W New Orleans - French Quarter

  • 316 Chartres Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 272 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic and Fully Renovated! Wow – Great job on the total remodel! This hotel was quite amazing. It’s in the French Quarter and I wanted to stay here since on my fast few trips it was completely under construction. It didn’t disappoint and neither did the staff. I have checked into some impressive hotels only to have a bad experience because of the interactions with the staff. That’s not the case here. Everyone at the front desk was cheerful, friendly, and helpful. It only added to the excitement of being at this completely remodeled hotel. They now have a spa and there is a pool in the wonderful courtyard. The layout of this hotel is unique and that really adds to the upscale charm. Upon check in I was upgraded to the studio suite which is just off the courtyard. The room was very cool and unique. However, I soon realized that with the hard wood floors and front and back balcony with French doors, there is no sound protection of any kind. Sitting on the bed I could clearly hear everyone in the courtyard, the music, and the people in the other units around me. I was sad to ask to change rooms but it was a must. As I mentioned the staff kept smiling and swiftly moved me to a room in the main building which was very quiet and enjoyable. The room in the main building had a view of the pool and courtyard and was very quiet. The restaurant on property was great and I ate dinner there on my first evening. The food was very good and the bartender was entertaining and took pride in whipping up delicious drinks for those that wanted to “try something new.” I ate at the bar which was very nice but was a little disappointed in the slow service. I’ll be back to New Orleans in March and I have already made my reservation to stay at this hotel again! January 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has good location Pro: Beautiful courtyard with nice music playing. Great Location, Friendly staff. Love the French balony. Con: small bathroom and very pricey parking January 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by French Quarter Standout This is our second time at this hotel and is our go to hotel when we visit! Perfect spot to begin and end your day! It is centrally located to everything. The staff was exceptional! David in Sobou was so helpful! We will always come back! January 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location. Had a mother/daughter long week end at the hotel. We were able to walk to our must see and do list of sites and restaurants. The staff was so engaging and took care of everything. Even checking us in for our return flights home. Will suggest hotel for company excursion. January 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic stay, as usual! I had a wonderful stay! The renovations look fantastic. Also, all of the staff, from front desk, to valet, to bellman, were exceedingly friendly & helpful. January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay this past weekend I chose to stay at the W French Quarter to be close to the action of Bourbon Street and such. I was not disapointed. I was met by the valets who were very nice and even helped me out when I forgot something in my car later in my trip. The front desk Nadia was very helpfull with tour information and answered all my questions. The room was clean and very adequate for my needs. I also enjoyed having a balcony over the main street. The singed card from the W insider was also a nice touch. I also like the attention to receive emails while I stayed to address any problems I may of had. However I had none. The hotel is very trendy, and was always very clean. The staff was also very nice and everyone spoke when you walked by, even for a quick hello.My girlfriend also used the fitness center and said it was well above average for the equipment provided. She also enjoyed bottled water provided in the center. I will stay here again and recomend this hotel for everyone. January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Staff are fantastic and the hotel room itself was really nice and quiet for being in the heart of the French Quarter. A great experience. January 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I wanted to give a glowing review:( I have had great experiences at a W hotel before, however, I would not recommend this one. Our room was right next door to the gym...there should not be a guest room located there. The TV in the gym was very loud, the treadmills so noisy...the noise was unbearable. The walls were paper-thin and sleep was impossible. Not too mention, the bath robes were dirty. They had food stains on them and had obviously not been washed between guests. The towels were thin and actually hurt to dry off with. I was very unsatisfied and disappointed. I expected more. I will say, though, the staff was very attentive and friendly, so that was nice. January 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mark Katzenberger From check in to check out it was a seamless stay. Excellent staff up and down. Great dining experiences! Wonderful clean rooms and spotless public areas. December 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location for your NOLA stay The W Hotel French Quarter is the perfect location to explore New Orleans. You'll be right in the middle of all the action. You can roll out of bed and walk a few blocks to Cafe de Monde. However, there are a few issues with the rooms that need to be worked on. The rooms have been remodeled and look great, but there are a few little touches that they didn't take care of. For example: why put a desk in a hotel room without an accessible plug near it for a computer to plug-in. Also in the bathroom there is no towel bar, just one hook to hang all of your towels, and robes, etc. There isn't a place to unpack your stuff. There are just a few strange cubbies that are not very effective. Other than that the hotel staff has been very helpful and we had a great time. The hotel bar and restaurant are very cool and the courtyard of the hotel is a great place to hangout. December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Honeymoon/First Anniversary Getaway! My husband and I recently stayed at the W French Quarter and have to express our joy and gratitude to two very special people amongst your staff there -our concierges Stacey and Halbert. Let me explain our story. We got married in NOLA on October 24, 2011. When we arrived back home we had one disaster after another await us and so we never got the chance to have a honeymoon. When the time of our first anniversary was upon us, we decided to go back to NOLA and re-start what had eluded us - our happy life together. I called the W French Quarter and had the miracle of speaking to just the most lovely voice on the other end of the phone - a young man by the name of Halbert. He heard our story and arranged for our stay. Additionally, we also had the good fortune of working with Stacey who helped us arrange some activities to enjoy during our week. They listened to our story, made us feel like family and as if we came home. Consequently, I just adore them and really wanted to express to you how comfortable they made us feel. I was so nervous traveling back to NOLA just because we have had such a bad year. However, since our visit things have been looking up for us and we are looking to come back to NOLA this year. I look forward to seeing my old friends again and really wanted to say THANK YOU to all of your wonderful staff but especially to Stacey and Halbert. . December 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Location - Irregular Service Ive been a platinum starwood member for a while already. I have stayed /lived in several W hotels around the world an in the US. This hotel is definitely below par other W hotels you might have stayed at. Location - Excellent (Nothing else needs to be said) Rooms - Ok. Comfortable. At par with other W's. However it was inconsistent. The menu in our room was from a NY hotel. The number for the room service was wrong. (little things but they make a difference) Service - Terrible. A few examples: 1. Ordered a kids meal with shrimp. And the brought a spicy sauced shrimp. 2. Ordered a croissant for breakfast, and after 10 min over the phone waiting for the order to be confirmed they told me they did not have. 3. Waited more than 10 minutes to be seated at the restaurant when it was empty. Once I sat down it took them another 10 min to be served. And we had to remind the waitress about drinks, etc..etc... 4. Ordered room service and asked for sparkling water for 2 people. And got 2 1.5Liter bottles of non-sparkling water. In a decent hotel with good service they would have sent one and the correct one. Here clearly it was more important to charge us more than send the right thing. 5. The food at the restaurant is good. Some things are very good. But portions are sometimes small for what you pay. The fois gras burger for 24$ is highly overrated specially for the size. The salty caramel ice cream is really good. I will be back in NOLA for the superbowl and im definetly noit staying in this hotel. Most probably will stay in another starwood hotel in French Quartier. December 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is different, but so well located and lots of fun. We enjoyed our stay in the W Hotel. Great front desk, garage, and bar personnel. On Thursday, our room had not been cleaned when we returned at 4:00 pm. We left for dinner and when we returned it was done. I do find the internet fee a little steep, but you do have places where is it free. I would definitely recommend the W to friends visiting New Orleans. December 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Treated Like a King & Queen! Everything about our stay was top notch! It was my boyfriend's 40th birthday and I felt like I was getting all the gifts! Staci (thank you for the wine and excellent restauant suggestion), the young man who greeted us first with the big beautiful smile, Billy, Quentin, Shahidah and Malik...THANK YOU ALL!!! We will be back! December 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by the feature of this hotel is its staff The front desk made my trip don't lose them. Stacy at the concierge desk was one the W's best employee ever she should be a manager of her own hotel. Thank you for making my trip so memorable. December 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by W French Quarter Hotel was great. Malik took great care of my family and it made the trip that much more enjoyable. December 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel Staff My first time to stay at this W in the French Quarter and what a perfect location for enjoying the local area. The staff was amazing from the front door, front desk, concierge, maids, to the MOD walking around. All of them greeted me with a smile and ask how my stay was being enjoyed. The concierge really knew the local restaurant scene and made super recommendations. The courtyard provides for a nice relaxing area to get some work done on the laptop or read. The only thing I would add to this hotel is a bigger gym/ sweat area. It's the smallest one I have ever scene at a W Hotel. You can even use the pull up bar without hitting your head on the ceiling. I'll be back soon though. December 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic front of house staff and excellent locatiom My daughter and l spent 4 nights as guests and were warmly welcomed and assisted by front of house staff . They epitomised the historic notion of "southern hospitality " so we were always greeted with a smile and an enquiry about our days experience . The location is fantastic .. Close enough to walk to everything in the French Quarter but far enough away from the hub of Bourbon Street not to be disturbed by noise at night . The W has been recently refurbished and has a very cool design element .. The reception area and courtyard are both great areas to spend time in and the adjoining restaurant "Sobou " is a bonus . The only part of my stay which l think requires some finessing is room service , where used products are always refreshed , cleaning could be more thorough , and a bathrobe is supplied per guest . December 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great service, but does not make up for other issues While the hotel went through a major renovation recently, the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The placement of the light in the mirror was inconvenient. There is no counterspace or shelving to put toiletries in the bathroom. The doors to the rooms are also not great as every noise in the hallway can be heard. We were awoken at 4am by our neighbors conversing in the hallway with their friends, and every closing door was heard at all hours. December 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by When the wife is happy... everyone is happy! What more can I say...James, Stacia and the entire staff exceeded our expectations at every turn. They know how to make a guest feel special and they helped me give my wife a great birthday vacation--Thanks so much! December 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by W stands for WHATEVER! First, Hotel is great location and the people who work there are friendly and appear to want to be helpful. Restaurant is average and with all the other choices in this food city, don't waste your time. My poor rating is due to the Whenever/Whatever. Lets just say they don't answer the phone-Whatever! Second, I noticed our in house movies were down at 6am one morning. Called to get them fixed. Came back at noon to relax and watch a flick and no one ever did anything about it. I repeatedly called and nothing was done. I told them I did not want to waste anymore of my limited time so if they could not get them fixed, I did not want to wait around. I eneded up wasting my whole afternoon with these idiots. I am not happy. Their offer to compensate was insulting. Never again! December 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond My wife and I stayed here last weekend, and in addition to the perfect location of this beautifully appointed hotel, the friendliness and welcome from the staff was incredible! Among other things, we were offered personalized transport to any destination (which I believe was a Platinum member benefit?). Simply stated, we would award 10 stars to the Service category if we could, but alas, only 5 stars are available. . . . but there's more: We were gifted with a driver from the hotel named Daniel, who not only provided local tips, but went WAY above and beyond his exellent and friendly service as our driver . . . He gave us his cell phone number when he dropped us off in the Garden District and said just call when you're ready to come back to the hotel - then, after picking us up and driving us back to the hotel, he drove all the back to the Garden Distict (on his own initiative), when he found out that I had left a new hat purchase - from Goorin Bros - in a bag on a bench along Magazine Street . . . Daniel returned to that bench, then to a coffee shop he heard us discussing, and then to a men's store nearby where he reasoned perhaps someone who may have found my bag might have taken it. Imagine our surprise #and delight), when Daniel knocked on our door about 45 minutes later with my lost hat in his hand! Thank you again Daniel! . . . and thank you W New Orleans management for employing such thoughtful and gracious staff! December 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome I had a great stay like always. December 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impeccable Service The W Hotels will always delight but even among these 5 star hotels there are some that shine a bit brighter. The property and everything about it is as you would expect, clean, well thought out and lovely. What made our stay special was the level of service and outreach from the staff from front desk to the GM who personally made sure we had an amazing stay. November 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing as Usual I LOVE this hotel more and more each time we visit. The remodeling that was done is impressive. Even my 18 year old daughter thought that it was pretty cool. Front desk service from Stacy was exceptional. Clay in Wheels was very nice. And Abigail the bartender at Sobu is quite amazing. The food there is great! It makes the trip to the French Quarter even more attractive. I only WISH that the pool was heated. We really wanted to swim. Can't wait to return, regardless! November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome The W was clean and the service was great!! November 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great stay We had another wonderful stay at the W French Quarter. The room was great, the service was top-notch, and it is so convenient to the fun in New Orleans. We will definitely be back. November 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by French Quarter New Orleans We had a disappointing experience at this location. They sold our room prior to our arrival, even though we had marked late check-in on the reservation. So, they bumped us to the Orleans W for one night. The accommodations are mediocre at this facility. When we checked-in the next day, our room was not ready. They did not offer us anything while we waited. They said they upgraded us to a penthouse for our inconvenience, but the room was only 300 sq feet. Overall, this hotel is tiny, the staff is nice, but not overly helpful, and it was unacceptable that they played bait and switch with our accommodations and offered us very little to offset the inconvenience. November 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent Hotel This hotel was very nice. The only exception to this being a great stay was my room was not ready till almost three hours after check in and we had to wait on the staff to clean the room. Secondly, once we were in the room our luggage went missing and had to wait even longer on that. This caused me to be late for an important business dinner that evening. Lastly the room keys continuously did not work and would have to return to the front desk for new ones periodically to get into our room. November 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I would have expected Booked a Studio Suite at the W French Quarter for a two night special celebration in mid-November. The positives: •The bed was ultra-comfortable, but that is exactly what you should expect from The W’s signature beds. •The location is great. Easy walk to anywhere in the Quarter you would like to go. •The room was well appointed and esthetically pleasing, the hotel is hip and modern. •Valet car service was wonderful and definitely worth the parking fee if you want to be mobile in New Orleans. The negatives: •I booked what was billed to be the most premier room in the place, The Studio Suite. Called the hotel directly and was transferred to In-House Reservations. Multiple issues occurred based on this conversation: o The In-House Reservationist that I talked to is not known to the front desk manager at the hotel. Therefore, she was unable to accommodate any of my requests. o Directly from the room description, “Take a dip in your personal Jacuzzi, sample the signature W amenities and settle in for a customized stay.” I asked to ensure that I would be getting those things. The In-House Reservationist stated that I surely would, and even told me about how exclusive these rooms are (stated there were only four in the hotel, etc). Room was a second floor walk-up with balcony. No Jacuzzi, and I was told that this request could not be accommodated. In addition, that the Jacuzzi suites are “$100 more a night”. o I advised the In-House Reservationist that I would be arriving in town rather early, and would like the reservation noted for early check-in if possible (I also noted this on the original reservation, which I know is a request and not a guarantee). Upon arrival was advised that room was not ready, which was okay. They took my cell number to call me when it was, they did but even then, it was after normal check-in time of 3PM before the room was ready. •The Suite was pretty, but not what I would have expected based on the description and had technical issues that were rather annoying. o The French doors are classic and probably some type of original to the carriage house, but they are very drafty. In addition, there are three locks on each door, which I found a little tedious and odd. The front set overlooks the pool/ courtyard area, second leads to a private balcony that faces the property on the block behind. o There was surely no shortage of hot water in the shower, actually quite the opposite. It would appear that the control knob did not work properly, or the cold water supply is not completely on. o The desk/ work area is nice and shiny white. There is a weird shelf/ cabinet that has a coffee pot in it. There is a magnetic catch on it, but it is not a strong magnet. Any time you sat something on the counter the door popped open and fell. The door is heavy, and the hinges did not support this so the door broke. •The hotel team that we encountered were not what I would say is Whatever/ Whenever mentality. o As addressed above, checking into the hotel took a much different turn than what I am accustomed to. Advised upon arrival that room was not ready, which was understandable. The desk agent was polite and courteous, but advised that it was not noted on the reservation. o After 3PM, we went to our assigned room and I was shocked that it was not what was described or what I had requested. I called the front desk and advised that my reservation was for a Studio Suite, and that I had spoken with the In-House Reservation team concerning my reservation requests. The desk agent stated that she did not see any of the notes and that she did not know the person I had spoken to. This agent then came to my room and got the papers that I had in regards to my reservation. o This was followed by a call from the front-desk manager who advised that she did not have any of the notes either, and that they could not accommodate my requests as someone had already checked into the only possible suite. I advised her I was not happy with what I had as we could hear children screaming and that this is not what I had requested or would settle for. Her solution was to send loss prevention to stop the kids and a credit of $150. o Whatever/ Whenever is not really so. After arrival we asked the Whatever/ Whenever team if she could make us a reservation for NOLA for that night. She advised that she could not, but that we could go there and that they opened at 5:30 for dinner and see if they could get us a table. She did not even try Open Table to see if we could get in, and they do not open until 6PM. o The Acura service provided by the hotel has very limited hours. • I would not recommend this hotel if you like to sleep past 7:30AM, like peaceful quiet, or are looking for a quiet escape. o The exhaust fan in the bath is VERY loud. Can’t imagine a smaller room and that sound. o I love southern rain, but the downspout on the back corner of the suite is not attached or something. Constant rain/ water on metal noise that was not the good kind. o The noise from the courtyard was pretty constant. People talking, kids in the pool, etc. This probably has something to do with the drafty French doors. o If you want to sleep past 7:30AM or so make sure you request a room that is NOT above the courtyard. At 7:40AM I could have had a sing-a-long with Florence and Fun. When we checked out the desk agent asked about our stay, honestly we told her we weren’t impressed. She stated she would have James call, but we still have not heard from anyone. In conclusion, esthetically the room and hotel are beautiful; however, these positives in no way make up for the staffing and technical issues. November 14, 2012
  • 2015-11-29 T07:32:15.374-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_272, tr_272
  • loc_en_US, sid_97508, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>