W Chicago - City Center

  • 172 West Adams Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60603-3604
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Please note that guests must be 21 years or older to be registered as an overnight guest.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 294 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tiny room, internet didn't work, TV froze every 30 seconds! I have stayed at several W Hotels. This one lacked the engaging staff, the comfortable rooms and some of the basics that a business traveler needs/expects. August 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This Hotel Needs improvement The Hotel has great location but needs to provide more space for guest comfort. They need to provide basis amenities like tean and coffe maker in every room and not charge for tea bags. July 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful hotel with great conference facilities Had a very pleasant stay. The location is excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful. The only negative was the fitness center, which needs to be larger. July 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice upgrades I have stayed here a few times and have always gotten a nice upgrade. The location is perfect for me, someone that is coming in on the train from Michigan. June 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by First impressions do make a difference We were in the city to attend a wedding. We chose W Chicago City Center as this was a suggested hotel for wedding guests, and the bridal party was also staying here. Although the property is trendy and beautiful, we found the service to be lacking. For example, we pulled up the curb and interacted with the valet. While we were taking our bags, backpacks, etc. out of our car (family of 4), at no time were we offered help. Same thing as we fumbled to get through the front door while carrying our bags. No one offered to assist us or even opened the door for us. This pretty much set the tone for our stay. While we fumbled through the lobby to find the check in kiosks, we passed several people who were obviously employees, but not one greeted us or offered to get us assistance with our bags. Room was nice enough, but missing the alarm clock and iPod docking station which is touted on your website. When I called the Whatever, Whenever line to inquire about one, I was offered a wake up call?! It took 2 calls for someone to offer bringing one up to our room, but by the time it was installed, we had to leave for our event, so totally missed out on playing music while we were getting ready. Disappointed as a Starwood's Member, and wouldn't recommend this property. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel room and location wonderful Location and room were great. Staff was pleasant and courteous. I will plan to stay here again and would recommend this hotel September 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by horrible experiance disgusting...I will make a formal complaint through starwood and my corporate office who makes my reservations January 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good W property with central location Liked the property though little old. Central for business and tourism needs with a vibrant bar. March 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by chicago xmas trip great location clean rooms great gym por internet service in 10 it did not workno late checkout December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Friendly staff, updated and clean, had everything and more for a great rate! Highly recommend January 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Missed the mark I am a SPG member and stayed at other W's in the country with fairly good brand experience. This one in Chicago just fell flat for me: 1) Staff was not as attentive and had to wait for help at different times in day. 2) Staff was not clear that I opted for Green program. Found out after my room was not refreshed and asked to have room service and did not happen. 3) Bar staff was noticeably not friendly and seemed stressed. Went somewhere else for drinks. 4) W's have a signature scent in their hotels and my room for some reason had a mildew smell. 5) Front staff 'upgraded' me away from my original booking to a "larger room" that had 2 beds and offered "courtyard side of building due to privacy and quiet atmosphere." My room looked directly at the office building next door with open windows and I was put just outside elevators and was very noisy. How was this an upgrade for a SPG member? January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hip We had a great stay. I really like the W brand. July 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another great W stay I love staying at the W and prefer it over most if not all hotels, not only in the SPG brand, but over all. My stay here was as lovely as my others, I usually stay in Buckhead of ATL. The room was nice, a little noise from outside, but I live in a city as well and enjoy the sounds. The tub was big enough for a bath, which I loved because W always provides Bliss Spa Soaps. The bar is small but staff was super attentive and I used my drink tics W offers with many of their stays. Also valet service was included in the package I purchased. Another bonus. I will be back, but not before I check out Lakeshore location to see if it measures up too ;) March 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fitness room is not usable Nothing was working, quit dirty, no light May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Based on previous reviews... ...I was nervous to stay at this hotel. I was in Chicago for a work trip, and at the W for three nights and three days. My travel partner took the offer for a 'Cozy' room, but having read about it, I was not interested. The check-in staff was very gracious about accommodating me; I accepted two double beds in exchange for a 'Marvelous' room on a quiet floor. The room was spacious, lovely, and clean, and the beds were unbelievably comfortable. Obviously there are little hotel noises that can never be escaped, and I could pickup on the sound of the L in the distance, but I was not bothered by this and actually found it quite comforting #I did use earplugs when sleeping, though#. The staff went absolutely out of their way to help me a couple of times -- they brought a scissors up immedately when I needed to borrow one; but the biggest thing is that they sent a runner out to buy a iPhone/TV connector for me: I paid for the item and the cab trip but was able to take a shower and order room service while they picked it up. Room service was lovely -- the menu is not the most exciting ever, but I found the quality good and the little extras delightful: who would ever be upset about getting gummy bears on their tray? The decor is a little 'hip' for a suburban midwest girl, but the point is they treated me like a valued guest and I enjoyed all interactions with staff, and my stay in general. August 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Warm reception in a cold climate The friendly informative staff help make my family's stay cozy and comfortable. Despite being booked to capacity, the rooms were quiet and clean, and all of our needs were met. February 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel was simply fan-tas-tic! Stayed at the W Hotel City Center in Chicago for my ma's birthday...great choice! The staff went above and beyond by bringing up the luggage to the room, supplying a table for the birthday cake & bringing another refrigerator for our beverages. Room service was also very good; there was a little screw-up with our side dishes and the room service attendant promptly corrected the issue within minutes. The only little thing about the stay was that we couldn't figure out how to keep the room temperature at a nice comfortable temp...very minor in the scheme of things. Overall, the hotel was all that I imagined it would be...simply fantastic! January 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Valet Sleeping in my car The hotel itself was a standard lower budget W hotel. It was fine for one night. Upon my arrival they upgraded me to a Fab Room, which was the size of a standard hotel room. I ordered room service and it was upstairs in no time, which was excellent. Now for the bad: There was no one standing at the front counter when i tried to check out around 5am. I had to call for them "hello- anyone here" type of call - they were in the back, but again not standing at their post. Then i went to retrieve my car from valet which i requested 15 minutes earlier. Still no car, no valet driver. I went outside and waited 5 more minutes. Then went back tot he front desk - she had to call down to valet, who never received my message to pull the car out (read below for the reason!!) - i then stood at the front of the building for 4 minutes and waited for a 1/2 sleeping valet guy to come to the front to get the key. 10 more minutes later still no car. I called from the valet phone to the front desk. she had to call down again!!!! The valet guy was SLEEPING IN MY CAR! Needless to say i almost missed my flight-- was completely aggravated and felt assaulted. The guy never even unreclined the seat. It was all the way reclined back when i got in. Needless to say i will NEVER be staying at this hotel again. The hotel did comp the $55 a night valet fee, Had i missed the flight they would have been paying a lot more. RM 1916- had a musty smell but was acceptable. July 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by That "WOW" experience for all the wrong reasons We stayed the previous night (Friday) at another 4 star hotel for a wedding. That next morning (Saturday) we decided to stay in the city another night, and despite the great room and great rate from our current 4 star hotel, we decided to be adventurous and try another hotel in the area just for fun. I've always had great experiences at Starwood properties and had never had the chance to stay at a W before. So we grabbed a room at the W City Center that morning, for a 1 night stay. I realize due to the last minute nature in our booking, we probably would not be allotted one of the best rooms, but I really did not expect to be stuck in an updated version of a hobbit hole. With a bathroom that was probably 2 and half by 4 feet. Yes, we'd fallen victim to the "cozy room" booking. Yes, I realize "due to the original 1920s architecture" blah blah blah and that's fine. That is fine for literally any other non-premium hotel brand. Sorry, W. You cannot charge premium prices, tout yourselves as a cool, hip luxury brand and then not expect the kind of backlash you get for these rooms when people are sorely disappointed for expecting that WOW experience you are so careful to construct, then just try to explain it away with "that is how the building was built. Here is free Wifi. Deal with it." Oh and the "free" wireless? Might be nice if it was not slow as a turtle. And if you would want to spend any time in your room in the first place for anything other than sleeping. Oh, and I lifted up the bedding for cleanliness as I do for any hotel stay, and there were tons of hairs underneath the mattress pads. Super gross. Bright side: the towels are super. Really great. We should have stuck with our original hotel. And now we know. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Stay! Great check-in, very comfrotable room, and a fabulous meal in the evening under the lights and atmosphere of their funky lounge. Great service staff who are very personable and attentive. First class! February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by downtown overnight Have stayed here before and very pleased with the facility and staff. February 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The staff at this hotel did not make this trip relaxing! I called this hotel at least 5 times prior to arriving to ensure a smooth trip however it was anything but! Prior to arriving I requested an early check in, connecting rooms, a pack n play, and to be on the same floor as the bride (since I was in the wedding and was traveling with a 1 year old). Multiple phone calls I was told that everything was all set but when I arrived to the hotel this was not the case. I waited in the lobby with my one year old for almost 3 hours waiting for my room to be ready. I had an argument with the front desk person trying to get connecting rooms and was told because these rooms were on a higher floor it would be an additional $50 a night per room. They were out of pack n plays. When I entered my room one room was very very small and the fridge was in the opposite room as the crib. I called the front desk and was told it would be switched right away however it was never done throughout the stay. I guess as a gester for my trouble a small bottle of wine was sent up to the room with a card. The staff couldn't even take the time to spell our name correctly. Then to top it all off we requested a late checkout and went for breakfast. When we returned one room was cleaned and the maid threw out my goody bag from the wedding. I called the front desk and they found it but really do I want to eat the food in it after it was in the trash and more importantly is that room considered clean for the next guest when I still have access to it?????? The hotel price and parking was very expensive for a weekend and I was very very disappointed in my experience at the W. I actually hand never written a review but the hotel portion of my trip really set the tome for the whole weekend. I would never stay at the W again. June 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible stay I have never been more disappointed with a W hotel since I started travelling for work. The internet during my stay was atrocious. I was unable to work and had to head downstairs to the McDonalds to access strong internet connection. I reached out to guest services who prompted me to contact their third party service. After speaking with them, they informed me that this has been an ongoing problem at the hotel. My question is, if this is an ongoing problem why hasn’t this been fixed? What also bothered me was I forfeited 250 points welcome points as I wanted the free internet instead only to never use the internet. Secondly, I was planning on visiting the sky deck at Willis tower on the weekend. I spoke to the concierge who informed me that she could give me a VIP ticket for the price of General Admission. However, what she didn’t tell me was this was her own “personal” business and that the other concierge couldn’t provide me with that same deal. When I did decide to buy the ticket, the concierge wasn’t working and I had to buy a full price VIP ticket to avoid the weekend lines. I was shocked to learn that concierge working at the desk had a personal business on the side. Thirdly, I signed up for the “Make it Green” promotion meaning my room would not be cleaned and I wouldn’t be disturbed. On Monday, I had a cleaning lady in my room at 8 am which shocked me. Apparently she knocked but since it was early morning I didn’t hear it. Why would the cleaning lady even come to my room if I was in the Make it Green promotion? Communication was obviously was lacking. Overall, I was disappointed in my stay, the service felt very rushed and I didn’t feel like I was welcomed like I have at other W or SPG hotels. February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Memorable Night's Stay I had to go to Chicago for the National Restaurant Association's annual tradeshow, but I could only stay one night, a Saturday night, for I had to be home on Friday and Monday for business. I booked the W because it was convenient to places in The Loop and McCormick convention center, to these degrees, it worked very well. When I arrived at the hotel after attending the show on Saturday I was greeted by the bellman who handled my bags with a smile and directed me inside. The lobby took me back, I could see it was an older, elegant structure redone anew with a whimsical, edgy sense of style that respected the original architecture, I was delighted by the space. I checked in and sent my bags up to my room and went to the bar for some refreshments. The interior music set a perfect mood for the late afternoon moment and the beer was cold, I enjoyed 2 rounds and went to me room to freshen up. I chose a Spectacular room and found it to be just as described, spacious, open and well appointed; the tech hook-ups were excellent and the iPod interface on the bedside radio was of outstanding quality and audio clarity. The bathroom was very nice and modern, the hot water got hot quickly and the lavatory flushed without laziness, 2 things not always found in older buildings in Chicago. The TV looked nice and modern, but admittedly, I never used it. The bed, yes, the bad, it was awesome! I had a very comfortable king with what appeared to be feather pillows (if they were't feather, I couldn't tell) and the sheets and bedding were of high quality. The step-in closet was illuminated and had just the right amount of room for 2 people's clothing and bags, the safe was a nice tough as well as the hanging organizer. Lighting in the room was well thought out, I was especially fancied by the low-level illumination under the bed and left it on all night as a nightlight. There was a desk, a desk chair and a side chair, both chairs were leather clad. Overall, I was very pleased by the room's layout, appointments and style. I went out to dinner that night with some clients and upon returning to the hotel the atmosphere had changed. Two disco balls were sparking the lobby and the music was bumpin'. There was a party going on in the ballroom that had spilled out into the lobby area. It was a fun moment and I settled at the bar to take it in, one drink later I adjourned to my room for a restful sleep. The next morning I went down to the lobby for some coffee and sat in the comfortable lobby area and gathered my thoughts for the day ahead. Checkout was a snap and I left The W satisfied with my stay and knowing that I shall return! May 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noise I wrote s long email to W Hotels talking about the loud noise from train s which could be heard even up on the 12th floor. No one seemed very concerned when I mentioned it during check out January 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Complete lack of response from staff The hotel's facilities are good although, as others have noted, the rooms are quite small. The hotel staff and in particular the concierge desk completely failed to fulfill their service promise. There were numerous instances where I called or emailed the concierge desk and got ZERO response. In one particular case, I had an urgent need, called the concierge desk and was routed to voicemail but the call was never acknowledged. I have followed up directly with the hotel manager and she, too, has been a black hole -- a complete lack of response or acknowledgement. The physical hotel facilities are up to the usual W standards but the service was a total fail. June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classy Hotel Great service Modern well-appointed room Only criticism is small closets January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BIRTHDAY GETAWAY!!!! DOWNTOWN CHICAGO AT THE W CHICAGO ON ADAMS STREET I ENTERED IN GREETED BY THE DOORMAN WITH A SMILE!!!! ... BEAUTIFUL HOTEL!!!! ... ALL OF MY NEEDS WERE MEET AT THIS FANTASTIC HOTEL!!! ... LAURELLIN HAD EMAILED MY A WEEK BEFORE MY TRAVEL DATES TO COMFIRM MY ARRANGEMENT AND ASSIST ME WITH ALL MY TRAVEL AND HOTEL NEEDS!!! ... SHE WAS MY ANGEL!!! ... MY MEDICAL NEEDS WERE MET ... MY LOCATION NEEDS WERE MEET ... I SO BELIEVE IN COMMUNICATION AND SHE BLESSED ME WITH ALL HER MIGHT!! ... LOL FRONT DESK WAS AWESOME!!! VERY QUICK CHECKIN ... I HAD A HANDICAP ROOM VERY SPACIOUS THE BEDS ARE HEAVENLY!!!! ... I SOOO ENJOYED MY BIRTHDAY GETAWAY!!!!! KEEP IT UP W CHICAGO HOTEL!!!! November 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by An ok stay The room was fine, the bathroom small but the hallways were not so nice an a little dirty. The room garbage can was not emptied and the carpeting could have used a good vacuuming. The gym was very disappointing - small, not enough equipment for the number of guests using it. I got to the gym every morning at 5:30 just to beat the crowd. The staff was friendly but it didn't feel like what a W should feel like. January 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but noisy elevators This hotel is great. The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. Room service was superb. There are only 2 reasons why I can't give this hotel a full 5 stars. The first is that the exercise facility is small and 2 of the 3 treadmills were broken. I went to workout in the morning and the small room was so busy I just left, and had to come back later in the evening. The second reason is I was on the 9th floor near the elevator bank and the elevators were so noisy that they would wake me up every morning when everyone started leaving for the morning around 6:30. I would also stay up later due to the noisy elevators. February 8, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11 next>>