W Chicago - City Center

  • 172 West Adams Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60603-3604
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Mindestalter

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Gäste mindestens 21 Jahre alt sein müssen.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 411 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lighting The lighting in the lobby and elevators was too dark especially for persons with limited sight. October 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Designed for Weddings I stayed at the W City Center Chicago before and after my Wedding. The room block was closed early and guests could get cheaper rates online. The guest manifest I received did not include all of our wedding guests so I had no idea who, from our wedding, was staying at the hotel. Often, guests were told there was no room block for our wedding party at all. There was difficulty coordinating check-in with my dress and baggage. When we checked-out, we were given another wedding party's wedding cake so we had to drive all the way back to the hotel - thankfully, our wedding cake was still there. The best part of our experience at the W Hotel City Center was room service - it was timely and the Room Service staff was wonderful. July 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Where do I begin? I am writing this on sunday at 4:30 pm waiting for someone to show up to clean my room. It seems they forgot to do so today. My room card had to be replaced four times in four days because it failed to work (no, it wasn't near my phone) I ordered coffee from room service at 4:15 and was told it would be there in 15 minutes. 30 minutes later I had to call to find out where it was. the early morning staff couldn't give me directions, once they appeared from the back room. the gym in this hotel is substandard. the equipment is dated and in ill repair. Does anyone even care? The hallways on my floor, 22, go days without vacuuming. I finally had to pick up the debris myself, Besides that, its a fine establishment. I will never be back. November 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by "Cosy Room" is terrible I had my worst hotel experience ever at this W. Ever. I was booked in a "cosy" room which was basically a closet. While it did have the signature "Heavenly Bed," it took up the whole room. There was a desk, but even with the chair tucked in you could barely get past. Not sure there was enough room to actually pull the chair out and sit at the desk. Then there was the bathroom. Even smaller. In fact, the glass door on the shower stall opened into the shower but only part way, since it bumped into the large shower head. I am not sure that a larger person would have been able to squeeze in. This also means you have to get all the way into the shower to turn it on, and stand in the flow while you adjust the temperature. Yikes. Finally, the room was located directly across from the elevator so I heard the BING! and everyone coming and going all night and in the morning. The heating and cooling system was also noisy, and neighbor's use of their bathroom created high pitched sounds as the water pressure changed. Exhausting. The hotel clearly knows these rooms are sub-par because they do offer you a choice of free wifi, 500 SGP points, or two drinks at the bar in compensation. Not nearly enough to compensate. And here's the ultimate injury- I paid the full rack rate for this room. Ouch. On check-out, when I discussed my dissatisfaction, the front desk guy said they don't assign those rooms unless the hotel is completely booked. I am shocked they'd let a SPG member even book one - this experience was way below my expectation for this hotel company for any of their brands- much less the ultra-cool W. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Friendly Staff The staff is very good. They go out of their way to make sure that you are comfortable and well taken care of. September 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Chicago We really liked this hotel. The staff was great, the location was perfect. The room was nice and clean, etc. We did not like the bar at all. We tried it 2 different times and had to go up to the bar to get a drink both times. Not very friendly staff in the bar. September 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not my first choice from now on The lights in the room are very dim and are located right above the eyes on top of the headrest part of the bed location. The walls are so thin that you can hear EVERY thing from the next door. September 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Qualified Recommendation - Needs work on the basic The good, The greeting was nice. Delicious yummies awaiting at check in. I was upgraded to a "suite" which was nice. It really wasn't a suite but a large room partitioned into two areas. It was spacious and quiet. But... Once again staying at this property the Internet was bad. While working my Internet went out, about 8:30PM. I had just ordered room service. When I called the front desk I was directed to their outsourced IT department. I hate having to go through that - I just want someone who I am paying to fix the problem, not me. I then spent 25 minutes on the phone with a very pleasant and trying to be helpful person. In the meantime my dinner came so I ate that while on the phone. I find out upon check out it was a hotel wide-problem. If that was the case then why direct me to the help desk #? Morning of check out I am wakened by housekeeping at 8:30AM. When I checked in I was asked what time I was checking out. I said noon. That was indicated on the housekeeping roster. Yet I was the first person housekeeping came to that morning, at 8:30. In fairness I did not have the Do Not Disturb sign on my door but I wasn't anticipating an 8:30 AM visit from housekeeping when I indicated what time I would be checking out. Upon check out I brought up these issues with front desk manager. Very nice woman. She explained to me the internet issue and apologized for the early visit from housekeeping. I guess i was sort of put off because 1) i would have at the very least expected her to say "let me pick up the room service for you" and to 2) made some sort of minimal point gift for the inconveniences... not just a basic shrug of the shoulder and "well try harder next time." There are two many good hotels in Chicago for this to be acceptable. Finally, I know this is standard with Ws and I like it for the most part, but this particular W has a VERY dark lobby. September 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by No closets The hotel is very chic. Not at all what I was use to when it comes to staying in a hotel. I stayed in this hotel since it was recommended to me. The bed was comfortable and the staff was great but the room did not closets or drawers or anywhere to put clothes. This was a little bit of a problem since I was there on business and would have liked to have a place to hang my clothes instead of literally living out of a suitcase. September 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible I had to change rooms two times, their first room " the wonderful" was insanely small and dark. I " upgraded" for an extra $50 to at best a decent sized room.. It was so loud I couldn't sleep at all between the train, people honking, and police sirens, not to mention people coming off the elevator. I had to move again to something at least a little quieter, they said they'd send someone up with my new room key and help with our bags, 30 min.. Later I walked down to the front desk to ask what happened, to which they replied oops sorry we forgot to send someone. The third room was still loud but at that point I had just given up, and realized there was nowhere that would be quiet. The next day we came back to our room after 5:00 pm to find it not cleaned, I called down to find out why, and apparently I made a " green choice" and elected no housekeeping for the entire stay.. I was told a " green choice was re using our towels and they wouldn't change the sheets, not skipping housekeeping altogether. Also our bathroom amenities were half used when we arrived. I tried using the " whatever whenever" service, but that was useless as well.. I called looking for a place to go out on a Saturday and only got recommended one place which was just a restaurant when we were looking to check out some bars. I was told there was nowhere to go where there wouldn't be a wait to even get in. When I went down to try to talk to someone at 9:30 all I found was a sheet of paper with a list of "things to do" in the area. Needless to say this was the worst experience I've ever had at The W ever. Completely overpriced, for spending over $300 a night I was expecting a lot more. Not to mention still having to pay $15 a DAY for wifi that was still slow anyways. The rooms were so small and completely outdated. And good luck getting any sleep with all that noise. Not at all what I'd expect from the W. Stay away!! May 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good option Checked in and was told I would be upgraded to a bigger room. That sounded great until I realized the room was across from the elevators and you could here the ping as the elevator reached each floor while they were in motion. I asked for another room and was told they would have one that was smaller. I had no idea that they meant it was barely big enough for the bed and the bathroom was so small that I had the toilet paper roll jabbing me in the ribs and the sink/mirror was a quarter the normal size. They call this a "Cozy Room" This room should not be rented out at any price. April 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This room was bad. W should not get away with a room like this (408). It was dangerous to walk around the room (hitting our head on the poorly placed wall unit). The bathroom did not have enough room to sit on the toilette properly (it was not even funny). You should not be allowed to offer a thing like this on Hotwire -no matter how cheap. Also, your TV was missing local channels as well as ESPN, CNN, etc. Really, in 2013? Your Whatever/Whenever attitude was received at WHATEVER. Do you tell jokes among the staff about these closets turned into room? I'd expected more from the Sheraton chain. You've got us this time, but never again. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service The W Hotel has a certain level of expectation. Ariana at check in met and exceeded all expectations with her professional demeanor and knowledge of the area. Ariana is also very familiar with the SPG brand. She made me feel welcome and important when she knew my background and gave advice on where to go/ what to eat. I would advise for SPG corporate to model their hiring after Ariana. August 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not good. The lobby is beautiful. Our room as clean but the worst room I've ever stayed in as far as layout. A hotel without a closet? Our room had no dresser, no closet. The bathroom was so small, it had a very small shower. The toilet was so close to the wall, my husband could not flush the toilet. Husband was too large to fit in the small space. Never again. August 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wrong Mini Bar Charge I stayed at the W Chicago City Center for the training. I paid for the hotel with my corporate credit card. At the time when I was checking out nobody told me that I had mini bar charge to my room. Later when I was reviewing my bill I saw “mini bar” charge for $63 charge to my corporate card. I called hotel about that charge and was told that I ordered bottle of red wine. I didn’t use anything from the minibar or ordered anything. I was told that somebody is going to call me back. As I expected nobody called me back. I had to call next day again and was transferred to the accounting department. Nobody picked up the phone there and I was transferred back and got transferred again to the accounting department and nobody picked up phone again. I end up leaving message. Three days later my issue is still not resolved. The charge is wrong and not on my personal card but on corporate which very embarrassing. My corporate won’t pay for minibar. Staff at the hotel is not responsive. I will never stay at W Chicago City Center hotel. May 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Place Clean room, central to all places in the city August 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Charged for minibar The hotel charged me for minibar items I did not use. Disappointing that after paying over $600 for one night they do something like this. September 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Do you like the sound of the L? If you said yes, this might be the place for you! As a long standing Platinum SPG member who travels every week I was shocked when I checked in and was told my room was downgraded from the king I booked to a double bed (I am 6'2, so feet hung off bed) in what i think they referred to as a compact room. The room was so small that i had to turn sideways to walk past the bed and mini deck/work desk. Forget about a bathroom with any space or any extra space at all. On a plus I was able to use the handle of my suitcasee as a place to hang my coat. Oh yeah the crown jewel; the L runs right next to the building. Note to SPG I normally do not write reviews, but this experience was a huge let down and made me question my loyalty and value of maintaining Platinum status. This reservation wss booked about a month and half before travel and I was told the reason for downgrade vs. best possible room your website state as a perk for being Platinum was that you were sold out. Very poor customer service. January 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brilliant Staff! Every person I encountered and helped me and my dog was friendly, professional and anticipating any need even before I arrived! Would only stay at this hotel in Chicago...which used to be in old Chicago a brothel! Interesting history..love the lobby. You can just imagine the decadence back then November 8, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Find another Hotel What went wrong: Check-in Clerk didnt know if the Hotel had HDTV's.....are you kidding me? No recognition as a preferred guest, no curb side/doorman on duty. Smokers standing in front(at!) every door(always). Requested incidentals on a separate folio - not met. Room- it was more comfortable sitting on the floor than the one "Hip" fashion chair in the room. Bed was super super soft and consequently ver lumpy. The TV cant even be seen from the bed, tried rotating it on its wall bracket to get any view but then the wall blocks the remote from working. Channels cut out all the time, checkout day and the menu system didnt even work. Sink had almost no water pressure. Food: Had burger and skirt stake, both below average. The bright spot is that it they arrived quickly and the wait staff was really good. Checkout: still couldnt split my folio, no curb help for a cab. I have stayed at 3 star properties for a third the price that did everything better than this hotel, I would suggest another Chicago SPG property as this one just doesnt cut the mustard. May 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel and service took my family to Chicago for a three day weekend to run a race and see the sights. The hotel had a great location, nice rooms and the sevice was great. Would definetly stay here again. July 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by W-Chicago City Center is good enough! I stayed here for a couple of nights in the Winter of 2008 so things could have changed since then. As a whole the architecture of the building is pretty cool, as such most of the rooms are designed differently and the lobby is very nice as well. The location was pretty decent too. I wasn't too happy with the front desk staff however. I didn't get an upgrade. I remember this vividly because I had to switch rooms after I complained about the actual size of the room. It was a corner room which actually was very very small and it was borderline claustrophobic. The front desk lady didn't want to switch the room and really tried to delay the process hoping I would just give up. At the end, maybe an hour later, I got the room changed, not upgraded though. Anyway, if your PLAT upgrade is important to you especially at W-hotels where you get nothing really other than FREE internet, be warned, at least in my case I had to argue for it and still lost. As a whole, this is a really cool hotel with a lots of pluses, as most W's are...and it meets its category 5 rank, but does not exceed it. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful room, great staff, perfect location From the moment I checked in until the sad moment I had to leave, I didn't have a single complaint about the hotel! The front desk staff were very helpful in resolving a minor issue with my reservation quickly and politely, the concierge gave me two GREAT recommendations when I was looking for a nice gastro-pub nearby (Gage - try it!) and a brunch spot (Yolk - short cab away, also great), and the room was BEAUTIFUL and spacious. I couldn't ask for a better location for the Lollapalooza music festival either - only 5 blocks away! Can't wait to go back... August 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location and staff Everything about hotel is excellent. Staff very professional. I would always stay here. August 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Expected a better experience I had a bad impression from the hotel at the start. When our taxi pulled up the doorman grabbed my bags out of my hand when I explicitly told him no. My girlfriend and I had carry on luggage only. While we were telling him to come back the taxi left with my girlfriends leather jacket in the backseat which we will never get back. Hotel security couldn't help us out with locating the cab number or license number. My sister sent us a gift through the concierge service but they failed to deliver it. My sister had to check up with them over the phone, then call me to call to the front desk twice to get her gift delivered to the room. The room itself was much smaller than what was advertised on the website. In regards to the concierge desk, I was disappointed with the service both over the phone and in person. In person, the woman on duty could not be disturbed from a conversation with another staff member to help answer a question I had. Ended up waiting for her to finish talking to co-worker before acknowledging I was there. Concierge desk also said they do not make reservations on behalf of guests which I found strange. Another request for safety pins for my girlfriend (we were attending a wedding) took multiple calls into the front desk and a 40 minute wait. I am not usually one to nitpick, but for the ridiculous cost per night, I expect a level of service to match. I will not be using the W again when I travel to Chicago and I will not recommend to family or friends. October 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Modern Overall the hotel is clean and the rooms are quiet. I had problems between the hotel and SPG when it came to ajusting the reservation. Both SPG and the hotel kept telling me to call the other to get my points redeemed. Neither side could figure it out, so I lost 12,000 points. We were supposed to have a suite and it was a huge dissapointment when it wasn't ready at 4:00. The hotel staff told us we can wait at the bar for about 45 minutes and it would be ready. First, I don't want to spend money drinking at the bar because the hotel wasn't ready for check-in, and secondly, we had an event to get ready for and didn't have 45 more minutes to wait around. So we had to get a different room and I was informed if I wanted my suite night award back I would have to call SPG. Good customer service would be the hotel contact SPG since it was thier fault. This experience has turned me off to both SPG and this specific hotel. The hotel couldn't fix my points, adjust my suite night, or even have the room ready by 4:00. August 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Several Issues Had a room facing the train track. Train was so loud that you could not hear the TV. Was upgraded to a deluxe room. Bed was so far away from the TV the remote didn't work. had to get up and be 4 to 5 feet from the tv to change the channel and change volume and turn it off. Need new technology to deal with that. I am a vegetarian and found nothing on the menue that could work for dinner for a 3 night stay. In this day and age, i would assume hotels would now have options for a healty lifestyle. April 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel has small rooms, feels like a bar everywhere and could improve client service I was surprised by how small the room was when I arrived. There was hair in the shower. I am not a large person but sitting on the toilet the toilet paper was bumping up against my arm. The overall effect of the hotel is dark which may be a preference for others but I personally do not care for that or for the fact that you basically have to walk through the bar to get to your room. Also, it was raining heavily one day and although every person I encountered at the hotel affirmatively mentioned that umbrellas were available, when it actually did rain and I requested an umbrella, the front desk said they would check. Another person walked up and said she needed two more umbrellas. The front desk person came out with the two umbrellas for the person who arrived after me and then said to me that they were out of umbrellas, she explained the other person was with a group who had paid for the umbrellas. I think you should not tout having something available if you do not. The one positive is the room service people were very pleasant and on time. I would not stay at this hotel again. September 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad room I was put in a downgraded small room, and all they offered in compensation was 500 starwood points, which was not sufficient. There was loud train noise in the room from the local L train and it was really loud and disruptive to my stay. When I addressed this upon checkout to the hotel staff, their response was "We hope it's better next time…thanks". There probably won't be a next time at this hotel. I am a Startwood Gold member and there was no service at this hotel and I paid $250 for a bad room with a train running through it. I reallly have enjoyed W properties in the past, and was really disappointed with how they handled my stay this time. Todd December 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location for business Very updated, eclectic decor (as expected for a Starwood W hotel). Staff was very pleasant and the atmosphere was very upbeat. Close to financial district. September 11, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>