W New Orleans - French Quarter

  • 316 Chartres Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 219 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing My husband & I frequently stay at W hotels. We reserved a stay in the W French Quarter for our six year anniversary. Upon arrival we were informed that our room was not quite ready. We stored our luggage, took a walk, had some lunch & came back at check in time. We were then informed that our room would not be ready until evening because the guest checking out was still in the room. We had early dinner reservations and requested they find us a room to get ready. They temporarily checked us into a room that was not very clean and most disturbingly had a rodent trap on the floor near a hole in the wall. We found another place to stay and asked for our money back. The manager who helped us was very nice and agreed to give us a refund. She was apologetic and even gave us a bottle of champagne before we left. We have still not been refunded and this was three weeks ago. This W was not up to our standards. We just wanted a relaxing special weekend. November 28, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing When we arrived at 4:00 our room was not ready even though it was supposed to ba at 3:00. Then they told us that they were renovating since 2009 and the restaurant wouldn't be available (no room service or breakfast like they advertised in their web site.) Jack hampers from 8:30 to 5:30 every day. Because they didn't tell us until we arrived we had no choice but to take the room. Since they didn't have our room ready they offered us another...again we had no choice February 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, great location As a frequent business traveler to New Orleans, the W French Quarter is among my top favorites. The hotel (layout, pool, courtyard, restaurant) is attractive, historical but with modern amenities, the rooms are pristine and comfortable (many with balconies), the restaurant is terrific and the location is perfect. The staff is competent, professional and always courteous and helpful. June 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by B-day Weekend at W French Qtrs was the best!! Great location in French Quarters; Excellent customer service at check in and bar area - when W employee (Shawn) learned I was in town to celebrate bday, she had a bottle of wine with desserts sent to my room-VERY pleasant surprise! Also loved the Courtyard area at hotel-great area to relax after enjoying French Quarters nightlife. October 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by they treat you like family the staff is the best ,don't ever let them leave. We love the W french Quarter and will return year after year May 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by big let down in the big easy Generally I enjoyed my stay and the staff was very attentive to my complaints, but unfortunately there were quite a few. First, I had to wait an exceptionally long time to check in. I've NEVER experienced this problem at any other starwood property. The line was so long that there wasnt even room for my luggage in the check in area and I had to leave it outside the door. Next I arrived in my room and it was filled with rose petals and wine, which would have been lovely but I was travelling alone and they had clearly given me the wrong room. Then there was the humidity...the room was like a swamp and had an odor. They clearly know this is an issue so they have humidifiers in the room but it kept filling up and I was tired of calling the front desk. Lastly there were mosquitoes in my room at all times that I was in a constant battle to kill. When I called the front desk they were happy to come spray, but who wants to deal with that, very gross. To top it all off the restaurant was closed, I was warned in advance, but still very inconvenient. I should also mention I found it difficult to find because the signage was so small, but I guess that was intended to be a part of the boutique feel? December 11, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisey This hotel is centrally located in the French Quarter, and is a nice place. The rooms are spacious. The bar scene is great and the bar staff was wonderful to talk with and they make amazing cocktails. We also enjoyed the enomatic wine system. What we did not enjoy was the noise level. Frequently woken up by loud guests in the hallways, but the worst was the staff chit chatting so loudly outside our room on the CB Radios that we had to step out and say something and it still continued. Meanwhile they left room service plates in the hallway for days it seemed. May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay AWAY What a terrible hotel! Rooms' walls are paper thin, staff is unable to keep guests quiet, room service took an hour and a half to reach our room with a simple bottle of champagne and staff let themselves in the room twice without asking. I stayed in the Studio Suites (~$700 a night) with the Jacuzzi and allow me to say that the room was tiny! For $800 a night you think you'd get a little space, a hot tub that was actually filled up above half way, a bathroom with some drainage and a staff that doesn't let neighbors blast music just because said neighbors are staff at the hotel staying there for FREE (so they told us). NOT cool W! Never again. February 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not your typical W, in ok and not-so-ok ways It's clear from the photos and listing that this is not a typical W. In some ways this may be a good thing, depending on what you're looking for, but in others it wasn't regardless of viewpoint. We were a little disappointed to receive an email two nights before leaving notifying us that the bar/restaurant was closed for renovation, but as it's the Quarter, bars are not in short supply. The good was that the location is perfect- can't be beat. Central to everything worth doing in the Quarter, with everything walkable. The staff is quite friendly, and keeps the public areas very clean. The pool/spa/courtyard area is charming, if a little bit dusty in places. But what wasn't ok was the condition of the room. When you stay at a W, and pay W prices, you expect the room to be in full-on, sleek, top-notch shape, and that just wasn't the case here. The room seemed just a slight bit shabby and run-down- par at some hotels, but a bit surprising for a W. Fixtures were dinged and dented, some badly, the carpet was stained and torn in a few places, and the bathroom was a bit dirty upon check in- though cleaned nicely the next day, nothing to be done about the rusting shower door or the grime coming out of the tile. For a W, I expected more. I know this is an older building, but that doesn't explain the general condition of things. Perhaps the renovation of the bar/restaurant is headed to the rooms next, which would be great, but as of now I couldn't recommend this particular hotel. December 2, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Promise of Luxury With Little Luxury - We've been to New Orleans before and we were excited to stay at the W French Quarter because it is a small property and we thought it would be a glamorous experience with a lot of great customer service. Our room was a nice size - it was their regular room, I forget what this is called in W-ese. The bathroom was spacious as well, but the way it was plumbed, you could not turn on the shower without standing directly under it. As the water comes out cold, this was an unpleasant experience every day. There were other details like, used glasses not being replenished and every day our robes were taken and not replenished. Small things, but we had to call down every day to rectify it. We were told ahead of time that their restaurant and bar was under construction - it was a bummer, but i cannot fault the hotel for this and they were very good about communicating it. However, I am suprised that they didn't offer a little wine or nibbles in their fabulous courtyard as a solace. It is supposed to be a luxury hotel and there were few amenities. The hotel is located right in the quarter, it is a few blocks away from Bourbon Street, but it can still be loud. If you are sensitive, you should ask for a room facing the courtyard. We were facing the street and heard people getting arrested, people puking, and shouting. That's just the Quarter, but i was suprised that the hotel didn't try to have better insulated windows or shutters. We also did not have a good experience with the famed Whatever Whenever concierge service. We called a few days ahead to organize a llittle birthday cocktail be waiting for our friends (who also joined us) upon check in. We left messages at the front desk several times, and then finally got a call from the Concierge Staci asking us what we wanted, but more importantly that we give her our creditcard information and then she didn't respond back for several days. I thought it was strange that she took so long to get back to me, and also that she was more interested in the credit card information than knowing what we needed. Maybe it didn't cost anything. I love the Starwood Group, but I have never been much impressed by the W hotels in general and the New Orleans French quarter was no exception. I have had better expereinces at the Element properties quite frankly. Here are the highlights: the courtyard -- really really lovely, pleasant place to sit out relax. Really chic and wonderful. the front desk staff - - very friendly upon check in. pet friendly - we travelled with our dog and people were really cool about it. There is a $100 non-refundable fee - which is kind of lame when your dog doesn't make a mess, but I get it. December 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel Awesome Hotel. I would highly recommend staying there. April 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Experience! Staci and the staff exceeded our expectations by treating us better than mere guests...we were more like friends coming to stay for a weekend. Although the hotel is under renovation, work does not begin until late in the morning and is stopped early in the evening, and traffic areas were kept very clean. Although we heard the construction seemed to be keeping guests away, we hardly knew work was being done. For anyone concerned about the construction, don't let it stop you from coming here and having an exceedingly wonderful experience! June 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I booked W Hotels at the French Quarter, New Orleans for the first time. At first we have made a mistake booking on HotRate which is the rate for employees of Starwood. Then the Front Office told us to pay higher rate and we accepted that because it was our mistake. We arrived to the hotel around 3 pm but the room wasn't ready so we have to wait in the lobby. I asked the Front office people but she just said she doesn't know so we finally wait for an hour until we can check-in by 4 pm. We were still positive thinking at that time because we like the room although the bathroom was so small. However, the worst is there was a private party in the hotel courtyard that night and our room was just 3 meters away from the party and it made our room so noisy with the music from the outside! We can't help losing our first impression with W Hotel when compare with other hotels that is cheaper and provide better service. May 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Fantastic location in the heart of French Quarter. April 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool place in the heart of the French Quarter Due to a business project, I have been coming down to New Orleans often, I find myself really liking this hotel. It is a great place right in the middle of the French Quarter where you can easily access many of the sites of NOLA. This place gives off a great vibe, has a good restaurant, and courtyard area to relax on a nice evening. As a business traveler however, I think I do need to reconsider. The rooms are great as well as the staff, and it is close to the office, but the business amenities are seriously lacking. The wireless internet here is utterly useless. I mention it every stay in the hopes of improvement, but no dice. I work in IT so I know how relatively easy it would be to do, but I know there are always costs. If you need / want to do some work, stream any media or any other minor intensive internet activity, forget it. Also, the gym is pretty limited. It has a few cardio machines, but not much beyond that. For those on vacation where a gym and internet are not important, this is a great place to go, for those on business or find internet and a decent gym important, stay far away. May 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bathroom problems As always the staff treated us like family and we were not aware that the hotel was under construction until we arrived. Hint... Maybe a web site update... We stayed on the 5th floor and the room was just ok. The bathroom had black mold around the shower area and the shower knob was about to fall off. I have sent pictures of the bathroom and was a little disappointed that the room was not up to the usual high standards I have seen in other W hotels. June 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Experience Overall the staff was helpful and friendly. Our only complaints were the inconsistent complimentary water daily (water is very much needed during your stay; some days it was provided, others it was not), the actual tap water did not run cold, and the elevator was slow and the second unit was not running most of our trip. The water, when turned on, even on the cold setting, always got warm. This was not good for the midnight need for hydration. September 27, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This is a Couples Hotel Not a family atmosphere at the hotel. Food and beverage and staff attentiveness were good. Location is close enough to Walk to everything in the Quarter but far enough that it's not loud. I wouldn't call it a business hotel either unless you are entertaining. Pretty funky. May 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Average at Best Wifi 16Mps at most. I get better wifi from my local public bathroom. Ended up working off of 4G my entire stay. The rooms are "modern" but impractical. No place to hang a towel, no real drawers to unpack. The rooms are large but furnished inadequately and therefore a waste of space. Sadly I was not impressed nor would recommend this hotel to anyone at this time. January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W French Quarter staff steps up This is one of my favorite hotels. While there are some needed renovations going on, the staff embodies the "Whatever Whenever" motto. Our last stay could have been a disaster as some things got screwed up with SPG central reservations. But the staff stepped up and really made a bad situation work. It's easy to be happy when everything goes perfectly, but a great hotel comes through when things go wrong. January 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissapointed The quality of room for the money spent on room $500) was acceptable. This is an average room with many problems that could have been avoided, and should have been avoided with proper attention of staff.....especially cleaning staff. The carpet was heavily frayed between bathroom and sleeping area (making it a hazard). The black floor and shower floor was littered with filth and crud. It felt very unsanitary....as also, the stainless steel door handle and vanity were so filthy, that I did not want to touch it. The lamp above the bed wascaked with layers of dust. We phoned the front desk and were transferred to the supervisor who politely addressed the issue and discounted the room. We asked to send cleaning staff. She sent the cleaning supervisor, who was not cordial, and rudely cut my wife off as she attempted to show her a problem, after she had listened to only a few of my complaints. She sprayed off the vanity, however the rest of the issues we addressed were not properly cleaned: as we left the room and expected to come back to a clean room!!!!!!! We paid for turn down service, and did not receive it!!!!!!!! Another disappointment. There were only 2 coffee cups in the room, and we had to go to the front desk the next morning to get one. The bellman that attended our car and luggage was exceptional. He gave great advice later that evening and found a taxi for us. His professionalism was what we expected to receive from the rest of the staff at the W. March 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good A bit noisy since our room was right next door to the gym, but overall an enjoyable experience. The concierge, ELijah was fantastic with great suggestions for tours ( he suggested a plantation tour which was fabulous as well as a superb Culinary tasting tour of French Quarter restaurants, !) He was even able to secure restaurant reservations when were unable to get space! October 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall fine Great staff. Whoever designed bathroom needs to live with it as there is a large etched bow tie in mirror above sink where you try to shave and/or put on makeup. It's ridiculous. Very little shelf space in bathroom and no where to place a dop kit. And extremely poor lighting. Our room came equipped with a cock roach, as well as the room my friend stayed in (she found hers when she went to put her shoe on!) But hey, it's the French Quarter, I'm sure all the best places have them in that area of town! Lovely, lovely, lovely courtyard. I would stay there again just for that. April 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Given a booked roomed I showed up to the hotel late on a Monday because I was working earlier that day. When I arrived I was given a room on the 4th floor, which was already occupied by someone else. Luckily the person was not in the room at the time but their stuff was all over the room and bathroom. The front desk did not seem to be apologetic and just simply gave me a different room. August 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to W standards Granted, the hotel is under renovation, but the room i stayed in seemed to be updated, but was rough quality. Shower shook when hot, water pooled in shower and wouldn't drain right, worn furniture, etc. On top of it, the service was hit and miss. Asked for ice delivery, and gave up after 30 minutes.. Courtyard started playing music at 8 am on a Saturday - killed me! May 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by So sad Our party booked 4 hotel rooms at The W. everyone's room was ready except ours. I had planned a vow renewal at 5:00 with a justice of the peace, a photographer which both we had to cancel because our room was not ready until 5:20 pm. So sad so many months if planning down the drain. They did not even comp us our room. Bad Business. July 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff; worn-out property I stayed at the W - French Quarter during the Christmas holiday. The property is small, giving it a boutique hotel feel, which I very much prefer. The reception staff were wonderful - attending to everything I needed, and providing wonderful suggestions for dinner and things to do. I was, however, a bit surprised by the condition of the room. While outfitted with modern decor and very nice bathroom fixtures, the room just seemed worn out. The chair, duvet and carpet had all seen better days. When planning my trip to New Orleans I was most concerned about the conditions of the rooms in the Quarter -- I assumed that given the high volume of tourists, and well, Mardi Gras, that nice rooms would be difficult to find. That is why I chose the W over many of the lesser known properties in the area. Unfortunately, it seems even the W can't keep its rooms in good condition. I will return to New Orleans again, however, the W won't be my first choice for lodging. December 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Felt like I was living history The location was great, right in the French Quarter but far enough from Boubon Street so it was quiet. The rooms were a comfortable size and well maintained. The staff was friendly, helpful, and efficient and catered to every need. The courtyard and pool was a relaxing escape. January 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid the W - French Quarter A disappointing stay at the W – French Quarter. I arrived a little after 3:00pm and things started out badly. My cab pulled up to front of the hotel and I got out and paid the driver, the driver unloaded my bags, as no one from the bell staff appeared. I picked up two of my three bags and walked up the drive. I stopped went back for my other bag, still no help. I carried my bags to the door of the check-in area and a gentleman opened the door and asked me if I needed help. I checked-in and my room was not available yet. I had booked a King NS room. All they had was rooms with 2 beds. So they checked me in to a double. The room was remodeled and fine with one exception, the floor was filthy, it looked like it hadn’t been vacuumed since the recent remodeling. No one from the hotel ever called to apologies for the room snafu, in fact I never heard from anyone at the hotel at all about the overall bad experience. I travel a lot and I have to say at $300+ per night , avoid the W – French Quarter, there are several other great SPG properties in New Orleans. October 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay at W-French Quarter First time in NOLA and was unsure where to stay. As a SPG member I saw this property and despite some of the reviews, I decided to stay here and....I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED. THis hotel is in a great location and you can walk 2 blocks to either Bourbon or Decatur Streets. Great restaurants are abundant in this neighborhood as well. From the minute we stepped into the Welcome Center, we were greeted with what felt like open arms. Every single member of the staff at the W re incredible. No request is too big or too small. I actually asked for a bathroom scale and within an hour, I had one. I was told if they didn't have one on property they'd go buy me one! The hotel is newly renovated and done very nicely. The gym was adequate and I used it often. The pool is small but apportioned to the style and size of the hotel. The lounges at the pool are brand new and so comfortable. We did enjoy breakfast in So Bou which was great. Their dinner is ver good at well. Their courtyard is beautiful. I will absolutely be visiting this hotel again. Thank You W for a great stay!! August 17, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>