W New Orleans - French Quarter

  • 316 Chartres Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 261 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall fine Great staff. Whoever designed bathroom needs to live with it as there is a large etched bow tie in mirror above sink where you try to shave and/or put on makeup. It's ridiculous. Very little shelf space in bathroom and no where to place a dop kit. And extremely poor lighting. Our room came equipped with a cock roach, as well as the room my friend stayed in (she found hers when she went to put her shoe on!) But hey, it's the French Quarter, I'm sure all the best places have them in that area of town! Lovely, lovely, lovely courtyard. I would stay there again just for that. April 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noise We were in junior suite 233 on ground floor, opening on courtyard. The windows on the doors are not double-panes. Guests would arrrive at any hour of the night, talk loudly, some for what seemed hours and wake us up. These suites should be made more sound-proof. April 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Living off publicity Rooms are minute! Not enough light to read in bed. Strange blanket arrangement--either you have all 5 blankets on at once or none. They are wrapped in some sort of envelope. Awful!! April 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unimpressive Great location, but super noisy, friendly but inefficient staff. People in pool all night making noise using foul language. Breakfast delivered to room below standard .would NOT stay here again!!!! Oh here's more, no clean towels in gym or at pool., no water to drink in gym...yikes and it's only our 2 night here, two more to go! April 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel Awesome Hotel. I would highly recommend staying there. April 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location This hotel and its staff exceeded my expectations. The location is perfect, right in the heart of the French Quarter but not right on Bourbon street so we could actually get some rest. Overall excellent experience. April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing getaway W French Quarter has a relaxing courtyard and sits in the middle of dining and entertainment making it a perfect getaway.The entire staff is very friendly and courteous.The chefs creations are nothing short of amazing. If more people knew about the restaurant and there was nightly live music in the courtyard, the hotel would probably get over crowded. April 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by FIRST STAY AT A W Only complaint was that I did not get free wi-fi as standard room rate. Have stayed in a number of Starwood properties and being a 4 star elite, always received free wi-fi. Sheets were not as soft and comfortable compared to the Westin's and Sheraton's. Stayed using points and picked the W at the French Quarters because it cost me the most points per night. Should of saved 2,000 pts and stayed at the Sheraton New Orleans. April 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Fantastic location in the heart of French Quarter. April 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very small rooms, but great location The location in the French Quarter can't be beat. And the staff were very friendly, customer service was excellent. But, the rooms are VERY small. There is no privacy in the bathroom. Every time my husband took a shower, he set off the alarms in the room (twice) and the alarm is very loud. Also, the day we departed, both elevators were out of order - one elevator didn't work the entire weekend. Since we only stayed for 2 days and didn't spend much time in the room, we could handle it. If I were staying any longer, I would go crazy in that tiny room. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by charming and great staff everyone was very friendly, patient, and helpful, from the driveway guys to the front desk person to the bartenders. great staff. charming property. March 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The W French Quarter New Orleans Super stay at the W French Quarter. Staff very friendly knowledgeable and helpful. We especially liked the parade that passed under our balcony on our first night stay. Mark Wood at the the valet was especially helpful. March 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location, location, location AND great service POSITIVES: Location- The W New Orleans French Quarter is located in the Quarter but is removed from Bourbon Street by two blocks. View from room- We were on the 4th floor (top floor) in a Fabulous Room with a balcony overlooking Chartres Street. The balcony had two chairs and a table. This was an all-points award reservation. Three months prior to arrival we paid $30 for a confirmed upgrade from the standard Wonderful Room to a Fabulous Room. Service and friendliness of employees- Everyone from the check-in agent, to the valet, to housekeeping, to the bartenders, to the check-out agent made us feel we were important to the W New Orleans French Quarter. Cleanliness of room interior- The room and bath was spotless. Water temperature & pressure- Pretty self-explanatory. Climate control- Air conditioning worked great, a definite need in New Orleans! Electrical outlet availability- Plenty of available outlets including four at the desk. Quality of drinks from bar- SoBou is a bar that can make anything and the bartenders take great pride in their work. Courtyard area - Lots of seating available in the courtyard area. NEGATIVES: Dirty furniture on balcony- The furniture, even though it appeared clean, left black marks on clothing. A quick cleaning with a wet tissue solved the problem. Housekeeping should wipe this furniture clean with each cleaning of the room, even if the furniture appears to be clean. Lack of Do Not Disturb sign- When we returned to the room in the early morning hours, we discovered the room did not have a Do Not Disturb sign. We were not disturbed prior to our check-out but there should have been a sign available. Breakfast- At breakfast I ordered whole wheat toast and was told they were out of whole wheat bread and “were waiting for a shipment”. SoBou is associated with Commanders Palace. With that pedigree, the restaurant should not run out of whole wheat bread. Send someone to buy a few loaves. I also ordered my eggs over-easy yet one of the yolks was hard. The potatoes, however, were great! Overall, this was a good stay. We have stayed at the W New Orleans French Quarter four times in the past eighteen months and I would not hesitate to return. March 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall great location and great experience There were only a few minor issues - the toilets and housekeeping weren't as clean as I have seen from other SPG brands or W's. We also had an issue were champaigne was pre-ordered for the room and didn't show up to our room and we had to follow up with it. When it was delivered, the ice had melted and the card attached was wet. March 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Restaurant not up to W standards The restaurant is poorly run and an overall bad experience. We had dinner one night with one of the worst service experiences ever and poor quality food. SoBou needs an adult menu and adult supervision. Breakfast was better, but you don't expect much for breakfast. But, even then, the hostess asked if we wanted coffee then disappeared. Never saw her again. The servers largely lurked in the back of the restaurant out of sight. March 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissapointed The quality of room for the money spent on room $500) was acceptable. This is an average room with many problems that could have been avoided, and should have been avoided with proper attention of staff.....especially cleaning staff. The carpet was heavily frayed between bathroom and sleeping area (making it a hazard). The black floor and shower floor was littered with filth and crud. It felt very unsanitary....as also, the stainless steel door handle and vanity were so filthy, that I did not want to touch it. The lamp above the bed wascaked with layers of dust. We phoned the front desk and were transferred to the supervisor who politely addressed the issue and discounted the room. We asked to send cleaning staff. She sent the cleaning supervisor, who was not cordial, and rudely cut my wife off as she attempted to show her a problem, after she had listened to only a few of my complaints. She sprayed off the vanity, however the rest of the issues we addressed were not properly cleaned: as we left the room and expected to come back to a clean room!!!!!!! We paid for turn down service, and did not receive it!!!!!!!! Another disappointment. There were only 2 coffee cups in the room, and we had to go to the front desk the next morning to get one. The bellman that attended our car and luggage was exceptional. He gave great advice later that evening and found a taxi for us. His professionalism was what we expected to receive from the rest of the staff at the W. March 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay AWAY What a terrible hotel! Rooms' walls are paper thin, staff is unable to keep guests quiet, room service took an hour and a half to reach our room with a simple bottle of champagne and staff let themselves in the room twice without asking. I stayed in the Studio Suites (~$700 a night) with the Jacuzzi and allow me to say that the room was tiny! For $800 a night you think you'd get a little space, a hot tub that was actually filled up above half way, a bathroom with some drainage and a staff that doesn't let neighbors blast music just because said neighbors are staff at the hotel staying there for FREE (so they told us). NOT cool W! Never again. February 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by major disappointment Quick decision to stay here, but having stayed at a W, we 'thought' it would meet our expectations. The staff was extremely nice ...professional and friendly. The décor was dark, depressing and joyless. The pool area needed attention...we waited for two hours for our room, and looked at dirty dishes/ and glasses on tables by pool --loud music .......requested towels for pool, they never arrived... room was not real clean. Bathroom mirror and make up mirror were dirty....Room extremely overpriced ....A huge disappointment for a Starwood Hotel-----The restaurant is the saving grace for this property..... February 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay Had a nice stay at this W. First time back since the new reno and it looks great. Staff was good and have to say front desk Agent Chelse R. was the best. She made us feel valued and welcomed. The suite was really amazing with the out door Jacuzzi. We will come back again. I do Recommend this SPG Hotel. February 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick stay We only stayed one night and were gone early the next morning, but the evening was great as usual. January 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellant staff Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were good but not spectacular, also no upgrade for being Gold. Can't say enough good things about all the staff, would definitely stay here again. January 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location My sister and I enjoyed our first time in New Orleans. Upon our arrival Shawn (at the front desk) was very welcoming. She gave us a nice courtyard view room. She acknowledged us a SPG clients. Her evening counterpart, Ariel was also very helpful on two occasions. The "bellmen" were helpful as well. Overall we had a very pleasant stay at the French Quarters W hotel. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great valet services Front desk and staff were very friendly and helpful January 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Short Stay, But Still Nice The staff was excellent and the overall facilities were nice. My taste in room decor may differ from a lot of other people, but it was something different. It was edgy, bold and different. From the bathroom sink to the nightstands, the room was very trendy. The hotel is 2 blocks from Bourbon Street and great restaurants, so the walk was nothing. I recommend it, especially because the staff was on point. January 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Average at Best Wifi 16Mps at most. I get better wifi from my local public bathroom. Ended up working off of 4G my entire stay. The rooms are "modern" but impractical. No place to hang a towel, no real drawers to unpack. The rooms are large but furnished inadequately and therefore a waste of space. Sadly I was not impressed nor would recommend this hotel to anyone at this time. January 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Customer Service I just stayed at the W French Quarter for the Christmas holiday and I had a wonderful time. Like many I was apprehensive due to reading some of the negative review. I must say I never had any issues and would recommend this hotel to family and friends. The staff was so very friendly and welcoming. They immediately recognize your SPG membership and always referred to me by my name. We had room service and they were so efficient. She told us it would take 35 minutes but each time it came way before that. The parking was a bit expensive at $44 per night but that is to be expected in the French quarter. We had a great time and would return to this hotel December 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Upsides and downsides I stayed here for business 12/15 - 12/18 2013 and unfortunately, this W did not meet the expectations created by my experiences at other W and SPG hotels. Pros: Usually very friendly and helpful service Breakfast in-room dining options are excellent Prime location in the French Quarter Beautiful private courtyard Cons: Maids banging on my door repeatedly despite the DO NOT DISTURB hanger being placed the night before. Neither phone in the room worked because they did not fit into their charging platforms. I had to rig them with business cards to get them to seat properly so I could use the phone. 7:30 AM wakeup calls I did not ask for. Two mornings in a row! In-room drink and snack selection is terrible. The hard liquor selection was one single bottle of Tanqueray. The beer selection was Bud Light or Heineken. That's it for alcohol. Late night room service menu has 4 items on it, none of them very appealing. The entrance to the hotel lobby is hard to see from the sidewalk as the door does not face the street. In-room internet is reliable, but slow. My room selection was not available and I was not told this until I checked in. No compensation was offered, though the room I was assigned worked out fine. December 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good stay Had a decent stay on points at the W French Quarter last weekend. Friendly staff. No upgrade as a Plat, but I believe the hotel was full and didn't really expect one. Location in French Quarter is great. Room was fine - bathroom really small, but adequate. A couple of service lapses. TV in room didn't work - they fixed that while we were out during the day. Wifi never worked in the room - called the front desk and they said they didn't have anyone to fix it, but we could call a help desk. Were out all day and too tired when we got back to room to bother with it, but it seems like the hotel could have had someone call the help desk and get it fixed while we were gone. Only one complementary bottle of water in the room for Plat status - most hotels have 2. Asked at the front desk if there was a place we could get a couple more bottles of water - said they'd send up some, but never did. Hotel was a little noisy - both nights people randomly pounded on our door in the middle of the night, but that just goes with the area - not really the hotel's fault. Had a nice meal at the bar at SoBou - food was good, reasonably prices, great service. November 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quiet Spot in the Chaos Lovely inner garden is tranquil and chic, with a nicely heated swimming pool. The staff was very accommodating, and although, no special treats for the dog, treated him very nicely. The rooms are a little small, no tub, and really need some updating/upkeep. There are very limited amenities in terms of a real gym, spa, etc., but you can always go to the neighboring property for those things. November 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best service! Wonderful staff! We were greeted by Shawn. Perfect choice to represent your hotel. She is knowledgable, friendly and not only booked us to our room but made excellent suggestions of what to do and where to eat. Elisha- the concierge - friendly ... Amazing at his job as he was able to book us into the most delightful restaurants and guide us through the days with fun things to do. I loved NOLA from the second I arrived at the hotel. The staff was welcoming including Anabelle at the bar who pours drinks while she charms you with stories of New Orleans. Free coffee in the morning is a plus and the rooms are nice size and clean. I can't wait to come back. November 21, 2013
  • 2015-08-29T09:35:16.717-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_261, tr_261
  • loc_en_US, sid_97508, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 next>>