W Chicago - City Center

  • 172 West Adams Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60603-3604
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Please note that guests must be 21 years or older to be registered as an overnight guest.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 422 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel with Fantastic Staff Love the hotel and will definitely stay there again. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Always willing to go out of their way. My only negative was that the room lacked drawer space. I do not like living out of a suitcase. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff: poor system "Shout outs" to the staff from the front door to the desk. Arianna solved all our issues quickly. Chelsey Watson did a great job in arranging our brunch Rooms for many members (including my wife and me) of our party were not ready when we checked in. Billing process was poor. No paper bills and therefore no opportunity to review the charges. May 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very accommodating staff and great location. Upon arrival, I was immediately acknowledged as a Starwood guest and received a room upgrade. The service is great and the room was extremely comfortable. October 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No Coffee??? I'm a coffee lover and want my cup of joe in the morning. Well, at the W Hotel Chicago City Center you have to request an in-room coffee maker. But no one told me this at check-in. I assumed any upscale hotel would have a coffee maker in the room. Not here. In the morning I could not find coffee maker in room so I inquired upon check-out and was told I had to request a coffee maker. The desk clerk then referred me to the free coffee available in the lobby. So, I went to grab a cup as I left the hotel only to find 5 or 6 people waiting for coffee...it had been empty for some time. I could not wait and left. For me, this was a big disappointment. July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tattered This W Hotel room - must have been FABULOUS, a decade ago . . . but sadly it is becoming a bit tattered a worn about the edges. Little things like cracked floor tiles, worn chrome and counters, and a hole in the shower curtain. Finally, the ultimate frustration, no free internet via ethernet or WiFi in the room. To charge for this in this day and age . . . Curious at the very least. January 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dirty Rooms, Lack of Service I asked for extra pillows three times during my stay (once as a request on my reservation and twice with the desk staff), and these never made it to the room. As I travel often, I always inspect the room for cleanliness. This hotel was well below my expectations (white biological stain on chaise lounge chair, filthy bathroom counter / vanity, and hair left in the tub from previous guest. The walls are so thin that you will be able to hear all conversations in the room next door. There is a long wait upon check in, as an additional front desk attendant will not come to assist until there are at least 5 people in line. I am extremely disappointed in my stay at the W; I decided to stay with SPG while in Chicago as I am loyal Platinum guest. This is not an ideal hotel for the business traveler / road warrior. In terms of price, there are other hotels in the area that are less than or comparable and are far superior. February 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Huge Disappointment My room key failed to work on several occasions. The rooms air conditioning did not work properly, the wifi did not work on my first night and I was incorrectly billed $23.67 for minibar. I also do not like having the hotel attempting to sell me a box of condoms in my room. Overall I did not like my experience at this hotel and will definitely not return. April 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. In addition to a beautiful interior and clean, spacious rooms, the staff at the W on Adams was very kind, sincere, and welcoming. This included the personnel at the doors, all the people who worked at the check-in area, the restaurant staff, and the cleaning staff. I was very impressed and pleased with the genuine feeling of hospitality that was shared with the guests. July 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Am I a mark or a guest? Little stuff can make a big impression. For example, the Starbucks on the corner provides free wifi -- I don't even need to buy a cup of coffee. They'll also give me a drink of water. That feels good. But in my $300 hotel room, I have to pay $15 to get online? And $5 for a small bottle of water? The W in Chicago makes me feel more like a mark than a guest. April 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Short, but great... I only stayed at the W Chicago - City Center for a night, but I was impressed at every turn. From the check-in experience, to room service, to the most pleasant concierge service I've ever received the staff deserves an A+. The room was also larger than I expected after some of the reviews and everything lived up to the W brand name. Highly recommend. February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location Stayed only one night since I had a meeting down the street. Had a very nice lunch at IPO, great food. In the afternoon I went to the Bar for appetizers and wine and the Bartender was WONDERFUL!! I feel bad I cannot remember his name but he was Irish. Very friendly and attentive to my needs. I will definetly come back for business or pleasure. July 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beware the change penalty i booked a room for 13 nights, told the front desk when I arrived I might leave earlier. Okay, just tell us, was the answer. Notified the front desk at 9 am the 12th day that I would be checking out one day only, was told I would have to pay one night room and tax as a penalty. What hotel in the world operates like that? Do not stay here. August 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Down town Hotel We selected this hotel due to its location to what we wanted to do. The expectation of staying in a room that is listed at $369. per night was disappointing. I did not expect the penthouse, but the room was small and basic. I have been on business trips and it was made for that type of traveler. May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome upgrade This is really good hotel and if you are an SPG Platinum member it will be gr8 stay for you. I got an awesome upgrade and breakfast was delicios! July 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A dream come true wedding My daughter had her wedding on New Year's Eve at the "W". It was fantastic. The staff helped make this a dream come true for my daughter and her new husband. The facility was elegant and everyone was extremely attentive to all of our needs. If I had another daughter, she would get married at the "W" too. Thank you. January 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing I was only going to be in town for one day to celebrate my 30th birthday & the room had been paid in advance & booked for 4 people & when I checked in I gave a credit card for "incidentals" no one told me $400 would be held on my account. It was the only card I brought & I had zero spending money when I was there. Huge disappointment... I found this out the hard way when I went out to eat & my credit card had been declined. Also they gave me a king size bed for 4 people I had to change it to a double room which I had to pay an extra $50 a night for... I paid it because I really had no other choice. So not only did I not have any spending money & had to just lounge around the hotel I also had to pay extra money for the room I originally booked! So my 30th bday was pretty much a bust. I also e-mailed the company & they have not responded & it has been almost 24 hours. I am very sad I wasted my time, my money & my birthday there. I really hope they try to make this right. February 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremly Disappointed From the time of booking till check out and receiving incorrect invoices. Commitment on tariff not fulfilled. I was told 227/night inclusive taxes, to mu surprise was charged 227+ taxes. I had got mioni bar studff removed, still charged to my invoice. Unhappy about the complete experience. March 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tiny room This is the smallest room I have experienced in the United States. For $300 a night, I was shocked at the small size of the room. I booked this hotel because I prefer to stay in Starwood hotels and it was very convenient for my business meetings. I will walk a few blocks next time and stay elsewhere. May 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay I loved everything about this hotel. I had an accessible room and it was perfect for me. The Acura ride program was a nice bonus. Excellent meal at IPO. All the staff was great. I interacted primarily with Erwin, Laurelin and Tom, all of whom did an excellent job. They made my stay truly memorable. July 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expected more from a W I have stayed in W's in the Middle East and Europe and had expectations when I booked the W in Chicago. The rooms were okay but the service was blow average. The reception was extremely short on staff. At night there was no one at the concierge or anyone to help out with my bags. September 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel for business but... First off, the hotel rooms are big and the staff was friendly. Showers are walk-in which I love. Here's where I think they can improve. 1. Doors need something to dead-en the sound when it closes. I woke up to the cleaning staff going in and out of the doors from next door to all the way down the hallway. The door closing makes a pound noise. 2. You can hear the train that is close by. It eventually became white noise to me 3. Location could be better, but if you have work close by then great! If you want to be closer to more attractions and restaurants I would go to a different location. Nice to haves/minor stuff: 4. Doors you still need to slide the card for entry and for the elevators. I like the new doors which you just put the card near the sensor and it opens. This makes it so I don't have to take it out of my wallet. 5. My bathroom kinda smelled like smoke, but wasn't a big enough deal to move. As always, the beds were comfortable and the toiletries provided are great. TV and remote worked well. Free coffee and sometimes snacks downstairs is awesome. October 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Incredibly small room! I was shocked and surprised by the size of the room we were assigned! It was a little more than a large closet and the bathroom had hardly any wiggle room. The sink was tiny and the shower stall was SMALL... May 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room Room way to small for 2 people. No dresser to put away your clothes. and no room in the closet to put your shoes away. And the bathroom was way so tiny, and you could hear the people in the other room. So I was very disappointed May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel with outstanding customer service! This was my first stay at a W Hotel, and I was so impressed! I booked a room for my husband's and my anniversary using my SPG points. When we checked in, Amanda at the front desk could not have been nicer or more accommodating. I wasn't expecting a room upgrade, but she upgraded us to a Spectacular Room - and spectacular, it was! Through our conversation during check-in, she asked if we had dinner plans, and I mentioned we had reservations at a restaurant in the West Loop. Amanda then arranged for the hotel's car service to take us to dinner. Again, I wasn't expecting such star treatment, but Amanda made us feel as though we were frequent guests. The next morning, I went in search of a newspaper, and Fatima at the front desk offered to send someone out to find it for me. Again, I was very impressed. I travel frequently for work, and it’s rare that you find a hotel that is so customer-service oriented with employees who truly appear to love their jobs. After our experience at the W, we definitely will be back! May 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Do not recommend. The staff is terrible, by far the worst experience I have ever had a hotel before. The staff will treat you like crap; the only thing that made this hotel somewhat tolerable was the manager Chris. Chris did his best to try and turn our experience around but it did not work. November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chicago - My Kind of Town! The W Hotel is located near the Willis Tower (formerly the Sear Tower). Purchase the Chicago Trolly & Double Decker Co. 3 day ticket pass for $35 dollars. That's the best way to see the great city of Chicago. Go to the TOP of the Willis TOWER. That was very cool. April 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by W Chicago Plumbing problems, toilet and bath. Poor lighting in room Difficult to operate elevators - keys often don't work No coffee one morning in lobby as promised. I inquired. Nobody could explain, but nobody offered to get me a cup. April 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Smallest room I have been in for years - felt like Hong Kong Small room, not very clean, tiny bathroom, dripping taps, loud outside - I asked for a quiet room. Asked for late check out until 2PM was told 1PM latest, or pay $50 extra.....small, unclean room and will not give me an extra hour. Very poor, and not coming back August 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Paper thin walls I could hear everything in my room even my neighbors talking! Awful experience! I could not watch tv at night since my neighbors complained on volume! May 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by small room The staff were excellent and helpful. This was probably the most cramped, smallest room I have eve stayed in at what is billed as a high end hotel. The bathroom was especially inadequate. I will not be staying here again. April 30, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15 next>>