W Los Angeles - Westwood

  • 930 Hilgard Avenue
  • Los Angeles,
  • California
  • 90024
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 250 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs updating! We have stayed at this hotel for years when we need to be at UCLA for water polo competitions. However, lately, the hotel looks very worn especially in the lobby and rooms. The lobby furniture is long past its prime and the sectionals in the bedrooms needs help. I am a commercial design and would love to help them update this to be more relevant. March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by peaceful in LA This note is a little oasis tucked in a residential/UCLA hood - Best Platinum recognition i've ever experienced ... amazing upgrade and very appreciative to have us as Plat members - lovely pool and outdoor bar area - Great breakfast in the garden - Amazing amazing amazing suite upgrade -Lovely attentive staff but most importantly ... in walking distance to an In n out burger :) March 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great time.. Great service We stayed at the W for 3 days and did not face any challenges what so ever.. The location is outstanding, the staff friendliness beats all expectations.. March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful staff; beautiful facility The W team here is unusually warm and helpful. I love the suites. Great set up! March 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A nice W They upgrade proactively to large suites, this is an older W but very well kept and a nice place to stay. March 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs to get their act together I had two major complaints about the hotel: 1) I tried to report that I had left two dress shirts in my room and was unable to do so. That was extremely frustrating. Moreover, I don't think it was honest that the hotel didn't inform me that I had accidentally left behind two expensive shirts. 2) The facilities of the hotel were totally disrupted by a TV shooting. This impacted parking and restaurant/bar availability. As a result, I will not stay at this hotel again unless I hear better reports, especially given the number of other hotel options that I have available nearby. March 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by tattered exhorbitance This hotel used to be nice, with attention to detail and reasonable rates, good staff. Now, not so much. For $363.00/night we got a small suite on the fourth floor, on a light well. The floor was noisy. The bath sink didn't drain right. The toilet paper holder had been yanked out of the wall (maintenance said they couldn't fix it until we left). Maid forgot to leave drinking or wine glasses. We got one bar of soap but needed two for sink and tub. Furnishings look tattered. We were charged a "room revenue" of $50.00/day, and another $40.00 for what I don't know. Over $1200.00 for 3 nights in these conditions was unnacceptable. Won't be back... March 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by downhill Given poor room at check in, had to change. Housekeeping didn't change sheets after request. Pool overcrowded with non-guests - USC underage girls, security did not remove. Ridiculous charge for wi-fi. I usually like this hotel for location, ambiance and pool. Will not stay again. had to call 3 x to dispute credit card hold. room was paid in advance and $800 hold was placed on card. Then $350 over charge on final statement. Finally was straightened out. March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel in a beautiful location Just as I've come to expect, this W hotel is top notch with its customer service. Staff was polite, helpful and accommodating. Room was very spacious, with a living room and a bedroom in my suite over looking the pool. My only two gripes are very minor: 1. I wish the window could open because I really wanted to smell the fresh air 2. The shower was a little finicky with the temperature (either really hot or really cold) but other than those two things I LOVED my stay here and will definitely return next time I'm in LA! March 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Quality Control, good food I liked the room. The food was really good. Service was excellent. 1. Climate control didn’t work. It was hot when I entered the room. The bellman offered to adjust the temperature. He turned the temperature down. Through the long sweaty night, the air conditioning didn’t come on. By morning I had turned the thermostat down to 60. The thermometer read 72. It was steamy. 2. The windows didn’t open, so no relief was available. 3. I informed the front desk of the in the morning. They sent up a repair person, who left a card saying that the problem was repaired. When I arrived back in the room, it was hot. The thermometer said 72, even though the thermostat was set to 60. This was true in both rooms of the suite. 4. That evening, I asked the front desk to repair it or move me. Right away, a friendly maintenance person came to the room. He explained, in a way I didn’t understand, why the climate system could not work and yet it was working as designed, and that the temperature setting on the thermostat was irrelevant and had nearly no effect on the system, something about coolant water needing to reset for many or all rooms at some other location other than my room. He opened the windows. 5. With the open windows, I was able to sleep eventually, on the second night. 6. I signed onto and paid for internet access in my room. It worked great for an hour before dinner. After dinner, I needed to upload some work to my office. But I could not sign on. There was no signal. I called the desk. They connected me to tech support. I spent about an hour with a friendly person. After an hour of her repeatedly restarting something at their end—there was and is nothing wrong with my computer, which connected perfectly in the lobby—she was able to get my computer connected for no more than a second or two before the signal disappeared again. 7. Every hotel is currently using the television as a revenue source. Yours, however, is unusually annoying. Every time the TV is turned on, I had to page through many different stops of pay services to get directly to regular free TV. Although there was a channel guide, there was no guide to what shows were on. There are no cable systems that don’t provide this. 8. There is a large, heavy, immobile round piece of furniture in the living room of the suite. It is not useful as a room-service table because it’s only about 15 inches high. Since it can’t be moved, it interferes with use of the room rather than enhances it. After the first time, I insisted that room service bring up a table with my order. There is nothing about my experience I want to repeat. There is nothing about my stay that suggests a first-class hotel. I will be writing an online review, which will include the above. April 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad times in LA Had heard great things about this hotel. Regrettably my stay did not live up to my expectations. My room was very dark and located off a courtyard space that became very noisy one evening when a party was hoted there. I had to leave the hotel to get some peace. But worse was the bathroom that had a leak from above and subsequent ceiling damage. I alerted the hotel staff and they sort of took care of it but was never offered another room or any compensation for the inconvenience of having water drip all over me. I have stayed at many W hotels and this one clearly was below the W standard. May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Westwood my home away from home when staying on the west side what else can I say..."just perfect!" March 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I will NOT return to that property any more! People do not treat you nice if you do not have a higher status. I was assigned a room nearby the elevator. I was waken up by the noise from the lobby every single hour during the night stay! The heat system in that building was down, not fixed on time. I complained and called the front desk four times! half an hour later, someone came in and brought a chaep heater to my room. He knew it has been a issue not been solved yet. At least, the heater is working, but I am paying $300 per night to bear the noise with a cheap little heater working in my room. Parking area is really unconvient if you drive from the other side of the tiny road. The building is really old, room windows are dirty. I will NOT return to this property any more! This is the worst W I have ever stayed! March 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by former ucla private dorm my husband and i decided to have a "staycation" we had always wanted to stay at the W in Westwood. When my husband attended UCLA, he lived here as the W was previously a private UCLA dorm. This hotel is lovely. Perfect location. The Staff is amazing,so lovely they remember your name, preferences etc.Food and service in the restaurants are wonderful.There is a lovely young man in the pool/backyard restaurant area named Damian. What a great ambassador and representative of the service at the W!! He was so attentive, friendly and caring. The restaurant staff in the eveni August 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is very expensive We had had dinner in the bar area last year before you remodeled the down stairs which made us want to stay with you this time. We were surprised at the new bar facilities way too dark for us. We were not fond of the changes. It is dark and unfriendly down stairs. There was only one elevator working so long waits. However, we ate at the pool area. It was light and airy and the food was wonderful. It was the best part of our stay at your hotel. March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recent Stay Checked in late after a very long day - even approaching midnight, the desk staff were on top of their game. The room was extremely accommodating - a nice mix of style and function. I liked the concept of the Continental breakfast (i.e. choose 3 items from the bar", but the execution by the staff was a little lacking. Nice to be tucked-in a couple blocks off the "main-drag" - will definitely be back! March 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extraordinary What a great experience. First time in a W Hotel and it went far and beyond my expectations. Had a great weekend in a great city! February 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly run, majority of staff rude I stayed at this hotel for an entire week. I was helping my son move to his new apt and was so happy to have a W hotel close by, anticipating many future stays when I visited him. I brought very few toiletries because I had stayed at W hotels before and loved the toiletries. I called and asked for a shower cap. It arrived two days later . All I wanted was a disposable shower cap. There were dozens in the spa. Instead I was finally given a purchased cap which I didn't need nor want and had to make 3 calls to get. What a waste, why couldn't I just get the usual disposable cap? I also asked for some moisturizing cream. I was told the hotel didn't supply any and I should buy some if I needed any(so I went out and purchased some). One day (out of the seven I stayed) there finally was a small container of the Bliss moisturizer that I always received at other W hotels. I went down to the front desk to show the person there that indeed they do supply moisturizer and showed them the shower caps that were in large supply at the spa and to my amazement, instead of an apology, I was given an argument. I must have been left a dozen shampoos and conditioners by housekeeping but never moisturizer, soap or bath gel. I can't tell you how many times I ran out of bath gel, and had to get out of the shower soaking wet to look for a substitute because housekeeping kept leaving the empty container in the shower. My son, who was with me at check in and stayed with me, lost his room key. Not only was he with me at check in, but I also called in advance from NY to make sure it was known that there would be 2 not 1 in our room. One night he tried to get a duplicate key. The man at the front desk was incredibly rude and nasty to him and gave him a very difficult time. It was late and my son has the same last name and showed him ID, finally, after calling me, and waking me up, he gave my son another room key. My son was very upset at his treatment. The following day, our room was never cleaned. We left the room at 8:00am and did not return until 7:30pm. When I called to ask that the room be made up then, instead of a simple appolgy I was given numerous excuses wth attempts to deflect any blame back on myself (e.g. "You must have left the Do Not Disturb sign on the door". I never used the sign during my entire stay). Your staff really needs sensitivity training. As my son said, all he really wanted was a simple apology and all we kept getting were arguments. Your staff may find that "I'm Sorry for your inconvenience" goes a lot further than excuses and insults. I haved stayed in many other W and Starwood Hotels and this hotel is poorly run. I will not stay in another for quite a while January 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 Disappointing long on hip style, but short on comfort and service. Not an inch of counter space in the bathroom; the bathroom door is a sliding door with no handle inside(!!!!). The desk chairs do not swivel, making it difficult to use the desk; the carpet was buckled. The sliding doors on the closet made access less than easy; the shower head gave an irregular stream and the tub had a slippery surface. Requested turn-down service and fresh towels before going to dinner....never happened! When we checked out, the front desk person asked how our stay was and I replied "fair"; she never asked why or what was wrong, just gave us our bill. If chic style is your only important criterion, this place might be OK; otherwise, if comfort and service are important, go elsewhere. January 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The absolute best in Westwood We spent one night here in order to attend a family member's birthday. I had sustained a serious injury 2-1/2 weeks prior and this was my first real outing. The staff was superbly caring and accommodating. We were accorded a larger accommodation to give me more room to navigate. A fridge was supplied for my ice packs. Finally, the front desk was able to procure medical tape for me to change my wound dressing. This property was totally a tonic in itself. We're returning next month! September 12, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Amenities This property sold out it's Backyard (restaurant, bar, pool and cabanas) to a private party without notifying paying guests. I am paying top dollar for this hotel because of its amenities. I expect them to be open for guests. The unconcerned concierge had the nerve to casually tell me that the hotel often closes these areas as they are bought out by private parties.. Without apology, she said that they would arrange for me to spend the day by their sister hotel's pool for the day. My response would have been that they should pack up all of my things and move me permanently to their sister hotel. I received no apology whatsoever from the concierge. She should be fired. I plan to write a scathing letter to the manager of the hotel and to corporate relations expressing same. My recommendation is to NEVER book this hotel. September 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Westwood Overall, I was very satisfied. I believe the property is a bit dated, but overall very good. Your staff was very helpful and accomodated my early check in. I had trouble with the internet sign in on both days. The kids party on the second floor was very loud; although, they did end around 11:00 pm. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Excellent Stay After stepping off a plane and going right to a series of talks and meetings, by 3:00 o'clock I was looking forward to a shower and an hour of rest before dinner. Little did I know that I was about to check into one of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. I was upgraded to a corner suite and besides excellent views of West LA, I had a nice desk to work at, two TVs and a bed that was so comfortable I wish I had one at home. Then a real treat was dinner in the 9:30 restaurant. An imaginative but classic dinner menu. I wanted to sample everything. I know where I'm staying when I go back to LA next year, the W Westwood. May 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by All Aces! I'm an SPG Lifetime Patinum Member and I've stayed here with my Daughter on our annual Father/Daughter Trip, have stayed for business and just spent a few days on my 10th Anniversary Trip with my Wife. This proprty takes service and the amenities to the next level. There aren't enough words to describe how much I love this hotel. A must stay for anyone traveling through LA. July 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I remembered I LOVED this hotel when I first went there about ten years ago. So, I thought it would be a memorable hotel to stay out for my son's birthday weekend trip to LA. The staff was incredible, and I can't say that I have ever had better customer service at any other hotel. The staff even delivered a personalized birthday greeting to our room, which was super sweet (thank you)! However, the facilities were disappointing to say the least. The hotel looks like it could use some TLC, including the pool area that I remembered as being so cool before. The upgraded penthouse room that we were given (as the room we booked was oversold) had a trendy suede chaise lounge chair in the bedroom, but it had so many stains on it that I couldn't stand to even place my suitcase on it. It definitely needs to be replaced, as it only gives you the impression that too many people had left their marks in that room. I expected much more from the hotel. Perhaps the W Hotels are now not so hip as they once were? I sure hope that is not the case, as I have enjoyed so many memorable stays at the W previously. March 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will never be more than mediocre The W in Westwood is in such a great location that it will never need to be more than mediocre to be busy, and it amply demonstrates that. January 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Teribble disapointment and letdown! I made the mistake of expecting a great stay based on reviews I read online. This hotel has been a really lousy experience to say the least! The customer service is shockingly bad. Highlighting my experience, was their complete disregard for my reserving a room with two beds that I called and confirmed with them two weeks prior to my stay, when checking in they coldly tell me that they dont have a 2 bed room available and were completely helpless in making any alternitave work. That resulted in my brother sleeping on the couch. Stay away from this place!! its overpriced with terrible service and a lousy staff! July 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by the best hotel in all of California! The staff cannot be beat anywhere in the United States. I have been to just about every major city there is in the US and hands down this hotel takes the cake. The location is the best spot in the entire Los Angeles area. It is in the middle of anything you would want to get to. Hollywood to the East, Santa Monica to the West, and great Brentwood and Westwood within walking/jogging distance. The access to the 405 and the 10 is unrivaled. The nightlife is just an elevator's ride to the lobby. The pool is fantastic and you can drink from dawn til dusk til dawn again! I really cannot say enough good things about the valet guys and the desk staff and the concierge and the wait staff and the bartenders. ALL of the employees here are AMAZING!!! AMAZING STAFF!!!! best valet. best lobby. best rooms. best amenities. best food. best pool. best drinks. January 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Just can't seem to get things right I often use this hotel out of necessity because I do business in the area and it's the only chain in walking distance. Never fails to invent new ways to disburb me. This time I was greeted with the lovely stench of BO when I walked into my room. Then I ordered room service with fruit plate that was topped by a lovely moldy grape. As usual, the heat wasn't working even though it was in the 60s. The drain in the shower was broken. Breakfast room service brought me oatmeal but nothing to sweeten it with. Staying at this hotel can feel like a test of how much you'll put up with before making a scene. May 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Upcharge In order to not be positioned at a room in front of the elevators which run all night and are extremely noisy, even with a long standing SPG status you have to pay to have a room that's quiet. I've also stayed at this hotel over 200 time due to it's proximity to our office. Think twice about staying at this hotel. January 11, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>