W New Orleans - French Quarter

  • 316 Chartres Street
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 231 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs improvement There was a dog two rooms down that barked and howled all night and the staff did little to help after several complaints. I was also not upgraded and the room/hotel design was terrible because I was placed in a room which had three entry doors back to back in a corner which all night the slamming of doors from the other two guests was very disturbing. The white counter top was stained red from something spilled by a prior guest. The hotel also didn't have a cab stand. I stayed here many times before prior to Katrina and the hotel service went down hill. The upgrade of the restaurant Sobu was very good. February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel Staff My first time to stay at this W in the French Quarter and what a perfect location for enjoying the local area. The staff was amazing from the front door, front desk, concierge, maids, to the MOD walking around. All of them greeted me with a smile and ask how my stay was being enjoyed. The concierge really knew the local restaurant scene and made super recommendations. The courtyard provides for a nice relaxing area to get some work done on the laptop or read. The only thing I would add to this hotel is a bigger gym/ sweat area. It's the smallest one I have ever scene at a W Hotel. You can even use the pull up bar without hitting your head on the ceiling. I'll be back soon though. December 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by French Quarter First room was very noisy (neighbours: first a crying baby (2 hrs in a row early morning on Sunday...), then occupied by a couple that played loud music) and the shower water was only lukewarm (so an engineer had to fix it, but that took time) so I had to change room after one day. That room was more quiet but had a leaking bathroom (so the engineer had to come over again to fix it). Not a good start... SoBou food was good but variety on menu was rather limited, in my view. Wine list was OK. Some staff members in restaurant were unexperienced, but freindly. Location is nice, in the middle of the FQ! October 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has huge potential Well, let's just say that if the option were available to check out, we would have. This hotel falls short in the most basic aspects of any quality high-end hotel. While the property and the wait staff are extremely polite and pleasant, the housekeeping staff should be terminated and the maintenance staff really requires supervision. Impossible to get comfortable in that bed. The duvet cover felt like sandpaper. The shower faucet never gave cool water. The room just wasn't clean in so many ways. When management was alerted to the problem, we were promised a clean room. Surprise surprise, the room wasn't clean when we returned. we had to clean the room just so that we could feel comfortable sleeping in our bed. Would love to stay here again but not sure if we can forget about this experience. May 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Spent two nights at the hotel the week after Isaac. Hotel was in good shape although they were still repairing some damage. Our room was spacious and well decorated. Being gold members we were upgraded and given free wifi as our stay gift. Great location for walking to a number of NO sites and Bourbon street. The entire staff made you feel welcome. DeShawn in reception and Chris in the bar were two special people that made our visit memorable. Would definitely stay at W if we ever come to New Orleans again. Now if only the Huskies had played better against LSU, it would have been a perfect trip. September 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Quarter IS the best stay in NOLA. I've been staying at this hotel for years and am consistently blown away by the genuine friendliness at the W Quarter. Quentin and Mark aim to please and always have their finger on the pulse. Elijah knows this town, I trust his recommendations. He's friendly and efficient. Ms. Stacie, for years, goes above and beyond. I know several guests that adore her and I for one come back because of her outstanding service (and so do the rest, trust me). Let's not forget the importance of family...she (and the others mentioned) embraces this philosophy. It's nice, it's important and it's real. Other hotels in NOLA and beyond don't make me feel this welcomed and appreciated. Finally, the GM, James obviously get's it, keeps high standards and runs a tight ship. Much appreciated, I'll be back. Sincerely, KH. May 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool place in the heart of the French Quarter Due to a business project, I have been coming down to New Orleans often, I find myself really liking this hotel. It is a great place right in the middle of the French Quarter where you can easily access many of the sites of NOLA. This place gives off a great vibe, has a good restaurant, and courtyard area to relax on a nice evening. As a business traveler however, I think I do need to reconsider. The rooms are great as well as the staff, and it is close to the office, but the business amenities are seriously lacking. The wireless internet here is utterly useless. I mention it every stay in the hopes of improvement, but no dice. I work in IT so I know how relatively easy it would be to do, but I know there are always costs. If you need / want to do some work, stream any media or any other minor intensive internet activity, forget it. Also, the gym is pretty limited. It has a few cardio machines, but not much beyond that. For those on vacation where a gym and internet are not important, this is a great place to go, for those on business or find internet and a decent gym important, stay far away. May 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This is a Couples Hotel Not a family atmosphere at the hotel. Food and beverage and staff attentiveness were good. Location is close enough to Walk to everything in the Quarter but far enough that it's not loud. I wouldn't call it a business hotel either unless you are entertaining. Pretty funky. May 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very small rooms, but great location The location in the French Quarter can't be beat. And the staff were very friendly, customer service was excellent. But, the rooms are VERY small. There is no privacy in the bathroom. Every time my husband took a shower, he set off the alarms in the room (twice) and the alarm is very loud. Also, the day we departed, both elevators were out of order - one elevator didn't work the entire weekend. Since we only stayed for 2 days and didn't spend much time in the room, we could handle it. If I were staying any longer, I would go crazy in that tiny room. April 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location, not great room Lovely location in the French Quarter. However out bathroom sink was so low (only 3 feet off the ground) it was incredibly difficult to use. Weird room layout and somewhat see-through glass around the bathroom left little privacy. Internet should be free and there was a $14.95 charge per day. Noisy partiers at the courtyard pool our room faced - all day and into the night not taken care of by staff until we called at 4am. Our room was not cleaned one day as well until we called to request it. Expensive parking. Disappointing stay for we were hoping to be be a great birthday weekend. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful staff and outstanding hotel This is my first stay at a W hotel and I have say i am well pleased. It has a home feeling to the rooms and the staff was superb. SPG recognition was the best i have ever seen. After a long drive they provided a warm welcome with platinum perks at only a gold star status. I will be sure to come out of my way to stay here again February 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Hotel matches the area First visit to New Orleans and I loved how this property fit right into Chartres Street. I used a Suite Night Award on a very busy weekend and got a 2nd floor room with a balcony right over the street which made for some great people watching. I was able to use a late checkout with no issue and had great experiences with hotel staff. The workout room isn't much, but the courtyard area in the center of the hotel is very cool. A number of people were using the pool and common seating areas when I was there. I will seek out this property going forward when visiting New Orleans. October 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location in the Quarter & wonderful ambience The "W" provided an excellent stay during my business trip to N.O. - the staff are wonderful & the property cozy. Noise level between a joining rooms can get a bit annoying but the staff were more than accommodating in changing my room while I was away for the day. I will be back......Cheers! May 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staci was so much help Staci at the front desk was the greatest help to us throughout our stay and really made it wonderful. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone. December 9, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Avoid the restaurant Everything about this hotel was satisfactory except for the restaurant. The menu was limited, the food itself was unremarkable at best, and the behavior of the clientele at another table in the restaurant was boorish, appropriate for a frat house. Management made no attempt rein in this behavior. May 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Halbert was excellent!! This is a hotel that has an amazing location in the french quarter. Currently being renovated so rooms should be even better in near future. My most pleasant experience was working w/ Halbert at the front desk. His patience, attentiveness, demeanor and genuine caring attitude made any inefficiencies associated w/ the hotel (contruction related issues) acceptable during our stay. Ask for him by name as he'll take very good care of you! Ask for anything - eating recommendations, etc. He'll provide the best. We got upgraded automatically upon check in. August 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above The Odds! Yes, they were going through a remodel while we stayed. The noise was a little frustrating, but no one's fault. The rooms were a bit outdated but clearly they were addressing the issue with their upgrade! The staff more than made up for the inconveniences. They were courteous, professional and went above and beyond to meet all our needs. They recognized our Gold status immediately and made sure we knew all our options. We utilized the Acura and that was smooth as well. I salute the staff at this location for making the best of a tough situation. September 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Suggestions.... Some suggestions to improve our experience would be: *Offer free bottled water each day *Offer turn-down service *Enlarge bathroom *"Connect" more with guests May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Urban Retreat in the heart of the French Quarter Lots of hotels try to invoke a "boutique" atmosphere these days but I glady award W French Quarter the prize for bieng the most innovative in terms of in room decor....completely unexpected in so many ways from fantastci Hi Def televisions to the burnt oragne bathroom tile to the truly unique selections in lighting and materials throughout. Terrifc job on the bar makeover and a revived pool area, too! Who would think such a non-descript, older building could morph into something so uber cool? Perfect "different" vibe in the heart of NOLA! November 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you for an incredible birthday weekend The staff went above and beyond for my three day weekend stay in celebration of my birthday on June 14. I mentioned that I was coming for my birthday and I was shocked to walk in to my room and find it decorated and a wonderful bottle of wine waiting to be opened after the long drive to the hotel from Atlanta. The afternoons by the pool with the DJ were great as well as the complimentary mimosas and bloody mary's. The hotel is the PERFECT location just two blocks off Bourbon and one block from Decatur. Thanks again and I will be back!!! June 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Orleans Gem I love this hotel! It's modern, chic and comfortable, and in a great location. Everyone who works at this hotel is awesome. Staci in concierge, helped me with dining and all activities. I was traveling alone for business and I squeezed this trip in at the end. Elijah and Jermaine offered helpful advice as well. The happy hour in the bar is good, too. My room was on small side (to be expected in the city) but very, very comfortable. It overlooked the quaint courtyard. I loved the ambient lighting all around the hotel. Highly recommend! July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff Ariel was ver helpfull along with Dennis McKinnan. There was a large group checking in in front of me and I was fine waiting my turn. Dennis came and asked if he could get my ID and card and he would go ahead and start the check in process. I was checked in before I had even reached the computer. On top of that, our valet Jeremy was one of the most enthusiastic and helpful one i have come across. our key card was giving us trouble when we were leaving and he rembered my wife from the day begore and offered to take us up to our room. And then had our car waiting when we came down. this was above and beyond, but greatly appreciated in my book.Service like this is why I stay at W hotels. I hope all of these people will be recognized for there great service. January 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unimpressive Great location, but super noisy, friendly but inefficient staff. People in pool all night making noise using foul language. Breakfast delivered to room below standard .would NOT stay here again!!!! Oh here's more, no clean towels in gym or at pool., no water to drink in gym...yikes and it's only our 2 night here, two more to go! April 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location but rooms are really small I hate to not be able to rate this facility with higher marks because it has really great potential but the rooms are extremely tight. If you are used to upgrades and larger room accommodations (larger than 300 sq ft) then this is not for you. They try really hard to mask the room's small size but it feels completely claustrophobic in there. However if you don't mind the cramped quarters this is a great location right in the heart of the FQ. I ended up moving to the Sheraton on Canal street for the rest of my week-long stay. March 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by FIRST STAY AT A W Only complaint was that I did not get free wi-fi as standard room rate. Have stayed in a number of Starwood properties and being a 4 star elite, always received free wi-fi. Sheets were not as soft and comfortable compared to the Westin's and Sheraton's. Stayed using points and picked the W at the French Quarters because it cost me the most points per night. Should of saved 2,000 pts and stayed at the Sheraton New Orleans. April 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best people in the hotel business! Used Starwood Points for my wife and her sisters to have a night in New Orleans. They were treated like royalty!. The great thing about Starwood is that, someone else staying on your points gets the same treatment as if you were there. My wife was particularly impressed with the helpfulness of the staff. The valet made multiple trips to put their purchases in the car while they were shopping on checkout day. She and I stayed at this W several years ago and had a great time. Glad to see the hotel is as good or better. July 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs to be described as a Boutique Hotel. For a W Hotel, this property fell short in certain ways. Although I had a nice size room, it had a very small bathroom and a very, very small window. The room as a result was dark, even with the varied lighting that was provided. For a female trying to put on make-up it was almost impossible. The TV remote in my room did not work, neither did it work in the second room I had for a guest. I also did not have a working phone. The front desk staff service was mixed. The gentleman at check-in may have been new to the job, but clearly was struggling through the check-in. I booked through American Express Fine Hotel and Resorts, but needed to bring this to the individual's attention. This is clearly a more boutique type property which may not meet the needs of al travelers. February 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noise We were in junior suite 233 on ground floor, opening on courtyard. The windows on the doors are not double-panes. Guests would arrrive at any hour of the night, talk loudly, some for what seemed hours and wake us up. These suites should be made more sound-proof. April 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by W stands for WHATEVER! First, Hotel is great location and the people who work there are friendly and appear to want to be helpful. Restaurant is average and with all the other choices in this food city, don't waste your time. My poor rating is due to the Whenever/Whatever. Lets just say they don't answer the phone-Whatever! Second, I noticed our in house movies were down at 6am one morning. Called to get them fixed. Came back at noon to relax and watch a flick and no one ever did anything about it. I repeatedly called and nothing was done. I told them I did not want to waste anymore of my limited time so if they could not get them fixed, I did not want to wait around. I eneded up wasting my whole afternoon with these idiots. I am not happy. Their offer to compensate was insulting. Never again! December 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ghost and Goblins We were in New Orleans for Halloween party. The staff was very helpful. Our room was very comfortable with a great balcony overlooking the courtyard. I have veen coming to New Orleans for many years and The W has that special hotel feel of a Quarter hotel while being very trendy. Great location, quiet room, very spacious...I would reccommend. My only issue is the bathroom has a glass door and if you are staying with someone the light shines in the room if they use the restroom in the middle of the night... November 1, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>