W Chicago - City Center

  • 172 West Adams Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60603-3604
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 451 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tiny room, internet didn't work, TV froze every 30 seconds! I have stayed at several W Hotels. This one lacked the engaging staff, the comfortable rooms and some of the basics that a business traveler needs/expects. August 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location for Lolla, mediocre service Stayed here for Lollapalooza weekend on points (which was a great value for this weekend) In general, everything was fine and what you'd expect at a W, however: - Concierge was not up to par at all (1/3 people were good). 1st lady at night was unbelievably snippy/rude when we asked her how to get a cab a night. 2nd day we waited half an hour at lunch for the concierge to get back from her "break" before giving up and leaving. 3rd lady our day of departure was quite good, however it felt like she was handholding the person in the back office who took half an hour to properly print emailed boarding tickets... - Hotel charged me $25 for scissors without notifying me at the time of requset, which was annoying and had to reverse it at check-out - Front desk / reservation staff were fine August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff and room The staff was extremely friendly from the car valets to my room service waiter. Bill at the Front Desk (I think that was his name) was great: very efficient with the check-in and very willing to answer my questions. My room was great, and the bed was extremely comfy. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff We were very pleased with the property! I can't say enough for the exceptional service we received at the check-in desk. Staff is very warm and welcoming. Location is a definite added plus! August 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Based on previous reviews... ...I was nervous to stay at this hotel. I was in Chicago for a work trip, and at the W for three nights and three days. My travel partner took the offer for a 'Cozy' room, but having read about it, I was not interested. The check-in staff was very gracious about accommodating me; I accepted two double beds in exchange for a 'Marvelous' room on a quiet floor. The room was spacious, lovely, and clean, and the beds were unbelievably comfortable. Obviously there are little hotel noises that can never be escaped, and I could pickup on the sound of the L in the distance, but I was not bothered by this and actually found it quite comforting #I did use earplugs when sleeping, though#. The staff went absolutely out of their way to help me a couple of times -- they brought a scissors up immedately when I needed to borrow one; but the biggest thing is that they sent a runner out to buy a iPhone/TV connector for me: I paid for the item and the cab trip but was able to take a shower and order room service while they picked it up. Room service was lovely -- the menu is not the most exciting ever, but I found the quality good and the little extras delightful: who would ever be upset about getting gummy bears on their tray? The decor is a little 'hip' for a suburban midwest girl, but the point is they treated me like a valued guest and I enjoyed all interactions with staff, and my stay in general. August 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel but not best for handicap travelers I stayed four days on business, and had a handicap room. The shower has easy access for handicap as well as a removable shower head and seating...however, the way the drains are set up, the floor flooded with every shower. I tried laying towels down and even rolling several towels to create a barrier. The rolled towels worked best, however, the slippery wet floor would be dangerous if not completely stabilized. August 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Professional, courteous staff Stayed four nights at the W City Center for Lolla weekend. Fantastic location for hitting the sites. Extremely impressed by the staff and their friendly & professional manner. The concierge gave us an excellent recommendation for a late dinner and booked us immediately so we were able to walk right in to our table with zero wait (not the case for the twenty people in line outside the door). The manager on staff Sunday (H.) helped to adjust an issue with our reservation promptly and was superbly professional - special thanks to her. August 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Smallest room I have been in for years - felt like Hong Kong Small room, not very clean, tiny bathroom, dripping taps, loud outside - I asked for a quiet room. Asked for late check out until 2PM was told 1PM latest, or pay $50 extra.....small, unclean room and will not give me an extra hour. Very poor, and not coming back August 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Designed for Weddings I stayed at the W City Center Chicago before and after my Wedding. The room block was closed early and guests could get cheaper rates online. The guest manifest I received did not include all of our wedding guests so I had no idea who, from our wedding, was staying at the hotel. Often, guests were told there was no room block for our wedding party at all. There was difficulty coordinating check-in with my dress and baggage. When we checked-out, we were given another wedding party's wedding cake so we had to drive all the way back to the hotel - thankfully, our wedding cake was still there. The best part of our experience at the W Hotel City Center was room service - it was timely and the Room Service staff was wonderful. July 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just alright I had been travelling for the last 5 weeks, with this being the last stop of my trip. For the highest price (granted it was during a holiday weekend - but also already with a special wedding rate), this was the smallest, tightest room i had stayed at all 35 days. Everything was neat and clean, but also almost difficult to move around - bathroom felt like it could've been an airplane's one. I have no complaints about the staff and ambiance, everything was nice enough, but there was nothing special about it for the name or price tag. July 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Great location, trendy, but.... This is a beautiful property and in a super location in the loop. It is very trendy and looks cool. However, ratings are in the details. As a platinum I was upgraded to a suite, which was the size of most standard rooms in other properties. The room was not ready when I checked in. Staff came later in afternoon to check if mini bar had been restocked after previous check out. Why not before I checked in? House keeping knocked at 10 am to see if I was checked out. Really? The major problem with this property is the very thin walls / door of connecting room. I literally jumped out of bed at 4.42 am when I thought some drunk people were in my room, next to my bed. There wasn't it was the adjoining room and sound was coming through the door. The worst soundproofing I have ever experienced in an spg property. No perks for platinum members at this property, so you can do better in Chicago. And no coffee in the room, is inconvenient. But to end on a positive, if you love trendy, you will really enjoy this property! July 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bed and noise unacceptable Room was nice cool and trendy however bed hard as a rock very noisy refrigerator all nite long prevented a good notes sleep July 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, Cool vibe but could be cleaner Really liked this place, great modern feel and unique furniture. Location was just about perfect for us - very convenient to just about everything. Only complaint we had is that the room was not as clean as I am used to with Starwood Hotels. There was hair in our shower, a piece of a broken perfume bottle on the bathroom floor and a piece of leftover pizza in the minibar fridge (gross). Overall I'm sure this is a clean hotel, guessing the maid was just a little lazy on this room July 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel and service took my family to Chicago for a three day weekend to run a race and see the sights. The hotel had a great location, nice rooms and the sevice was great. Would definetly stay here again. July 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by "Cosy Room" is terrible I had my worst hotel experience ever at this W. Ever. I was booked in a "cosy" room which was basically a closet. While it did have the signature "Heavenly Bed," it took up the whole room. There was a desk, but even with the chair tucked in you could barely get past. Not sure there was enough room to actually pull the chair out and sit at the desk. Then there was the bathroom. Even smaller. In fact, the glass door on the shower stall opened into the shower but only part way, since it bumped into the large shower head. I am not sure that a larger person would have been able to squeeze in. This also means you have to get all the way into the shower to turn it on, and stand in the flow while you adjust the temperature. Yikes. Finally, the room was located directly across from the elevator so I heard the BING! and everyone coming and going all night and in the morning. The heating and cooling system was also noisy, and neighbor's use of their bathroom created high pitched sounds as the water pressure changed. Exhausting. The hotel clearly knows these rooms are sub-par because they do offer you a choice of free wifi, 500 SGP points, or two drinks at the bar in compensation. Not nearly enough to compensate. And here's the ultimate injury- I paid the full rack rate for this room. Ouch. On check-out, when I discussed my dissatisfaction, the front desk guy said they don't assign those rooms unless the hotel is completely booked. I am shocked they'd let a SPG member even book one - this experience was way below my expectation for this hotel company for any of their brands- much less the ultra-cool W. July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This Hotel Needs improvement The Hotel has great location but needs to provide more space for guest comfort. They need to provide basis amenities like tean and coffe maker in every room and not charge for tea bags. July 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. In addition to a beautiful interior and clean, spacious rooms, the staff at the W on Adams was very kind, sincere, and welcoming. This included the personnel at the doors, all the people who worked at the check-in area, the restaurant staff, and the cleaning staff. I was very impressed and pleased with the genuine feeling of hospitality that was shared with the guests. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful hotel with great conference facilities Had a very pleasant stay. The location is excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful. The only negative was the fitness center, which needs to be larger. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by W the staff does whatever it takes to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable Management gets five stars for staffing this hotel with great people. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hip We had a great stay. I really like the W brand. July 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average, but got the Job Done Even though I enjoyed my visit in Chicago, my stay at the W Hotel was not as expected or explained. After speaking with others and seeing pictures of the room on the W Hotel website the room did not meet my overall expectations. It was VERY small, did not have heat, it was FREEZING throughout the hotel, and it is not easy to find on the website (if it is even on the website) that there is no parking included with this hotel. I was overall disappointed with this W Hotel experience and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. July 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay I loved everything about this hotel. I had an accessible room and it was perfect for me. The Acura ride program was a nice bonus. Excellent meal at IPO. All the staff was great. I interacted primarily with Erwin, Laurelin and Tom, all of whom did an excellent job. They made my stay truly memorable. July 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by library conference hotel While in Chicago the last week of June for the annual ALA library conference I had the chance to stay 3 nights at one of the better Starwood hotels in US. The staff was great and very helpful. July 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location Stayed only one night since I had a meeting down the street. Had a very nice lunch at IPO, great food. In the afternoon I went to the Bar for appetizers and wine and the Bartender was WONDERFUL!! I feel bad I cannot remember his name but he was Irish. Very friendly and attentive to my needs. I will definetly come back for business or pleasure. July 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by W stands for World of Wonderful! There's a saying that goes: "Ask and you shall receive". For W, I asked and oh boy, did I receive. Upon booking my reservation through the Starwood Preferred Guest website, I was put in touch with Laurelin, an "Insider" at the W Chicago City Center, who worked with Maida, Eden and others to help make my stay as comfortable and amazing as possible. Since I was on the trip for both business and leisure, and it also happened to be my birthday, Laurelin went out of her way to accommodate my requests (room upgrade, wi-fi service, welcome package, etc.). Chicago was beautiful, but it was the staff, the service and my excellent stay at the W Chicago City Center that made it a special occasion. The Spectacular room was spacious, in comparison to ANY properties I have stayed in (see picture). I stayed on the 9th floor and there was virtually no noise. The room is house-kept in the morning. What I did was I requested "No disturb" the night before and when I left the next morning, I notified the front desk to please ask someone to house-keep the room. I also like the extra step they take for security purposes: you must have your key card to operate the elevators and use the fitness center. The location was perfect: blocks away from Michigan Avenue, The Art Instituted, Willis Tower and other hot spots of the city. I was lucky enough to witness both the Blackhawks victory parade and the Pride parade! You also have the option of trying the Acura Experience when you're a guest of the hotel. Basically, you can reserve this complimentary service for any drop-off within 5 miles from the hotel. I took advantage of this for my restaurant reservations, shopping sigh-setting and to go to the office. The car was spacious and lived up to the Acura brand name. In trying to unwind, I checked out their fitness center and I was glad I did! It is a fully loaded and functional, state-of-the-art gym with all the free weights and equipments you'll need. If you forget any basic amenities, the front desk will help you, whether it be toothbrush, deodorant, contact solutions, Advil, etc. Thanks Laurelin, Alejandra, Eden, TK, Ben, Haley, Alana and Jay for a wonderful stay. I will be sure to tell my clients, colleagues, friends and family about you, and guess what, I will back next month! July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful service! The staff at the W were so kind and helpful! The first night we had to wait a while for the concierge to finish with the person ahead of us. Once it was our turn he apologized for the wait and then answered our question. We went on in to the hotel restaurant and a few minutes later the concierge walked up to our table and gave us free drink coupons! This level of consideration was shown time and again while I was there. I could certainly consider staying again. July 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Valet Sleeping in my car The hotel itself was a standard lower budget W hotel. It was fine for one night. Upon my arrival they upgraded me to a Fab Room, which was the size of a standard hotel room. I ordered room service and it was upstairs in no time, which was excellent. Now for the bad: There was no one standing at the front counter when i tried to check out around 5am. I had to call for them "hello- anyone here" type of call - they were in the back, but again not standing at their post. Then i went to retrieve my car from valet which i requested 15 minutes earlier. Still no car, no valet driver. I went outside and waited 5 more minutes. Then went back tot he front desk - she had to call down to valet, who never received my message to pull the car out (read below for the reason!!) - i then stood at the front of the building for 4 minutes and waited for a 1/2 sleeping valet guy to come to the front to get the key. 10 more minutes later still no car. I called from the valet phone to the front desk. she had to call down again!!!! The valet guy was SLEEPING IN MY CAR! Needless to say i almost missed my flight-- was completely aggravated and felt assaulted. The guy never even unreclined the seat. It was all the way reclined back when i got in. Needless to say i will NEVER be staying at this hotel again. The hotel did comp the $55 a night valet fee, Had i missed the flight they would have been paying a lot more. RM 1916- had a musty smell but was acceptable. July 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing service from the staff Everyone from the valet, bellman, desk clerk to the room service waiter were beyond belief with friendly over-the-top service. Kudos for having such wonderful people working in your hotel! July 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very sad. I wanted it to be good Checking staff member pleasant. Started positive then Asked for maid service never came Asked for clean glasses never came Over billed by 110 for valet parking Mini bar food items stall, asked for billing correction didn't happen Accidentally, left some clothing called same day, told lost and found voicemail not working would have security (?) call me why I don't know...never heard from them. Car valets polite, June 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not memorable Did not like my stay, very depressing hotel. June 24, 2013
  • 2015-07-06T14:03:27.373-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_451, tr_451
  • loc_en_US, sid_97509, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 16 next>>