel is a dump. February 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice but Paper thin walls/disorganized front desk Clear pros and cons w this hotel. On the negative side, the walls are not soundproofed. I could hear the phone ringing and tv from the neighboring room. Also, at check in, the front desk seemed disorganized. There was a large crowd waiting to check in with no organized lines and no attempt by the staff to either help organize the line or speed things up. They could use better training. On the plus side, the rooms, while small, were very efficiently and attractively designed and the beds were very comfortable. Also, the windows were very well soundproofed, so no noise from Lex Ave (just my neighbors). October 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The W New York This review is directed toward the staff and customer service, which is appalling. This was my first time trying the Starwood Hotels, have always heard good things about the rewards programs, so I decided to try it and see if I should switch over.An item was left at the hotel, I noticed while at the airport and called a few hours after I had checked out, and was told they would check the room and get back, but that no other guests had checked in yet.. My call was never returned. I called 6 times over the next few days receiving absolutely no information, and was handed off to different departments. The assistant Director of Security finally returned my call 6 days later, yet still did not have my correct information or inquiry, which I had given each of the previous times, as well as left on his personal voice mail two days earlier. If the value you seek in a hotel is to make your stay as comfortable and easy as possible, I would stay away. The hotel itself is not bad, but for the price you can find much better value across the street or around the area at competitors. April 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel rooms need improvement. The heater was not working. I slept without it the last two nights. I reported it but nothing was done. I was so busy and so tired by the time I went to bed I just moved on. Rooms and bathrooms are small. April 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Staff - Average Accommodations East side is not convenient for what I wanted to do at night. Room had few surface spaces to put luggage down. Staff was excellent and attentive. It was great to be near St. Bart's at Park Avenue and 51st Street which I availed myself to a few times. The hotel is fine - I just don't like being on the East side and as noted so few surface spaces - other than the bed to sort clothes, etc. I also wondered if my skin was alergic to something in the detergent used for sheets since I found myself being itchy when laying down. I liked the staff a great deal - they did things without being asked whether using their card for the elevator if they saw you to house cleaning asking in the halls if everything was ok. January 27, 2014
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 23 next>>