W New York

  • 541 Lexington Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10022
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 809 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude Staff, Tiny Rooms During my entire stay of about 20 nights I just asked for a porter to be sent to my room while I was checking out this past Saturday. I waited for ~15 minutes and called the reception again to check up, and they informed me that the porter should be there in my room in 5 more minutes. I waited an additional 15 minutes, but the porter did not arrive. I had no other option but to carry my luggage myself, as I did not want to miss my flight. When I arrived in the lobby I was disappointed to see 2 idle porters standing there. The reception either did not inform the porters of my request or the porters simply ignored it. This form of service is not what I expect from a hotel like the W. Additionally, the staff at the main door is extremely rude and disrespectful. July 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Original W, Needs Some Improvement I really wanted to like this hotel. As the original W Hotel, there was an expectation of some wear and tear, but I have traveled to SPG properties all around the world, and this one fell short of my expectations. To give the hotel some credit, they upgraded my room type based on my status, but the room was in need a a deep cleaning: spots on the floor, mold growth near the snack center, weathered furniture including significant chips on the wood. The hotel was very responsive about moving me to another room, and very courteous and helpful. The second room was in much better shape, but there was a strong mildew smell coming from the bathroom and there were 5 flies flying around in there as well. Again, the General Manager and her team were very responsive, and finally moved me to my third room which was on a much higher floor and significantly better condition. I have two actionable recommendations for the hotel: (1) If the facilities cannot be renovated to the highest W standards, please at least consider a cleaning team that will focus on getting the rooms cleaned, and not just spraying with room spray to "mask odors". This may require hiring more on-site cleaning staff and changing the cleaning process. (2) Replace all towels or use a different towel cleaning service. All of the bath sized towels smell of mildew, and it could be a problem with your service or if in-house your washing machines. I expect a lot from SPG properties world-wide, and I would have expected much more from a W, the original no-less. The only reason why this review received 3 stars is the amazing staff responsiveness of the General Manager and her team. All very helpful in trying to help me feel comfortable throughout my stay. I hope to see that future travelers to this hotel will benefit from updated facilities. I personally, will be seeking another hotel to stay in the next time I am in New York. July 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not coming back Co-worker stuck in elevator. Staff conflicted on contacting fire department. Some said "have a policy not to all fire department immediately" because they have to attempt to reolve with the engineers. Manager said they had a "talent error" should have called the fire department immediately. Elevators are small, rooms very small and expesive for what you get. Many of the staff very nice, but would not want to be there in times of crisis. Also, internet is expensive, when many other comparable quallity hotels in NY have free internet. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Conference Stay We have our semi-annual work conference there. Always a nice stay. Convenient and good service. Not overly solicitous. July 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by LOUD This was the first time I stayed at this property and have stayed a many Starwood properties. My primary issue was how loud the air conditioner unit was. Everytime it turned on or off there was a clunking sound that awoke me - in addition to that there was a noise that sounded like an engine or fan overheating that woudl start light then get louder and louder and loud then slowling go back to no noise - this happened every 15 minutes or so and have to admit I was awaken at lest 8 to 10 times by it. July 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to W standards Great Location for Business travelers but the hotel rooms are small, the service is not W worthy, and it is a little run down. As a SPG Platinum member, spouse of a former W employee, and someone who has stayed at this particular property a number of times over the years. You would think that the property take a couple of minutes to not provide me with the worse room on the property. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic...Again I recently returned to the W, mainly because of my last stay and the customer service provided by Liz from four front desk team. Upon arrival, Liz immediately recognized me and welcomed my group. Again, Liz took great care of us and minutes later, we were in our rooms. I can't say enough her friendly demeanour and exemplary customer service skills. Well done...Again! July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Be careful with the munchie bar! We did not know that the muchie bar automatically charged our credit card everytime we picked something up. Be careful! You might be charged hundreds of dollars. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Welcome, friendly Staff Big thanks to Liz at the front desk for the kind welcome and Jose and his team for the daily housekeeping. I had a wonderful stay. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W NYC! Terrific front desk, room, and overall vibe. July 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful experience, as usual Housekeeping threw some of my cosmetics away, went thru my luggages. July 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel/Great Location / Needs updates Some of the newer W's i have stated at have modern amenities such as USB Chargers for phones, iPOD doc etc. This W had none of that. There were also issues with our Key access. Overall the stay was good and the staff was accommodating. Bar service was terribly slow and the Concierge wasn't very helpful.. Good value for the money and the location is awesome. Close to subway and Grand Central July 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful!!!! Dear W New York, Thank you so much for a wonderful stay! Everyone there is so amazing! I appreciate all your efforts. Can you please say thank to Alex Salamanca in your restaurant? He was our server there and made us feel at home everyone morning. He remembered us and provided attentive service.He served us fresh decaf coffee with a smile and prompt service. I hope he gets some sort of recognition for his effort in making sure all guests are well taken care of. I saw him serving other tables and he was very caring and attentive. Thank you again for this memorable experience! Sincerely, Juan Manuel Marquez and David Silverman July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service, thin walls Starpoint award booking. Staff contacted me in advance of my stay to check for special requests, and accommodated my request for a particular room floor plan that I had enjoyed before. Staff was friendly on arrival, room was clean and comfortable, etc. The walls in this hotel are thin -- I sleep very lightly so that's an issue for me, but it may not be for you. Room service breakfast was passable but not great. I have stayed here before and will continue to stay here on business trips. Convenient and reliable. July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel This hotel has it all...great business rooms, trendy bar, all night room service, a spa, and comfortably modern rooms. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Service! The W on Lexington Ave. had exceptional service. From the second we walked in the door, we were greeted and all of our needs were met. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Hotel 49th and Lex Excellent hotel with a staff that was very helpful. Great bar in lobby and club attached The quick easy coffee/breakfast option in the lobby each morning was excellent...good coffee Only negative was that the rooms were a little small but minor inconvenience Beds were very comfortable June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Most disappointing W property in US Before I provide the review, I want to caveat that I'm a business traveler that has stayed at this W before multiple times in the past 5 years and I'm writing the review because I've never experienced a property that actually declines steadily with time. If it wasn't for the location and agreement with my company, I would not stay here despite the fact that I'm a platinum Starwood member. Check in is always a gamble - the lines are always long and messed up because there is no guidance around where to stand and there is no separate line for elite guests and if there is, that is news to me. Front desk staff is global and have been the same for the last couple of years and despite that experience, they are not that stellar. 7 out of 10 times I am given a handicap accessible room and I find out after I've gone up on the claustrophobic elevators. I've asked the front desk every time this happens to note on my profile that I do not want a handicap accessible room and yet 5 years later, it still happens to me. The rooms are also hit or miss. The rooms or bathrooms with bathtubs in it ALL smell. I ask the Style staff to change the shower curtain and liner but the mildew smell does not go away because the whole bathroom smells like it - like someone cleaned the bathroom with a dirty dirty rag. I gag when I brush my teeth. I told the front desk person last week that I only want the rooms with the stand up showers but we'll see if that actually happens (see previous paragraph about front desk staff). Rooms are New York - it is cozy and loud if you are facing Lexington Ave. Despite that, the beds are comfortable. The gym is on the 4th floor and not that bad. Room service is typical hotel prices except the egregious delivery fee - don't order anything unless you want to spend an extra $15 on delivery charges. Checkout can be less painful if you don't need a hard copy of the portfolio but I encourage everyone to go through the painful process. Sometimes, they charge you for the "munchie bar" when you didn't even touch the muchie bar. Make sure you check all line items. I said the checkout is painful because of the lines (see previous paragraph). The worst is the bellmen, the guys outside that are supposed to help you with your bags and help you catch a cab. They are the single most awful set of bellmen I have ever experienced in my 10 years of business travel. They only help people they want to help and they have this setup with the taxi drivers that only want to take customers to airports. I've seen cabbies give these guys money for letting them sit on the street and take preferential customers that the bellmen feed to them. Last week, I said I needed a cab to Grand Central and the bellmen said okay and did not help me and I was forced to stand in front of the hotel for 20 minutes hailing my own cab. Finally, the bald asian guy came over because the other bellman said something to him about helping me and he said "do you need a cab?" I was so infuriated, because he asked me 20 minutes ago if I needed a cab and I had said yes, that I shouldn't have but I hurled curses at him and stomped off because I was flabbergasted beyond reason. I'm pretty sure the whole cabbie deal is ILLEGAL - I HOPE YOU ARE READING THIS HOTEL GENERAL MANAGER. As far as I understand, hotels are in the hospitality industry. I recommend you guys revisit what hospitality means to you. From an outsider perspective that has seen and experienced this staff over the past few years, it is obvious to me that this property is victim to a toxic culture that lacks accountability and responsibility. This can be detrimental to the employees as well as the customers not to mention the W and Starwood brands. Reputation risk is the hardest to build and the easiest to lose. I hope my concerns do not go unheeded. June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Loud & Uncomfortable Beds I decided to give this hotel another try after leaving it for years (I travel to NYC roughly 20 times a year). My regular hotel was sold out and this hotel is close to the office. I had heard the place had been renovated and while it definitely has had a facelift, the fact that they still have not figured out how to soundproof the rooms is beyond me. The rooms are beyond loud (between the traffic noise and the AC sounding like a jet engine was taking off, I got little sleep), the beds are hard and uncomfortable. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone...EVER! Never again. June 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ratio Price / quality very low The room are really small and noisy. The TV fills half of the bed room. Phonic isolation pretty low and the bathroom is functionnal but very very tiny, you cannot be two in it at the same time. Confort bed was average. June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love this place The location is the greatest and the staff is supportive, friendly and kind most of the times. Yes, there are many things that can be improved, but I keep returning here June 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Double disappointment I travel for work all the time and normally don't get the chance to squeeze in some extra fun. That being said I was really excited about my recent trip to New York and the opportunity to stretch it into a long weekend with the girlfriend. I know rooms in the city are a little small so it was the perfect time to cash in on some of my platinum suite night awards to get a little extra space for the two of us. Everything with the suit upgrade went through as expected, but when we got to our 3rd floor suite we noticed a large construction project going on directly outside and the noise, although muffled was still too loud to get a decent night's sleep. It’s New York so why would you have a suit on such a low floor and why wouldn't you at least have better quality sound proof windows? I checked with the lobby to see if we could change rooms but the hotel was booked solid until the second night of our stay. The hotel staff offered to move us for the remainder of the stay as soon as another room became available. Thank you! One night of interrupted sleep later we enter our new room... Although we're now on a much higher floor the sound from outside was just as bad if not worse. I can only assume the windows become less sound proof the higher your room. It's a noisy city, the hotel can't control that so whatever... but next time you're thinking of making some improvements you might want to consider upgrading the windows. By now I’m pretty disappointed in the W but then I noticed the shortcut they were taking in the bathroom. I know space is at a premium but the toilet in this room was so tightly crammed up against the sink that it was impossible to sit facing forward. Good thing there wasn't a bath tub because the only way I could take care of business was at a 30 degree angle with my feet half way across the walk in shower. BTW I'm only 5'8" so anyone over or around 6' or above might need a different strategy. Seriously how can you be considered a higher end hotel if you can’t properly fit a toilet into a bathroom? Overall the rooms feel poorly laid out, details are rough around the edges, and the windows are too thin for a noisy city like New York. Having stayed at W hotels around the world this is by far the dumpiest I can recall. June 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tired Facility Staid here two nights on business. Was on top floor but still hear lots of road noise. Room had fancy electronic shades but there was gaps so was lots of light in room very early. Thin towels, low water pressure and AC that didn't really work make for a property I will not be returning to. Attempted to tell front desk employee on check out and there was no interest. On positive side did get energetic directions on places to visit. June 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nosiest W Room Our room was located inside the Ice Machine room, all we heard all night was ice being made. Brutal!!! June 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Front Desk Service Needs Major Improvement I had reserved three rooms for my 5 girlfriends for our ladies' weekend. One friend checked in at 3pm no problem. I arrived at 4:30 to check in and was told there were no rooms with 2 double beds ready yet. Seriously? And the woman at the check-in counter walked into another room for nearly 10 minutes with my credit card and no explanation or apology. What was that all about? She then asked me twice how many people would be staying in the room. We are in our 50s. What did she think, we were sneaking a bunch of people in. How insulting. I didn't hear any of the other four check in ladies questioning other guests. I am a gold member and expect better customer service. This rude treatment set a sour tone for me for my entire stay. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Small but comfortable Comfortable, clean, quiet and reasonably priced! June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place to stay Great location and has nice features. Good rate, but the rooms are very small. June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very Small Rooms We were upgraded to a spectacular king room that still had a queen bed and was VERY small by normal standards Very Pricey June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by W Lexington Needs improvement this was the third time I stayed at a W hotel and I would not recommend the W on Lexington to anyone. the rooms look worn out as the carpets and furniture look terrible. The room had an odor as the whole hotel did.. I would have a really tough time staying at a W hotel again. the staff in the hotel was also pretty rude as the woman who checked us in seemed like she didn't care to be working there . My fiance was supposed to stay here for her bachelorette party, but she is now cancelling it due to the experience we had.. I only complain when it needs to be done and unfortunately, this is one of those times. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Funky hotel The room was a little cramped June 23, 2014
  • 2015-07-03T13:40:27.790-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_809, tr_809
  • loc_en_US, sid_97502, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 28 next>>