W New York

  • 541 Lexington Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10022
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room and check in.

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 726 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful experience A tiny room for a fortune, with false alarms going off in the early morning hours and staff knocking on the door at 7am. Worst hotel experience in a long time. November 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very Modern Hotel This hotel is very modern and beautiful. However, the room are very small, and is you are claustrophobic do not take the elevator. August 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel has no business being called a W I was very dissappointed in the room decor and the cleanliness of the room. The linens on the bed were old and ripped and the rug was very dirty. August 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff Needs to Improve Responsiveness When I checked in, the front desk clerk was on the phone for 5-10 minutes and didn't pay me much attention. It was around 11 and my family and I were already tired. I didn't appreciate that. Also called for an extra blanket and the staff said, "can't do it man, we don't have anymore." I find it hard to believe that a hotel property would run out of extra blankets for their guest. On the day of checkout, the guy at the front of the hotel, who retrieved the cars for guest, told us to walk over to the parking garage and our car would be waiting for us. So my family and I walked the 3 blocks with all of our bags. When we got there, the people in central parking told us our car had been taken to the hotel. I called over to the hotel and asked could they bring our car back to the parking garage and the reply was, "no." So my family and I had to walk all the way back to the W, with our bags just to get the car. This type of service is unacceptable for a Starwood property. Heck, it's unacceptable for any Hotel! I have been a loyal Platinum guest for a while, but didn't feel like it while staying at this property. Will only stay here again if it's the only choice! August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fixed Our Problem... The staff here is amazing. We had a little issue on our first night, the fire alarm went off. After sending up an engineer to fix the issue two times, we gave ended up unplugging it and going back to sleep. The following day, I let the front staff know about our problem, and after apologies, they sent up an engineer again to fix the problem, this time it worked. The were very sorry about the problem and gave us tickets for drinks at the bar and they also gave us some points for our SPG membership.This staff is excellent and we will be staying here in our future travels to NYC and elsewhere. Thank you. March 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Senior Director Rooms very small, much more than exected. did not feel comfortable at all, but more like I was in a college dorm December 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by hotel room is too small and uncomfortable For dollars spent you can find a much better hotel in NY. Room, shower is too small and unlivable October 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by For the price, I expect more I'm a big W fan. However, this location doesn't meet my expectations. Air conditioner unit is extremely loud. Even on auto, it pretty much runs all night long. Requested a new room, which I got, but the second room had the same AC unit that's just as loud. The room key readers in the elevators are a pain. They don't read most times so you'll be sitting there along with a whole elevator of guests trying to get to your floor(s). The wifi speed is a joke. I'm a SPG platinum member so I get wifi for free. If I was to pay for that, I would demand a refund. Half the TV channels probably run off the same network because most were pixelated and weren't watchable. Skip this property and go elsewhere. April 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is central and has good features I had a comfortable stay at this hotel. Facilities were good and this time the room size was adequate. The only bad point is that housekeeping should better feedback on guest's leftovers after check out as well as the hotel's post stay service. I forgot a bottle of wine (unopened) in the room mini-bar and when I called to ask about it, there was no comment left by housekeeping. There were also no follow up from the hotel on this matter. July 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not good Facilities not up to W standard August 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Don't waste your Suite Night Awards here! I used 3 suite awards for an upgraded experience in NYC for a recent business trip. While the room size was probably 'solid' for NYC standards, it was a total waste of points. The room decoration was sparse, the living room furniture was completely uncomfortable and the bathroom was TINY. I had zero views and no special amenity or welcome. The AC went off in the middle of the night each night (apparently to conserve) so I woke up each AM in a dead sweat with it being 90 and humid outside. Not at all what I experience at other W hotels with out without upgrades. Really shocked at what my 'suite night awards' got me here. I'm even more scared what I would have gotten without them! Had I read other reviews I would have known... so you've been warned! July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice hotel, just not for me Very nice attractive hotel in a good location in the City. The room/bathroom size are just too compact for me. First time in a W property, so if this is the standard, I will probably enjoy other SPG properties for my trip. August 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Hotel is in the heart of New York City. Just a few blocks away are Grand Central, Rockefeller Center, and Time Squarre. The hotel is very clean and has one of the best bars, Whiskey Blue, in all of Manhatten. August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Place to Stay I brought a friend and her daughter to New York for their first visit. They loved the hotel. Even though our check in time was at 3PM, we were allowed to go to our rooms at 11AM. On top of that , we both got upgrades, which was fantastic. The staff is very professional and friendly. Derrick at the Acura desk was very accomodating and friendly. Our rooms were great and we had a great view. I've already recommended the hotel to several of my travelling buddies. I would absolutely stay there again, and plan on doing so in March of next year for my birthday. Thank you for an enjoybale stay. November 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by would not stay again hotel was dated, no coffee in room, no upgrade for VIP offered as requested, small room August 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disgraceful service, and we never even set foot into the hotel... I am saddened to be even writing this review, but I feel I have no choice. Last night (8 hours before our scheduled departure) American Airlines cancelled our flight to NYC for "reasons they could not disclose," with no possible chance of rebooking a flight until after may initial scheduled return flight--essentially my trip was ruined. Naturally I called the W Hotel to explain that due to circumstances out of my control I was not going to make it to Manhattan and that I needed to cancel the reservation. And then it began: talking to clerk after clerk, like being passed around like a hot potato (while waiting on the other line with American Airlines) for 30 mins, until I reached the hotel manager. The hotel manager, Jason, was incredibly flippant, and unsympathetic to my current situation. I was told that it is company policy and that I would NOT be getting a refund (complete or partial). As a long time lover and patron of W Hotels, I was appalled, particularly seeing as how, as a student in a professional field, money is not a thing that I can simply waste. I know this review focuses less on the hotel stay itself, but I believe it does speak volumes about the W's commitment to (or lack there of) customer service. For a 4-4.5 star hotel, it sure doesn't have the customer care of anything better than a Howard-Johnson. As a frequent traveller to NYC, I have stayed in many fantastic hotels there, and so my advice to you, my peers of TripAdvisor, skip the W Hotel (no matter how good the deal). Believe me, you will thank me later. Thank you, W Hotel New York, for ruining my Christmas holiday. December 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to W quality based on all the other W's Towels and eminities not up to standard Very very small and uncomfortable room sq footage. Never refilled the water in the lobby when emptied. Usually I have had complimentary coffee in lobby. Housekeeping staff did not keep rooms that clean and never left enough of the body washed we requested. Also didnt have hot water in room first day. Room we walked into was not cleaned as well as it should have. Bathroom floor was not washed properly and it wa very dusty in the room. Not what I had expected out of a W in New York especially July 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad AC and mattress We got to the hotel at 4pm and got a room with the nosiest AC. We tried to change, but ended up on that room and slept with the AC off during NYC summer. Not very good. The staff was nice and gave us a suite for our second night, but the suite mattress was very old. I wake up in the middle of the night and went to the sofa for the rest of the night. Not a pleasant stay. July 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room was musty I have stayed at the W on Lex before and generally it has been a positive experience. This time, there was room for improvement. Starting with my first step into my room I was hit with an over powering musty smell. A quick search determined that this was coming from the closet. I am not sure what could cause this odor to this degree but it required the cleaning staff to come to my room at 10:30 at night to work on the closet to eliminate the odor. Not exactly the hoped for experience. July 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by I would not choose this hotel again. The hotel hallways were dark and the room was dark, even with the blind open; there was an overall lack of lighting. There was no outlet near the large mirror in the room which was extremely inconvenient. The front mirror in the bathroom is placed so high that an ave. height woman can only see the top of her forehead; therefore, make-up & hair are extremely difficult. The cleaning team uses some kind of air fresh spray which smells horrible and I imagine would cause problems for some with allergies. The shower was very nice; the towels and bedding were nice. The bed was not uncomfortable but it was not one of the best hotel beds I have experienced. The mini bar was nicely stocked, yet pricey (to be expected). The phone charger was a great addition to the mini bar; however, the 1st charger I opened didn't work at all & the 2nd one only charged my phone a small amount after an entire night causing me to go without a phone in the City for an evening (not a good feeling). The next day I found an AT&T store & purchased a charger. Management kindly removed both of those charges. Management sent maintenance right away to repair my blind upon arrival, as it wouldn't rise. Management sent a roll away bed promptly and extended our checkout time which was helpful. Management was efficient, but the lack of light & mirror placement are a deal breakers for someone who is serious about hair and make-up; it makes for a nearly impossible situation for 2 women to get ready in this room at the same time. The spa was great and the massage was the best I have ever experienced (and I have been to many wonderful spas.) One morning at appox. 2am there were loud obnoxious guests in the hallway & you can hear every word (I realize this is not controllable). It is a great location, but not worth the price considering the deficiencies when there are more attractive options available. April 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude Staff, Tiny Rooms During my entire stay of about 20 nights I just asked for a porter to be sent to my room while I was checking out this past Saturday. I waited for ~15 minutes and called the reception again to check up, and they informed me that the porter should be there in my room in 5 more minutes. I waited an additional 15 minutes, but the porter did not arrive. I had no other option but to carry my luggage myself, as I did not want to miss my flight. When I arrived in the lobby I was disappointed to see 2 idle porters standing there. The reception either did not inform the porters of my request or the porters simply ignored it. This form of service is not what I expect from a hotel like the W. Additionally, the staff at the main door is extremely rude and disrespectful. July 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I came for business to NYC and chose to stay at the W Hotel. They started off by losing my reservation, then telling me I needed to leave since I couldn't provide them with a confirmation number. I asked to see a manager and she was extremely rude to us. They finally found our reservation and with no apology, handed over our room key. We were put on the 10th floor and when we got to the room there were dirty dishes set outside the door. Once inside it was very apparent the room had not been cleaned. So we called for a manager and room change and no one would answer the phone. After about an hour we were moved to the 8th floor directly across from the elevators. I am the customer, which they must have forgotten, because they treated me like scum off the street. I am a business woman that knows the value of a business lies with the clients, unfortunately the W Hotel does not. I will never stay there again and will discourage all others from doing so, as well. October 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing for a Category 6 hotel I travel to New York for business every week and have been systematically going to each Starwood property to find which hotel will best suit my long term needs. The W New York unfortunately does not seem to fit. I checked in on a Friday night with my wife for a weekend stay. I called in earlier and Friday and the staff was great. They found my reservation and went ahead and secured my upgrade to a fantastic suite. The recognition of status and the courtesy of securing the upgrade over the phone were greatly appreciated. I was told my room would be available at 4pm. Upon arriving around 4:30pm I was told my room was not available, but that wasn't a big issue as they gave me gym access in the interim. When I finally check into our room around 6pm, the disappointment began. The room was not properly cleaned. The fantastic suite size, layout, and furnishing were sub-par compared to similar suites at the W Times Square. Still it was a free upgrade so I did not have any grounds to complain (except for the cleanliness, which I let pass). The shower drain was clogged and the shower flooded, thus I called maintenance Friday evening to get it resolved. They said they would send someone up. I left and came back a couple of hours later with my wife who used the same shower and told me it was clogged still. I went down to the front desk and asked in person to have it resolved. The next morning we find that the drain was still clogged as the bathroom started flooding. This time I went to speak with a manager (Tim or Tom) and he was extremely apologetic. He offered free breakfast/drinks which I turned down as that wasn't my objective. Within an hour someone came to fix the issue. It is sad that at a category 6 property it takes 3 requests and an interaction with manager to get a service call addressed. That being said I am appreciative of the manager's responsiveness and professionalism. Beyond the service issue the property itself leaves much to be desired. Within our suite you can hear the plumbing of our neighboring room. The noise is so loud it wakes you up. Add that to the fact that the building itself does not insulate street noise well at all. Obviously these are issues the staff can't compensate for, but still should be noted. Upon check out I expressed my disappointment to the front desk they apologized and offered me 5000 points for my inconvenience (which I haven't seen yet). Overall I felt that for a hotel that is designated a Category 6 hotel, that it did not meet up to the expectation. June 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value For a convenient Manhattan location, this hotel was a very good value. My only complaint was twice during a 3-day stay, staff attempted to enter the room in the late evening to check on the room- thinking it was vacant. July 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not coming back Co-worker stuck in elevator. Staff conflicted on contacting fire department. Some said "have a policy not to all fire department immediately" because they have to attempt to reolve with the engineers. Manager said they had a "talent error" should have called the fire department immediately. Elevators are small, rooms very small and expesive for what you get. Many of the staff very nice, but would not want to be there in times of crisis. Also, internet is expensive, when many other comparable quallity hotels in NY have free internet. July 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed ! Room needs to be spruced up, very, mildew, musty smell! Had to keep windows open just to get some relief. Bed lumpy and seemed old. Requested extra pillows and never received them. The lobby bar was a disgrace! The couch was extremly uncomfortable, ripped and dirty. The chairs across from the hidious couch were stained and filthy. The cushions were actually black in color. We were uncomfortable just sitting there having a drink, did not even think about ordering food since it was so dirty. On a better note, concierge, baggage claim, desk clerk, and valet were very professional, helpful and pleasant. I don't think I will stay at another W in NYC ( possibly elsewhere as well) until I hear the hotels have been updated. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular! From the moment my taxi let me off I front of the hotel to the time I left 3 days later, the staff and my stay were wonderful. I swear that Carmen (front desk) and Furman (bellman) must live there, because they were always present and available with help and advice, no matter what I needed or when. They both made my stay exceptional. The accommodations were clean, modern, and comfortable, the food and drink were good, and the star watching was a treat as well. My stay was for business, but I will be back with my spouse for pleasure. Thank you for a spectacular stay! June 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hospitable Comfort Definition of HOSPITABLE 1 a : given to generous and cordial reception of guests b : promising or suggesting generous and cordial welcome c : offering a pleasant or sustaining environment W New York Hotel - (Lexington Ave) - exceeded my expectations! My first ever visit to NY, the W New York general manager promptly responded to communications prior to my visit. All of my inquiries were answered and my stay at the W felt like my comfort zone in unchartered territory. All points of contact with the hotel staff exemplified conscientious, competent results. I am grateful and I look forward to future accommodations with W New York and I encourage others looking for a place of excellence to make this their comfort zone too! June 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVED IT! First I'd like to say whatever negative review you have read about the W Midtown, Fa'get about it! I read stuff on various travel sites and after booking I was a bit nervous. When I arrived, hardly a wait to check in, my SPG was renewed, I got a room with a view that I asked for (the Cozy is more than enough cozy for me), daily service was wonderful, lemon/lime water at the elevator nice touch, gym state of the art, getting around no problem. Definitely will recommend. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W New York Delivers! From the time of arrival to the end of my late check out, the staff was attentive, responsive and very pleasant. I was comforted and made to feel confident, secure and appreciated. The positive attitude was present throughout the hotel and it showed. I'd highly recommend it now...and again! July 27, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 25 next>>