W Chicago - City Center

  • 172 West Adams Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60603-3604
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Please note that guests must be 21 years or older to be registered as an overnight guest.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 402 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Total bummer....don't stay here! This is the most disappointing W Hotel that I have ever stayed in (and I have stayed in many W’s). The lobby looks cool but the building is extremely old and the walls are very thin; so thin that I heard the guy next door on his cell for most of the night. The service was really disappointing, too. I checked-in with my current Platinum card in hand; however the front desk staff didn’t bother to honor it. They didn't even give me a Platinum sleeve for my room key. The only cool element of the room is the bed; everything else sucks. I'm beginning to wonder if it's worth maintaining my status with Starwood when their staff treats you so badly. This hotel does not live up to the W Brand. February 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel with Fantastic Staff Love the hotel and will definitely stay there again. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Always willing to go out of their way. My only negative was that the room lacked drawer space. I do not like living out of a suitcase. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location and staff Everything about hotel is excellent. Staff very professional. I would always stay here. August 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst service! terrible staff! horrible experience! stay away from this hotel!!!!! when I was trying to ask the receptionist questions, she stopped me several times and there was even no eye contact or any explanations when she did that. when I just wanted to double check with her which of my credit card would be charged for second night (I booked two rooms for two nights for me and my business friends, and I used two credit cards to pay), she stopped me again and spoke to me rudely, so I couldn’t put up with her, then I requested to speak to her supervisor or any other staff. What happened next is she yelled at me saying, “I am not going to deal with you”, and then she slapped the keyboard, turned back and walked in the room behind her. I even wrote an email to the hotel's customer service staff afterwards. There is NO APOLOGY, NO EXPLANATION, NO FOLLOW-UP whatsoever, and it looks like there is nothing to the W hotel. IF YOU WANT TO GET HUMILIATED IN PUBLIC, PLEASE COME TO STAY AT THIS W HOTEL!!!!!!! More info about this hotel: no coffee or any complimentary drink/snack provided, and its rooms are very small, maybe even smaller than master suite bathroom in your house. There is no view at all: my room was at 12 floor and only 4-5 feet away from a office building (I could see clearly people doing in that building, and vice versus). The lobby is crowded and loud. January 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by W City Center our first room ( hotel was busy) was a "handicapped" room facing the El train. hard low bed and train noise all night. We requested to change rooms the next morning. We were away from 10:30am until 11pm and we were never moved. We were eventually moved to a room on the other side of the hotel. Pillows lumpy and sheets are low quality. Lobby is dark weirdly lit with hot pink lightly with disco balls. May 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Printing I think the hotel is pretty good and I travel about 100 days / year for business. However, I was quite surprised that when I went to print out a boarding pass in the business center I was asked to enter my credit card number. I needed to take three flights to get back so I needed three boarding passes. They wanted to charge me $3. I thought this was ridiculous. After charging me $29.99 for internet and the room being higher than average for chicago....I thought trying to extort 3 more dollars from me was pretty petty. Many hotels are now going to free internet and offering business amenities for free. I could understand if I needed to print a 50 page report, but all I needed was my boarding pass. Hotels of your stature should provide this as a service to its guests. The staff stated that I needed to pay for it........RIDICULOUS. I would not use your hotel again unless I had to because you are greedy and petty. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great stay that exceeded my expectations! I've been to Chicago before staying at another Starwood hotel, but this time for NYE I decided to give the W City Center a try. It was easily one of my better, if not best stays of 2011 and a great close to the year. The hotel is very conveniently located, there is the CTA stop nearby (Quincy), plenty of convenience stores, coffee shops, etc around the hotel within walking distance. The rooms are very modern and comfortable. Bathrooms are not tiny, and there are many other hotels that have smaller bathrooms. What sets this hotel apart from the others is the level of service. When you walk into the Living Room (lobby), you see the great architecture which feels modern, classy, and elegant. The staff is absolutely fantastic here, they make you feel welcome and really go above and beyond what one would expect of a W, which would be good service anyways. Concierge is excellent for recommendations, and the IPO restaurant is quite underrated. The food here is reasonably priced and good quality. I am not the kind of person to dine in at hotels, but gave this a shot and will admit that I ate here 3 times during my stay...it was just that good! Chicago is a large city, there are lots of Starwood properties but for me this is where I will be staying at from now on. The hotel is very nice and clean, the rooms are elegant and comfortable, and the staff will do everything it can to make sure you have a great stay. This hotel did everything right in order to earn my business for the long-term. January 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unexpected fees! Upon my arrival at the W checking in I was told that I wasn,t going to get a double bed room which I booked threw Starwood , I was told that if I wanted a. Double room I would have to pay and additional charge of 50.00 per night, so much for getting a discount! One queen size bed for myself and my guest, then they were gonna bring a trundle bed in my room, but not for free 35.00 for that and never did get it ,it's a good thing because it wouldn,t of fit the room was very small . Imthought for sure my needs would of been met, but things didn,t happen that way! The hotel is very dark and gloomy! Wasn,t what I expected at all! I give the W a 1. August 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Atmosphere and Great Location The outside of the hotel looks spectacular if you arrive at night. We arrived at around 10pm at night and the site of the hotel lit up in purple gave an incredible first impression. Right away we were excited to stay here. The lobby was like a night club with great music, lots of seating, and a good bar. Upon checking in we were upgraded from the Wonderful room to the Spectacular room. The room was huge with lots of space, big bed, big washroom and a big screen tv. Staff were incredibly friendly as well. The location was great too. 5 min walk from the Willis Tower (Sears Tower) , minutes from the river and the River Walk and not far from Millennium Park. Also being right in the Loop it's to get anywhere when staying at this hotel. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone. August 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Great location, trendy, but.... This is a beautiful property and in a super location in the loop. It is very trendy and looks cool. However, ratings are in the details. As a platinum I was upgraded to a suite, which was the size of most standard rooms in other properties. The room was not ready when I checked in. Staff came later in afternoon to check if mini bar had been restocked after previous check out. Why not before I checked in? House keeping knocked at 10 am to see if I was checked out. Really? The major problem with this property is the very thin walls / door of connecting room. I literally jumped out of bed at 4.42 am when I thought some drunk people were in my room, next to my bed. There wasn't it was the adjoining room and sound was coming through the door. The worst soundproofing I have ever experienced in an spg property. No perks for platinum members at this property, so you can do better in Chicago. And no coffee in the room, is inconvenient. But to end on a positive, if you love trendy, you will really enjoy this property! July 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Chic! Very clean, courteours staff, excellent location, nice restauarant and a nice bar on premises August 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel needs to improve before I would ever recommend Upscale appearance. Very trendy look to lobby, bar and restaurant. Room was quite disappointing. The bed was king size and sagged in the middle causing each of us to roll toward the center. The room was too warm and you could not turn the thermostat below 65. A panel on the wall fell off. The bathroom door would not close. The garbage can was cracked and broken. The bathroom was extremely small - and very poorly designed. I have stayed at many hotels and this was an expensive hotel with a clever veneer that did not live up to expectations in any way. I would not recommend it to anyone for any reason. January 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rooms too small Room was small - no seating other than bed and desk chair, closet in bathroom and limited drawers. Not a fan of the style (personal preference, others may like). April 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by horrible experiance disgusting...I will make a formal complaint through starwood and my corporate office who makes my reservations January 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did Not Meet My Expectations This hotel did not meet my expectations. When I had checked in as a Gold member, I was told I received an upgraded room. This "upgraded room" was nowhere close to the photos I see on this website. The room was small, the bathroom tiny and the room service mediocre. The bed and the toiletries were the best part of the stay. Whatever/Whenever did not meet my expectations, as they were not able to provide a cord for me to connect my Android phone to the clock so that I could amplify my music. In addition, I called Whatever/Whenever to ask whether the water in the fridge was complimentary and they said yes. When I checked out, there were $20 worth of mini bar charges on my bill. Horrible. February 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room Great / Staff Not So Much I didn't feel welcomed at all by the staff. No one was friendly. Whenever you asked for information it was met with disdain. The valet was very unconcerned with getting and receiving your car. Wait time was at least 25 mins or longer which is unreasonable seeing as how much you pa for valet with no other real options for parking. The bar area staff was slow so slow that we got up from our table and paid at the bar. Then were chased down by the waitress accusing us on walking out on the tab when indeed due to her lack of attentiveness and absence was paid at the bar. I have stayed at The W Hotel before (not this location) and was always extremely pleased but on this visit NOT SO MUCH! April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome upgrade This is really good hotel and if you are an SPG Platinum member it will be gr8 stay for you. I got an awesome upgrade and breakfast was delicios! July 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible stay I have never been more disappointed with a W hotel since I started travelling for work. The internet during my stay was atrocious. I was unable to work and had to head downstairs to the McDonalds to access strong internet connection. I reached out to guest services who prompted me to contact their third party service. After speaking with them, they informed me that this has been an ongoing problem at the hotel. My question is, if this is an ongoing problem why hasn’t this been fixed? What also bothered me was I forfeited 250 points welcome points as I wanted the free internet instead only to never use the internet. Secondly, I was planning on visiting the sky deck at Willis tower on the weekend. I spoke to the concierge who informed me that she could give me a VIP ticket for the price of General Admission. However, what she didn’t tell me was this was her own “personal” business and that the other concierge couldn’t provide me with that same deal. When I did decide to buy the ticket, the concierge wasn’t working and I had to buy a full price VIP ticket to avoid the weekend lines. I was shocked to learn that concierge working at the desk had a personal business on the side. Thirdly, I signed up for the “Make it Green” promotion meaning my room would not be cleaned and I wouldn’t be disturbed. On Monday, I had a cleaning lady in my room at 8 am which shocked me. Apparently she knocked but since it was early morning I didn’t hear it. Why would the cleaning lady even come to my room if I was in the Make it Green promotion? Communication was obviously was lacking. Overall, I was disappointed in my stay, the service felt very rushed and I didn’t feel like I was welcomed like I have at other W or SPG hotels. February 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location to take advantage of Chicago Always have a great time at this hotel as it is situated close to a number of things to do in Chicago. This time we went to Lalapalooza and it worked out great August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great vacation away from the suburbs I needed a night away from the suburbs and this was perfect! I received an pgrade on the room, accommodations with a late check out, and the special offer gave me daily parking and two cocktails. This was a perfect vacation away from the suburbs! August 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great hotel / very small standar rooms the hotel is great but the room I had (number 504) was too small, the bathroom was really tiny August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent stay The hotel was clean, spacious, and modern. The beds were plush. August 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room size I was unaware that the room I would be in would be as small as it was. I realize that I shoudl look closely at the SF when I make the reservation, but I honestly have never stayed in a room as small as the one at your hotel. I do appreciate the free internet access as a way to soften the blow of the size of the room, but it was not enough. The concierge helped me arrange transportation one evening, and gig a great job and was very helpful. May 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Gym needs serious expansion I stayed at this W for business for 2 nights. I am a Platinum member and typically have nothing but good experiences at Starwood properties. However, this properties amenities are nothing to brag about. I went to the gym 2 days in a row at 5:30 am and all cardio equipment was fully utilized both days. For a hotel of that size having 3 treadmills, 3 ellipticals and 2 bikes is extremely disappointing. For a hotel chain that prides themselves in health this is very very disappointing. In addition, the gym in general was the size of maybe two rooms, just horrible. April 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff not up to standards expected This was our first stay at a W hotel. I was expecting first class service unfortunately some excelled and some failed. The front door and valet service was very good. Eden at the concierge was excellent. She went out of her way to be helpful. The front desk was not helpful at all. We arrived very early for check in and did not expect a room but did expect a call as to when our room would be ready. I was told I would just have to call back. We also requested a roll away when I made the reservation and was not told until later in the evening we would not receive a roll away. When we requested sheets for the chaise lounge to be used as a bed the maid service entered the room without even knocking and acted like it wasn't a big deal. July 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, lousy service My wife I chose the W because of excellent location for our labor day trip to chicago. While the hotel was nice (which is what should be expected for over $250 a night) it felt that it was way more focused on being a club than an actual hotel. Our room was very small and the bathroom door was a bit of a joke. As my wife put it, it was a shadow bathroom, as you could bascially see and hear everything that was going on inside. Which I think is a perfect example of what you could expect from this place, everything looks good but isn't all that functional. Also we were treated very rudely by the front desk staff over a mix up in paperwork that they lost. Not worth sharing the details. The only plus was that the concierage was very helpful. September 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Upscale Trashy for an SPG category 5 hotel you would expect a minimum level of service. upon arrival, concierge just asked me if i was checking in. with 2 suitcases, he didn't event consider holding the door open and another guest had to hold the door so i can haul my luggage inside (there are no automatic doors at the main entrance) then i had to find my way to check in, with no one around and waiting i had to find an employee somewhere to find the receptionist. Then when i checked in i had to deal with the most unhappy receptionist who instead of checking me in, gave me the most attitude possible and then they charge $6.95 to use the business center computer for 15 minutes. finally the layout is awkward and strange giving it an upscale et trashy feel August 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Small Rooms and Uncomfortable Furnishings Bathroom sink was actually a bar sink and couldn't stand in front of it with bathroom door open. No space between toilet and shower. Shower rod is not curved and curtain blowing all over into tub. TV hung so high on the wall I got a neck ache trying to watch it. The desk area was good size and the room had ample electrical outlets. What is up with room service? Ordered artisan cheese plate and decent amount of cheese, but only three tiny baguette slices. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best night's sleep EVER!! This hotel is beautiful. The lobby is so swanky and beautifully decorated. The food at IPO was delish! Service was quick and expeditious...everyone was super friendly. Concierge and staff were indispensable.. as a visitor to Chicago, they were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The best part of my visit, however, was the room, specifically the bed. Not sure of the magic they have harnessed for their beds but it was the BEST night's sleep I've ever had. Would stay there again and again! July 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expensive and Dirty The room was clean, but the lobby and lobby bathrooms were trashed. The drinks at the lobby bar were ridiculously expensive. The morning after our stay the lobby was trashed with beer bottles, bottle tops and cigarette butts all over the floor. The lobby bathrooms were trashed and no cleaning was happening until after we left the hotel, which was 7:30 am. Coffee was also not available until after 8 am. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. For the price we paid, everything should be neat and clean and services should be offered early. November 4, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>