W Los Angeles - Westwood

  • 930 Hilgard Avenue
  • Los Angeles,
  • California
  • 90024
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 21 years or older with valid identification to reserve a room or check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 306 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by former ucla private dorm my husband and i decided to have a "staycation" we had always wanted to stay at the W in Westwood. When my husband attended UCLA, he lived here as the W was previously a private UCLA dorm. This hotel is lovely. Perfect location. The Staff is amazing,so lovely they remember your name, preferences etc.Food and service in the restaurants are wonderful.There is a lovely young man in the pool/backyard restaurant area named Damian. What a great ambassador and representative of the service at the W!! He was so attentive, friendly and caring. The restaurant staff in the eveni August 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Hotel is dated and needs improvement Feels dated, the hotel is dark, the carpet looks old and the rates are too high for what you get. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible Birthday Weekend at W LA - Westwood It was my wife's birthday and we stayed here with two other couples. The staff, hotel and surroundings were incredible. We felt very special and will always remember this weekend. Thank you! August 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff, poor management The entire staff at the W Westwood is incredibly warm and accomodating, exactly what you want in client facing staff. However, the overall focus of management seems to be more on image and decor instead of basic hotel services and training. The past 2 months I've spent at the hotel, here are a few things I've noticed: 1) Most rooms I stayed in (all king suites) were in varying states of disrepair, whether it be moldy bathrooms, worn / ripped furniture, malfunctioning lighting, ripped sheets, etc. While it is great that there is a new art exhibit in the lobby, more attention needs to be paid to the basics. 2) While the staff is incredibly nice, they are relatively under trained. Check-ins often took 20+ minutes as the desk staff was unfamiliar with basic check in, or there would be only one person at the front desk for a line of 5-10 guests. 3) Room service was always incredibly slow. Even for a basic item, like a salad, it would often take more than an hour...despite being quoted 30-35 minutes. Likewise, food was routinely cold or overcooked by the time it reached the room. Recommend cutting down the number of room service options and instead refocusing on speed and quality. 4) Lack of any electrical outlets bedside August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The absolute best in Westwood We spent one night here in order to attend a family member's birthday. I had sustained a serious injury 2-1/2 weeks prior and this was my first real outing. The staff was superbly caring and accommodating. We were accorded a larger accommodation to give me more room to navigate. A fridge was supplied for my ice packs. Finally, the front desk was able to procure medical tape for me to change my wound dressing. This property was totally a tonic in itself. We're returning next month! September 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Aging Hipster Needs to Lose the Ponytail Good location. Strong food and beverage operation...special kudos to the nighttime bartender weeknights in NineThirty. Poolside service could be a little less indifferent. Valet parking operation well managed. The decor is tired. The hallway carpets always needed vacuuming, It looks a little morning after. Time to update the rooms and the public spaces. August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement rooms are uncomfortable: bathroom sink is unusable because shallow basin so close to faucet. walking in front of bed means walking into tv on wall. all bedroom outlets facing bed and were unusable unless leaving devices on floor. desk chair was cheap hard plastic and needed couch cushion to make bearable. no thought given to lighting or decorating. ie useless lighting by vanity, large picture hung low and behind large lamp that used up night stand so no place to put device. retro analog alarm clock that had wrong time and took several minutes to correct. at pool bar, took over an hour to get a salad because staff were watching world cup. couldn't get service. period. conference meeting breakfast and lunch dessert were fabulous and the exception. rest of food was mediocre, at best. check-in was not smooth either. and really don't appreciate the nickel and diming at nicer hotels (business center computer and printer). June 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disgusting Matress Whilst staying at this hotel after the first night's sleep I removed my sheets in the morning to find a huge brown stain right across the centre of the matress (I should point out that this was NOT caused by me!). This is truly disgusting and how it could not have been discovered during a previous cleaning is beyond me. This was dealt with efficiently but I would like a full explanation as to why this was allowed to happen as my faith in the cleanliness of the rooms at this hotel (which I have stayed at many times int he past) is completely destroyed. The room had also not been cleaned by 6PM on one of the days. July 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Customer Service Lacking The service at this hotel was totally unacceptable. The hotel manager was unresponsive and seemed quite overwhelmed with all of the service issues at the hotel. Several times I came to the front desk and waited over 10 minutes for some one to come and help me...there was simply no one available. The service at the pool was VERY slow and the pool was closed on Friday with no prior notification to quests. One positive comment were the bellmen - they were all so helpful and nice. This hotel clearly needs better management, better trained staff, and accountability when issues arise. A very very disappointing experience. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best W in all of California! I stayed here in March of 2011 for three nights and I gotta say...flawless experience! First off, I am high frequency traveler and have a good point of comparison and Westwood scored above average on everything including Platinum recognition which can be difficult for W-Hotels to do when they offer very little for Platinum guests as a whole. The Lobby was just "ok" but who cares, you check in and you go, so lets not put too much emphasize on it. The reception desk staff were A+ ( I forgot the guys name who checked us in, I really wanted to credit him) we got upgraded for all three nights and on the third night we really got upgraded! The service was perfect too, not fake but genuine and down to earth. The room, the pool and the neighborhood was exactly as I hoped, clean, quite and upscale. We even parked the car on the street over night and got away with it! I guess it's low ticket area too, but I recommend you park with the hotel. Anyway, stay here, you won't be disappointed...and if you are a Curb Your Enthusiasm fan, you can catch a glimpse of the W-Westwood in an episode. This hotel meets and exceeds its category 5 expectations! January 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Excellent Stay After stepping off a plane and going right to a series of talks and meetings, by 3:00 o'clock I was looking forward to a shower and an hour of rest before dinner. Little did I know that I was about to check into one of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. I was upgraded to a corner suite and besides excellent views of West LA, I had a nice desk to work at, two TVs and a bed that was so comfortable I wish I had one at home. Then a real treat was dinner in the 9:30 restaurant. An imaginative but classic dinner menu. I wanted to sample everything. I know where I'm staying when I go back to LA next year, the W Westwood. May 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by All Aces! I'm an SPG Lifetime Patinum Member and I've stayed here with my Daughter on our annual Father/Daughter Trip, have stayed for business and just spent a few days on my 10th Anniversary Trip with my Wife. This proprty takes service and the amenities to the next level. There aren't enough words to describe how much I love this hotel. A must stay for anyone traveling through LA. July 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great oasis in Westwood Wonderful place to stay on the Westside. Great location, friendly staff, loved the pool, the restaurant, and the vibe. Will definitely be back. August 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Refurbishment Needs an overhaul. First room was good, but the air conditioner was out of control. Switched room to an uninspired room where the air conditioning worked, which was the lesser of two evils. August 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Upcharge In order to not be positioned at a room in front of the elevators which run all night and are extremely noisy, even with a long standing SPG status you have to pay to have a room that's quiet. I've also stayed at this hotel over 200 time due to it's proximity to our office. Think twice about staying at this hotel. January 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will never be more than mediocre The W in Westwood is in such a great location that it will never need to be more than mediocre to be busy, and it amply demonstrates that. January 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Teribble disapointment and letdown! I made the mistake of expecting a great stay based on reviews I read online. This hotel has been a really lousy experience to say the least! The customer service is shockingly bad. Highlighting my experience, was their complete disregard for my reserving a room with two beds that I called and confirmed with them two weeks prior to my stay, when checking in they coldly tell me that they dont have a 2 bed room available and were completely helpless in making any alternitave work. That resulted in my brother sleeping on the couch. Stay away from this place!! its overpriced with terrible service and a lousy staff! July 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by the best hotel in all of California! The staff cannot be beat anywhere in the United States. I have been to just about every major city there is in the US and hands down this hotel takes the cake. The location is the best spot in the entire Los Angeles area. It is in the middle of anything you would want to get to. Hollywood to the East, Santa Monica to the West, and great Brentwood and Westwood within walking/jogging distance. The access to the 405 and the 10 is unrivaled. The nightlife is just an elevator's ride to the lobby. The pool is fantastic and you can drink from dawn til dusk til dawn again! I really cannot say enough good things about the valet guys and the desk staff and the concierge and the wait staff and the bartenders. ALL of the employees here are AMAZING!!! AMAZING STAFF!!!! best valet. best lobby. best rooms. best amenities. best food. best pool. best drinks. January 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed Our Stay Our family stayed at the W Westwood because we needed to visit UCLA. Overall we had a good experience. The pool area and the adjacent outdoor dining next to the pool were very nice. It was hard to believe we were in the middle of LA. The food there and at the breakfast restaurant was very good. We did not eat dinner at the hotel. The room was nice and the furnishings and carpet were beginning to show wear. The room was spacious, however, and we all enjoyed our stay. July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ALWAYS GREAT The "W" in Westwood is consistently the best hotel I stay with all the traveling I do around the U.S. The staff is always there to give great service, the rooms provide good comfort and the food is always great. It's proximity to the LA is terrific. KUDOs to the staff and management for maintaining this great hotel. Jon G. July 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Just can't seem to get things right I often use this hotel out of necessity because I do business in the area and it's the only chain in walking distance. Never fails to invent new ways to disburb me. This time I was greeted with the lovely stench of BO when I walked into my room. Then I ordered room service with fruit plate that was topped by a lovely moldy grape. As usual, the heat wasn't working even though it was in the 60s. The drain in the shower was broken. Breakfast room service brought me oatmeal but nothing to sweeten it with. Staying at this hotel can feel like a test of how much you'll put up with before making a scene. May 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff but bathrooms lack space for toiletries There are a variety of rooms and some bathrooms have a side table, but if not, you have to use the desk right outside to store toiletries, make-up, curling irons, etc...not enough vanity space - but rooms are spacious - lighting is lacking and outlets by the bed for cell phones require you to unplug the clock radio. Did not always have water in room other than the cash bar, but housekeeping did a good job when notes were left. Hotel is in a great location and minutes from Beverly Hills. Restaurant breakfast staff is more responsive than in the past when I stayed here. Thanks! July 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly run, majority of staff rude I stayed at this hotel for an entire week. I was helping my son move to his new apt and was so happy to have a W hotel close by, anticipating many future stays when I visited him. I brought very few toiletries because I had stayed at W hotels before and loved the toiletries. I called and asked for a shower cap. It arrived two days later . All I wanted was a disposable shower cap. There were dozens in the spa. Instead I was finally given a purchased cap which I didn't need nor want and had to make 3 calls to get. What a waste, why couldn't I just get the usual disposable cap? I also asked for some moisturizing cream. I was told the hotel didn't supply any and I should buy some if I needed any(so I went out and purchased some). One day (out of the seven I stayed) there finally was a small container of the Bliss moisturizer that I always received at other W hotels. I went down to the front desk to show the person there that indeed they do supply moisturizer and showed them the shower caps that were in large supply at the spa and to my amazement, instead of an apology, I was given an argument. I must have been left a dozen shampoos and conditioners by housekeeping but never moisturizer, soap or bath gel. I can't tell you how many times I ran out of bath gel, and had to get out of the shower soaking wet to look for a substitute because housekeeping kept leaving the empty container in the shower. My son, who was with me at check in and stayed with me, lost his room key. Not only was he with me at check in, but I also called in advance from NY to make sure it was known that there would be 2 not 1 in our room. One night he tried to get a duplicate key. The man at the front desk was incredibly rude and nasty to him and gave him a very difficult time. It was late and my son has the same last name and showed him ID, finally, after calling me, and waking me up, he gave my son another room key. My son was very upset at his treatment. The following day, our room was never cleaned. We left the room at 8:00am and did not return until 7:30pm. When I called to ask that the room be made up then, instead of a simple appolgy I was given numerous excuses wth attempts to deflect any blame back on myself (e.g. "You must have left the Do Not Disturb sign on the door". I never used the sign during my entire stay). Your staff really needs sensitivity training. As my son said, all he really wanted was a simple apology and all we kept getting were arguments. Your staff may find that "I'm Sorry for your inconvenience" goes a lot further than excuses and insults. I haved stayed in many other W and Starwood Hotels and this hotel is poorly run. I will not stay in another for quite a while January 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Featured in South Park The W Westwood is where the creators of South Park imagined that the Prince of Darkness would have his Halloween Party. I saw the episode after I visited the W and laughed out loud when I saw the building rendered in Matt and Trey's unique style. Stay here if you want to feel like you are making things happen in LA. There's a pool with cabanas that are incredibly relaxing. When I checked in, I was upgraded to a three room suite that was almost too absurd...I had no need for the extra bedroom but, it was nice to be recognized. This is a W that lives up to the brand. November 23, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed I have loved every W hotel that I've stayed in until this one. Great location in Westwood, but several problems. First, no mention of the $35 (!!) parking fee when I booked the room online (sure, it was probably in the fine print, but not obvious). This was unpleasant surprise #1 and I wasn't even through the door. Surprise #2, my room was directly in front of the elevator and noisy. Surprise #3, the room was not that clean. Lamp had a broken arm, the windows seems to have a draft (though I could not locate exactly where it originated) and finally there was something left on the underside of toilet seat from the previous customer (totally disgusted). I certainly expected better, especially with Gold status in SPG. very disappointed. March 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Close to UCLA Medical Center I pickled this hotel because of it's close proximity to UCLA Med Center. Only 2 short blocks! Unfortunately my room was in need of refurbishing. There was mold in the shower and the carpeting in the room was rippled and not laying flat. Very hard to get a good night sleep because the room doors slam closed and make a lot of noise. The location to UCLA and Westwood is great so it would be worth it for the hotel to refurbish and freshen up. Then the $38 overnight parking might not hurt so bad! July 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 Disappointing long on hip style, but short on comfort and service. Not an inch of counter space in the bathroom; the bathroom door is a sliding door with no handle inside(!!!!). The desk chairs do not swivel, making it difficult to use the desk; the carpet was buckled. The sliding doors on the closet made access less than easy; the shower head gave an irregular stream and the tub had a slippery surface. Requested turn-down service and fresh towels before going to dinner....never happened! When we checked out, the front desk person asked how our stay was and I replied "fair"; she never asked why or what was wrong, just gave us our bill. If chic style is your only important criterion, this place might be OK; otherwise, if comfort and service are important, go elsewhere. January 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient to UCLA I have a student at UCLA so this hotel is the perfect location for us. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stay great stay, staff were very helpful at all times. food was great. really lovely rooms. nice Bliss shower and wash items in room. The one thing is the pool is often taken over for pool parties or private parties, but they do their best to ensure guests are catered for. July 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room was dirty upon checking-in Checked in room 706 and left my luggage in the room before heading to an event. Upon return from the event around 11:30pm that night, I realized that there were trash in my trash bin in the living room. Then I start to inspect the room and realized a dirty towel behind the bathroom door. Unacceptable! It was late night and i don't want to have pack up and change room. Mentioned it to front desk next morning and was offered $30 drink coupon???? As Gold SPG, so disappointed to experienced this. April 30, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>