W New Orleans - French Quarter

  • 316 Chartres Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 212 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unique The W is secluded in the busy city of New Orleans. My husband and I enjoyed a romantic escape. Our room was funky and cool. The courtyard was so relaxing. The fountain at night was beautiful. May 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by All that food in New Orleans I gave the hotel three stars out of five because of the slow service in the dining area and lack of internet services, and one day the room was not cleaned. All of these can be improved on. The staff was top notch from the time I checked in to the final seconds in leaving. All were friendly, but Quentin was my favorite with his smile and personality. I would stay again but with a watchful eye. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, not like any other W this hotel is in the perfect spot for me. In the french quarter but far enough from the craziness. Three blocks from Jackson square and right in the middle of some of the best restaurants. The courtyard at the hotel is amazing. Its also not a huge hotel so you get a boutique feel but the familiarity of the SPG service. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great stay ... I travel alot ... and I am very vocal about both good and bad stays. This stay was flawless ... the staff was friendly and responsive, the hotel was nice, the location was good. I've stayed in most of the better hotels in and around the French Quarter and I will absolutely return to the W! June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stellar Food and Beverage Team As a person in the hospitality industry (non Starwood Brand), your food and beverage team is top notch. From Christian at the pool to Brian and Jake behind the bar in SoBou, we felt welcomed and very well taken care of. While minor issues arose during our stay, it was the professionalism of Mr. Lorenz Stattegger who was on point to make everything right. Thank you all for an amazing weekend in New Orleans French Qtr. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel! The W French Quarter is a top notch hotel in a great location with quick and easy access to all of the excitement of the French Quarter. The hotel is smaller than the average W but packs a lot of character. The staff is friendly, energetic, and accommodating. If your plans take you to New Orleans, I highly recommend this location due to is close proximity to everything. Catch a shuttle from the airport. No need to rent a car. Everything is within walking distance. I had a great stay and felt very welcome. I will definitely be back. Thanks guys for being a part of a wonderful first trip to "The Big Easy" September 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a Typical W I recently stayed at the French Quarter W based on some reviews about their renovations last year and was excited. We checked into the hotel and from the outside and layout everything seemed great. However, when we checked into our room, we noticed it to be extremely dirty, food was still in the minibar refrigerator from the previous guest and the mini bar was depleted of water and pretty much anything you can think of. There was also some sort jelly like substance on the floor. We notified the front desk, but it took them a day to actually come up and clean up the stench from the food left in the refrigerator in the room. For staying in the Studio Suite room, the service was subpar for a W. The restaurant on site, however, is amazing. September 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not a Platinum Experience I had just arrived from Miami w the 1st w we have stayed at and left with the WOW factor. on arriving a W here the staff at the front desk were pleasant and polite but did get the Platinum vibe. We stayed 5 nights 3 of the 5 days after the room was serviced we had to call to chase up towels etc, 2 days after service there was no Hair Shampoo etc replaced. Went to the Bar one night at 10.10pm for a drink, never was asked what we wanted just got told after waiting 5 minutes we have stopped sittings at 10pm????? the hall ways are noisy on the last night there was a scuffle swearing and fighting outside our room at 4am. I called reception they said they would send someone up!!!!!! Great location, not much else I can say May 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Restaurant not up to W standards The restaurant is poorly run and an overall bad experience. We had dinner one night with one of the worst service experiences ever and poor quality food. SoBou needs an adult menu and adult supervision. Breakfast was better, but you don't expect much for breakfast. But, even then, the hostess asked if we wanted coffee then disappeared. Never saw her again. The servers largely lurked in the back of the restaurant out of sight. March 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by recommend with reservations The location of the W in the Quarter is outstanding. The staff are what make this hotel and why I would recommend it to friends. Though the set up of the hotel and the room I had was nice, the are quite a few things that need up-dating and many things in the room that need fixing! It's interesting that they take the time on small details like changing the carpets in the elevators to say: good morning,good afternoon and good evening but the elevators themselves don't run very well and small details in the rooms that would make a difference aren't attended to. Fix up those things that need attending to and with that beautiful, helpful, and pleasant staff you will have one of the finest hotels in New Orleans. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W French Quarter Hotel Staff While the hotel location is wondeful the staff at the W made our stay memorable. The concierge made reservations at great restaurants based upon our parameters. The folks at the front desk were upbeat and provided lots of local information. The bartenders were also very informative regarding local drinks and customs plus just being fun. People remembered our name and made us feel very welcome each time we returned to the hotel. Our room was comfortable although the bathroom very small. We very much enjoyed our stay. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, great location As a frequent business traveler to New Orleans, the W French Quarter is among my top favorites. The hotel (layout, pool, courtyard, restaurant) is attractive, historical but with modern amenities, the rooms are pristine and comfortable (many with balconies), the restaurant is terrific and the location is perfect. The staff is competent, professional and always courteous and helpful. June 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fraud and Theft by Sheraton We booked through an online site based on the write up of the amenities. When we got to the hotel we found out that the sauna, steam room and fitness center that were on the write up did not exist. The phones in our room did not work, a technician came and all he did was confirm they did not work. I called to speak to management about a cancelation and refund. No manager would talk to me and their customer service said there would be no refund. We checked out and moved to another hotel, On the day we were due to have checked out of the Sheraton we got an email folio from where they charged us for vallet parking for four days after we left. January 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff was great! This was my first time visiting New Orleans. I'm happy to say the trip was great. The W staff was very friendly and accommodating. I was able to get a couple W Acura rides around town too. The courtyard and pool were also nice getaways. The stuff that didn't meet my expectations or were a bit disappointing.. 1) The walls are paper thin. All night long I could hear doors slamming, creaking, people stomping around. 2) Not enough natural light in the room. There was only a small balcony door that provided sunlight. 3) The on property restaurant stops service at 10am to 11:30am on Saturday. Couldn't get a late breakfast on property. August 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice location, service severely lacking The pros: Nice, clean room. Great location. Loved the 24 hour pool. The cons: Nobody was around when we pulled into the hotel on a Tuesday night. We couldn't even figure out where to check in. No bellman. We eventually found the counter (which looks like the restaurant entrance) and there was a woman behind the counter who had just been watching us apparently without any interest in coming out and asking us if we needed help. This same lady at the counter gave me a room that was several classes below what I reserved. I knew there was going to be trouble when the first thing she said was that some folks with similar last names to mine had already checked in (my last name is NOT common). So instead of a larger suite with a balcony (like my reservation promised and I paid for), I got a tiny hole in the wall studio with no balcony. Oh, and there were no towels in my room on the first night- was lovely having to towel off with hand towels after flying for 8 hours. Finally, bought a movie on my last night in town. Some $.99 cheapo. But the movie froze about halfway in. TV completely frozen. Couldn't even turn it off. Couldn't change the channel. Still got charged for the movie. And the TV was stuck on all night so it was really bright in the room. No response when I called the front desk to ask them to come fix it. Despite it being a great location, and despite the great experiences I've had at other W hotels, this experience really soured me. September 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy! I had stayed in this same Hotel 2 years ago and loved it! This time the room was not user friendly, no reading lives, no counter space to speak of in the bathroom, no bathtub.....very dark room, decorated like Halloween.....it was EXTREMELY noisy even without my neighbor playing Louis Armstrong at 3am! The Front Desk was great and the maid service, the valet was overwhelmed and needed help.....great people but the facility is now depressing, I cancelled my future stay and will stay elsewhere September 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is seedy and rundown Having been recommended in the SW Fall magazine I thought it would be a wonderful place. Arrived at 3:15 PM and even tho we are gold were told our room wouldnt be ready til about 4:30 as it was a Platinum member in room with late checkout. Had to store luggage and kill time. Carpets in hallways filthy and lighting so dim you could hardly see. In our room, coffee not replinished for Da 2 morn, shower floor tile so slick I almost huryt myself, stool white fabric looked like someone had peed on it, chip on water glass. front desk always backed and twice no answers at front desk when called from room. Location good. January 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location My sister and I enjoyed our first time in New Orleans. Upon our arrival Shawn (at the front desk) was very welcoming. She gave us a nice courtyard view room. She acknowledged us a SPG clients. Her evening counterpart, Ariel was also very helpful on two occasions. The "bellmen" were helpful as well. Overall we had a very pleasant stay at the French Quarters W hotel. January 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible management For a W, it was a horrible experience. All the staff do their own thing wihout any supervision, no control over them. The pool was locked and open whenever they feel like. The manager and security personal flat out lyed to me when I confronted them. Room service did not replenish the bottled waters in our room, when I asked for one, I was told the stroge room was locked. February 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisey This hotel is centrally located in the French Quarter, and is a nice place. The rooms are spacious. The bar scene is great and the bar staff was wonderful to talk with and they make amazing cocktails. We also enjoyed the enomatic wine system. What we did not enjoy was the noise level. Frequently woken up by loud guests in the hallways, but the worst was the staff chit chatting so loudly outside our room on the CB Radios that we had to step out and say something and it still continued. Meanwhile they left room service plates in the hallway for days it seemed. May 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Converted Motor Inn? The location of the hotel is excellent for Bourbon Street carousing. The staff is friendly and pleasant. My beef would be with the property itself in that it doesn't seem up to W standards. The reception area is miniscule, there is no lobby, you enter through a car port. The decor around the pool is lovely but the pool itself is small and unattractive and the furnishings seemed overly worn.The restaurant was closed for renovation. Room decor is charming but not of the W modernist ilk. In a brand where the "scene" is everything, there was nowhere for that scene to take place. April 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by What happened to this hotel? I am so sad. They are in the process of remodeling this hotel, so we understood before check in that there would be things amiss and some banging going on. But the remodel is TACKY. The rooms are not designed well and there's a lot of wasted space. No shelf in the shower to put soap & shampoo, a logo in the oddest spot on the bathroom mirror so it blocks the view for 2 people to get ready, no real bathroom counter space to put hair dryer, make up, etc. We stayed in 2 different rooms because our original room wasn't technically remodel ready. No iron, no coffee maker, no robe and then 2 lights would not turn off. We didn't realize this until we stumbled home from Bourbon Street at 2:30am. We did get a room on the same floor and they brought up a key right away for the new room - but trying to pack up our luggage with a few Hurricanes in us was not fun. The staff was LOVELY and the location is worth it. I am REALLY bummed at the remodel cause I have stayed at this hotel a few times and it's not what I expect of a W hotel. I DO recommend this hotel because of it's location and because it's a Starwood. August 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel This hotel is close to everything in the French Quarter. The staff from the desk to the valet was fabulous. Shaw was very accommodating and very helpful. The pool was heated and so perfect during the time we were there. I love that French Quarter Festival was walking distance. I love the Acura is available to take you around. I will sure be back. Although construction was ongoing, it didn't bother us. April 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Superior Service and Great Location Do not stay anywhere else in New Orleans if this hotel has rooms available. It is a small property (97ish rooms, I think) but is decorated very well. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and fun. The location is positively perfect and everything you want to walk to in the French Quarter and surrounding neighborhoods is easy to get to. The food at SoBou is WAY WAY WAY better than you would normally expect from any hotel and the bartenders are legit! Abigale was our favorite. If you're looking to really check out New Orleans, you must talk to Staci, the concierge. She is upbeat, friendly, and entertaining. She has the best ideas and knows all about the city. The most important part about this hotel is how great the staff is. Trust me, this is absolutely the property you want to stay at. July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I booked W Hotels at the French Quarter, New Orleans for the first time. At first we have made a mistake booking on HotRate which is the rate for employees of Starwood. Then the Front Office told us to pay higher rate and we accepted that because it was our mistake. We arrived to the hotel around 3 pm but the room wasn't ready so we have to wait in the lobby. I asked the Front office people but she just said she doesn't know so we finally wait for an hour until we can check-in by 4 pm. We were still positive thinking at that time because we like the room although the bathroom was so small. However, the worst is there was a private party in the hotel courtyard that night and our room was just 3 meters away from the party and it made our room so noisy with the music from the outside! We can't help losing our first impression with W Hotel when compare with other hotels that is cheaper and provide better service. May 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do Not Stay Here!!!! This hotel is one of the worst hotel we have ever stayed at!!!! We had problem after problem after problem after problem our entire stay!!! Staying here was a complete nightmare! Here is a list of everything that was wrong with this hotel: 1. Room was not ready when we checked in...we were told to walk around the French Quarter until the room was ready and was promised a call when ready which we never received. Walking around for an hour would not have been a problem if it was not pouring rain! The hotel offered an umbrella for our use but apparently they were out of stock after they offered us an umbrella. 2. Room keys were not available when our room was finally ready and was told we would receive a call in our room when ready! We never received a call, we wasted 2 hours waiting in our room! 3. Extremely loud music was blasting in the courtyard from 9am - 10pm daily despite numerous complaints from multiple guests that they were unable to relax. The music was so loud you could hear it in the halls and rooms. Finally after complaining 5 times over a period of 2 days the music was turned down to a tolerable level. 4. Acura car service was not available as they informed us the car was in the shop for repairs. The hotel seriously only has one car?!? We made reservations weeks in advance for the car service! We were told it would be back Sunday or Monday, we called to check the status both days but the car was still in the shop. BS! 5. The cable/picture quality was extremely poor and movie channels were not available. The hotel sent someone to check it out, he came in tightened the cable and left. He called us about 10 minutes later to see if it was working but it wasn't and instructed us to unplug and plug back in and fiddle with the cables...ummm isn't that your job?!?!?! By the time he came back up to try again it was way too late in the night to even bother with it. 6. Day 3 of our stay there wasn't any hot water in our room! We went down to the front desk to complain along with a list of several things that were broken or disgusting in our room to be fixed while we were out. The girl at the front desk promised to have all our issues addressed and fixed asap. Only 2 of the items from our list were addressed and the rest were ignored! 7. Walls are paper thin...you can hear everything inside and outside the hotel! 8. Hotel staff is unresponsive and sometimes rude when complaining about something wrong with the hotel. 90% of complaints were not addressed! 9. The cleaning staff does a very poor job cleaning rooms and straightening up. Our room was covered in dust for days! 10. The last day of our stay there was heavy construction being done to the restaurant, it was intolerable! The construction workers started jack hammering around 10am! We called at 1:30pm to ask how long this was going to be going on and to complain about the noise & the jack hammering shaking our room the girl at the front desk was extremely rude! She stated with a nasty attitude "You think that's bad???? Try sitting at the front desk! Construction was also extremely annoying when taking a dip in the tiny pool. Seriously what luxury hotel does major construction during tourist season?!?!? 11. As we were packing up on our last night we noticed that one of our bags of gifts we had purchased was missing from our room! We immediately contacted the front desk with concern and anger! We received a call back from the front desk a few minutes later that they were trying to contact a supervisor to get this issue resolved. We had to rush out of our room to try to replace the gifts but the stores were closed! We wasted an hour running around the French Quarter at 12am - 1am in the morning! We went back to the front desk and were told that the cleaning staff must have thrown the bag out by mistake and would try to resolve the issue. Why would the cleaning staff shift through our large stack of purchases and just throw one bag out?!?! The hotel did not offer to cover the loss but rewarded us some Starwood Points...we don't care about points!!! We want our stuff back! We spent hours picking out perfect gifts for friends and coworkers! When we checked out at 6am our issue had yet to be resolved we were told to check out the gift shops in the airport to replace the missing gifts. We have yet to receive a call from the hotel supervisor regarding this issue and it's been over 12 hours!!!!! We will be following up everyday until this issue has been resolved and all Starwood Points have been returned from our stay. Thank god we did not pay for this stay but used Starwood Points. You would think the hotel would treat long time Starwood Members with a little more respect and try to insure their stay is pleasant and relaxing. Pros: Doormen and Valet staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel is in a great location and the courtyard is beautiful. February 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing My husband & I frequently stay at W hotels. We reserved a stay in the W French Quarter for our six year anniversary. Upon arrival we were informed that our room was not quite ready. We stored our luggage, took a walk, had some lunch & came back at check in time. We were then informed that our room would not be ready until evening because the guest checking out was still in the room. We had early dinner reservations and requested they find us a room to get ready. They temporarily checked us into a room that was not very clean and most disturbingly had a rodent trap on the floor near a hole in the wall. We found another place to stay and asked for our money back. The manager who helped us was very nice and agreed to give us a refund. She was apologetic and even gave us a bottle of champagne before we left. We have still not been refunded and this was three weeks ago. This W was not up to our standards. We just wanted a relaxing special weekend. November 28, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing When we arrived at 4:00 our room was not ready even though it was supposed to ba at 3:00. Then they told us that they were renovating since 2009 and the restaurant wouldn't be available (no room service or breakfast like they advertised in their web site.) Jack hampers from 8:30 to 5:30 every day. Because they didn't tell us until we arrived we had no choice but to take the room. Since they didn't have our room ready they offered us another...again we had no choice February 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool place in the heart of the French Quarter Due to a business project, I have been coming down to New Orleans often, I find myself really liking this hotel. It is a great place right in the middle of the French Quarter where you can easily access many of the sites of NOLA. This place gives off a great vibe, has a good restaurant, and courtyard area to relax on a nice evening. As a business traveler however, I think I do need to reconsider. The rooms are great as well as the staff, and it is close to the office, but the business amenities are seriously lacking. The wireless internet here is utterly useless. I mention it every stay in the hopes of improvement, but no dice. I work in IT so I know how relatively easy it would be to do, but I know there are always costs. If you need / want to do some work, stream any media or any other minor intensive internet activity, forget it. Also, the gym is pretty limited. It has a few cardio machines, but not much beyond that. For those on vacation where a gym and internet are not important, this is a great place to go, for those on business or find internet and a decent gym important, stay far away. May 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This is a Couples Hotel Not a family atmosphere at the hotel. Food and beverage and staff attentiveness were good. Location is close enough to Walk to everything in the Quarter but far enough that it's not loud. I wouldn't call it a business hotel either unless you are entertaining. Pretty funky. May 27, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>