W New York

  • 541 Lexington Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10022
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room and check in.

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 754 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible experience Unfortunately the only positive I can say about this hotel is good location. This hotel is meant to be 5 star which came with the 5 star price tag. The room was tiny, the air conditioner sounded like a lawn mower it was so loud, our rooms lock was broken and we had to ask to get it fixed on three occasions we were not compensated for this as promised by the staff member who finally fixed the door. The cleaners were very loud each morning waking us up. Our window in our room lined up with an outdoor area where all the air conditioning vents were we were woken up one morning by workmen drilling and hammering outside our window,we were not made aware that this was happening when I told the staff that was upset by this they said they would simply speak to their manager and it was never heard of again. I have friends who have booked in to stay at the W hotel in December after we had told them that is where we planned on staying I was strongly recommended that they cancel this booking due to this terrible experience. August 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The rooms are very, very tiny. Very disappointed by the size of the room. September 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room not cleaned When I checked into the hotel and went to my room, I found a used towel in the bathroom, used drinking glasses and no soap, shampoo, etc. I called to report the issue, was transferred to another person, explained the problem again and was asked if I would like my room to be serviced. After waiting about 15 minutes, someone came and looked at the bathroom and said that they would return to address it. Another ten minutes went by and then someone showed up to clean the bathroom. I was not offerred another room nor was an adjustment made to my room charge (which was very high). May 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude Staff, Tiny Rooms During my entire stay of about 20 nights I just asked for a porter to be sent to my room while I was checking out this past Saturday. I waited for ~15 minutes and called the reception again to check up, and they informed me that the porter should be there in my room in 5 more minutes. I waited an additional 15 minutes, but the porter did not arrive. I had no other option but to carry my luggage myself, as I did not want to miss my flight. When I arrived in the lobby I was disappointed to see 2 idle porters standing there. The reception either did not inform the porters of my request or the porters simply ignored it. This form of service is not what I expect from a hotel like the W. Additionally, the staff at the main door is extremely rude and disrespectful. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by personal attention at its best !!!! I recently stayed at the W NYC Extreme WOW suite and had some specific requests to be carried out for a marriage proposal. The whatever whenever staff (David and Renee) went above and beyond for me. they showed such close attention to small details and provided such a personalized service that it made us feel like royalty. I am a "W" guest for life because of them. food was out of this world. chef made things not on the menu just for us. Renee is a God Sent. the work she did put tears to my fiancee for an over the top experience. Thank you for a memory of a life time. June 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The only good thing about this hotel is the Location The size of the room(entire room) is so small that it can easilly be fit into my closet. I weigh only 156 lbs, yet I had difficult time doing my daily stuff in the bathroom. This hotel made me realize how lucky I am, living in a spacious house in Michigan. November 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointing Being an SPG member and previously having travelled a lot for work I have stayed at a lot of SPG properties. This was, hands down, the worst. This really surprised me because I have always been of fan of W hotels. In fact, this is the only SPG property I have ever stayed in that I would not recommend. Staff were fairly unfriendly, wireless Internet is extortionately overpriced (particularly considering the price of the shoe box of a room), lights did not work, the sink was broken and to top it all off a maintenance guy decided to enter my room without me answering the door despite my asking him to wait a moment because I was using the toilet. About the only good thing I have to say about my stay was that the room was clean. Avoid at all costs. August 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Work Trip We came in for a work meetings and my partner chose this W based on rate and proximity to his Corporate Offices. The staff was amazing!! Friendly, attentive, informative and accommodating. The room was lovely, however quite small, but I'm a native New Yorker so I understand the premium on space. The A/C in room 1111 was a bit too noisy for a hotel A/C but again not so much so that we couldn't sleep, but you may want to check it. Another pet peeve of mine that I hate in any hotel is that damn Mini bar.. You can't chill your own bottle of water however you can buy one out of the fridge for the price of a case of water at Duane Reade. Overall, a lovely hotel. July 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional service - Management and concierge teams are the best in town! My daughter and I stayed here for 13 days in November and enjoyed it so much that we are heading back for 17 days this month (February)! Scott, in management, Patrick and Lauren, our fabulous concierges, and Fermin at the front, all made such a great effort to ensure that our stay was enjoyable and that all of our needs were met. I travel often and only stay at the finest, high end hotels - the leadership, camaraderie, service and attention to detail at this hotel, will keep me loyal to this location. Love the water and green apples at the fitness center, nice touch after a long day! February 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, super convenient! Pros: They upgraded my room when I checked in. Friendly staffs. 5th Avenue is within walking distance. 6, M, E trains- within 2 to 3 mins walk. Customer service was efficient. Love the Bliss toiletries. Cons: Room keeping was sloppy. First day, I found a used condom cover in the closet and they forgot to put tissue in the bathroom. Second day, they forgot to put a floor mats in the bathroom. Third day, they forgot to refilled the towels. The shower drainage was super slow that I thought I was going to flood the bathroom (they fixed it right after I called customer service, but only got slightly better). Overall: Not bad for the price in NYC. April 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor follow up I have yet to receive my receipt even after 3 calls to the hotel for incorrectly biliing me for 3 nights instead of 2. I have given them my email three times and no receipt has come. The front desk was slow upon checkout so I didn't wait for my receipt much to my chagrin now as it's been a nightmare trying to connect with the ibilling office. They couldn't even find my stay so said they would call back. Then, I never heard back, so I had to call again. I'll be posting this review to yelp also. June 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A/C problems For $300/night, I was assigned a tiny room with an extremely noisy air conditioner with a fan that would be more at home in a wind tunnel than a hotel room. Fortunately, I happened to have some ear plugs with me, leftover from a recent flight from Tokyo, so I was able to get some sleep. But not before some tossing and turning, and wondering out loud how any self respecting hotelier in their right mind would wish this room on one of their preferred guests. Next time I'm in NY, I'll be sure to stay elsewhere. June 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Stay at the W Hotel (541 Lexington) This hotel has excellent service, the concierge was very courteous and helpful upon arrival and during the booking process. The staff members were very friendly, approachable and very professional. The room was very cozy and kept to a high standard. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to visit the surrounding area. November 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I came for business to NYC and chose to stay at the W Hotel. They started off by losing my reservation, then telling me I needed to leave since I couldn't provide them with a confirmation number. I asked to see a manager and she was extremely rude to us. They finally found our reservation and with no apology, handed over our room key. We were put on the 10th floor and when we got to the room there were dirty dishes set outside the door. Once inside it was very apparent the room had not been cleaned. So we called for a manager and room change and no one would answer the phone. After about an hour we were moved to the 8th floor directly across from the elevators. I am the customer, which they must have forgotten, because they treated me like scum off the street. I am a business woman that knows the value of a business lies with the clients, unfortunately the W Hotel does not. I will never stay there again and will discourage all others from doing so, as well. October 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Anything That Can Possibly Go Wrong, Does, at W New York Our strange W 'harrowing experience' started from the rude 'awakening' from the the door/bell man who marred our arrival at the door, reception who was indifferent in informing that there is no platinum upgrade, provided with a room containing kitchen 'odor', served with moldy cheese cake that was not removed after repeated requests even when checking out 7 nights later to being billed for mini bar items not consumed including for a non existing roll away bed! the proactive management team was notified and even though apologies were extended, all these should not have happened! being the FIRST W in new york and influenced by some good reviews earlier, its evident that the inconsistency of the ground team have benchmarked W new york to the LAST W in anyone's list if they experienced what we did. definitely thumbs down! June 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I wouldn't recommend this W hotel to anyone The door men & bellboys were very professional and courteous. The Room Controller/Talent Coach & Check-in Staff were both exceedingly unprofessional and rude. Housekeeping entered my girlfriends room @ 10:00 a.m. despite me specifically informing her not to enter the room until after 11:00 a.m. My girlfriend was taking a shower and was very upset. My son left his favorite pillow in the room and they made no effort to locate the pillow. Really bad experience December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay My week long stay was truly a wonderful experience. Upgraded to a suite, wonderful helpful staff from the concierge to front desk to house keeping. Everybody couldn't do enough to ensure a memorable stay. Great location central to everywhere but far away from the mayhem of Times Square. My only regret is that I didn't find this W earlier, having stayed at most Starwood hotels in NYC. Will definately be back. Thanks again for a magical stay. June 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful but short getaway We try to get away for a few days every so often to see some shows , movies or just enjoy the city .. Keep coming back to the beautiful W ( 6-7 ) times & each time we get a special treatment - the staff couldn't be nicer - from the front desk who make you feel welcome to the wait staff in the restaurant & lounge area ...the rooms are beautiful , clean & comfortable ..the food in the HeartBeat rest & Oasis lounge is delicious.. Highly recommend this hotel & can't wait to come back again soon.. September 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by What's the point of having SPG Gold? This is was my first stay at a Starwood hotel since I was upgraded to SPG Gold and there was no difference in any benefit. The front desk (who weren't that friendly) didn't recognize or offer me any benefits as a Gold member. I had to later ask for complimentary wi-fi since they didn't offer any check-in gift. Also, I would've thought that as a Gold member that my room would have been in a better location - it was RIGHT IN FRONT of the elevator and all night long I heard people getting off/on. It was so irritating. I would have asked to change rooms but I couldn't be bothered since I was so tired and had to prepare for business meetings. Regarding the actual room, it was clean but the bathroom was slightly dusty and had loose hairs on the floor - yuck! The bed was too soft for my liking. All in all, I won't choose The W on Lex again unless I'm required to by my company. February 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Travel for Work In Midtown This hotel has more than you need if you are working long hours in the Midtown area. The room size is small, but at the end of the night all I wanted was to lie down. The food options are also great for a late night meal after a long day. The front desk staff, including Mario, Cindy, and Aseemah are incredibly friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to any of my colleagues or friends. October 21, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location but costumer service is only so-so. I've stayed at this property twice in the past month. I found the location to be very convenient in Midtown East with easy access to the subway. The hotel itself is nice. The rooms are fairly spacious for NYC standards. My major criticism is in the inconsistent customer service. During both stays, I experienced issues such as not being given a copy of my folio upon checkout, having a random stranger enter my room in the middle of the night using his room key (I sent him back to the front desk to sort it out), and housekeeping not making up the room. The service is sub-par with a hotel in this price range or SPG category. June 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Please clean! My husband and I were in NYC for a 5 day trip - we travel there frequently, but this was our first time at the W Hotel on Lexington Ave. We repeatedly had to ask for our room to be cleaned by calling and even stopped at the front desk and asked that someone go back up and clean our bathroom - recevied chocolates on our pillow, but not a clean sink, commode or shower. YUCK! September 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Original W in NY and now the worst I've stayed here many times - the rooms are so small its crazy. Most rooms can only fit queen beds not sure if they even have a king bed unless you get the highest upgrades. Most rooms have SINGLE beds yes thats right SINGLE so if you are taller than 5'4" you won't fit on the bed The gym is crappy - I only stay here when they have a great rate and nothing nice is November 11, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Completely Disappointed - Would never plan another company event here again Hello - I am in charge of organizing my company's recruiting events. We were excited about moving our event from New York to Atlanta. However, we were so disappointed with the service. The staff at check-in was rude and the rooms were dirty. At our Thursday dinner, we had terrible service. Overall, I was very disappointed with the service. February 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Staff Needs Work I was actually very disappointed given this was my first stay at a W Hotel. Around 2AM I brought take out back to my room and realized that the vendor did not include utensils with my order. I took the elevator down to the lobby to grab a set of utensils from the restaurant when the front desk stopped me and offered to send a set to my room. I said "okay" and waited in my room for 30 minutes without anyone showing up, finally frustrated I went down to the lobby and grabbed a set of utensils from the restaurant. Oh, and when I made the hotel manager aware of the situation, he did NOTHING. Only offered his apologies. July 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff Issues I booked this hotel for one evening, however I was willing to extend my stay an additional evening at the same rate. I mentioned this upon checkin, and the receptionist indicated that they were sold out. I went to my room and logged on to SPG and discovered that they had plenty of rooms available. I called down and mentioned what happened. This new person indicated that they were sold out of the rate that I paid, but the hotel still had rooms. I indicated that if they wanted my business I would be happy to stay another night at my current rate. I am really surprised that they would not negotiate with me, as rooms were available. I checked the next day on my check-out and they still had rooms available - so they clearly lost an opportunity. Finally, I came back to check out around noon, and I surprised the employee who was in my room watching tv who jumped up claiming he was checking the mini bar. FYI, in the suite the mini bar is not near the TV. April 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff too cool for "service" Nice hotel, but every time I stay there is no recognition of my Platinum status, rarely an upgrade, but if I get an upgrade its because I ask several times. Front desk staff is far too cool to care about serving customers. Perhaps this hotel is so consistently full with tourists that they don't need to concern themselves with service. April 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's the little things... Overall, the stay was ok. Could have been better though. Check in on a late Sunday night took 30mins. There was a line of 6 folks waiting to check in and only one desk clerk. The room was missing tissues during the entire stay. Floor mats were also missing. At this type of property, I expect things to be a lot more buttoned up. April 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dark, small rooms - poor temp control The hallways are poorly lighted as are the rooms. The thermostats do not respond and I had a 76 degree room - the engineer's solution was to open a window, which is not ideal in a big city in winter (noise and cold0. The shower did not have hot water at all - nor did the sink, even after 5 minutes of running it. March 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service and SPG recogition I found the staff to be extremely helpful. Additionally, the general manager is very organized and accommodating. This property offers a great experience for SPG members. The personal service provided by the staff here is second to none. No wonder why I have future reservations placed here! November 20, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>