W Chicago - City Center

  • 172 West Adams Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60603-3604
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Please note that guests must be 21 years or older to be registered as an overnight guest.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 390 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room Great / Staff Not So Much I didn't feel welcomed at all by the staff. No one was friendly. Whenever you asked for information it was met with disdain. The valet was very unconcerned with getting and receiving your car. Wait time was at least 25 mins or longer which is unreasonable seeing as how much you pa for valet with no other real options for parking. The bar area staff was slow so slow that we got up from our table and paid at the bar. Then were chased down by the waitress accusing us on walking out on the tab when indeed due to her lack of attentiveness and absence was paid at the bar. I have stayed at The W Hotel before (not this location) and was always extremely pleased but on this visit NOT SO MUCH! April 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did Not Meet My Expectations This hotel did not meet my expectations. When I had checked in as a Gold member, I was told I received an upgraded room. This "upgraded room" was nowhere close to the photos I see on this website. The room was small, the bathroom tiny and the room service mediocre. The bed and the toiletries were the best part of the stay. Whatever/Whenever did not meet my expectations, as they were not able to provide a cord for me to connect my Android phone to the clock so that I could amplify my music. In addition, I called Whatever/Whenever to ask whether the water in the fridge was complimentary and they said yes. When I checked out, there were $20 worth of mini bar charges on my bill. Horrible. February 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful, semi-functional space As usual this W (like most of them) is beautiful, chic, and cool. I love the look and feel of this place. However, it's still a hotel and when you are crammed into a tiny, badly designed area for over 20 minutes at check in AND check out, it detracts from the overall positive experience of being in this hotel. Great design is both beautiful and functional - as I've seen at other W hotels - so I am hoping on my next visit to this loc, the check in/out process will have been improved. July 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Small Rooms and Uncomfortable Furnishings Bathroom sink was actually a bar sink and couldn't stand in front of it with bathroom door open. No space between toilet and shower. Shower rod is not curved and curtain blowing all over into tub. TV hung so high on the wall I got a neck ache trying to watch it. The desk area was good size and the room had ample electrical outlets. What is up with room service? Ordered artisan cheese plate and decent amount of cheese, but only three tiny baguette slices. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I recommend staying here Typical funky W hotel. Good location. Good food, drink, comfortable rooms. Only complaint is the room doors are loud when closing. Loud enough to wake you up if a neighbor is in or out very early. July 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible stay I have never been more disappointed with a W hotel since I started travelling for work. The internet during my stay was atrocious. I was unable to work and had to head downstairs to the McDonalds to access strong internet connection. I reached out to guest services who prompted me to contact their third party service. After speaking with them, they informed me that this has been an ongoing problem at the hotel. My question is, if this is an ongoing problem why hasn’t this been fixed? What also bothered me was I forfeited 250 points welcome points as I wanted the free internet instead only to never use the internet. Secondly, I was planning on visiting the sky deck at Willis tower on the weekend. I spoke to the concierge who informed me that she could give me a VIP ticket for the price of General Admission. However, what she didn’t tell me was this was her own “personal” business and that the other concierge couldn’t provide me with that same deal. When I did decide to buy the ticket, the concierge wasn’t working and I had to buy a full price VIP ticket to avoid the weekend lines. I was shocked to learn that concierge working at the desk had a personal business on the side. Thirdly, I signed up for the “Make it Green” promotion meaning my room would not be cleaned and I wouldn’t be disturbed. On Monday, I had a cleaning lady in my room at 8 am which shocked me. Apparently she knocked but since it was early morning I didn’t hear it. Why would the cleaning lady even come to my room if I was in the Make it Green promotion? Communication was obviously was lacking. Overall, I was disappointed in my stay, the service felt very rushed and I didn’t feel like I was welcomed like I have at other W or SPG hotels. February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Night on the town Stayed downtown to attend a show at the Chicago Theatre. Easy access to the theatre district and bars and restaurants. July 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Incredibly small room! I was shocked and surprised by the size of the room we were assigned! It was a little more than a large closet and the bathroom had hardly any wiggle room. The sink was tiny and the shower stall was SMALL... May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thanks! Thank you to all the staff @W for making this first trip to Chicago for me a great, adventurous, and memorable experience! July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Down town Hotel We selected this hotel due to its location to what we wanted to do. The expectation of staying in a room that is listed at $369. per night was disappointing. I did not expect the penthouse, but the room was small and basic. I have been on business trips and it was made for that type of traveler. May 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Gym needs serious expansion I stayed at this W for business for 2 nights. I am a Platinum member and typically have nothing but good experiences at Starwood properties. However, this properties amenities are nothing to brag about. I went to the gym 2 days in a row at 5:30 am and all cardio equipment was fully utilized both days. For a hotel of that size having 3 treadmills, 3 ellipticals and 2 bikes is extremely disappointing. For a hotel chain that prides themselves in health this is very very disappointing. In addition, the gym in general was the size of maybe two rooms, just horrible. April 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1st visit to W City Center - Chicago, IL Staff (Rose) was exactly what you want when you check into a hotel. The location was perfect for our concert at Northerly Island and our Baseball game at Cellular Field. Apples and mini cupcakes were complimentary at the check in counter. Toiletries smelled wonderful. Bathrobe and towels were very cozy and soft. Only negative was the comfort of the mattress, but the positives out weighed that one negative. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff not up to standards expected This was our first stay at a W hotel. I was expecting first class service unfortunately some excelled and some failed. The front door and valet service was very good. Eden at the concierge was excellent. She went out of her way to be helpful. The front desk was not helpful at all. We arrived very early for check in and did not expect a room but did expect a call as to when our room would be ready. I was told I would just have to call back. We also requested a roll away when I made the reservation and was not told until later in the evening we would not receive a roll away. When we requested sheets for the chaise lounge to be used as a bed the maid service entered the room without even knocking and acted like it wasn't a big deal. July 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Paper thin walls I could hear everything in my room even my neighbors talking! Awful experience! I could not watch tv at night since my neighbors complained on volume! May 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, lousy service My wife I chose the W because of excellent location for our labor day trip to chicago. While the hotel was nice (which is what should be expected for over $250 a night) it felt that it was way more focused on being a club than an actual hotel. Our room was very small and the bathroom door was a bit of a joke. As my wife put it, it was a shadow bathroom, as you could bascially see and hear everything that was going on inside. Which I think is a perfect example of what you could expect from this place, everything looks good but isn't all that functional. Also we were treated very rudely by the front desk staff over a mix up in paperwork that they lost. Not worth sharing the details. The only plus was that the concierage was very helpful. September 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by No closet, no hangers No closet or hangers to hang up clothes? No iron or ironing board. This was wierd. But lots of room taken for display of high priced snacks and beverages. July 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Upscale Trashy for an SPG category 5 hotel you would expect a minimum level of service. upon arrival, concierge just asked me if i was checking in. with 2 suitcases, he didn't event consider holding the door open and another guest had to hold the door so i can haul my luggage inside (there are no automatic doors at the main entrance) then i had to find my way to check in, with no one around and waiting i had to find an employee somewhere to find the receptionist. Then when i checked in i had to deal with the most unhappy receptionist who instead of checking me in, gave me the most attitude possible and then they charge $6.95 to use the business center computer for 15 minutes. finally the layout is awkward and strange giving it an upscale et trashy feel August 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel felt like home away from home. Excellent location in the heart of the financial district and very close to great restaurants. July 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expensive and Dirty The room was clean, but the lobby and lobby bathrooms were trashed. The drinks at the lobby bar were ridiculously expensive. The morning after our stay the lobby was trashed with beer bottles, bottle tops and cigarette butts all over the floor. The lobby bathrooms were trashed and no cleaning was happening until after we left the hotel, which was 7:30 am. Coffee was also not available until after 8 am. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. For the price we paid, everything should be neat and clean and services should be offered early. November 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room Room way to small for 2 people. No dresser to put away your clothes. and no room in the closet to put your shoes away. And the bathroom was way so tiny, and you could hear the people in the other room. So I was very disappointed May 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Club like feel I liked the 'cool' feel of the decor but it did make me feel a bit dizzy and sleepy, given that it is so dark. Not so sure that a 'club' feel is appropriate for a business event. While the sink in the bathroom of my room was cute, it is practically nonfunctional. It is so small that when you lean to be over it when brushing your teeth, your head hits the faucet. I would also suggest shelves over the toilet for your guest to use for their toiletries as there is little to no counter top space. Your staff was very helpful and professional. October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clean rooms! Your rooms are very clean, and so are your facilities. Your towels are first class!! The room design is very cool and ingenious. Fatima at the Front Desk was excellent! She is a keeper! There is also an excellent Bellman/Porter from Dominican Republic, tall and always with a smile (I wish I asked his name) July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just alright I had been travelling for the last 5 weeks, with this being the last stop of my trip. For the highest price (granted it was during a holiday weekend - but also already with a special wedding rate), this was the smallest, tightest room i had stayed at all 35 days. Everything was neat and clean, but also almost difficult to move around - bathroom felt like it could've been an airplane's one. I have no complaints about the staff and ambiance, everything was nice enough, but there was nothing special about it for the name or price tag. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular! I spent a few nights here at the end of Summer, after a late arrival of 12am, I checked in, and was given an upgrade, much to my surprise. The room was massive, the bed, heavenly, the bathroom, a vain person's dream. The one issue is all 3 windows in my room could be opened, no screens for safety. (I thought this was non-existent these days) It wasn't a problem for me, but families with kids, it's a possible risk. But, besides that, if you're coming to chicago, stay here, or at the W lakeshore, both hotels are incredibly welcoming. April 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little tired Very small room that seemed a bit tired, not a good value for money. May 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by non functional design W hotels are usually pretty nice but this one disappoints ,mostly due to a really stupid design of the room and furnishings. I cannot understand why anyone build a hotel that provides no decent storage for guests - no bureau or drawers to speak of. I cannot understand wht a bathroom should be deigned with zero space to lay out toiletries. I personally dislike hotels that do not provide a coffee pot, but that's trivial. Grreat location, not a lot to make a business traveler happy, and impossible for a vacationer with any luggage February 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Huge Disappointment My room key failed to work on several occasions. The rooms air conditioning did not work properly, the wifi did not work on my first night and I was incorrectly billed $23.67 for minibar. I also do not like having the hotel attempting to sell me a box of condoms in my room. Overall I did not like my experience at this hotel and will definitely not return. April 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Central location, friendly staff, nice hotel room, with modern style furnishing. Even the welcome mat in the hotel is changed at least twice a day (it said "Good morning" in the morning). Love it. Will stay again! July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Didntfeelspecial Stayed here for a wedding, but did not get any perks for being SPG. For all the times I stay with Starwood for business, I was hoping for a little special treatment for my personal travel. No such luck. :-( The room had a terrible view. Our requests for simple things like a box of tissue were not responded to. I had to find the maid in the hallway and ask for tissue and toilet paper. We did however have good service from the concierge, George, who recommended a fantastic babysitting service. Also, the doormen were great. Always greeted us with a smile and a fun comment to my son, which made him feel special.Restaurant was ok, small portions and extremely expensive. Not worth the money. Overall, it was a little disappointing from what I usually expect from Starwood. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was great! The hotel was great. Perfect location within walking distance to Millennium Park, Willis Tower, and bar/restaurants in the area. The room was a little small, even though we were warned beforehand. Unfortunately, we had an amenity sent to us but was never delivered. Both Front Desk and Manager both couldn't find it, even though it was already purchased which we didn't know about until after we left, which was frustrating. Besides that mishap everything was great! June 30, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14 next>>