W New Orleans - French Quarter

  • 316 Chartres Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 241 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Experience! Staci and the staff exceeded our expectations by treating us better than mere guests...we were more like friends coming to stay for a weekend. Although the hotel is under renovation, work does not begin until late in the morning and is stopped early in the evening, and traffic areas were kept very clean. Although we heard the construction seemed to be keeping guests away, we hardly knew work was being done. For anyone concerned about the construction, don't let it stop you from coming here and having an exceedingly wonderful experience! June 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hidden Oasis The W New Orleans is the perfect hotel. You are in the heart of the French Quarter but when you need a break from it all you can escape quickly back to peace and quiet. Sitting by the pool or courtyard you forget you are steps away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The staff's attention to detail and the quality of sleep prepare you for another full day of exploration. October 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bathroom problems As always the staff treated us like family and we were not aware that the hotel was under construction until we arrived. Hint... Maybe a web site update... We stayed on the 5th floor and the room was just ok. The bathroom had black mold around the shower area and the shower knob was about to fall off. I have sent pictures of the bathroom and was a little disappointed that the room was not up to the usual high standards I have seen in other W hotels. June 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Experience Overall the staff was helpful and friendly. Our only complaints were the inconsistent complimentary water daily (water is very much needed during your stay; some days it was provided, others it was not), the actual tap water did not run cold, and the elevator was slow and the second unit was not running most of our trip. The water, when turned on, even on the cold setting, always got warm. This was not good for the midnight need for hydration. September 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, not like any other W this hotel is in the perfect spot for me. In the french quarter but far enough from the craziness. Three blocks from Jackson square and right in the middle of some of the best restaurants. The courtyard at the hotel is amazing. Its also not a huge hotel so you get a boutique feel but the familiarity of the SPG service. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W French Quarter staff steps up This is one of my favorite hotels. While there are some needed renovations going on, the staff embodies the "Whatever Whenever" motto. Our last stay could have been a disaster as some things got screwed up with SPG central reservations. But the staff stepped up and really made a bad situation work. It's easy to be happy when everything goes perfectly, but a great hotel comes through when things go wrong. January 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good A bit noisy since our room was right next door to the gym, but overall an enjoyable experience. The concierge, ELijah was fantastic with great suggestions for tours ( he suggested a plantation tour which was fabulous as well as a superb Culinary tasting tour of French Quarter restaurants, !) He was even able to secure restaurant reservations when were unable to get space! October 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to W standards Granted, the hotel is under renovation, but the room i stayed in seemed to be updated, but was rough quality. Shower shook when hot, water pooled in shower and wouldn't drain right, worn furniture, etc. On top of it, the service was hit and miss. Asked for ice delivery, and gave up after 30 minutes.. Courtyard started playing music at 8 am on a Saturday - killed me! May 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Given a booked roomed I showed up to the hotel late on a Monday because I was working earlier that day. When I arrived I was given a room on the 4th floor, which was already occupied by someone else. Luckily the person was not in the room at the time but their stuff was all over the room and bathroom. The front desk did not seem to be apologetic and just simply gave me a different room. August 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Average at Best Wifi 16Mps at most. I get better wifi from my local public bathroom. Ended up working off of 4G my entire stay. The rooms are "modern" but impractical. No place to hang a towel, no real drawers to unpack. The rooms are large but furnished inadequately and therefore a waste of space. Sadly I was not impressed nor would recommend this hotel to anyone at this time. January 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff; worn-out property I stayed at the W - French Quarter during the Christmas holiday. The property is small, giving it a boutique hotel feel, which I very much prefer. The reception staff were wonderful - attending to everything I needed, and providing wonderful suggestions for dinner and things to do. I was, however, a bit surprised by the condition of the room. While outfitted with modern decor and very nice bathroom fixtures, the room just seemed worn out. The chair, duvet and carpet had all seen better days. When planning my trip to New Orleans I was most concerned about the conditions of the rooms in the Quarter -- I assumed that given the high volume of tourists, and well, Mardi Gras, that nice rooms would be difficult to find. That is why I chose the W over many of the lesser known properties in the area. Unfortunately, it seems even the W can't keep its rooms in good condition. I will return to New Orleans again, however, the W won't be my first choice for lodging. December 29, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by So sad Our party booked 4 hotel rooms at The W. everyone's room was ready except ours. I had planned a vow renewal at 5:00 with a justice of the peace, a photographer which both we had to cancel because our room was not ready until 5:20 pm. So sad so many months if planning down the drain. They did not even comp us our room. Bad Business. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Felt like I was living history The location was great, right in the French Quarter but far enough from Boubon Street so it was quiet. The rooms were a comfortable size and well maintained. The staff was friendly, helpful, and efficient and catered to every need. The courtyard and pool was a relaxing escape. January 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our favorite vacation hotel We have been coming to the W French Quarter since it opened-at least 3 times each year. Love the location, the staff and the European feel.The courtyard outdoor lobby is where we start the day drinking our coffee and end our day before retiring.The attached restaurant Sobu is so chic with fabulous drinks and tapas . And best of all is the front desk staff-Shaun makes our trip every time. October 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid the W - French Quarter A disappointing stay at the W – French Quarter. I arrived a little after 3:00pm and things started out badly. My cab pulled up to front of the hotel and I got out and paid the driver, the driver unloaded my bags, as no one from the bell staff appeared. I picked up two of my three bags and walked up the drive. I stopped went back for my other bag, still no help. I carried my bags to the door of the check-in area and a gentleman opened the door and asked me if I needed help. I checked-in and my room was not available yet. I had booked a King NS room. All they had was rooms with 2 beds. So they checked me in to a double. The room was remodeled and fine with one exception, the floor was filthy, it looked like it hadn’t been vacuumed since the recent remodeling. No one from the hotel ever called to apologies for the room snafu, in fact I never heard from anyone at the hotel at all about the overall bad experience. I travel a lot and I have to say at $300+ per night , avoid the W – French Quarter, there are several other great SPG properties in New Orleans. October 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay at W-French Quarter First time in NOLA and was unsure where to stay. As a SPG member I saw this property and despite some of the reviews, I decided to stay here and....I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED. THis hotel is in a great location and you can walk 2 blocks to either Bourbon or Decatur Streets. Great restaurants are abundant in this neighborhood as well. From the minute we stepped into the Welcome Center, we were greeted with what felt like open arms. Every single member of the staff at the W re incredible. No request is too big or too small. I actually asked for a bathroom scale and within an hour, I had one. I was told if they didn't have one on property they'd go buy me one! The hotel is newly renovated and done very nicely. The gym was adequate and I used it often. The pool is small but apportioned to the style and size of the hotel. The lounges at the pool are brand new and so comfortable. We did enjoy breakfast in So Bou which was great. Their dinner is ver good at well. Their courtyard is beautiful. I will absolutely be visiting this hotel again. Thank You W for a great stay!! August 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Fabulous Place to Stay All of the employees at this hotel were so nice and friendly. I travel a lot and would highly recommend this hotel to all. Clean rooms, near the shops, clubs, casino restaurants just a great location. September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grew to think of W as home! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the French Quarter W hotel! The staff were terrific, the rooms artistically decorated, the beds comfy, and the grounds are fabulous. The courtyard area is a wonderful place to sit in the evenings and visit, play cards, swim, whatever...very comfortable and fun! This is a pricey hotel, but pretty comparable for area. The bathroom was our only area of concern, very much a form over function situation--the space is awkward and cramped, nowhere to hang towels or robes, etc, and no bath tub-- but we managed! Certainly was not a reason not to stay there! And the restaurant, SoBou, is awesome, we ate there 3 times! June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely beautiful hotel Beautiful hotel with beautiful staff. Everyone was so nice and helpful. Enjoyed it immensely. The mega room was out of this world! July 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel Awesome Hotel. I would highly recommend staying there. April 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Fantastic location in the heart of French Quarter. April 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Upsides and downsides I stayed here for business 12/15 - 12/18 2013 and unfortunately, this W did not meet the expectations created by my experiences at other W and SPG hotels. Pros: Usually very friendly and helpful service Breakfast in-room dining options are excellent Prime location in the French Quarter Beautiful private courtyard Cons: Maids banging on my door repeatedly despite the DO NOT DISTURB hanger being placed the night before. Neither phone in the room worked because they did not fit into their charging platforms. I had to rig them with business cards to get them to seat properly so I could use the phone. 7:30 AM wakeup calls I did not ask for. Two mornings in a row! In-room drink and snack selection is terrible. The hard liquor selection was one single bottle of Tanqueray. The beer selection was Bud Light or Heineken. That's it for alcohol. Late night room service menu has 4 items on it, none of them very appealing. The entrance to the hotel lobby is hard to see from the sidewalk as the door does not face the street. In-room internet is reliable, but slow. My room selection was not available and I was not told this until I checked in. No compensation was offered, though the room I was assigned worked out fine. December 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome stay at the W The W made us feel special and weclome. We can't wait to go back! January 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Hotel Experience in NOLA My partner and I stayed here for 5 days to celebrate our 30th anniversary after superstorm Sandy forced us to change our original plan to celebrate in NYC. This was the right choice. The W Hotel-French Quarter is perfectly located and a few minutes off Bourbon Street, so that makes it a bit quieter. More than the rooms (which were splendid, with large bathrooms and cozy beds) and the super reliable Wi-Fi, the staff is what makes this property shine. Not only do they make you feel welcome, they make you feel special as if you've stayed there a hundred times. The front desk staff was terrific as was Daniel, the driver who we relied on for the Acura experience to get us to restaurants and events on time, but if there was one person who made our trip perfect, it was Staci, the concierge. Not only is she fun, she was dedicated to ensuring that our trip was wonderful. She knows everything and anything about NOLA, especially music and restaurants, since we try to stay away from tourist hot spots to discover well regarded neighborhood places. Introduce yourself to her on your first day! This was our second trip to New Orleans and we will not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. They tell us it just underwent a huge renovation and it showed. February 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Location Despite the construction, my stay at this hotel was wonderful. It has a perfect location in the Quarter, walkable from everything. The staff were amazing every time I encountered them. They were extremely helpful and constantly smiling. They set up a temporary bar in the courtyard, since the regular bar was under construction. The courtyard was beautiful to sit in; breezy; shady and just the right noise level. My room was extremely comfortable. The bed was wonderful and the shower was fantastic. I was also happy that the windows opened. I love fresh air in hotel rooms. I could barely hear the construction during the day and of course it was gone at night while I was sleeping. I cannot wait to return to this hotel when their renovations are done. April 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissapointed The quality of room for the money spent on room $500) was acceptable. This is an average room with many problems that could have been avoided, and should have been avoided with proper attention of staff.....especially cleaning staff. The carpet was heavily frayed between bathroom and sleeping area (making it a hazard). The black floor and shower floor was littered with filth and crud. It felt very unsanitary....as also, the stainless steel door handle and vanity were so filthy, that I did not want to touch it. The lamp above the bed wascaked with layers of dust. We phoned the front desk and were transferred to the supervisor who politely addressed the issue and discounted the room. We asked to send cleaning staff. She sent the cleaning supervisor, who was not cordial, and rudely cut my wife off as she attempted to show her a problem, after she had listened to only a few of my complaints. She sprayed off the vanity, however the rest of the issues we addressed were not properly cleaned: as we left the room and expected to come back to a clean room!!!!!!! We paid for turn down service, and did not receive it!!!!!!!! Another disappointment. There were only 2 coffee cups in the room, and we had to go to the front desk the next morning to get one. The bellman that attended our car and luggage was exceptional. He gave great advice later that evening and found a taxi for us. His professionalism was what we expected to receive from the rest of the staff at the W. March 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Customer Service I just stayed at the W French Quarter for the Christmas holiday and I had a wonderful time. Like many I was apprehensive due to reading some of the negative review. I must say I never had any issues and would recommend this hotel to family and friends. The staff was so very friendly and welcoming. They immediately recognize your SPG membership and always referred to me by my name. We had room service and they were so efficient. She told us it would take 35 minutes but each time it came way before that. The parking was a bit expensive at $44 per night but that is to be expected in the French quarter. We had a great time and would return to this hotel December 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best service! Wonderful staff! We were greeted by Shawn. Perfect choice to represent your hotel. She is knowledgable, friendly and not only booked us to our room but made excellent suggestions of what to do and where to eat. Elisha- the concierge - friendly ... Amazing at his job as he was able to book us into the most delightful restaurants and guide us through the days with fun things to do. I loved NOLA from the second I arrived at the hotel. The staff was welcoming including Anabelle at the bar who pours drinks while she charms you with stories of New Orleans. Free coffee in the morning is a plus and the rooms are nice size and clean. I can't wait to come back. November 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Animal House in the Quarter I've been staying at the W for more than 10 years. This hotel was cute, and had some of what one comes to expect from a W, but it was NOT a typical W hotel experience. I had the worst night I've ever had in any hotel. I could hear every sound on my floor. My room was next to the elevator, so I could hear the elevator, up and down, all night. The walls were thin. I could hear every thing happening on my floor. Every conversation, every TV show, every bathroom break. The guests in several rooms next to me apparently thought it was spring break. They were partying all night, in multiple rooms, on my floor. At about 230AM, I decided I had enough, and called security. No answer. Called front desk three times. No answer. Big sign on the phone ironically labelled "ANYTIME ANYWHERE." At 3AM I got dressed and went down to the desk to find help. Guy staring at his computer screen looked up started and said he would get security. Security finally showed up at about 315AM. This caused a stop in the action of about 10 minutes. They restarted as soon as security left. At 5AM I was so tired, I finally passed out. They were still going. At 6AM I had to wake up to start my business day... I don't think, in 30 years of business travel, I've complained about anything at a hotel. I stay at decent hotels and have basic expectations which are always met sufficiently. During my visit to New Orleans last week, I heard other people with similar stories. They were calling it "the bad W" (there are two in the Quarter.) Or, the "M" (upside down W). It was really bad. May 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointing We had booked well in advance through AARP. When we arrived, we were advised that we could not have the "wonderful room" with king be we had booked. I showed the desk clerk my confirmation and he said I would have to speak with his manager. I advised him that would be fine. After waiting over 15 minutes, he advised us he spoke to his manager, was working on it and to have a complimentary drink (this was nice) at the bar. We did so and eventually our room was ready. We arrived on the second floor and there was one bed (instead of 2 queen beds), however, the bed itself appeared to be a queen and not a king. Let me tell you more about the room: (1) it was on the same floor as the gym, so the entire floor smelled of rubber mats; (2) our view was of a courtyard wall; (3) the room was not only tiny but had a pillar interrupting the flow thereof; (4) the bathroom door opened into the bathroom, thereby limited space available when the door was open; (5) a bowtie was painted on the mirror thereby reducing the usable mirror surface of an already small mirror, one-half blocked by the door and one-half blocked by the bow tie. There was a little table outside our room's French Doors, which was routinely used by other guests to leave their drink glasses and other refuse. Somehow housekeeping failed to notice this. Our magnetic room keys infrequently worked to access the elevators or our rooms. We had to have them replaced 3 times and they still never worked well. It became a joke to us trying to insert them fast or slow again and again until they worked. There were inadequate chairs at the pool. The concierge was never at his desk. October 23, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>